check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Quiet Douglas Cottage Perfect Fall Getaway! Take 50% OFF 3rd NIGHT

2 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Douglas House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Come cozy up at Captain’s Quarters, a wonderfully inviting 2 bedroom 2 bath cottage with a spacious, tastefully landscaped backyard and a Hot Tub just minutes from downtown Douglas!

With classic wood panel detail in the living room and master bedroom, you’ll truly feel as if you are in a captain’s quarters aboard a noble sailing vessel at sea!

Each bedroom contains a comfy Queen bed while the living room contains a full sofa sleeper.

Enjoy meals in the fully equipped kitchen with a table for 5 or take in some fresh air while dining around the shaded patio table with seating for 6.

Play fun outdoor games with your furry friend during the day (this home is Dog Friendly!) and relax under that stars in the outdoor Hot Tub at night.

Only minutes walking distance to downtown Douglas and only a 5 minute ride to either Douglas Beach or Oval Beach, you’re sure to appreciate the convenience and comfort of Captain’s Quarters!

Combine with Wishing Well, which is just adjacent to Captain’s Quarters, for larger groups up to 17!

*The hot tub is winterized and unavailable for use November 1- May 1.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Captain's Quarters
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2016
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

Great location, plenty of space and the jacuzzi and grill were wonderful!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 8


2 traveler reviews

Quiet Douglas Cottage Perfect Fall Getaway! Take 50% OFF 3rd NIGHT
average rating of 3.0 based on 10 reviews
Lockport, Il

Worst experience we have had travelling!

  • 1 of 5

As soon as we opened the door we were hit with an unusual odor. It was a mix of human urine and a noxious odor that was being used to cover it up. Our eyes stung, lips became swollen and our throats closed. We immediately put the air on to diffuse the odor and called MGMT. It was my birthday so while we were out to dinner we got a call back and MGMT said the previous renters had eucalyptus plants around the home and that I should just air it out. We then came back late and the odor still lingering triggered my son's asthma. We had to leave and go home. They offered us another place to stay the following day, but by that time we were all sick and on our way home. We asked them to refund our money and they refused, even though we only stayed for one out of three nights. Lakeshore Lodging is the worst MGMT company we have dealt with in 10 years. Please do not rent from them.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our homes are inspected by our staff after each clean before you arrive. Such a noxious smell as described by the guest would have been noticed and we would have offered an alternative home before checking in if we felt the home was inhabitable. The odor was left from the previous guests that checked out that morning and we did not know about one of the guest's asthma. We did offer an upgraded home for them to take advantage of for the rest of their stay but the guest decided to end their vacation early. Additionally, Captain's Quarter's recently went through a complete interior remodel.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adorable & Perfect

  • 5 of 5

This house is adorable! It is very small so I don't recommend it for larger groups, but it would fit 4 adults perfectly. The yard is set up perfect for privacy especially in the hot tub. It's a short ride to the beach, fishing, the market and downtown. It's also super quiet and relaxing - our family had a great time!

Recommendations: (1) bring flashlights or a camping light for the backyard, it's very dark even with the light on. (2) If you plan on cooking at the house bring a can opener that was the only thing not already supplied in the kitchen.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Douglas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming

Partner Offers