check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Apartments@Leifsgata 25 - Guesthouse leifsgata 25 - grand apartment

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 nights


Guesthouse leifsgata 25 - grand apartment

The grand apartment is three floors (2nd, 3rd and 4th) and sleeps 9 people.

On the first floor there is the living room, the dining room, little toilet, the kitchen and balcony with the possibility to barbecue.

The second floor is one twin bedroom (2x 90) with balcony and lovely view to the Pearl and Hallgrimskirkja church, one double room (140 cm), two single room (90 + 120cm). Bathroom with bath/shower. Laundry room with washing maschine and dryer.

The third floor:

One room w double bed (180 cm) and one room w childrens bed (80 cm) + balcony.

The kitchen has all basic facilities. It is possible to ask for special beds for small children. Access to internet included.

Your hostess Thórey is a certified Icelandic tourist-guide and she will be happy to help you organise your travelling or give you advice according to your interests.

More Details

About the property

Apartments@Leifsgata 25

The Grande apartment is 3 floors and sleeps 9. The first floor: living room, dining room, little WC, kitchen, balcony, and barbecue. 2nd floor: master bedroom (2 beds 2x90cm) with balcony and lovely view to the Pearl and Hallgrimskirkja church, 1 double room (bed 140 cm) 2 single rooms (1x90cm 1x120cm), laundry room and bathroom with bathtub/shower. 3rd floor: 1 double room (1x180cm) 1 single room (90cm) and balconies. Access to internet incl.

The Studio is separate apartment, fully equipped, same address sleeps 1-4.

Your hostess Thórey is a certified Icelandic tourist-guide and she will be happy to give you advice according to your interests. From Reykjavík it is easy to do interesting day tours. We are only 40min away from the famous Blue-Lagoon and the Airport, Thingvellir, the site of the old parliament is 50 min away, Gullfoss and Geysir 90 min, Snaefellsjökull (from Jules Verne's Journey to the center of the earth 3 hr drive.

More Details

Thorey Sigthorsdottir
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german, swedish, danish, Icelandic
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About Thorey Sigthorsdottir

I am an actress, voice coach and tour-guide. A typical Icelander that does has many various jobs. In the summer I enjoy looking at my beautiful country through the eyes of the visitor enjoying the possibility to see it over and over again with fresh look. In the winter time the arts take over my time. I work in the theatre or training people's skill. Both public speaking, the voice and theatre. I love personal development, theatre, yoga, traveling and swimming in the sea. I have just started re-training sea swimming. If you like that the perfect place to go is Nautholsvik, a free venue in the summer with yellow sandy beach, hot jacuzzy, sauna and good access to the sea. Partly a lagoon heated with geo-thermal water.

Thorey Sigthorsdottir purchased this apartment in 2002

Why Thorey Sigthorsdottir chose Reykjavik

This apartment is so unique I fell in love with it since it has such a big character. Many different rooms reminded me of my years in London living in a typical British semi-detached house except this one is on the 2nd floor. A wonderful family house with a story. The last land-post had in Iceland had his farm here and his widow built the house after he died. Very near the city center, the street looking at the behind of Hallgrimskirkja church a lovely angle, making the street very grand. I live here with my 14 year old son and in the winter I have University students as tenants. When I am on the road taking tourists around Iceland in the summer I rent the apartment to tourists.

What makes this apartment unique

What is so great about this location is that is only 10-20 min walk away from the City Center but on the quiet side. There is a swimming pool just around the corner, my sons school just opposite that and all transportation are easy from here. Easy bus connection in all direction. I chose to live here since from here I don't need to depend on the car to get around. I can walk, bike or take the bus wherever I need to. And I have private parking place for my car when I don't need it. That in this area is a luxury.

There are several food shops n walking distance as well as café's and restaurants.

Available Rentals


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Guesthouse leifsgata 25 - grand apartment
average rating of 4.5 based on 24 reviews

Great five days in Iceland

  • 5 of 5

We spent wonderfull five days at Reykjavik and Iceland - grandfather, grandmother, father, mother, two teenagers and one child. The big apartment at Leifsgata 25 was ideal for us: plenty of room and the location is just perfect. It was like being at home (even piano which we played a little;-). The owner was very helpfull. We recommend the apartment to everybody that goes to Reykjavik with a family or a group.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderfully Icelandic, that is the tradition of the big family sharing space and time. This is just what this apartment was originally built as, a big family house:) (the first family living there had six boys) And a good thing that they mention our piano which I don't think I have included in the facilities. But the piano of course is for everyone to enjoy!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great Location, Beautiful Apartment

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is right down the street from Hallgrímskirkja, it's easy to walk into downtown and see everything, and there's several bus stops quite nearby for if you're going further. The apartment was cute and wonderful, it felt like "home". I love the colorful walls, the artwork, and the plants. The beds were very comfortable. The bedrooms were small but they have great wardrobe closets for storing all your stuff. It was clean and neat and had a ton of personality- definitely did not feel like your typical vacation rental! I still think fondly of this apartment, and next time I go to Reykjavik, I will stay here!

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful! Thank you! It warms my heart to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of my home :) And the beds of course (essential) and the practicality of the location. Be welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Great Place, Excellent Location.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Thorey, for opening your home to us.

We had a fantastic vacation in Iceland. The rental property was in the perfect location in Reykjavik. We were walking distance from everything essential (grocery stores, down town etc.) The layout was great, plenty of bedrooms (for our extended family), the kitchen was well equipped and the living area had plenty of space to sprawl.

The neighborhood was very quaint and easy to get around (especially if you have Google maps :) )

We would absolutely stay there again if given the opportunity.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely words. I am happy that you enjoyed the staying at my home and that it fulfilled your needs. Be very welcome back anytime if you are ever in Iceland again :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Hall and stairs to apt, smelled awful (cats urine)

  • 1 of 5

Entrance to apt. was dirty with an overpowering smell of cat urine. This smell was on the stairs and we couldn't leave the apt. door open to bring in groceries it was that bad. Cat feces on front entrance steps greeted us on our arrival. First impressions were poor. The apt. also needed a good cleaning and dusting. The bathroom was big but very old, cracked sink, rusted bath, avocado in colour and has seen plenty of use. No curtains or blinds on one of the bedroom windows. Although we had to pay in advance for cleaning we were disappointed that it was not clean and would not stay there again. On a positive note the beds were comfortable and clean bed linen was left for us to put on the beds although the pillows were old. Plenty of towels left for us to use. It was spacious enough for 8 adults. Close to town centre.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review my apartment. We always want to try and do better for our guests if possible. I am glad to hear that the beds were comfortable, that is something I always appreciate when I am traveling myself. Regarding the smell in the hallway there was an unfortunate incident with the neighbor's cat. I am sorry that you had to experience it but for future reference this is something we have taken care of and cleaned thoroughly. That the apartment was not very clean in general must be a one off since we have always had good people there and gotten good reviews regarding the cleanliness. So I am again very sorry that you had to experience that and most certainly it won't happen again, that will be taken care of. Even if the house is not new this is something we want to keep in good standard so thank you for pointing out if it wasn't. Also for future reference it is always good to get response immediately, for example with the smell on your arrival. If noted we can react and make things better given the opportunity. The pillows will be replaced with new ones e.g. Thank you also for pointing out the good location of the apartment, in the city center and a good choice for people that don't want to have to rely on the car since everything is in walking distance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Washington DC

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Great private space in the heart of the city.. Easy walking to a lot of shops and restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Great having you! We do feel that we are in the heart of everything hear but still it nice and quiet. Be welcome back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great studio in Reykjavik

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at Thorey studio. We stayed for 4 nights till New Year's Day. The location was perfect close to everything walking and only 2 blocks behind the large church and about less then 1/2 mile from the bus station. The studio was very accommodating and had everything we needed for our stay and cooking. Would definitely recommend. Also talked with Thorey a couple times before our stay over the phone and email, she was very accommodating and nice. We look forward to our visit again to Iceland.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
42 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Nearest Beach
15 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Guesthouse@ Leifsgata25 is located at the very center of Reykjavík, next to Hallgrimskirkja church, everything is in walking distance or easy access by bus. Geothermal pools indoors and outdoors, Perlan, Zoo and family park with all domestic animals of Iceland. 5 min to the main shopping street Laugavegur and Skólavördustigur for Icelandic design. Or the great variety of café's and restaurant to be found in the city center, all offering good quality food, fresh fish and the Icelandic lamb meet known for it's supreme taste, due to the sheep being kept in the wilderness of interiors of Iceland. From here the center, it is easy to plan a variety of day tours, 30min to the National Park at Thingvellir, The Golden Circle including Gullfoss and Geysir, 40 min to the Blue Lagoon, Snæfellsnes Peninsula, hiking. The main Bus station for day tours is 10 min away or you can rent a car and plan your own excursion with the help of your hostess Thorey who is a certified Icelandic tourist guide.

Other Activities: Zoo & Family Park, Geothermal swimming pools.



Norðurmýri Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 160 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 twin/ single , child bed on demand.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 140 cm tempur bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Two 90 cm, can be used as one. Child bed/cot on demand.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 120 cm bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 child bed , 80cm child bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 180 cm tempur bed
  • The accommodation is two floors (2nd and 3rd). On the first floor there is the living room, the dining room, little toilet, the kitchen and balcony with the possibility to barbecue. The second floor is master bedroom with balcony and lovely view to the Pearl and Hallgrimskirkja church, one double room and two single room. The third floor is on bedroom with double bed and balconies. Laundry room and a bathroom with a shower and a bathtub. The kitchen has all basic facilities. It is possible to ask for special beds for small children. Access to internet is included.
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
The apartment is on 2 floors, the 2nd and 3rd so it is not an easy access for infirm.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties