check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

BIG 3-story LOG LODGE! STAY & PLAY! 5 bedrms, 6 baths!

5 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Shenandoah Valley House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms. 4 full bathrooms. 2 half bathrooms. Old Coot's Cabin!

This home is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

BIG, BIG, BEAUTIFUL custom-built LOG HOME is close to the ski slopes, golf and water park! Lots of room, lots of extras, views of the slopes in autumn, winter and early spring.

Pine, hickory, oak and walnut throughout in the floors, walls, beamed ceilings and hand-built cabinets.

Stone and ceramic tile floors and counter tops. Big kitchen with a breakfast bar.

Ceiling fans in the great room, in main floor bedrooms and top floor bedroom.

Skylights in the great room. Family board games, cards, movie library, DVD & VCR, Direct TV in the great room and the downstairs family room.

Screened-in back porch and lots of deck space.

Hot water baseboard heat, a fireplace, and a wood stove keep this magnificent home warm in Winter.

Natural cross-breezes and high ceilings keep it cool in summer. (This home does not have air conditioning.)

5 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms and 2 half-baths.

This home is a couple minutes' walk from our Bears Den, Double B & Gobbler's Roost homes and about a two minute drive to our Great Escape & Poplar Cottage homes.

SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED ANYWHERE ON THIS PROPERTY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS.

MAXIMUM CAPACITY: 14

Step onto the big and wide front porch that wraps around the side and a portion of the back of the house.

Enter: Step into the great room. The big kitchen is well stocked and ready for the cook!

Massive stone-front, gas log fireplace with easy to operate gas log fire, (Fireplace use 01 October through 31 March, ONLY).

Lots of seating at tables and breakfast bar. DirecTV, surround sound, DVD, VCR and loads of movies.

Step through the french doors from the dining area out to the screened-in porch and back deck, with a gas grill.

Also on this floor is a half-bath in the hallway, and 2 master bedrooms with full bathrooms.

Bedroom 1 has a queen 4-poster bed, TV (no cable or satellite)and VCR. The bathroom for this room has an antique clawfoot bathtub with shower, an antique pull-chain toilet and antique pedestal sink!

Bedroom #2 has a queen bed, flat screen TV (no cable or satellite) with a DVD player and VCR, and a full bathroom with a shower.

Upstairs is a bedroom with a skylight in the ceiling, a queen bed and a twin bed. This room has it's own half bathroom.

Downstairs level has a family room with an air hockey table, a 32' flat screen TV with DirecTV & DVD, wood-burning stove, (wood is provided. Fireplace use 01 October through 31 March, ONLY), with a blower to keep you toasty, and a long raised hearth for drying your ski boots, gloves, etc.

There is a game table that seats 6, a bar with a microwave, and a double sleep sofa. French doors open to the back yard and deck.

Beyond the family room are 2 more bedrooms. The first has a double bed and a big tiled shower with a wide tiled seat in the full bathroom.

The other bedroom has a queen bed. It has a full bathroom with a stone-tiled shower for 2.

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 3780 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central heat (This home does not have air conditioning.)

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable or satellite TVs

* Dishwasher

* Gas grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home) * Soaps & detergents

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Toiletries

***15% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 800-644-1355 for more info.

CLOSE TO THE OVERLOOK & GOLFING!

5 minute drive to the outdoor swimming pool, slopes, mini-golf & go-karts! 1 minute to Mountain Greens Golf Course and Fareways Restaurant! 7-10 minutes to the water park!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.2
based on 5 traveler reviews

BIG 3-story LOG LODGE! STAY & PLAY! 5 bedrms, 6 baths!
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
2

READ THE FINE PRINT!!

  • 2 of 5

Please read all the details very carefully before you rent this home! We rented this house for our extended family for our daughter's wedding, and there were some big issues. 1) There are a lot of steps leading down from the parking area to the cabin. Couldn't quite see this in the pictures. We had a disabled man and an 87 year old woman with us -- the steps were a nightmare. 2) THERE IS NO A/C. This detail is mentioned WAY down in the fine print, so I missed it. For a wedding in June, it was horrible. It was so hot, and the day of the wedding everyone was trying to look their best. I'm sure it's lovely in the winter, but summer is HOT. 3) There is no WI-FI. If you want a quiet weekend, unplugged from technology -- great! But if you need to be in touch with anyone outside of the house (ie, mother of the bride with guests scattered throughout Massanutten), make sure you rent a place with WI-FI. My Samsung Galaxy phone and our Samsung tablet did not work at the house -- so communication was really difficult. 4) No linens for the sofa bed. Again, this is buried in the fine print....so read carefully! We had to pull stuff from other beds for our daughter to sleep on. In short, if you come during cool/cold months to get away from it all, this would be a great place to stay! But, if it is summer, if you have disabled or elderly family members, and if you need to be connected to the outside world, please rent a different house.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay! If you had asked for a home with no stairs to the house we would have given info about other homes of ours to you. If you had read the online listing (no fine print on the listing...anywhere) you would have seen the house does not have air conditioning (our only home without it). It is designed to not need it and it stays cool, even on 101° July days. You are the first guest in this house in over 8 years to say the house is hot. In fact, we have Summertime guests come back to this house year after year. If you read the lease (where there is also no fine print. Just as on our online bookings the print/text is all the same size in the descriptions as it is on the lease) you would have also known before you arrived that guests must bring linens for sleep sofas, futons, cots. We used to supply them, but guests left them on the sleep sofas, futons, etc, folded them upright/shut and ripped the linens beyond repair. Asking guests to bring their own linens and not having to charge them for damaged linens is much friendlier. You are correct, this house has no WIFI. There is nothing in the online listings that says the house has WIFI. Most of our vacation homes have WIFI and that is mentioned on those listings. If you had mentioned you need a house with WIFI we would have given info about other homes of ours to you. If you had called us when you got to the house we could have moved you to another house that would have been more accommodating for your family members with mobility issues, with air conditioning, and with WIFI. Again, if we'd known what you need or if you'd let us know once you got to the house we could have helped you. We want each of our guests to have a wonderful stay. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great weekend!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a reunion weekend for our group of girls from physical therapy school and our significant others. It was a lovely house and we had a great time. It was so cozy and warm and very lighted throughout. Plenty of bathrooms for everyone. We only had one problem and it was related to leaking plumbing and the maintainance group was great in handling our request quickly and kindly. The management and owners of this home have been so kind throughout the entire experience. I am very pleased and hope to return one day!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the coots cabin

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was perfect for our friends and family. The layout was great for relaxing and everyone together with room to plan and talk. Along with the downstairs for kids to play and watch tv. We could have asked nothing more from the cabin. Not to mention the huge shower downstairs. Just minutes from the slopes old coots cabin is the cabin for us and anyone with kids and friends.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you for your fabulous review! We are so very pleased you enjoyed Old Coot's Cabin! It really is the perfect mountain-in-the-woods log home. We hope you will come back to stay with us! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic location for adult getaway

  • 4 of 5

The property overall was just as described. It was a perfect setting for a group of adult friends to gather and spend the weekend together. We enjoyed the fireplace, the open floor plan, ALL of the classic beachfarm china, and the coziness of the cabin. The air was really dry - so if it fits, put in a humidifier when you travel. Great place - would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed the house and had such a great stay. This is exactly our goal for you! We hope you will return to stay with us, again. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Shenandoah VA
5

Perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for an after-the-holidays vacation. The property manager office was very helpful when we were in the begining stages of making our reservation all the way thru our stay.

The house was very clean and is bigger than we thought it would be and we had lots of space for all 14 of us. We went skiing, tubing and boarding and to the water park. At night we cooked and ate together and sat around the fireplace talking and watching movies.

We like how each bedroom is a suite with its own style and decor. It is like having your own bed and breakfast with only family around!

We are already planning our trip to this house for next January.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this nice review. We're pleased your family enjoyed their stay. This is exactly what we want for all guests in all our houses. the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Massanutten
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Massanutten.
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
US Highway 33- 4 miles. Interstate 81- 12 miles.
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Massanutten.
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Massanutten
Car: necessary

2 hours from Washington, D.C. & Richmond, VA. 1 hour from Charlottesville, VA.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Massanutten House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 5 2016 - Sep 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Labor Day weekend
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,300
 
 
Fall Peak
Sep 30 2016 - Oct 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Fall
Oct 31 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,300
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Fall
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 8 2016
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,300
 
 
Ski Season
Dec 9 2016 - Dec 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Christmas Eve - New Year's Day
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
MLK Jr wknd
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Ski Season
Jan 17 2017 - Feb 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Presidents' Day wknd
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$335
$1,950
 
 
Ski Season
Feb 21 2017 - Mar 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
Early Spring
Mar 19 2017 - Apr 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,300
 
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Spring
Apr 17 2017 - May 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,300
 
 
JMU Graduation weekend
May 4 2017 - May 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
Spring
May 8 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$220
$1,300
 
 
Memorial Day weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$325
$1,950
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $300

Low Rates apply during non-holiday dates and non-Mid rate dates.
Mid Rates apply Summer, Peak Fall, and Ski Season.
Low & Mid: 2 night minimum.
Holiday Rates apply:
MLK Jr, Presidents', Easter, JMU Graduation, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, weekends AND Thanksgiving, and Christmas wk to New Year's Day wknd.
Holidays: 3 night minimum.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Shenandoah Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3780 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , downstairs bedroom 4
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , entry level bedroom 1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , entry level bedroom 2
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , in hallway off living/dining/kitchen
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , top floor
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower , downstairs bedroom 5
  • Guests, bring bath towels, washcloths, hand towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • All linens for the beds are included. Guests, bring linens for sleep sofas, futons, cots, cribs, and pack & plays. Pack & play and baby high chair rentals are available from the property management office.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Partner Offers