Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront West Coast Vacation Home

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Experience the West Coast of Vancouver Island at 'Surf Side Cottage' this is a lovely fully equipped ocean front three bedroom home. This home offers the experience of high bank ocean front with a cozy new hot tub perched on the cliff and stair access to the private pebble beach.

Surf Side features a contemporary style home with fir floors, cedar ceilings and an airtight wood stove for romantic nights. Relax on the deck while overseeing the ocean wildlife as this is the place to get away from it all! Take in the fresh ocean breeze and feast your eyes with the scenery.

For the active at heart one can hike the nearby Juan de Fuca Trail which is part of the West coast trail or one can also visit the Botanical Beach in Port Renfrew.

This home is rented at low season rates by the day, by the week or month from September to June, high season is July and August.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Ines Swansburg
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish, dutch
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2017

About Ines Swansburg

My name is Ines, I am of Dutch descend but was born in Spain hence the spanish name. I moved with my family to Victoria BC, straight from the Costa Brava in Spain when I was 14 years old. Now, that is a long time ago! I am a registerd nurse and love my job in the community. I have two sons and a small mix breed non-shedding 12 lbs dog. I also love my place out in Sooke that I share with many people all over the world.It is the perfect place to get away from our busy lives.

Ines Swansburg purchased this house in 1992

Why Ines Swansburg chose Sooke

This home was my first home that I owned and never could bring myself to sell it. Renting out month to month could not give me the options to enjoy it so the vacation rental option was perfect for us!

What makes this house unique

Peace and tranquility. Love getting close to the sun, fresh air and ocean breeze.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sad to leave, had a awesome vacation went to Victoria for the day, visited Botanical Beach, drove to Comox and all with great weather. Well equipped cottage, the best view ever and the hot tub made our stay very enjoyable. We'll be back to visit again.

ps; our doggie Maggie had a fun vacation too!
Aug 2006
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Sooke House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No outside fires on beach or on property
  • Only the guests on the guest list will be allowed on the property at any time during the rental period. Full damage deposit will be kept otherwise.
  • One dog per set of guests allowed on the property per stay. (Must be well trained). Pet not allowed on furniture or beds. No cats permited.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One 4 pc bathroom on main floor shared by master and second bedroom. One full private bathroom in third bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Twin Beds (2), Teen Beds (2), Sleep Sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront West Coast Vacation Home
average rating of 4.965517 based on 32 reviews
5

Amazing Location!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most relaxing Thanksgiving weekend at Ines property. Waking up to views of the strait & Olympic mountain range was incredible but only to be outdone by watching the sunset from the hot tub. The kitchen was well stocked with anything you might need to cook your meals as you're not going to want to leave the house! If we ever make it back to Sooke we will definitely be staying at this lovely cottage.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
4

A Lovely Getaway Spot

  • 4 of 5

We both totally enjoyed our stay. The location was quiet and beautiful, with the ocean swells surging over the rocks and plenty of seals, sea lions and birds to watch. We usually left the sliding door in the bedroom partly open so we could enjoy the sounds of the surf and sea while enjoying the great king-sized bed.

The place was clean and everything worked. We cooked some great meals in the well-equipped kitchen and enjoyed sitting by the wood stove in the evenings. We also liked the clean, uncluttered look of the house, with minimal knick knacks and superfluous decorations to detract from our peaceful experience. The shower was wonderful, with good pressure and we never ran out of the soft hot water. The wifi worked fine for the minimal use we made of it. Cellphone coverage was OK too.

Negatives? Some of the windows could have been cleaner. We could occasionally hear a car or truck go by on the road but it was low volume and not intrusive. The big disappointment was the hot tub. Ines contacted us a few days before our arrival to tell us it needed repairs so would not be available. She offered to refund our money completely or give us back one day's rent. We chose the latter and did not regret our decision.

All in all we would return to this house without hesitation. A lovely quiet place.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lee! It was a pleasure to have you stay at Surfside and I am glad you chose to stay even when the hot tub was not available. The hot tub was an ordeal to repair but it is up and running! Yeah!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Woodinville, Washington, US
5

wow!! the only word to describe it!

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at surfside cottage. what a beautifull view, breathtaking!!!! The kids loved watching the seals, sea lions and sea otters passing by. Also waking up with the sounds of the waves. The house was great and had everything we needed. We would love to come again! And we will recommend this cottage to al our friends!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria
5

Sunrise from the master, Sunset from the hot tub...

  • 5 of 5

You couldn't pick a better well laid out, comfortable place with spectacular ocean views. We woke to sunrise out the master, watched sunset from the living room and hot tub. You can even sit in the bathroom and look out at the ocean! Open living area / kitchen completely stocked with everything you need plus books, games and movies. We should have brought a fishing rod, as the private deck and staircase to the beach could offer some fish, the sea lions and otters teasing us. Towels and even little slippers at the door for your hot tub needs, come in to a toasty fire in the wood stove :) Internet and cell service not great, but just plan for 'who needs it'. There is a landline if you need to contact anyone. Owner is lovely, booking and questions quick and easy. So relaxing, we will be back for sure.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review! The internet WiFi works except someone re-set the router recently causing the settings to be lost. It will be fixed. Cell reception is spotty and may go to the States across the water. Guests may want to turn roaming off.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to relax

  • 5 of 5

Second time staying here and just as good as the first. Beautiful relaxing view from the patio and hot tub. Did not use the wood burning stove but am sure it would be nice on a cold day. Saw whales and seals this visit. Kitchen is well stocked. Could not ask for a better place to relax for a few days. Hope to come back again maybe in the winter this time. Added bonus she takes dogs!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Collingwood Ontario Canada
5

Beautiful getaway

  • 5 of 5

Surfside cottage is located in a beautiful remote setting. Perfect place to take in amazing scenery and quiet down time. The cottage itself was very comfortable and felt like home. The view could not be better. In spite of the rainy weather we thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, wood stove, and staring out over Juan de Fuca. Hard to leave.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
Victoria airport, BC
Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
Sooke
Nearest Ferry
70 Kilometres
BC ferries
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Sooke
Nearest Restaurant
5 Kilometres
Sooke
Nearest Ski
340 Kilometres
Mount Washington, Courtney
Car: necessary

Close to French Beach, Muir Creek trail, Juan de Fuca trail, Jordan River, Sooke Pot holes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $116.69
Pet Fee $19.45
Damage Deposit $233.37

Prices quoted above are for 2 Adults and any additional people are $25 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties