check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Luxury 5 Bedroom Villa ,private pool ,Air-conditioning. Spectacular Sea Views.

14 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Minimum Stay
7 nights


Avia Villa Rental Photos and Description

Luxury 5 Bedroom Villa ,private pool ,Air-conditioning. Spectacular Sea Views.

This luxury private 350 m2 villa was completed in 2008; this lovely Greek style villa surrounded by Kalamata olive trees and rose gardens, at the picturesque historic village of Megali Mandinia with panoramic sea view. 50m2 private pool, 3 terrace, 5 bedrooms with sea view, 4 bathrooms, pool shower, 2 living rooms with sea view, rest area near the pool with book library, fully equipped kitchen with all facilities (dish washer, microwave, oven;), large dining room, flat screen TV with DVD and film library, Music library, washing machine, private tower for surround observation of sea and mountain view at sunset, walking distance to village bar\taverns and mini markets all open all year round; it is only few minutes' drive to the nearest sandy beaches with more taverns bars and coffee shops. Kitries harbour with its authentic fresh seafood restaurants is a 12 minute drive. Kalamata cosmopolitan city is only 15 minutes drive offering beach front restaurant, and active night life.

More Things to do: Water sports

The marina in Kalamata offers many boat trips, with fishing, sailing and windsurfing all popular activities. Boasting Blue Flag beaches along its beautiful stretch of coastline, visitors can either relax in the Mediterranean sun, or try snorkelling or scuba-diving in the crystal-clear waters. Day trips to Crete are also an option, with a regular ferry service leaving from the port at Kalamata.

Stupa with its famous beautiful beaches is only 40 minutes drive.

Cultural events:

Summer is a great time to visit Kalamata as the city offers a host of cultural events, including a film festival, dance festival and a traditional folk festival, which takes place in the castle. Concerts, theatre and other dance performances are also held frequently here.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed

Les Copeland
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

Greetings Les, I just wanted to send as email now that we are settled in at home and tell you how much we enjoyed Villa Elsie. The property is every bit as beautiful as the photos and Bettie was a most accommodating local contact. I posted a nice review of your property on VRBO in hopes of encouraging other travelers to have the same wonderful experience we had at Villa Elsie. We hope to make the trip again, although most likely not until 2015. At some point, I would like to speak with you about the experience you had selecting the beautiful property and the construction of it. I'll bet it's quite and interesting story! Regards, Jason
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 7


based on 14 traveler reviews

Luxury 5 Bedroom Villa ,private pool ,Air-conditioning. Spectacular Sea Views.
average rating of 4.642857 based on 21 reviews
Rhode ST Genese, Belgium

Amazing place for a great holiday

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed in the amazing Villa Elsie for a week with my family and it was fantastic!!

The Vila is beautiful, huge and luxurious in a great location.

We had a very good time and planning on coming back :)

  • Submitted: May 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

A superb base for wonderful holiday

  • 4 of 5

We have just arrived home having had the most enjoyable time at Villa Elise. It is in a wonderful position with stunning views. The house is comfortably furnished and bigger than we imagined. The pool area is spectacular and the balconies are lovely. The WIfI is unreliable but Pam and Jerry (very helpful housekeepers) do what can be done to sort out any issues. We found them very obliging and responsive. The local village is pretty and has three reliable tavernas that in our experience seemed to host a lot of locals. It's only a ten minute walk from the house. There is no longer a local village shop which is a shame, but there is one a short car drive away. With the new motorway from Kalamata to Athens it is very easy and quite quick (less than 2 hours) to get to places like Ancient Corinth and Mycenae......both very worth while visiting. There are lots of small pebbly beaches with tavernas all along the coast road at the bottom of the hill which are fun. To reach Navarino bay with all its history and beautiful sandy beaches(including Half Moon Bay) is about an hour and a half away....again, well worth it. We would have no hesitation in recommending this villa and have had the most lovely two weeks there.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Please think twice!

  • 1 of 5

Just arrived at this so called villa yesterday. Everything was closed up and smelled musty. Don't let the reviews from 2008 or pictures deceive you. Nothing was cleaned and have plenty of pictures that I'd be happy to forward anyone. I wish I can leave tomorrow and get my money back! Is own talk day cleaning this house. There is only air condition in the bedrooms, not in the main common areas. The furniture is old and the beds are so thin and uncomfortable! For the money you will waste, I recommend getting a hotel! The housekeeper came yesterday only to take the motem and tell us it hasn't be working. Tried calling her today to ask when we will have wifi and she has not returned our message! Unacceptable for the money we have spent to stay here this week!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Madam. I do not know who you are in relationship to Louis party, However, I was given information via Pam the Villa caretaker that Louis and the person that posted this review would be removing it, I was informed that Louis and other members of the party were in agreement and that the review was not justified. However, as you have not fulfilled your promise, We must respond to your extremely damaging comments. Firstly. Your reaction to the Villa been closed up. Louis gave an estimated time of arrival between 4.00 pm and 6.00 pm on the day of arrival. We had requested that Louis called Pam when you arrived at Kalamata to give time to meet you at the Villa. 10 minutes away. It would appear that you had Car problems on the way from Athens and only arrived the villa 9.00 pm. I can understand that standing at the side of the highway for 3 to 4 hours would frustrated most people. This could somewhat explain your comments in your review posted the same night. The Villa has been occupied for the previous 5 weeks, I do not understand where your comments of a musty smell came from. All the 8 rooms are facing the sea. All with double patio doors, They would have been open in the afternoon, has initially arrange ……… Pat indicated your concern regarding the cleaning agents in the toilets, This is sprayed around the blows awaiting the first flush, If flushed immediately after applications you do not get the desired effect. The Villa is furnished to Greek rural effect, Not IKEA flat packs. Regarding the bed / beds, I do not know if you tried them all. Or what your physical make-up is. We have not had complains from other quests. The Villa details state that there is an A.C in all 5 bedrooms, I hope you will agree with this. Pat did take and as replaced the Modam, I am informed it is operational now. Please note the my following comments This is my reply to Louis regarding the WIFI at the time of his enquiry There is still an issue with the internet connection, It is slow, At the taveras in the village 1 kilometer away and in Kalamata there is not a problem, Just in the Villa area, I hope this has coved your issues, One thing that puzzles me is that you say Pam did not get back to you. Your review time posting did not give her time, You arrived on the 31st. your posting states 31st. If now I can make my own comments, Louis and other members of his party stated that they did not agree with your review, Also they had a Hot Head in there party, I do n
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Wisconsin, USA

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5

An amazing place to stay! We rented the villa with my extended family and had an amazing time. The villa is beautiful with a great view of Kalamata and the bay. It is a little drive from the city but definitely a reasonable distance to drive to get to several nice beaches. The nearby village has great tavernas (little bars/restaurants) with welcoming people. Just a note: Internet in Greece in general isn't great - the villa does have internet but it isn't the most reliable.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milwaukee, WI USA

Simply Stunning

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 9 Adults, 2 kids and an infant spent a week here in July. Needless to say, the pictures do NOT do this place justice. The view is breathtaking, the amenities are perfect. Les was amazing to work with, the caretaker Pam and her husband were just as accommodating. There was no WIFI the first day, but Pam quickly rectified that situation the next day with a new WIFI card. There was a care package of food and essentials in the fridge to get us started. The drive is about 10-15 minutes uphill from the Messinian Bay hotel, and the road is winding. There is a small village with amazing taverns just down the road from the villa. I would highly recommend this place for anyone traveling to Greece with a large group of people. Oh, and the pool was amazing!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect venue to explore the Pelopennese

  • 5 of 5

This is truly a wonderful property: well situated, well equipped and well looked after. The house comfortably accommodated our party of 11 (including 4 teenagers). The owner, who lives abroad, made the trip to ensure that the house was in tip top shape, and it was capably cared for during our stay by the local caretaker (although there really wasn't much need, since everything was in order).

This is a great area for walking, hiking and exploring enthusiasts. There are great trails close by and one can make an outing as vigorous as desired. There are decent restaurants within a short walk, all serving hearty greek meals that are inexpensive. It's a short walk to the beach if that's your style but, with a great pool and the view from it, you might be tempted to just stay at the property. Historical and ancient sites are within a reasonable drive and there are many to choose from.

Our families have travelled widely but this property and the beauty of the area make this one of the more memorable vacations we have had.

I cite only one shortcoming, which turned out to be somewhat of a blessing in the end. The internet service was pretty weak, although I understand that this was due to a faulty router which was to be fixed. However, it forced all of us to only use it when absolutely needed, so what was initially a bit of a disappointment made for a truly relaxing vacation without being tethered to a computer or tablet.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
16 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
18 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
1.5 Kilometres
Car: necessary

Location of Elsie's Villa is ideal to explore the regions. Beautiful countryside and coastal trails, natural charm with fertile olive groves, Byzantine churches and secluded hamlets. Nature-lovers will delight in the landscapes, bird-watchers will find a rich variety of species.

You can be walking and hiking, horse riding and cycling.

Kalamata city is only 15 minutes drive, with a historic centre home to churches, museums and castles ,With lively main square and cosmopolitan selection of shops, bars, restaurants and cafés, great night life, and vibrant harbour. The Market is open on Wednesday and Saturday – don’t miss buying the best local honey and olive oil.

The marina in Kalamata offers boat trips, fishing, sailing , windsurfing and all popular activities. you can relax in the Mediterranean sun, or try snorkelling or scuba-diving in the crystal-clear waters. Day trips to Crete are great option.

Diros caves- do not miss the Diros caves!


Rates & Availability

Avia Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Late Season 2016
Oct 2 2016 - Nov 18 2016
7 night minimum stay
Early 2017
Mar 18 2017 - Apr 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
Spring 2017
Apr 30 2017 - Jun 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
Early Summer 2017
Jun 4 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jul 2 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer 2017
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 28 2017
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $653

# A 30% deposit is required on booking. 50% is required 6 weeks before arrival. Balance upon arrival.
# A security deposit of 600 Euro will also be taken to cover damages or Breakages to the property.
# no extra charge

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Avia Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 350 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sunbed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
  • Large fully tiled bathrooms
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , sea view &balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , sea view & balcony
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , sea view & balcony
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , sea View & balcony
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • Bedroom with see view, large balcony and large bathrooms. Wide selection of : Games, films, music, pool inflatables. Trampoline and large BBQ. Baby cot is available. The Villa land is 4000 m2 of Rose garden, olive trees, lemon trees, apple tree, cherry tree, pomegranate trees, herb garden and more.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Spectacular views from every corner and balcony of villa Elsie. Great clean air, our villa is private (not over looked) but not isolated. Authentic village, plenty of lovely Taverns within walking distance. At our local village supermarket you can buy organic fresh groceries.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties