check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Monique Pierce

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese

CASUAL, ELEGANT RANCH IN HEART OF SB WITHIN RIDING COMMUNITY

9 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 60 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Santa Barbara Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

3Bb/2 baths with pool, view and horses, etc for a ranch experience at beach

The Area

A Californian beach community with horses and wine country within a small metropolitan city oasis.Santa Barbara is 11/2 hour drive from Los Angeles with the Santa Yney valley and mountains as a back drop to the city and beaches.

One of the most beautiful areas of the California coast with all amenities easily accessible such as horseback riding, biking,beaching, wine tasting,shopping, restaurant dining, golfing, etc.

Our property---La Petitte Ranche

The mainhouse offers 3 bedroom, 2 full bathrooms with a colorful,classic elegant decor. Classic front porch overlooking the corral which houses our horse Peaches, and mini-donkey, Oliver. We have turkeys, chickens& a rooster for your wake-up call. So fresh eggs are usually available. A new addition to our animals are Chinchilla rabbits. There is vegetable garden, fruit trees and honey bees next to the corrals in the front yard. I and my family which consist of me full time and my 3 adults children who live away most of the time live on premises.

I often graze my equines in the front yard.

We are located in a rural oasis with the small city with 15 bike ride to the beach with great bike paths, access to highways, and local shopping within walking....

ALSO, RENTING A 2BD/1BATH GUESTHOUSE TO DETAILS CALL 805 453 5774...

Pics,availability and pricing...

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Monique Pierce (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese

About Monique Pierce

I'm from NY and I fell in love with the SB area 10 years ago. I have been visiting SB for then on for both business and pleasure for both long and short term.

Finally I moved last year. I want to share

my house in SB with other who seek to experience a home here.

I also live on premises in a separate guesthouse. So I'm available for my guests for anything that may arise.

Monique Pierce purchased this farmhouse in 2010

Guestbook comments from the owner

WE HAVE A GREAT WEEK AT THIS HOME. DAUGHTER LEARN A LOT ABOUT

HORSES AND RIDING. MONIQUE IS A GREAT TEACHER. MY MOTHER ENJOY

HER LESSONS WITH MY DAUGHTER AND COMPLEMENTED HER ON BEING

A GREAT TEACHER ON NUMBER OF OCCASSION.

I HIGHLY recommend this home and am looking forward to going again
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.7
based on 9 traveler reviews

CASUAL, ELEGANT RANCH IN HEART OF SB WITHIN RIDING COMMUNITY
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 11 reviews
5

Unique Santa Barbara Experience

  • 5 of 5

Our family has just spent an enjoyable week at La Petite Ranche in Santa Barbara. It was the perfect place for grandparents to reconnect with adult children, one toddler grandchild, and a puppy. There was space for everyone! The friendly owner, who lives in the attached house, treated us as her guests and made us all feel at home.

The yard and house were very clean, and we enjoyed the flowers and lovely swimming pool and barbecue area. The interior decor is eclectic and whimsical with a tasteful mix of French country, antiques, and contemporary art. The number of beds would best accommodate three couples/singles and one or two children. This was a unique experience because we also became acquainted with her pets, including a dog, horse, donkey, rabbits, chickens and a very large turkey.

This house is perfectly located in a quiet neighborhood, near the airport, shopping, and freeway. It was a quick drive to Arroyo beach, downtown shops, the Wharf, SB Zoo, Mission, and hiking trails. Favorite restaurants include Stella Mare's French Bistro and the Longboard Grill. We highly recommend this home for a Santa Barbara vacation.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Enjoyable stay, despite some technical problems

  • 3 of 5

I rented this property for two months from mid January to mid March. The location is beautiful and I especially enjoyed the animals (except the rooster) and the fresh eggs. Overall I enjoyed my time very much and the property was comfortable. It is in a really wonderful area and it was close to the bike/running trail which made for nice morning runs. Monique was very pleasant and generally on top of fixing things or responding to questions. I feel that this property is fairly expensive though. My trip was reimbursed by my job. If I were to return without being reimbursed, I would not stay here since I think that it is not quite as good as the price would suggest.

Since it is perhaps most useful, let me list a number of issues (some small, some bigger) I noticed with the rental. The overall criticism is that there was a little too much emphasis on it looking good, whereas I would have preferred more emphasis on it being good.

-Many elements of the property look better than they are. For example, there living room looks very fancy and well designed... but it is not a very comfortable place to live. There isn't very good seating there. The dinning room is similar. The seating against the wall isn't comfortable and the big wall hanging above you is kind of scary! Also, there were two Louis XIV style chairs in the dinning room whose arms simply fell of upon being sat upon. The kitchen is also quite nice looking, but there is a real hodge-podge of cook-ware with some deficiencies such as a lack of bowls. The BBQ outside looks very pretty too, but half of the burners didn't work, and it was very badly designed in so far as it was difficult to turn on and off the gas. One of the beds was saggy.

-The animals were overall a wonderful part of this rental. However, you should be warned that there are roosters who will wake you up at 6am (or earlier). This can be partially remedied with ear plugs... but since they live right outside the bedrooms, its tough. Also, there is a wonderful dog and since I'm a dog person, this is a plus. But if you're not into big dogs, then perhaps reconsider.

-There were certain things I was told which didn't come through. For instance, I was told the pool would be heated and there would be rideable biked -- nope on both.

-The fridge broke for a week. It oscillated between 28 and 98 degrees. This caused a real issue. Monique provided some reimbursement for this.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Ranch Experience - Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful nature experience, friendly host, loved the animals, especially my little daughter. Convenient located close to everything, yet country atmosphere. Enjoyed the pool during the day, spacious rooms, well decorated, easy access to the lanai, great outdoor kitchen and outdoor shower. Recomment this to nature lovers, while it is still so close to downtown (5 min drive). Defintately will be there again!

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Wow! I came here with my family and enjoyed every minute of our stay at the ranch. The hostess are lovely people who are monique and her son are very generous people. My son had an enjoyable experience looking and playing with all of their animals. All the animals are very friendly and get along with other animals and guests even my brute of my dog, which is a black lab. I have nothing but, kind things to say about the ranch. A very great experience for my family.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great ranch house in Santa Barbara

  • 4 of 5

If you are looking for a nice rental property to enjoy time with family, this will be a great stay for you and your family! We stayed here for one week in July 2012 and had a great time. This ranch house has a lot to offer from looking at and enjoying the varied animals, to spending time in the lovely backyard with the pool, to driving the short distance to the beach or downtown State St. area. Overall, this house was very pleasant and met our needs for a family vacation. Monique the owner is also very nice and since she lives on site, was very accessible to meet your needs or answer questions. Monique provided fresh eggs from her chickens, and we were able to pet the chickens, the donkey Oliver and the horse Peaches. The dog Logan is very friendly too and loved playing with our dog! The dog beach was a short drive away as well and it was awesome to be so close and take our dog there several times!

Although this property says it is ok for small children, I would only go with an infant (as we did) or older children. Some items in the house such as the glass coffee table or glass dining table inside are not child friendly, but overall, especially with the animals and the pool, it is a fun place for older kids. The chickens and roosters are right by the bedroom windows and they did keep us up at night or early morning, and it took some getting used to. I thought the chickens would be farther away from the actual house.

Overall, my family and I would recommend staying at this property! We had a great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
PRESCOTT, AZ.
5

EVERYTHING I EVER WANTED FOR A VACATION HOME

  • 5 of 5

I CAN'T WAIT TO GET BACK THERE AGAIN, WHAT A FABULOUS FIND, THANK YOU VRBO. WE HAD A REUNION OF TWO SISTER FROM AZ. ONE BROTHER FROM MEXICO CITY AND ONE SON FROM GEORGIA, PLUS OUR TWO QUEENSLAND HEELERS. I CAN'T BELIEVE I FOUND OUR PERFECT VACATION HOUSE, BIG, SPACIOUS KITCHEN, FANTASTIC OUTDOOR LIVING, OUTDOOR COOKING AREA, LARGE MEETING TABLE BY THE POOL AND HOT TUB, COUCHES AROUND AN OUTDOOR FIREPLACE,( THIS IS THE BACK OF THE HOUSE) THANKS TO THE WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY OF THE OWNER, MONIQUE AND HER TEENAGE SON DILLON. IT WAS SO AMAZING TO BE SO CLOSE TO THE BEACH AND DOWNTOWN SANTA BARBARA , WITH THE FEELING OF BEING IN THE COUNTRY AT THE SAME TIME, BEAUTIFUL HORSE, PEACHES AND HIS SIDE KICK, MINI MULE OLLIE, MY DAUGHTER HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE A LESSON IN ENGLISH SADDLE FROM MONIQUE. THERE IS ALSO A GARDEN WITH THE MOST WONDERFUL VEGETABLES, AND, UNIQUE CHICKENS ( DESIGNER KIND) THAT LAID EGGS WHICH WE HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE. OH, THOSE STRING BEENS FROM PORTUGAL, MONIQUE EVEN GAVE US SOME SEEDS TO PLANT AT HOME. I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS PHENOMINAL VACATION WEEK THAT WE HAD. VERY ELEGANT, DOWN COMFORTORS AND ALL. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: not necessary

horseback riding and other animal interaction(ex. walk dog at the beach). Pets Welcomed with pet deposit

Photos

Rates & Availability

Santa Barbara Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall special
Sep 17 2016 - Nov 22 2016
60 night minimum stay
$6,500
 
 
Holidays-Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 28 2016
4 night minimum stay
$700
$3,500
 
 
Winter Special
Nov 29 2016 - Dec 22 2016
3 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$750
$3,500
$7,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
$7,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Pet Fee $110
cleaning $250
Tax Rate 12.0%

I do welcome pets, nevertheless I do require a pet deposit for extra cleaning & other
damage related to your pet.
Will be priced for a 2bd/1b or 3bd/2b depending on number of occupants
$1000 refundable security deposit due at checkin

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Santa Barbara Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , share&located between bedroom 1&2
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • living - 1 twin/ single , sofa is a daybed
    Back Bedroom - 1 queen , green
    Bedroom in suite - 1 queen , stripe decor with bathroom
    front bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Black and grey decor
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • 2 bicycles
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers