Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

AFFORDABLE WATERFRONT LUXURY ON DOWNTOWN HARBOUR

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 875 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 28 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo,1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Be sure to see our VIDEO of the condo by clicking the Arrow at the TOP of the Left blue column beside the main picture to bring to life this harbour oasis with its SPECTACULAR WATER VIEWS, and downtown walking access.

CLICKING BOOK IT IMMEDIATELY PROCESSES PAYMENT. IF YOU WANT TO EMAIL OR PHONE US WITH QUESTIONS, WE WELCOME YOUR CONTACT. 613 592 4444 EST.

VRBO QUOTES RATES IN USD$. CLICKING ON RATES ABOVE PROVIDES YOU WITH A CURRENCY CONVERTER TO SEE RATES IN YOUR CURRENCY.

FOR OUR US VISITORS, I CAN LOWER YOUR COST BY ACCEPTING LESS USD THAN CAD FOR CHECKS OR ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS. VRBO CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTS ONLY $CAD FOR CANADIAN PROPERTIES.

A PET IS CONSIDERED FOR A MINIMUM STAY OF A MONTH NOT FOR SHORT TERM PLEASE.

This luxurious condo FRONTS directly on Victoria's harbour with NO ROAD OR TRAFFIC running by out front, in a seven story residential building, offering both scenic peacefulness and convenient access. (Beware of SIDE condos here which are easily disturbed by late night restaurants or early morning garbage pick up, new construction and rush hour traffic.) A short walk will bring you to all major downtown attractions, including the Empress Hotel and Convention Center, the Parliament Buildings, the Museum, and some of Victoria’s finest restaurants. Nearby are many boutiques, theatres and shopping opportunities.

Why not have breakfast on the balcony while watching up close seals frolic and kayakers paddle past? On a cool evening, perhaps you would enjoy curling up by the living room fireplace with one of the books or DVDs provided, as the harbour lights twinkle on.

Wake refreshed from the comfort of the sumptuous KING SIZE pillow-top bed surrounded by carefully selected linens and furnishings. Enjoy a romantic second fireplace, in the bedroom, and view rowers and harbour traffic right from the bed. A comfortable Queen-size pull-out sofa bed is available in the living room.

Always verify that the condo you are renting is a real 1 bedroom: many small studio condos are advertised as 1 bedrooms when the bedroom and living space are in one room with no wall and door separation very much limiting living space and flexibility. Ours is a full King bedroom with ample square footage, and privacy to live comfortably, allowing someone to watch TV while another sleeps or reads elsewhere undisturbed.

Savour meals prepared in the fully equipped kitchen, and elegantly served at the mahogany inlaid dining table. All types of cooking essentials are provided.

This condo also offers AIR CONDITIONING to ensure no summer days are uncomfortable, and reduced glare window tinting to maximize your comfort in the increased temperatures a few days of these last few summers. The four piece bath includes a deep soaker tub, shower, hair dryer, and two robes for your relaxation.

Charming water taxis zip into the wharf below and will transport you, inexpensively, to Victoria's many attractions. Should you wish, whale watching and kayaking excursions are just a few steps away. Perhaps you would choose instead one of the many golf courses, or miles of waterside bike paths. Bike rentals are next door.

Sunset is a lovely time to enjoy a glass of wine on the rooftop patio, overlooking the boats and seaplanes, while dinner sizzles on the patio rooftop gas BBQ, or on your private, west, sunset facing balcony contemplating the water activity below.

The Mermaid Suite, perched over the harbour, is a haven of scenic luxury, with waterFRONT views and delightful walking access to downtown amenities, yet removed from the downtown bustle .

The condo is 5 minutes walking distance from the Seaplane Terminal to Vancouver, 15 minutes from the Seattle Ferry port, 35 minutes driving from the Victoria Airport, and 40 minutes from the British Columbia Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay. We provide dedicated underground parking, and are happy to assist you with airport pick up, grocery delivery, reduced rental car rates, and information on restaurants and attractions.

Pets only by prior written arrangement, and for visits of a month or longer please.DO VISIT OUR HOME WEBSITE to explore the links we have provided to enable you to enjoy Victoria fully by starting your vacation planning in advance.

Contact us now, and let us help you plan a memorable Victoria vacation. We want you to enjoy Victoria as much as we do.

BE SURE TO READ OUR GUEST REVIEWS (TOP LINK) TO SEE THE QUALITY OF EXPERIENCE WE PROVIDE OUR GUESTS. More reviews appear from our Guest Book if you scroll down after the LOCATION tab above.

SCROLL TO PAGE BOTTOM FOR 24 PICTURES.

Please feel free to call us. 613 592 4444 EST

Keywords: Residential self catering condominium

More Details

Owner
Colleen and Don
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

Why Colleen and Don chose Victoria

The abundance of variety in scenery, and activities, both recreational, and cultural, really impressed us in Victoria. Biking, whale watching, garden touring, museums, wineries, theatres, the symphony- all in a Pacific island community with Canada's most moderate climate. The ease of manoeuvring around a small town without freeways, and the friendliness of a seaside community that has the charm of the little harbour ferries, all conjures up a peaceful haven separate from the frenzied real world.

What makes this condo unique

Here you really can have the beauty of Victoria nestled at the water's edge without any of the usual downtown intrusions such as noise, congestion, smog, but still have immediate walking access to shops, and restaurants once you leave the condo. How nice to move about on foot, or on a bike to take in the fresh sea air rather than have to fight for a parking spot every time you venture out. Plus the changing panorama on the waterway just off the balcony will encourage you to slow down, and enjoy the captivating scenery and sunsets.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello, Colleen!



We LOVED LOVED LOVED Victoria and our amazing accommodations! It has been 17 years since we have been there and it was like seeing it all new

again....hmmm, must be our age..



Francis was wonderful - picked us up at the airport, gave us the option of

the scenic road into Victoria which was beautiful, and showed us around the

suite, the parking and the building. We were able to come in to the condo so

early because they had just finished cleaning from the previous renters.



You have a beautiful property there, and so very convenient to everything.

We love walking and in fact did not even rent a car until our last evening so

we could go to the gardens, etc. on the way to the airport the next day. We

walked to Craigdarragh, walked to Fishermans Wharf, Westbay Marina, the

beach, and everything was breathtaking. The weather was quite cool but that did not matter at all. We spent one cooler windy day at the museum and took in 3 Imax shows, and one Saturday was quite rainy so we spent most of the day relaxing in our -home-. I read an entire book from your selection there and Dennis enjoyed channel surfing.....just like at home! And yes, even though it was chilly, we still sat on the balcony with our wine and snacksand took in the amazing view and constant activity on the water!



We did find a favorite place where we felt so at home.....Swans Hotel.

Always entertaining there, and through extensive testing at various

locations Dennis proclaimed their Seafood Chowder as the best in Victoria!

We truly loved all the little brewhouses we checked out as well.



I have already referred you and Francis as well to some people we met there

from Indiana. They go to Victoria about once a year and were this year

staying at Executive House. When we told them how great your place was,

they took down the info so hopefully they will end up there one day.



I have attached a few photos just in case you need some for testimonials!

Thank you again, Colleen - it was an amazing experience and was so very true to your website description - much appreciated!



Sherry
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

Downtown Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 875 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Luxurious King-size pillow-top bed, High quality Queen-size pullout sofa bed in living room, Complimentary high-speed internet, 2 Fireplaces, a balcony with furniture, Ensuite Washer and Dryer, Ironing board, Dedicated parking spot in underground garage, Rooftop patio with gas Barbeque

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(58 traveler reviews)

AFFORDABLE WATERFRONT LUXURY ON DOWNTOWN HARBOUR
average rating of 4.862069 based on 70 reviews
Winnipeg, Mb. Canada
5

Mermaid Suite

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful from the first contact with the owners to our last day. The condo is in a perfect location for walking to shops or to the many delightful restaurants and English style pubs.(Two our our favorites were Spinnakers across the water and the Bard and Banker.)

We lacked nothing in the condo, it was clean and very nicely decorated.On arrival Jane was so helpful, she walked us about and explained everything.A very tasty bottle of champagne was a nice treat from Colleen and Don. The water activity was always fun to watch as we sat on the balcony every morning and evening.The water taxis are a great way to get around and it was fun to watch them perform the water ballet.We spent a week and wished we had booked longer. Will definitely pass this on to our friends who are going to Victoria B.C.

We can't wait to go back!

J.& P.

Wpg. Mb.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Joyce and Peter, We are glad you so enjoyed yourselves at our condo watching the ever changing views on the harbour and being so easily able to walk to so many fabulous restaurants and sites. We never tire of it ourselves since there is such an abundance of choices for recreation and sight seeing. Please do return and consider when you are freed up for long enough, a winter month here in Canada's most moderate climate. Isn't a wind breaker an improvement over a parka fighting ice storms? That's why we bought! Hope to see you soon. Best regards, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Victoria BC

  • 5 of 5

June 11-16, 2017 - a wonderful trip and beautiful accommodations. We made the most of every day enjoying the walk to Craigdarroch Castle (a must) and Government Building and surrounding gardens - a trip to Butchart Gardens and enjoying fabulous restaurants. Some of our favorites were Nautical Nellie's, The Flying Otter, and The Fish Store on Fisherman's Wharf for fish'n'chips. Enjoying delicious champagne while overlooking the many activities on the water. Many thanks for our special memories!

Christi - Tucson AZ

Susan - Temecula CA

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Christi - It was delightful to know about all the sights and restaurants your Mom and you shared together while our guests at the Mermaid Suite. That the two of you annually plan a holiday escape is terrific especially when you live in different cities. Come again! Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Title says it all

  • 5 of 5

This is surely one of the hidden gems of Victoria, a marvelous location and exquisite suite, well appointed, tastefully decorated and cherished, truly an enjoyable experience.

We are sorry to give it such a good review as it will surely make it harder to reserve in the future but this delightful location should be experienced by anyone that wants a little heaven in a beautiful city.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jim and Irma- You were both so joyful about each new day's possibilities which you undertook with such enthusiasm that I loved your sharing of the details of how wonderful it all was in your busy 5 days. Coming from Vancouver and having been here before, you certainly know where you want to go in Victoria. Thank you for noting in our guest book your Treasured Finds locally so our other guests can also experience them. See you mid October on your return. If your sister and friend still want to come, there is another condo in this building I can recommend for them. Loved having you here, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, comfortable

  • 4 of 5

Our family of four stayed here for a long weekend. The location is super, at one end of the downtown core making numerous attractions, restaurants and coffee shops a 2-5 minute walk. The king bed was very comfortable, and our kids (12 & 8) had no complaints about the queen-size hide-a-bed. The view onto the harbor is beautiful and interesting, with the water taxis and large sailboats. The reason I'm not giving five stars is a cumulation of little things, none of which matter much if your intention is to be out and about most of the time. For the price it is top rate and we would definitely come back. The local manager who checks you in and shows you how to use the keys, etc. is very helpful and pleasant.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: How terrific that your 2 children also stayed with you downtown on the waterfront at such a reasonable price for four in USD$. Even if you did find yourselves crowded after having selected a 1 bedroom, you were then able to spend the money saved from that on fun activities for all of you. The absence of kids' games and tv channels is not something we consider including given our usual guests are adults seeking scenic waterfront beauty, new sights and time together watching the harbour activity and sunset. That is why we supply our guests with chilled champagne to savour together. But our children guests are usually whale watching, at Butchart Gardens or the Imax and not looking for activities in the condo. And I really can't remember the last time any other guest didn't thank us for the champagne especially when I make a point to send a Welcome Greeting also. Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Bend, Oregon. USA
5

Perfect waterfront condo!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was in a perfect location for walking, using the harbor ferries, eating, & shopping. Great view & very comfortable. Having Jane pick us up & take us shopping before settling in was a treat. We enjoyed talking with her & knowing we had a ride back to the ferry at the end of our stay. The Mermaid Suite rates 5 stars with us. Thanks so much for sharing it.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cheryl, You are so correct about our location being perfect for all aspects of visiting Victoria. Whether you're looking to jump aboard a little harbor ferry on our wharf below to tour the town from the water, shop, wander the scenic shopping streets or head out whale watching or kayaking, it all starts just outside the door from our centre waterfront condo. We also provide all we possibly can to offer physical and aesthetic comfort so your rest after play is of quality. I am always glad when our guests choose Jane's service since it saves them time and brings them ease in their arrival with someone showing them the way into town on scenic backroads or just a pick up from the Clipper. A quick grocery/wine stop and then you're underway with your holiday. That you and your sisters annually share such an escape together is such a fun idea to maintain your relationships. I hope we see you back again. Best, Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable and central location

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the easy access to everything Victoria has to offer. Comfortable suite. Well appointed.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michelle and Brian, I'm happy that your Mermaid Suite anniversary stay was successful from beginning to end. Your decision to use Jane's transportation service on arrival and departure saved you valuable time which you enjoyed elsewhere having fun. I hope the memories of this visit bring you back again. Colleen
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

IMAX, Butchart Gardens, Wineries, Theatre, Museum

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downtown Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 23 2017 - Jul 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$109
$765
$3,509
 
 
Summer
Jul 12 2017 - Jul 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$131
$911
$3,509
 
 
Summer
Jul 25 2017 - Jul 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
Summer
Jul 28 2017 - Oct 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$124
$875
$2,924
 
 
Fall
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
$911
$2,924
 
 
Fall
Oct 10 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$124
$864
$2,924
 
 
Fall
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$113
$695
$1,826
 
 
Holidays
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$911
$2,177
 
 
Winter 3
Jan 3 2018 - Mar 31 2018
28 night minimum stay
$695
$1,972
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2018 - May 3 2018
4 night minimum stay
$124
$842
$2,192
 
 
Summer
May 4 2018 - Oct 9 2018
4 night minimum stay
$139
$918
$3,509
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$113
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $113.43
Refundable damage deposit $219.54
Cleaning $65.86

A cleaning fee of $90 is added to visits.

If a credit card is used to pay, the vrbo 3.75% fee is added to your total to reimburse me these service charges.



Holidays are charged at prime summer pricing.

When we do consider a pet, we ask you to agree on sensible behaviours that protect our property and our neighbours. A pet is only considered for stays of a month or more, not for short term.

Cancellation policy of 60-90 days varies seasonally. Vacation Rental Cancellation Policy - see below.

If an unavoidable circumstance causes you to cancel before the reservation start date, you will receive a 90% refund of the total rent if you notify us in print 90 days before a month or longer rental, and 60 days in advance for time periods shorter than a month.

Cancellations any later than this will provide you with a refund of 90% of whatever rent we collect from others for the cancelled time, assuring that the total rent we receive from the new renters is the same amount as you had agreed to pay.

I always suggest purchasing vacation insurance to protect yourselves. I don’t sell it, but can assist in making recommendations if you want that.

Please email me that you have read these policies and are in agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties