check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Hot Tub! Top of the Mountain! Cozy & Near It All! Wifi!

4 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Shenandoah Valley Townhome Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms. 2 full bathrooms. sleeps 8

This home is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

HOT TUB ON THE UPPER BACK DECK where you can watch snowboarders!

PRIVATE LOWER BACK DECK OFF THE MASTER SUITE!

High-Speed WIRELESS Cable Internet Service!

WALK TO THE SLOPES and WALK HOME WHEN YOU'RE DONE!

Located very near Mini-Golf, Go-Kart Track, Ski Lodge, one of the Massanutten's golf courses, Fareway's Restaurant & Lounge, the year-round breathtaking scenic Overlook at Massanutten's highest point attainable by car, hiking and biking trails, a big stocked fishing pond and more!

This End-Unit Family-Friendly town home is one of the best locations for lots of Massanutten activities!

Don't drive- WALK to mini-golf, go-kart track, golf, family fun park, skate park, fishing pond, the slopes, snow tubing park!

About 100 yards from this home are the slopes. Just walk there & ski down. When you are done for the day, take the chairlift up and walk back home!

Relax in the hot tub on the upstairs deck, or in the chair swing on the lower deck off the master bedroom!

Snuggle in front of a warm fire, (wood is provided. Fireplace use 01 October through 31 March, ONLY), in the living room and have some fun playing board games or putting together a jigsaw puzzle.

* This home has a high chair for babies and toddlers.

SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED ANYWHERE ON THIS PROPERTY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS ARE INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS.

MAXIMUM CAPACITY: 8

Enter the foyer and put your skis in the ski rack.

The living room, (with a large stone fireplace & cable TV with DVD player), has large windows to watch the snow sports going on at the lodge. Enjoy the mountain view.

There are books, jigsaw puzzles, cards and family boards games in the living room.

A cozy eat-in kitchen has a door to the deck, where you'll find a gas grill and a hot tub! Watch the snowboarders from the hot tub.

Downstairs there are 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.

Bedroom 1 has two sets of twin bunk beds. There is also a cable TV and a Super Nintendo system with games in this room.

Step out to the hallway to the full bath with a jetted tub, and shower. Bedroom 2 has a queen bed and a cable TV.

Bedroom 3, the Master bedroom has a queen bed, cable TV, a full bathroom, (with a tub/shower), and a door to the newly built private lower deck.

NO SMOKING ANYWHERE ON THIS PROPERTY.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 1485 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Back-up wall-unit a/c

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable or satellite TVs

* Dishwasher

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home) * Dishwasher & dish detergent

* Laundry detergent

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

PETS ALLOWED: 1 adult dog, ONLY; must have ALL current vaccinations; renter must sign Pet Policy and pay pet fee. Renter must clean up all pet waste from yard. Local leash laws must be adhered to.

***15% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 800-644-1355 for more info.

TOP OF THE MOUNTAIN!

WALK TO THE SLOPES, OUTDOOR SWIMMING POOL, MINI-GOLF, GO-KARTS! Less than 10 minutes to the WATER PARK and 2 GOLF COURSES!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.3
based on 4 traveler reviews

Hot Tub! Top of the Mountain! Cozy & Near It All! Wifi!
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews
3

Great location but bad timing

  • 3 of 5

First off, this is a great little place and a very good location. The kids loved the bunk room and the kitchen was well stocked. The Saturday night before we arrived it was cold enough for the resort to make snow but it warmed up slowly after that. We managed one day of tubing and fortunately there is so much to do in the area that we enjoyed our stay even without much snow.

The heat to the cabin was not working when we arrived and it was very cold in the property. We contacted the emergency maintenance person only to be told that he did not service this property. There is a fireplace that we were able to huddle around and plenty of blankets ... but it was a brutal first night and next day in the property. The auxiliary heat and portalble heater did not do anything to warm the place The property management was able to fix the heat by the end of the second day (of a 3 night stay). Despite the warming temperatures outside, it was a rough first day and a half.

We were disappointed by the property management follow up after the stay on their claim that we should not have been cold due to the warming daytime temperatures and the auxillary and portable heating unit. The response was simply that, "the lease states there is no refund for heating malfunction." This was more than a malfunction, we were ready to leave early. The overnight low on the first night was 24 degrees and our six people in the party wore hats and jackets the entire day and a half inside the property. Not what we would have expected, for $950 stay. Also it took over a month to get the security deposit back.

Despite all of this, it is a great get away. We made the most of it and the kids like to talk about how we camped inside the cabin. It is an easy drive from DC.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased, despite the heating problem, that you had a great stay. I apologise the central heat was not properly working at the beginning of your stay. As the info in the house explains, and I explained when you called my office, there are 2 back-up heating systems in the house as well as the fireplace. I've stayed in this house a few times and I don't use the central heat because it makes the house too warm for my husband and me; but we cooler indoor temps than some folks. We use the fireplace to warm the upstairs and we use the portable heater downstairs to heat the master suite, then we turn it off at bedtime. We've had lots of guests who heat the house like this when they are there. Not everyone has a fireplace at the home they live in, and they love using it at the vacation house. Once I knew the heating problem needed an HVAC man I called the HVAC company, immediately, and they scheduled someone to fix the problem as soon as they could. They pulled a man off an emergency job to send him to this home and take care of the problem so the central heat would work for your vacation, despite the increasing warm temperatures outdoors. He did show up on the 2nd day of your stay after you had been out all day and he got the heat working right away. The lease you signed has much in it to protect our guests, home owners and our company, including the piece about malfunction of appliances, etc. The lease you signed also explains that Virginia real estate law says your damage deposit can be held for 45 days, with no reason given to you. We don't hold them that long, because that is an unfriendly thing to do. We hold damage deposits for one month (or less) after your check out date. We do this in case guests have charged Pay-Per-View shows or movies. Waiting one month gives us enough time to get the cable bills. This is mentioned in the last paragraph of the driving & check-in info email we send to each guest 2-3 weeks before their check-in date. The damage deposit paragraph is highlighted in yellow so it is not missed. If you read it, you would have known it would take up to a month, despite the 45 day law, to get your damage deposit back. We put that in the email so you understand why there is a one month hold and not a 45 day hold on your damage deposit refund. Again, I'm sorry the central heat did not work the entire time you were here and I am glad you had a great vacation! Sincerely, Katrina Rental Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very comfortable. Good location for skiing.

  • 5 of 5

The rental workers were great. Wonderful house. Beautiful area. All we lacked was cold weather. Hiked and fished instead of snow sports. Kitchen had everything needed. Would suggest the rental to others.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed the house and your stay in Massanutten. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

cozy winter retreat

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this cozy home. The house was just what we were hoping for; close to the ski area, very comfortable, and with a fireplace and hot tub -- who could ask for more! My daughter really enjoyed watching the birds at the bird feeder, too; it was nice that they provided seed and binoculars.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed this vacation house we manage. We hope you will come back, to stay, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

SO RELAXING!

  • 5 of 5

We brought our 2 kids to enjoy a nice long weekend and had a great time. We went to the pool, the water park and the minigolf. The house is clean,comfortable and has very nice views.

Thank you we will be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Map

Car: necessary

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home!

Outdoor Pool (Summer, only), Tennis, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Massanutten Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 5 2016 - Sep 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
$800
 
 
Fall Peak
Sep 30 2016 - Oct 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Fall
Oct 31 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
$800
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Late Fall
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 8 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
$800
 
 
Ski Season
Dec 9 2016 - Dec 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 
 
Christmas wk - New Year's wknd
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 
 
MLK Jr weekend
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 17 2017 - Feb 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 
 
Presidents' Day wknd
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Ski Season
Feb 21 2017 - Mar 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 19 2017 - Apr 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$800
 
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Spring
Apr 17 2017 - May 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$800
 
 
JMU Graduation weekend
May 4 2017 - May 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Spring
May 8 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
$800
 
 
Memorial Day weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $300

Low Rates apply during non-holiday dates and non-Mid rate dates.
Mid Rates apply Summer, Peak Fall, and Ski Season.
Low & Mid: 2 night minimum.
Holiday Rates apply:
MLK Jr, Presidents', Easter, JMU Graduation, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, weekends AND Thanksgiving, and Christmas wk to New Year's Day wknd.
Holidays: 3 night minimum.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Shenandoah Valley Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1485 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , hallway bath
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , master bath
  • Guests: Bring your own wash cloths, hand towels and bath towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 4 twin/ single
  • All linens for the beds are included.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Pets allowed: 1 adult dog, only; must have all current vaccinations; renter must sign pet policy and pay pet fee. Renter must clean up all pet waste from yard. Local leash laws must be adhered to. For more info, please contact us.

Partner Offers