check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Beach Glass

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Spacious Home w/ Hot Tub & Walk to Lake Michigan;

4 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Douglas House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10

Large groups will appreciate the 3 bedroom, 3 screen-porch layout of this artistic and colorful home situated within Saugatuck and Douglas’s picturesque lakeshore community. Encircled by pines and lofty greenery and an open front lawn, the quiet natural setting is reflected indoors thru a selection of vivid, locally-themed artwork.

Spread out among the private 2nd level Master-suite with a King and futon located in its own wing and the 2 rooms residing in the opposite wing: one room with Queen + Twin and a Bunkroom with 2 Twin bunks plus a Flat Screen TV and iPod player!

Listen to music thru the Surround Sound audio system while everyone gathers for meals in the open kitchen and large dining table for 10! Enjoy the fresh Michigan air from one of the 3 screen porches, while soaking in the outdoor Hot Tub or while enjoying a warm fire in the outdoor Fire Pit!

Located only 3-4 blocks from Lake Michigan, you are walking distance to Douglas Beach and only a few minutes car ride to Oval Beach!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Beach Glass (Property Manager)
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

We loved the house and all of the amenities!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 10

Reviews

3
based on 4 traveler reviews

Spacious Home w/ Hot Tub & Walk to Lake Michigan;
average rating of 3.0 based on 14 reviews
1

Very Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

We have rented through Lakeshore Lodgings for many years. This house was highly recommended by Lakeshore lodgings. The house was not very clean. Black build up of some disgusting substance in trash can in kitchen. Only one TV worked in basement. Master bedroom TV didn't work, called on Monday, Comcast showed up on Thursday. Said the TV was not part of the account even though there were directions for turning it on in information provided. TV in one other bedroom had no cable/tv connection at all. Olympics were on but generally unable to watch. Mattresses were old. Couch in family room broken. Overall, very disappointing and expensive. Will probably not rent from Lakeshore lodging again and definitely not this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Each home is inspected for cleanliness after our Cottage Care crew has performed their duties. We understand the importance of the details when it comes to the cleanliness of a home which is the reason we inspect our homes and it is regrettable when details are missed and it is unfortunate that it impacted this guests stay to such a degree. As a management company we strive to provide an extra level of service when it comes to troubleshooting amenities of the homes. We not only provide a "How-to" guide in the home but also help troubleshoot over the phone or will send a staff member out to assist guests. The basement TV is the only TV in the house that has cable at this time. All TVs at the home work but the master TV only has a DVD player. We work in concert with the homeowner when considering upgrades to amenities and furnishings. This is the first time an issue with the beds has been reported and will update this response when we have improvements to report.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Indianapolis, Indiana
2

Could be excellent with needed, necessary maintenance.

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at this rental over our fall break, Oct 22, 2015-Oct 25, 2015 with another family. The location was a short few blocks to the lake which was nice. It has interesting floor plan and is excellent for 2 families. The decor was cute and I felt the property was clean. However, there was an odor that greeted us upon arrival and with the 4 adults basically almost 3 adult children we had trouble pinpointing it. Some felt it was recent paint. Others not-dry carpet after carpet cleaning. It was an underlying musty smell that was hard to identify, but irritating. While putting away supplies, I opened the cabinet under the sink and found a stainless steel filled bowl with some brown sludge under the garbage disposal that was the source of the smell. Not sure how long it had been there but my guess it would take a while to fill that bowl. We put the stopper in the sink and called maintenance who visited and cleaned it but identified the issue would not be able to be fixed until after our exit. (I'm not confident it hasn't been an issue previously and ignored. It would take a LONG time to accumulate that much yuck with disposal run-off to fill the bowl that was there. The child lock on the under sink cabinet was not fastened, otherwise we would not have known.) Intermittent lights going on and off on the main level and no working ceiling fans or lights in the ceiling fixtures on one side of the house also signaled a need for an electrician or some attention. Maintenance aside, I think the rental could be improved by a DVD player in the basement as there was only one player in the kids bunk room and maybe the master, but none in a central social area for DVD viewing. Or, moving what's there to a centrally used location? (No DVD player is listed on the home overview either?) Also, a mirror or two in the bedrooms for help of 7 people sharing the bunk and blue room? Only one bathroom mirror in that level the house. The hot tub was not what could be considered hot, but as only 2 people during our visit used it, it was a nice addition but if renting later in the season, it would not be enjoyable at all. One last note. The property description requests to ask about pets, but the information binder in the home says no pets? I had called and inquired about pets shortly before our trip but received no return call in reply. I think the info should be updated to reflect what is wished by the owner.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Before guest arrival we inspect the property after it has been cleaned to ensure it is up to the highest standard of cleanliness and there are no maintenance issues. Something like a leaking garbage disposal should have been addressed before this guests stay. We have our own maintenance team which allows us to respond to potential issues like this one and were able to take care of the issue the day of. Bulbs that are out prior to a guest arrival are replaced and any bulbs that go out during a stay we will replace during your stay if reported to us. The ceiling fans at the home are fully operational. We will gladly pass along any amenity suggestions like additional electronics to the owner for consideration. The hot tub was dumped and refilled prior to this guest's stay which requires additional time to get back up to temperature. This home is not pet friendly and is reflected as such on the property listing and in the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

The perfect escape!

  • 5 of 5

We adored this rental. This is our 4th year in Michigan and I think we finally got it right. Perfect distance from the beach and downtown. The home itself was beautifully decorated. We loved the decor, especially that the table seated so many. Our only wish is that we could have stayed longer. Until next time...

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beach Glass 2.0

  • 4 of 5

This was our second stay at Beach Glass and we had a great time. The house is set up nicely for two families. Decor is pleasant and feels comfortable.

Close to the beach and convienant to Saugatuck.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Douglas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • swimming

Partner Offers