Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Home w/ Hot Tub & Walk to Lake Michigan

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

Large groups will appreciate the layout of this colorful home situated within Saugatuck and Douglas's picturesque lakeshore community. Encircled by pines and lofty greenery, the quiet natural setting is reflected indoors through a selection of vivid, locally themed artwork.

Gather together in the open living area and kitchen, or find tranquil privacy throughout the home. Two of the three bedrooms in this spacious home have their own private screened porches, and a third screened porch is located off of the living room, so every guest can enjoy fresh air and the sounds of nature.

Listen to music through the home’s surround sound audio system. Relax with a warm soak in the hot tub. When night falls, gather around the fire pit for s’mores and stargazing.

Located only 3-4 blocks from Lake Michigan, Beach Glass is walking distance to Douglas Beach and only a few minutes car ride to Oval Beach.

More Details

Property Manager
Beach Glass
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

We loved the house and all of the amenities!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 10


Douglas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed, 1 Twin bed, 1 Sofa Bed, 2 Bunk beds, 1 Other bed
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


3.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

20% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
Spacious Home w/ Hot Tub & Walk to Lake Michigan
average rating of 3.2 based on 15 reviews
Rochester, NY

Comfortably spacious home, art-filled and comfortable interior

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Beach Glass in a comfortable new home filled with beautiful antiques and art. It is spacious and provides a nice relaxing atmosphere. A short ride gets one to downtown Saugatuck, a grocery store, sand dune parks and many out door activities.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

We have rented through Lakeshore Lodgings for many years. This house was highly recommended by Lakeshore lodgings. The house was not very clean. Black build up of some disgusting substance in trash can in kitchen. Only one TV worked in basement. Master bedroom TV didn't work, called on Monday, Comcast showed up on Thursday. Said the TV was not part of the account even though there were directions for turning it on in information provided. TV in one other bedroom had no cable/tv connection at all. Olympics were on but generally unable to watch. Mattresses were old. Couch in family room broken. Overall, very disappointing and expensive. Will probably not rent from Lakeshore lodging again and definitely not this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Each home is inspected for cleanliness after our Cottage Care crew has performed their duties. We understand the importance of the details when it comes to the cleanliness of a home which is the reason we inspect our homes and it is regrettable when details are missed and it is unfortunate that it impacted this guests stay to such a degree. As a management company we strive to provide an extra level of service when it comes to troubleshooting amenities of the homes. We not only provide a "How-to" guide in the home but also help troubleshoot over the phone or will send a staff member out to assist guests. The basement TV is the only TV in the house that has cable at this time. All TVs at the home work but the master TV only has a DVD player. We work in concert with the homeowner when considering upgrades to amenities and furnishings. This is the first time an issue with the beds has been reported and will update this response when we have improvements to report.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Indianapolis, Indiana

Could be excellent with needed, necessary maintenance.

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at this rental over our fall break, Oct 22, 2015-Oct 25, 2015 with another family. The location was a short few blocks to the lake which was nice. It has interesting floor plan and is excellent for 2 families. The decor was cute and I felt the property was clean. However, there was an odor that greeted us upon arrival and with the 4 adults basically almost 3 adult children we had trouble pinpointing it. Some felt it was recent paint. Others not-dry carpet after carpet cleaning. It was an underlying musty smell that was hard to identify, but irritating. While putting away supplies, I opened the cabinet under the sink and found a stainless steel filled bowl with some brown sludge under the garbage disposal that was the source of the smell. Not sure how long it had been there but my guess it would take a while to fill that bowl. We put the stopper in the sink and called maintenance who visited and cleaned it but identified the issue would not be able to be fixed until after our exit. (I'm not confident it hasn't been an issue previously and ignored. It would take a LONG time to accumulate that much yuck with disposal run-off to fill the bowl that was there. The child lock on the under sink cabinet was not fastened, otherwise we would not have known.) Intermittent lights going on and off on the main level and no working ceiling fans or lights in the ceiling fixtures on one side of the house also signaled a need for an electrician or some attention. Maintenance aside, I think the rental could be improved by a DVD player in the basement as there was only one player in the kids bunk room and maybe the master, but none in a central social area for DVD viewing. Or, moving what's there to a centrally used location? (No DVD player is listed on the home overview either?) Also, a mirror or two in the bedrooms for help of 7 people sharing the bunk and blue room? Only one bathroom mirror in that level the house. The hot tub was not what could be considered hot, but as only 2 people during our visit used it, it was a nice addition but if renting later in the season, it would not be enjoyable at all. One last note. The property description requests to ask about pets, but the information binder in the home says no pets? I had called and inquired about pets shortly before our trip but received no return call in reply. I think the info should be updated to reflect what is wished by the owner.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Before guest arrival we inspect the property after it has been cleaned to ensure it is up to the highest standard of cleanliness and there are no maintenance issues. Something like a leaking garbage disposal should have been addressed before this guests stay. We have our own maintenance team which allows us to respond to potential issues like this one and were able to take care of the issue the day of. Bulbs that are out prior to a guest arrival are replaced and any bulbs that go out during a stay we will replace during your stay if reported to us. The ceiling fans at the home are fully operational. We will gladly pass along any amenity suggestions like additional electronics to the owner for consideration. The hot tub was dumped and refilled prior to this guest's stay which requires additional time to get back up to temperature. This home is not pet friendly and is reflected as such on the property listing and in the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Downers Grove, IL

The perfect escape!

  • 5 of 5

We adored this rental. This is our 4th year in Michigan and I think we finally got it right. Perfect distance from the beach and downtown. The home itself was beautifully decorated. We loved the decor, especially that the table seated so many. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer. Until next time...

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beach Glass 2.0

  • 4 of 5

This was our second stay at Beach Glass and we had a great time. The house is set up nicely for two families. Decor is pleasant and feels comfortable.

Close to the beach and convienant to Saugatuck.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0






  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties