Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cloudland Hand-Hewn Log Cabin, Secluded Fairy Tale with Spectacular View

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Loft + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-7). Central AC/Heat

This is your opportunity to experience all the ambience of a fully-modern log cabin with that old-time fairy tale charm, deep in the woods of scenic Lookout Mountain. The view of Shinbone Valley below provides a pastoral glimpse of nature at its most magnificent. The cabin features wood carvings and ironwork by local artisans in every detail and at every turn. The front steps greet our guests with acorn finials on the rail. Through the hand built barn-style front door one can glimpse the ironwork turkey chandelier hanging gracefully from the cathedral ceiling of the living area. Up the cabin stairs with its hand carved acorn newel post is the loft, which boasts a hand built and carved pine queen sized bed with four stately acorn finials. And Daisy the wooden bear cub clutches the cabin's massive center post high above her human guests.

On chilly winter days the cast iron stove and old fashioned quilts give all the comfort you could want. Turn off that central heat and cozy up to the stove. Plenty of starter pine and stove wood provided for your first night's fire!

In spring, the scent of blossoms fills the air. On rainy days, enjoy the woods, anyway, on the huge screen porch. There the patter on the metal roof will lull you to a gentle doze. The old porch glider is the best bed in the cabin.

In summer, huckleberries and blackberries line the path to the lower deck, and new mown hay spills an irresistible scent into the country air on the cattle ranch leading to the cabin.

And in fall, you will feel each morning like you have awakened in the middle of a golden bowl of sunlight.

Get in touch with yourself and your family. This cabin has all the comforts and conveniences of a modern kitchen and bath, laundry facilities and heat and air, but none of the distractions of intrusive modern life.

Craftsmanship and imagination fill the cabin. Books and games line the shelves. We suggest that you leave your city cares at home and inhale all the restorative peace that nature has to offer. Relax, unwind and unplug!

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Sara Moore
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2017

About Sara Moore

HI, I'm Sara. I am a business owner in Jacksonville, Fl. I grew up in Georgia but have been a Floridian for 50 years. Visiting the mountains is a particular pleasure of mine, and I hope you will enjoy it, too!

Sara Moore purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Sara Moore chose Georgia

I have enjoyed visiting the mountains of my home state, Georgia, since I was a little girl. I was an active Girl Scout, as was my sister and my daughter. All of us were campers at Camp Juliette Low for girls in Cloudland, Ga. When the chance presented itself to buy a cabin in the area, I jumped at it. The log shell was built as a labor of love by one man over the course of ten years. However, when he was unable to complete it, my close family friends, who are local artists, bought it and completed it in 2007, adding their own unique artistic touches.

What makes this cabin unique

The view of Shinbone Valley is breathtaking. The original owner created a lower deck 200 feet down the mountain, where the sunrises are unparalleled (they even say that he slept there while he was building the log shell). Seasons each show off their natural best. There is usually at least one light snow in winter, and the cast iron stove is wonderful at keeping the entire cabin snug. In spring, the earliest Amalancher tree blooms in the dooryard. In summer, there is no better snooze than on the old glider on the sleeping porch. This little cabin accomodates any size group, from the couple on their (second) honeymoon, to a family of seven seeking to renew their bond. It's terrific for kids. The area boasts a cattle ranch that is as well maintained as any in Georgia. It is home to several summer camps, the closest being Camp Juliette Low, a Girl Scout camp for girls, and Valley View Ranch, one of the premier equestrian camps for girls in the country. Walking or hiking is always a treat. And fishing and horseback riding are favorite activities of the local folks.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Peaceful and Relaxing

The cabin was adorable and provided plenty of room for the three of us to have a wonderful sister's get-away week. The pictures are very accurate - - it is decorated beautifully, the beds are very comfortable, the kitchen is extremely well and nicely equipped, there are games to play, books to read, plenty of small quilts and throws to wrap up in, a washer and dryer, hair dryer, (I think she even has a curling iron), a basket of travel shampoos, cream rinses, creams, etc., baby gates, highchair, etc. There's a dining table between the kitchen and living area, but we loved sitting out on the porch overlooking the valley below and usually ate dinner at the second table out there, which opens up to seat six. We played games out there and I even slept out there one night on the pull-out couch. The guest bedroom is downstairs and my sisters loved the extra-long twin beds and cool temperature. The cabin has central heat and air and so the few days it got warm in the late afternoon, inside was perfect. Our host was a dream and provided excellent communication throughout the entire process including all details needed to locate the cabin, activities, restaurants, and just made sure we were all prepared to have a wonderful time. My Gordon setter had the time of his life and enjoyed hiking around the cabin and Cloudland Canyon State Park, as well as the cool mornings and evenings in the mountains. Overall this is just a peaceful retreat. There are neighbors on both sides, but one home is empty and the other neighbors were very quiet and nice and made us feel a bit more secure knowing that we weren’t totally secluded. Getting anywhere – even to the small grocery is about a 30 minute drive. There are horses at the end of the road you get to see every time you drive in and out and one of them always had his chin up on a post to greet us. The whole experience was great!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 28

Amenities

Menlo Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 7
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full modern shower/tub. Modern toilet. Mexican painted porcelain lavatory sink. Built in cabinets stocked with clean linens.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 7
  • Loft + Den - 1 queen , The loft is actually the master bedroom with queen bed
  • Queen size Bed (1) Beautiful hand built pine queen bed in the loft. European semi-firm pillow top mattress made of bamboo for heavenly softness. Lower level bedroom with Twin Beds (2) Hand built beautiful twin beds in the lower level bedroom. Extra length 80' mattresses of soft pillow-top bamboo. Accommodates the tallest man comfortably! Baby Cribs (1) Pac N Play, baby gates, and high chair available for the littlest vacationer. Great Room Sleeper Sofa (1) Leather queen sofa in the living area converts to accommodate two. Coziest bed in the house in front of the wood stove on chilly fall/winter nights! Sleeping Porch with Fold-out glider (1) on the porch is the hands-down most comfortable favorite, weather permitting, for one adult or two kids.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
COZY WOOD STOVE-- FIRST NIGHT'S WOOD PROVIDED from October through March. Newer (9 years old) cabin in an old-timey setting, creating a unique ambiance. Modern central heat and A/C. Modern bath/shower and kitchen facilities. Tasteful but fun antiques lend an unusual feeling to this little gem of a cabin. It has a vaulted ceiling and all-pine interior. Ladies, the 'cute factor' is irresistible! This is truly a getaway haven. It is secluded, and yet every aspect of safety has been considered. Each area has a smoke detector and fire extinguisher. Well-marked roads are paved right up to the last one, and the cabin number is prominent. Local law and rescue are minutes away. PLEASE NOTE: NO JACUZZI..JUST A GLIDER. NO TV CABLE..JUST FABULOUS RABBIT EARS. NO WIFI..JUST YOUR SMART PHONE AS HOT SPOT. NO INTERNET CONNECTION. THERE IS A GROWING AND EVOLVING CABIN LIBRARY OF BOOKS, GAMES AND PUZZLES

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(63 traveler reviews)

Cloudland Hand-Hewn Log Cabin, Secluded Fairy Tale with Spectacular View
average rating of 4.857143 based on 91 reviews
5

The cabin and view are a true hidden gem!!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin and views are amazing. It was so peaceful and quiet. It was so relaxing enjoying a cup of coffee and looking at the spectacular views on the back porch. It was the perfect spot close enough to visit the Chattanooga attractions. I can't wait to return!!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your weekend ! It looks like the weather cooperated nicely. I believe you could get out and really appreciate this gorgeous time of year when everything is coming back to life. And it sounds like you were also able to take advantage of some of those cool attractions in Chattanooga also. I hope you'll make it back up to the cabin real soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to relax and reconnect

  • 5 of 5

This is a great cabin on the side of the mountain. It has a great feel of a true log cabin, but the comforts to keep it easy. The owner is fantastic at giving directions, and very quick to respond.

We would definitely stay here again, and my kids are asking when we can go back.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review. Y'all were such a pleasure to work with. Please come back soon. Winter visits are special, but in spring and summer the cabin has a whole different personality. And there's so much to do in the area in warm weather. So, I hope you'll have a chance to experience that. Thanks for being such special guests! Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Wonderful experience while there.

  • 2 of 5

We had a very pleasant stay at the cabin. However when we were 30 minutes away we were told to wait another 2 and a half hours because the house was not yet clean. We had no problem with this and stopped to eat. When we arrived the garbage was full and had old onions that made the whole second floor smell. None of this bothered us, we were grateful to be in such a wonderfully cozy cabin. We did have issues reaching our rentee, it would take her hours to get back to us about anything. Still, not a big deal. My mother in law, who is a neat freak, woke up early the morning we left and bleached the kitchen and bathroom and folded all of the blankets. I dried the outside pillows because they were wet from the moisture. When we left we were given a 2 for cleanliness. We were not given any house rules, i.e. If we were supposed to wash our bedding or wipe the windows or whatever. Would've loved to stay here again, just very disappointed we got such a poor review.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh, dear! I am devastated that you arrived before Lisa had a chance to clean. She said she spent a couple of hours cleaning and sanitizing the cabin before your arrival and never saw you. I would be happy to refund you that cleaning fee. I was also puzzled that you, as a traveler, got a bad review. I contacted the listing service to see where the review came from. I do not review my guests. It would be misleading, as I have no way of knowing most of the circumstances included in the review. VRBO/HomeAway has agreed to try to delete that bad review. I'm so sorry this happened. Please accept my apologies. Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Great experience in a quante little cabin

  • 5 of 5

The experience was wonderful. It does sleep six comfortably. We spent one day at fort Payne at the local antique Old Mill Antiques and ate at the restaurant in there. Great food. The next day we went to Dollywood. 3.5 hours away. If you like being away from civilization for a few days and enjoy the quietness of seclusion this place is for you! The only thing I wish could improve is Israel there were a second bath downstairs. Don't have to be much. Even a plastic stand up shower. A little challenging to get four gals and two guys ready with one bath. Not enough of a negative to leave less than 5 stars though. Great place. Sarah is the best host. She stayed in touch with us as we needed her! We will go back! And I recommend this to everyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased you enjoyed the cabin. Wow! you certainly covered a lot of territory in a short time. I'm glad the weather cooperated, too. When it turned out that all the restaurants in Mentone were closed for a (very unusual!) holiday, I recommended the Crushed Tomato in Summerville. I sure hope you enjoyed it. Definitely a big favorite with locals and with area guests. Wishing you a prosperous New Year! Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

WHERE DO i BEGIN....

  • 5 of 5

From dealing with Sara (the owner) to the drive, arriving onsite and our stay everything was amazing. This cabin is the cutest thing that I have seen and stayed in. Very rustic look and feel to the cabin and it is so amazing the workmanship of the cabin. The one thing that I enjoyed the most was the huge screened porch. To be able to get up early in the morning and sit on the porch and watch the sun come up and be able to see God's handy work is such a awesome thing to behold. We will be renting again in the near future. You will not be disappointed if you rent this cabin. Thank you Sara for allowing us to share in the beauty of your cabin and the beauty of the countryside.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so delighted we decided to take a chance and for you to brave the mountain during the last days of the terrible fires. We were so fortunate on the East Brow that we were not affected. ( The west brow did not fare so well, not to mention the tragic events for residents in Seviere County, TN. ) I'm hoping the cabin turned out to be everything you could have wanted for a memorable Thanksgiving getaway. Please do return soon. Maybe in the spring or summer, when the cabin displays an entirely different personality from its fall character. Wishing you the best for the remainder of this holiday season. Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely cabin

  • 5 of 5

Centrally located; about 30 minutes from Little River Canyon, Cloudland Canyon, and Desoto Falls State Park. Many nice details including screened-in porch and artistic windows and decorations. We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay. While the rest of Georgia suffered the effects of hurricane Irmine, you said you were high and dry up on the mountain! I really hope you will take the opportunity to come visit the cabin again, soon. Enjoy your fall and the upcoming holiday season. Best to you! Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Menlo Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Standard Rate
Nov 16 2016 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
 
 
Summer/Fall
May 26 2017 - Jan 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$155
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $80 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

A 5% discount is given for all payments made by personal check. This saves us both high fees and interest.
Cancellation terms: 90% refund with 15 days' notice. 50% refund with 1-15 days' notice.
No refund for early departure.
PLEASE NOTE: The owner apologizes for the "Average Nitely Rate" listed prominently under this listing header. That rate quote is not provided by the owner, and the owner has no control over this figure. It is a rate calculated by the website based on weekly rate divided by 7 or monthly rate divided by 31. The accurate owners' rates are listed in the "rates" section of this website.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

This is horse country! A list of local stables is included in the info on nearby state and national parks. There are plenty of great restaurants and antique shops 20 minutes west in Mentone, AL...Believe it or not, the only winter skiing in AL or GA is in Mentone! Hang gliding in Rising Fawn. Also wonderful caving activities in Valley Head, and underground Ruby Falls in Chattanooga, especially appeals to little folks.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties