Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Charming House Travis Heights / South Congress - SoCo / Downtown Area

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Our 2BR house, in historical Travis Heights, is the perfect Austin retreat with a unique contemporary charm. Our living room is bright and cheerful with large windows and hardwood floors throughout the main living space. Our living room has a flat screen TV and entertainment center. The living room connects to the dining room, followed by the kitchen area. This main space is perfect for entertaining friends and family, with easy flow between rooms. Our renovated kitchen comes fully-equipped with all new appliances, cookware, and fixtures. Off the side of the kitchen we have a distinctive sun room with plush couches; this is a tranquil space to enjoy your morning cup of coffee and read the paper. Our two bedrooms both come with queen size Tempurpedic beds, original hard wood floors, and impeccable bedding. The shared bathroom is one of a kind with a rare claw-foot bathtub and southern comfort style. Our house has all the comforts of home with authentic Austin style.

Travis Heights is a historic Austin Neighborhood in south downtown. The main attraction of this neighborhood is the proximity to South Congress Avenue. South Congress is full of hip cafes and stores, and attracts many tourists and young professionals from all over the world. South Congress Avenue is an easy four block stroll away or you can walk two blocks to East Riverside Drive; either way, you have access to all the best restaurants, bars and shopping that Austin has to offer. Watch a game on the patio at Doc's, grab a bite at one of the many great restaurants (we recommend Perla's), and then wind down with a nightcap at the Continental Club without ever moving your car. To get to downtown Austin is just as easy: call Uber, a cab, or hop in your car; either way you are just a short three minute drive/ride away.

Travis Heights is a historic Austin Neighborhood in south downtown. The main attraction of this neighborhood is the proximity to South Congress Avenue. South Congress is full of hip cafes and stores, and attracts many tourists and young professionals from all over the world. South Congress Avenue is an easy four block stroll away or you can walk two blocks to East Riverside Drive; either way you have access to all the best restaurants, bars and shopping that Austin has to offer. Watch a game on the patio at Doc's, grab a bite at one of the many great restaurants (we recommend Perla's), and then wind down with a nightcap at the Continental Club without ever moving your car! To get to downtown Austin is just as easy, call Uber, a cab, or hop in your car; either way you are just a short 3 minute drive/ride away!

OL # 2013-000176 OL

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. When you book with us we’ll send you our mobile app with directions, our 24-hour live support number and rental guide. Then, you can drive right to the rental which features a digital door lock where you’ll use your unique code to enter (no need to meet for keys). Inside, you'll enjoy our premium amenities: shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens. You can request an early check-in / late check-out and we will arrange it whenever possible.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

Amenities

Greater South River City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Claw-foot Tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 2 Queen beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
22% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
8% Complete
Charming House Travis Heights / South Congress - SoCo / Downtown Area
average rating of 4.1944447 based on 36 reviews
Houston, TX
3

Great location

  • 3 of 5

This rental is in an excellent location, it's easy to bike into downtown from here (we brought our own bikes). We really enjoyed relaxing on the front porch, and the bed in the back bedroom was really comfortable. Inside, the house is pretty basic, almost spare, and I have stayed in other rentals that provided a few more amenities, especially for the price. There were 2 single K-cups provided, and some basic travel-size toiletry products in the bathroom. Adding things like tea, some creamer and sweetener packets, and a Brita jug for filtered water goes a long way in making a rental feel homier. Basic antenna tv service, which wasn't something worth calling in and complaining about, but most rentals usually offer cable or satellite. Its a great choice if you won't be home much, but amenities felt lacking. We also counted about 7 big sticky mouse traps throughout the house, and I'm glad we didn't wake up to find mice stuck to them!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Stay in Austin

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property is 3 blocks from South Congress Avenue. We walked down there for dinner 2 nights and drove down the third evening. Parking was not an issue. There was very little noise in the neighborhood. We had a couple of issues that the rental company dealt with quickly (Keurig and a mouse). We enjoyed our stay there. FYI, the grill in the backyard is very small but understandable since it is a rental home.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Glenn, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to know that you called our 24/7 support line here at TurnKey when issues came up and that we were quickly able to resolve these concerns. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to hearing from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Booked offline,
1

Stay Away

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Floor was dirty. Coffee pot had coffee in it from prior guest. No dressers in bedrooms. Basic tv -- unable to watch world series playoff games. Tub drained slow, water backed up. Kurig capsules but no brewing unit. $500/night is a rip off.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hi William, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that if anything at all comes up, guests are conveniently able to reach us 24 hours-a-day on our guest hotline. Unfortunately, we are only now learning of these problems, but wish we had known during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Emeryville,
5

Austin

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Quit neigbourhood in walking distance of SoCo and central Austin. Great,

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Round Rock, TX
5

Great experience at Travis Heights!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great relaxing weekend staying at the charming house in Travis Heights! The house was clean when we arrived. They were flexible by allowing an early check-in/late check-out, and the check-out instructions were super easy. The only issue we encountered was the bed in the first bedroom broke because it was missing the supports in the frame. I emailed the property contact and didn't hear back and one of the couples had to sleep with the top mattress on the floor both nights during our stay. Other than that, it was a great location and we had a great time!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kristin, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration that we were unable to address it during your stay. Please be assured that we are looking into missing frame supports for the bed. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Although not a great excuse, I am not sure why we did not receive the email. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it is feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out anytime on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tyler, TX
4

Great Stay!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house was in a great location, easy to get in and out, easy door code set up. I would stay here again. Nothing fancy but clean as worth the price!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Travis Heights is a charming, eclectic, and historic neighborhood located in south Austin, Texas. It is known for it's proximity to downtown, SoCo, IH-35, Lady Bird Lake, Zilker Park, and Barton Springs Pool. If you are interested in enjoying the music scene and bars on 6th Street, dining and shopping on South Congress (SoCo) Avenue, hiking or jogging on the trail around Lady Bird Lake, enjoying the festivities during the South-by-Southwest or ACL festivals, or taking a dip in Barton Springs - all are within walking distance. We are also a short walk from Hotel Saint Cecilia.

Travis Heights is home to Big Stacy and Little Stacy parks and the Blunn Creek greenbelt. Nearby attractions and venues include Auditorium Shores and Austin Convention Center for SXSW, as well as Zilker Park for ACL Fest, and the Moody Theater for ACL Live. A short drive on nearby IH-35 will get you to Inner Space Cavern, one of the best preserved caves in Texas. Or satisfy your shopping itch by visiting the giant outlet malls in neighboring San Marcos or Round Rock. An approximate 20-30 minute drive will get you to the new Formula 1 racetrack.

Austin is known as the Live Music Capital of the world - and many of the clubs that host these bands are located on infamous 6th Street in downtown. Also nearby are a multitude of restaurants, the Warehouse district, the State Capitol, Guadalupe street (AKA 'the Drag'), and of course the UT campus and home to the Texas Longhorns - all within a few minutes drive or comfortable walk into downtown.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.

You might like these similar properties