Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Home of Captain Nat Herreshoff Bristol Harbor

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 3.5+ Baths (Sleeps 6-8) all rooms with Water Views.

Water Front Historic Home built by Captain Nat Herreshoff, yacht designer and builder of Five America's Cup boats.

Beautiful surroundings with accommodating living rooms, all with water views. Outstanding porches overlooking Bristol Harbor facing west for viewing sunsets. Perfect patio for relaxing outdoor dinners. Back yard commands amazing passages of boats into Bristol Harbor, great yacht watching. All bedrooms are private and have luxurious baths and showers.

Master suite on own floor, and two other bedrooms with baths on separate floor along with a Den and balcony overlooking Bristol Harbor. 4000 square feet of living space to enjoy with family or find a perfect nook to read, swim, relax and soak up the sun. House has multiple levels. Works perfectly for 2 couples, or small family.

Magnificent waterfront home with many amenities. Walk into town and enjoy the seaside village of Bristol with its many lovely restaurants, museums,parks and wedding venues. Newport is just an 18 minute drive from Bristol where you can enjoy Newport's famous Ocean Drive and Mansions from the Guilded Age. Bristol is a perfect locale for a family gathering with many activities available. This house is within walking distance to Blithewold Gardens, Mount Hope Farm and Linden Place. The Herreshoff America's Cup Museum, is located across the street from this famous home. Roger Williams University is also nearby as is Brown University, Salve Regina University and the Naval War College.

More Details

Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

we have been fortunate to live at Love Rocks for many years. It is a beautiful homes filled with books and wonderful art. The sunsets are unforgettable something that we never tire of. we love sharing it with our clients who cherish Love Rocks it as much as we do.

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Bristol

One of the most ionic and beautiful homes in Bristol, Rhode Island. Commanding views of Narragansett Bay. Watch yacht racing from the kitchen window.

Easy walk to town, restaurants , and the many activities that Bristol has to offer.

What makes this house unique

Amazing Historical Home built by the famous yacht designer Nathaniel Herreshoff in 1883.


Bristol House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No smoking on premises. Use of dock is prohibited.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Beds - Double - Queen - King
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
House is Water Front on Narragansett Bay, sailing, canoeing, swimming, boating , all water sports at your door step. Amazing sunsets. Fabulous kitchen with commercial appliances and waterfront dinning areas. Beautiful bathrooms with steam shower, and jet bathing tub. All bedrooms with private bathrooms, accompanied with beautiful linens.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Home of Captain Nat Herreshoff Bristol Harbor
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews

Unbeatable experience!!

  • 5 of 5

My stay at "Love Rocks" in Bristol was incredible and exceeded all expectation. I found it to be the loveliest of all vrbo homes I've visited. The VIEWS are spectacular with expansive ocean views and amazing scenery from every window. I travel to the Bristol/Newport area often and will never stay anywhere else again. I was in town for a family event and it was convenient to Downtown Bristol and neighboring Newport, yet very private... you feel like you're on your own little island! The house is so romantic and has tons of history. All living spaces, bedrooms and baths are feel very updated and beautiful. Although I didn't use it much, the kitchen had everything a gourmet chef would want with amazing views of Narragansett Bay. I only wish my trip was longer (and that it was in the middle of summer). I could only imagine how spectacular that would be! We will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Love Rocks, and so happy it met all your needs. I look forward to your return . Carol Smith
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

While the property is breathtaking, the restrictions are not welcoming

  • 2 of 5

The house and grounds are just beautiful. But, upon arriving, we were told we could not go down to the water, use the dock, use any of the upper decks, or entertain visitors. The only bathtub was broken, and there was no nighttime parking. The housekeeper (who does not clean when there are guests) apparently lurked about reporting to the owner any violations. When she found a cigarette butt, she called me and screamed at me (I'd asked the smoker in my party to pick up any trash--butts--from the open space next to the house--a public park--and dispose of them). I can only guess that she dropped one. As a reformed smoker myself, I cannot tolerate the smell and would have immediately known if there was smoking in the house. I could not understand the phone call from the employee (not the owner) and her rude and angry accusations, insinuating that someone had put out a cigarette on the front hall table (my husband and I scoured the place before we left and would have seen such a thing).

It is a lovely place, but not worth the stress and ugly behavior.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Totally surprised by this review. This is a spectacular property that so many guests have enjoyed. One factor is that my housekeeper is always available to help out with any questions or help if so desired. I texted the renter the day of her departure to thank her and her reply was it was "the best". The contract states that the Dock is prohibited for liability reasons. ( I own the dock with 3 other owners). Guests are certainly welcome to walk in the yard that belongs to me along the water. The contract states that there is no smoking. Upon arrival my housekeeper reviews the house policies as the house is an Historic Home built in 1883 in a quaint New England town . Her introduction is meant to be helpful and informative. There is parking available on the street . There are certain idiosyncrasies that comes with a Codo , all reasonable and to ensure everyone's privacy. The contract states that there are no large gatherings , events or parties allowed. Also, no additional guests may stay other than the number agreed upon stated in lease. I checked the issue regarding the bath tub. The spa drain is working it just wasn't turned properly. ( this was never mentioned) . My housekeeper would have been glad to assist if asked. My housekeeper was not lurking around , she was staying next door whlie my neighbors were away, taking care of their pets, she also never called me. Unfortunately, she was upset when she cleaned and found cigarettes butts and ashes in the dinning room. As smoking is prohibited there are no ashtrays. She called the renter without notifying me, she was not rude just upset. She is a wonderful gal and has made many friends with guests over the years. She was understandably concerned about smoking in the house and I respect that she is responsible about this wonderful property. Im sorry that it made this renter uncomfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Beautiful Setting; Difficult Owner

  • 3 of 5

We (seven family members in total) rented this house for six nights in September to celebrate our parents’ 50th wedding anniversary with them.

First, let me say that this house is lovely with terrific views. Photos in the rental listing provide a good sense of the home’s décor and ambiance. And the owner's caretaker, who was housesitting close-by, couldn’t have been more helpful during our stay.

But all did not go smoothly, as explained below, and the owner has been intransigent from the moment we first brought a significant issue to her attention within hours of our arrival: the house, even with all windows open, was oppressively hot all day long for our first five days.

Yet the owner, despite her otherwise good-faith intentions and actions, seems incapable of acknowledging that her home could be anything but magnificent in every respect. The owner's initial reaction and ongoing antipathy has been beyond disappointing.

Should you take my word for it? Of course not. I am happy to provide the email exchange between myself and the owner, our subsequent communications with HomeAway, and detailed photos including several with indoor temperature data from all main rooms. Please, decide for yourselves whether our expectations as renters were unrealistic and Carol’s response perfectly appropriate.

In this forum, I am leaving out the exasperating details. Why? To avoid a “he-said-she-said” back and forth with the owner that likely would leave you bewildered if not bored to tears. It’s all available for the asking should you be so curious. Feel free then to contact the owner with any or all information provided. Personally, I prefer not to continue banging my head against the proverbial wall with this owner. Remember what Einstein said is the definition of insanity?

I leave you with two important take-aways whether or not you inquire further: 1) It may prove useless for you to bring deficiencies or other problems to this owner’s attention with an expectation of her taking any responsibility; and 2) HomeAway is powerless to intervene in disagreements between an owner and renter; you are 100% on your own.

David R.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Prior to renting my home I have lengthy conversations with prospective renters to make certain that my home is a perfect fit. After being informed that the house did not have central air conditioning ( built in 1883) the renters felt that this would not be an issue , as there were bedroom a/c units and they would be sufficient . I have lived in my home for over 35 years and the stiff breezes from Narragansett Bay have more than been accommodating during the Summers. The day before their arrival there was a hurricane about to hit RI , fortunately ,it not interfere with their travel plans . Instead, the storm left behind a week of glorious sunny warm weather for 10 days . Most guests would count their lucky stars and rejoice. New England can be tricky weather any time of the year but as a result of the warmer ( than usual ) weather this family wanted a partial refund for the unexpected heat wave. What if it rained for a week? I did not refund any money that was requested . It is a beautiful home with many respeat clients who I cherish .
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Beautiful home in an amazing location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this beautiful home for 10 days with our two teenage children, and had a fabulous time. It helped that the weather was just about perfect.

Communication with Carol (the owner) and Dottie (the housekeeper) was really good, and Dottie met us at the house on the first day and showed us the various items of equipment etc. The house feels like a home, rather than an impersonal holiday destination, and we felt comfortable right away. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. Parking is easy. The house is beautifully decorated - the only thing to be aware of is that there is a lot of going up and down stairs!

Bristol is a lovely little town, which doesn't feel too touristy, but having said that, there are some great restaurants and cafes there. The place has a very relaxed feel to it, and locals seem fairly laid back: Bristol does not have a hectic city pace. It's an easy walk into the town - we walked in just about every day we were there. Roger Williams University is nearby, which means that there's a slight collegey vibe as well. The best meals we had were at Christian's and the Sunset Cafe. Leo's Ristorante was good (the melon sangria is dangerously drinkable), and we had one good and one OK meal at the Thames Waterside Bar and Grill. The meal at the DeWolf Tavern wasn't so great. We got a pizza delivery from Papa Joe's wrap shack which was great (and they found the house OK). The pizzas are enormous.

The house is on the main bus route between Providence and Newport and bus service is fast and reliable. Although a car is recommended, you could easily visit without one. In particular, if you have teenagers who want to explore by themselves, the bus would be a great way to do this. We took the bus to Providence one evening to see WaterFire (google it - it's well worth the visit if it coincides with your stay), and another time took the bus to Newport. We went to Newport a few times - to try out the restaurants, take a harbour tour and to look at the mansions. The Marble House is magnificent, and there's a display about the Americas Cup, which of course mentions Nat Herreshoff. (In fact, a book about him, available from the Marble House gift shop, describes Love Rocks in the first paragraph).

There's plenty to do in the surrounding area. We spent a day in Boston (and wished we had more time).

The internet is super-fast and covers the house well.

All in all, this was one of the best vacations we have had.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Had a wonderful time!!!!

  • 5 of 5

After reading some of the reviews I decides to rent this beautiful house for 17 days in August 2014. My husband was attending Brown for a masters program. The commute for him was good and the location, so close to Newport and beaches for my teenaged girls and I was excellent. The house has the most beautiful views from every opening!! The art work in the home is museum quality. Beds were comfy,kitchen well stocked, nothing is needed. Dottie is the manager/house keeper and is delightful! Carol, the owner, was so easy to deal with. She is a very nice person. We want to come back, did not want to leave. How lucky we were to be there for so long.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Columbus, Ohio

Fall Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5

When visiting Bristol for a wedding, my family (husband, college-age children and I, plus my sister and her husband) spent a beautiful fall weekend in this fabulous home. It was a quintessential coastal New England experience! Fabulous historic setting, period home with beautiful antiques and art, spectacular views and grounds. Easy walk into shopping and dining area of Bristol (but drove the .6 mile for dinner...high-heel thing) and discovered great restaurants, charming shopping, friendly merchants and the classic New England clapboard houses and stone walls. Thumbs up to Persimmon, Le Central, and Thames Waterfront Grill, but Bristol House of Pizza was just so-so. Stayed at the house and enjoyed dining and visiting on the patio watching boats on the bay and the beautiful gardens. The house has such beautiful architectural details, and great modern amenities, such as fabulous bathrooms and plenty of hot water. So many delightful places to relax in the house that it was hard to choose one. We want to go back and spend a week! (Note: there is a lot of stair climbing in the house.)

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles

Beautiful waterfront location with amazing sunsets and views of Narragansett Bay. Walk to town, bike path moments away, Newport Ocean beaches 20 minutes away.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200
Tax Rate 8.0%

From $3800/week Week of July 4th rate is $4000.00 per week.
Weekend rental or other time periods other than weekly please call for rates.
Dates available:Spring Summer, Fall 2014 is open at this time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.