Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

WEEKLY Casa Domingi OPEN WATER Destination Kids Pets Group Couples Relaxing Fun

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms and 2 baths, sleeps up to 8 people

Located on the open water of Big Pine Key, this is a tranquil and natural property just 30 minutes from Key West. This property has an unparalleled and fantastic open water sunrise view of nearby mangrove islands and the old Bahia Honda railway bridge. Located on Spanish Harbor with easy access to both the Gulf and Atlantic alike, this property caters to salt water enthusiasts, fishermen, sun lovers and folks that just desire peaceful enjoyment in a wonderful hunk of paradise. Diminutive Endangered Key Deer wander around freely blending right in with the natural surroundings.

Open concept, well maintained, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated elevated concrete stilt home with 2 elevated covered verandahs. 3 bedrooms, two of which are on the open water with french doors to the verandah, 2 baths, a large well equipped and modern kitchen and a great living room. Large coconut palm lined clean concrete patio waterside with cleats, seawall and fender boards allows shallow draft dockage subject to tide fluctuations.

All this with a view that just can't be beat. Almost 1/2 acre of land right on the open water.

More Details

Owner
Dan Gilroy
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, Pig Latin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

About Dan Gilroy

Originally from Ohio I moved our family here before the children grew up because it is the opposite of cold and grey. In the decades since I have grown to love the natural beauty of things in, on and around the water.

Dan Gilroy purchased this house in 1996

Why Dan Gilroy chose Lower Florida Keys

We had wintered in the area for 2 years and picked this location because of good neighbors, easy water access and a quiet street that was still near enough to US1 to have easy access to necessities. Honestly, the view from the house across the water is the best I've ever seen down here. There's not a house in the Keys that I've ever visited that has a better view. See for yourself and decide.

What makes this house unique

The view. Almost a half acre of land which is quite large for the Keys. Lots of privacy fenced parking for friends , boat trailers and good times. Both blue water and backwater access right outside the door. Did I mention the view?

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our group had a very enjoyable stay at Casa Domingi. The weather was cooperative as we were able to fish every day and did not have any rain. The property worked out fine for us. The location is excellent for fishing the bridge area. We docked three boats and rafted two together which worked okay. The big inflated buoy’s worked great to keep the boats off the sea wall. We moved the table from the west patio into the living room for dining. We had plenty of room for parking our vehicles and boat trailers. The place is very quiet and somewhat isolated which we liked. We ended up with seven people as one individual had an accident the week before the trip and had to cancel. I slept one night on the couch and the rest of the week on the seaside patio on an air mattress and cot. The breeze was very nice and kept the mosquitoes away. Our group was definitely liked the properties and will consider it next year. I liked your house manual as it is very complete and well done. We did not eat any meals out and cooked all our meals in house.







A couple of improvements we would suggest are a fish cleaning station and rod racks for stowing the fishing rods would be nice. I did see a scorpion in the lower lever as it scooted under the chair. The seawall could use a few more cleats and bumpers to more conveniently dock three boats directly on the sea wall.
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Big Pine Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bedroom Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Main Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , On-suite bathroom Open water verandah access
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Small Desk and chair Open Water verandah access
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Side view for the kids or late sleepers.
  • Master and Second Bedroom include French doors opening to water side verandah and open water sunrise views. Sleeps 6 in bedrooms, 8 total using the queen size sleeper couch.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Shallow draft dockage available subject to tide fluctuations giving access to America's largest living coral reef. A scuba, snorkel and fishing paradise. Direct open water access to both backwater flats and open blue water ocean. Clean 2700+ sq.ft. oceanfront palm tree lined sunbathing patio.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
WEEKLY Casa Domingi OPEN WATER Destination Kids Pets Group Couples Relaxing Fun
average rating of 4.7 based on 31 reviews
4

Comfortable and relaxing stay off the main drag

  • 4 of 5

We stayed as a group of 8 adults for a 40th birthday celebration. The house was comfortable and had plenty of adequate indoor and outdoor space for everyone to hang out. We enjoyed the proximity to great fishing, Bahia Honda beach, and other nearby Keys. Evenings on the back patio are the best!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey folks, Thanks for the review. Casa Domingi is a great place with great direct water access to back water flats or the front off shore "blue" water. Left or right, either way you turn once you leave here by boat, there's plenty of great fishing available. Bahia Honda Beach is quite the bonus, it's a wonderful natural beach. We've got plenty of clean indoor and outdoor spaces for your peaceful enjoyment. and as if that weren't enough, fantastic sunrises and sunsets put a great cap on a great time. Thank you much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not worth the price

  • 2 of 5

Was not worth what they are charging for it. In my opinion, this house looks WAY better in the pictures, kudos to the photographer, makes appear much nicer than it really is. We have stayed in the Keys every summer for the last 15 years and this is the first time we felt we overpaid. Don't expect to fish off the seawall, it's only 1 foot deep. My daughter's suitcase(that was in the closet of the master bedroom) was covered in ants the 2nd day and I had to go through all the clothes and suitcase....wasted an hour of my vacation time and had multiple roaches throughout our stay. I know the Keys has bugs, like I said we've stayed there for ever...This house had more bugs than any of the others we've stayed at. Usually the kitchen yes, but I've never had problems in bedrooms...especially the amount of ants I had to get out of my daughter's suitcase.Also, with as much as they charge for cleaning they need to hire a different housecleaners, my guess is the owners are the "cleaning crew" and do the minimum. With all the departure rules I felt as though we were doing all the cleaning for the next renters.

I have stayed in the Keys a long time and have renter much, bigger, prettier, nicer, cleaner, pool homes for cheaper. I felt duped by the pictures.

Overall I just want renters to know what they are renting. We have stayed in much nicer homes for much less. We did have a hiccup over some confusion with a deposit that I now understand, but even without the hiccup, my feelings are the same. The house is "ok" and if you are fine with paying premium for "ok" then this is the house for you. I am not happy with that and was going off the previous reviews. Maybe I am spoiled with what I have stayed in before, but I definitely would not stay here again, not for the rate they charge.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Where did this come from? In 4 years of renting this property we've never quite had a "guest" like you, nor for that matter, a review like this. And to first hear such scathing comments here, is quite the stab in the back. Seriously, you rented the house, stayed there and were quite happy with everything (based on the texts you sent, which I still have), until you wanted a security deposit refunded that you never paid (you had bought the insurance instead). Is this review your idea of "getting even with us" for your mistake? Honestly, why the 2 stars? The words seem much more like a 1 star review. Am I to believe based on your comments that if we lowered the price, that bugs would would be acceptable? Seriously? To present such blatant lies here in a public forum is quite despicable. We use a professional top ranked cleaning company, the fees they charge us, that we pass on to customers( we don't make a nickel on those) is competitive with other properties in the Keys. You are the first ever to complain of the cleanliness. Looking at the scores of other reviews, the truth shows to be quite the contrary. This is a very clean house. The pictures are less than one year old and are an accurate representation of the property. I did watch a Robin Williams film years ago that reminds me of your comments. It was a funny, fictional movie. If there were ants or roaches in your daughter's suitcase, it was because you brought them with you, why else would they only be there, and as you say... not in the kitchen? The statement regarding bigger, cleaner, nicer for cheaper is absolutely false as anyone who has actually rented in the Keys before knows. We know our market, and we are priced very competitively for an open water home. Regarding the "1 foot water depth" at the property, please tell that to my 28' fishing boat with a full tower and twin motors that I used daily. I'm not sure that she's ever gotten that memo. The one portion of your rant that I absolutely agree with, is your last. Please don't ever stay here again. All you really did with this review is show what you are made of. I had the option to not allow this review on our property, many home owners do that to improve their ranking. I've shown every review we have ever had, including this one. We'll stand by our reviews. I think people can see though and find the truth.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palatka, FL USA
5

A little slice of paradise on Big Pine Key

  • 5 of 5

There were seven in our party - 5 adults and 2 children. We all enjoyed Casa Domingi greatly. The house itself was very comfortable with a large open kitchen/living room. The kitchen was well-equipped with all the pots and pans; coffee makers (including Keurig); and plates, glasses, and utensils in abundant supply. The beds were all comfortable. The outside area overlooking the water was breath-taking. Being visited by the occasional Key Deer was also special.The location was about 30 miles to Key West, which we visited twice. One person in our party brought a boat, and the ramp was quite close.

It was delight in dealing with the owner who answered all our questions and provided helpful information from the time we made reservations until we departed. I hope to be able to return to Casa Domingi in the near future.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks kindly folks. Can we be serious for a moment? What would life be without coffee? And what better way to enjoy a fine and fresh cup of the nectar of the gods than sitting on the veranda right here in paradise, watching the sun pop up out of the ocean and the day come alive. Let's face it, when that view takes your breath away, that just leaves more room for coffee... it's a win-win. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, it was our pleasure to have you. Those little key deer coming into the large yard and just hanging out is pretty special as well, that never gets old.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

This home is well stocked. Located centrally, and an easy clean up. Also great beds-thank you.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks folks. We like comfort, and we're glad that you do as well. Top quality linens and bedding go a long way towards making for a restful evening. Nothing better after a fun filled day in the Florida Keys. Keeping the kitchen loaded with everything a person needs to work their magic helps to facilitate an enjoyable time at Casa Domingi.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything was great! Amazing view, awesome fishing!

  • 5 of 5

This house in Big Pine Key was all we could have wanted and more. We had a large group, but there was plenty of room for everyone in the house. Before the trip, we were worried about the docking situation, but we ended up docking a 23 foot boat with no issues. The house came with everything we needed including one of the best views you could ask for. Overall, this house exceeded expectations and allowed us to have a great week in Big Pine Key.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your time here at Casa Domingi. Fantastic views of tropical waters loaded with fish and fun. Thanks for bringing that up. We sometimes forget about the things we see and do every day here in paradise. Great boating, world class fishing, and water sport activities of all kinds help to round out an overall great time at a great hut in a great location (with a killer view). Spring and summer fishing is just starting up with glass smooth warm waters as far as the eye can see. Thanks for making our place a part of your tropical vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gainesville, florida
5

Fantastic family vacation at Casa Domingi!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week. Very comfortable home with gorgeous views. Everything worked great and accommodated our family of 5 easily. We have 3 sons ages 15, 11 and 9 who fished, swam and did some paddle boarding off the back deck. We ate take out from several restaurants on Big Pine and easily found bait and places to fish along the keys. We enjoyed snorkeling and a day of fishing all within 10 minutes of the house. The location is terrific and there is a grocery store close for anything you need. Great week.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you folks for that spot on review. We work hard to make Casa Domingi a great place for an enjoyable time in paradise. Our location puts us right in the middle of it all, while at the same time just far enough away to be serene and relaxing. Eat out, take out or waterside dining at home are all great experiences with our view. We're glad you and your family had a great time. It's a great place to do a great week.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Key West International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Springer's Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Key West Express to Tampa
Nearest Golf
29 Miles
Key West Public Golf Course
Nearest Train
150 Miles
Amtrak in Miami
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
US 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Bistro 31 Steak and Seafood
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Water Ski in the front yard
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Bahia Honda State Park
Car: recommended

Million Dollar view! Located on the open water with unparalleled sunrise views of the bay and several keys including Bahia Honda. Situated in a secluded and serene location of Big Pine Key surrounded by Endangered Key Deer. Local. Close enough to town to be convenient to essentials and entertainment. Just 27 miles from Key West. Grocery, Drug Stores, Post Office, Banks, Gas, Liquor stores, Bars and Restaurants just up town and just a bicycle ride away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Pine Key House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Mini-Season 2017
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 28 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,175
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,175
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
Peak 2018
Dec 30 2017 - Jul 20 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,295
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
$300
$1,975
$7,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200 + Tax
Pet Fee $250
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.5%

$1800/wk - $2850/wk
Check-in time is 3:00 PM, check-out time is 10:00 sharp. No Late Check-outs are available.
Monthly and Seasonal Discount rates are available subject to prior bookings.
Play it safe and buy travel insurance through Homeaway, no refunds.
Up to 2 well mannered pets are allowed for one $250 pet fee.
A 3.5% Convenience fee is added to all credit card transactions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties