check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Classic 3BR Ocnfrt Carova Cottage, Pet Friendly! Sandy Roads & Wild Horses!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Corolla House Rental Photos and Description

Classic Ocean Front Beach House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9), Dog Friendly

CLEAN, CLASSIC, QUIET, OCEANFRONT BEACH COTTAGE, AN EXCEPTIONAL VALUE!!! Linens & Towels Included, Cleaning Fees Included. Pet Friendly (with $35.00 Pet fee). Many extras provided.

*Carova Cottage, LLC rents from Sunday to Sunday* (flexible in shoulder season)

4 wheel Drive vehicle is essential for off-road driving, you will be driving in the sand!

Easy on-line booking, reserve your week now!

Carova Cottage, LLC is located just 8 miles from Corolla, at MP 20.6, on the Oceanfront of Carova Beach where the beach is unspoiled, clean, wide, and uncrowded. It is very quiet and natural with dunes, sea oats, and wild life - there is no commercialism on this beach! Wild Spanish Mustang horses roam freely on the island and often graze on the dunes and in the yard.

Treat yourself to a stay in our cozy Oceanfront cottage approx. 165 steps from deck to ocean with a private walkway and sitting deck. Walk out the back door and over the dunes to the beach or drive your 4WD vehicle and park on the beach.

Enjoy the large open family room with its high ceilings and Nantucket Style solid wood planked walls. The Family Room adjoins with the dining area and kitchen, and both rooms have doors that open to the large deck that expands across the back (oceanside) of the house.

The galley style kitchen is just off the living and dining area and is well stocked with dinnerware & cookware including a large stock pot & crab crackers, oven, microwave, full sized refrigerator. We also have a blender, Margarita Maker, Mini-Keurig Coffee maker.

The Family Room has a Flat Screen TV with Dish Network & HBO, and a DVD player with a small library of movies. The lower level Queen bedroom is located just off the family room and has a private entrance to the lower bathroom as well as sliding doors that open to the covered back deck.

Just up the stairs is the large, upper level Queen bedroom with a sitting area, a 48" TV, and doors that open to your own private deck. Down the hall from the Queen bedroom is the twin bedroom that has two twin beds and a bunk bed (with a double on bottom and twin on top). Between the Queen and Twin room is a newly remodeled shared bathroom with a corner shower, toilet and sink. The upstairs hallway is open and overlooks the Family Room below. There is a computer desk in the open hallway in case you need to use the wi-fi to upload your vacation pictures, check your email! We also offer a crib, high chair and pack'n play that can be moved to the room of your choice.

If you need some civilization during your stay, you can drive 30 minutes down the beach to Corolla, where you will find shops, restaurants, activities and entertainment. Corolla houses the Currituck Lighthouse, along with the quaint shops of the old town. The historic Whalehead Club is open for tours and is located next to it the Wildlife nature center; both offering a glimpse into the history of the area and the beauty of it's natural resources. Along Route 12 going south are several shopping areas, mini-golf, go karts, and grocery stores connecting Corolla with the resort town of Duck (45 min drive). Head further south through Kitty Hawk and Nags Head and visit the Wright Brothers National Memorial and Jockey's Ridge state park, the largest natural sand dune on the east coast. At the end of the day, return home to the quiet beauty and peaceful surrounds of Carova Cottage.

So, pack up your 4 Wheel Drive and head to Carova Cottage for a unique vacation you will never forget!

Visit our personal website for more info!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Gay Brennan
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 7, 2016

About Gay Brennan

We are a family of 3 from South Carolina and we love Carova Beach!! We visit as often as we can because no other beach compares to Carova!! It is the perfect environment for a family vacation. We love the beach, we love our cozy cottage, and we appreciate our renters!

Gay Brennan purchased this house in 2006

Why Gay Brennan chose Outer Banks

Carova Cottage, LLC has been a part of our family for years. My Husband and I have recently taken over the management of the cottage. We will continue to use it personally and will also continue to offer it to our renters to enjoy. It is a quaint, classic cottage that is great for smaller families or groups who need something affordable. With the peacefulness and seclusion of the beach and the cottage, you can truly relax and spend great quality time with your family.

It's the only place on the Outer Banks where the wild horses roam free. It is still exciting for us to see the horses - they are very often grazing, playing, and resting in our yard.

Our renters love our cottage as much as we do. Be sure to read our reviews and 'like' us on facebook!

What makes this house unique

There is so much wildlife- horses, deer, foxes, shore birds, graceful pelicans, and the marine life - schools of dolphins & occasionally whales, turtles and seals. We especially love our horses! Carova Beach Park & Boat Ramp is a short walk or ride from the cottage. You can launch your kayak into the sound or go crabbing. You can relax and do nothing or you can explore the area - there is so much to do (if you choose to).

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family thoroughly enjoyed staying at Carova Cottage. The beach is wonderful and secluded, the cottage is clean and cozy just perfect for smaller families. We will be back!!
Nov 2016
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Classic 3BR Ocnfrt Carova Cottage, Pet Friendly! Sandy Roads & Wild Horses!
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 30 reviews
5

Amazing and absolutely beautiful

  • 5 of 5

The experience was amazing and something that I can hopefully have again. The home was cozy and well stocked with everyday items like silverware, dishes, and other home items. The stay was very comfortable and the owners were on call in case of any issues. We were only a few steps away from the beach and it was incredible. I saw wild horses, dolphins and was basically always on the beach or on the deck. Very impressed by everything.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh nc
4

Great fun

  • 4 of 5

Rustic and fun. Great access to beautiful beach. Great for those of us who love the beach but don't love the high prices on the outer banks.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was the best! We went to celebrate my husband’s birthday and were extremely pleased. The cottage is wonderful and very clean plus the views are beautiful. The kitchen is fully stocked to meet any cooking needs. Our favorite part were all the wild horses on the property. We will be going back for years to come including our two dogs. What made the vacation even better were the owners. What a pleasure to rent from and easy to get in touch with. I give two thumbs up and an excellent rating!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

SAVE YOUR MONEY. DO NOT STAY HERE! RUDE OWNERS - AWFUL DIRTY HOUSE!!!!

  • 1 of 5

Here is a list of why you should NOT stay at this rental

1. False advertising – this is not an “ocean front rental”. You can’t even see the ocean – you will only see sand dunes

2. The owners. I never in my life have ever dealt with such rude homeowners. I travel often and stay all over the country and never once have been treated like this. After emailing the owners and getting nowhere we tried to call them and they screened our calls and did not answer. A couple examples of what the owners said to us after we questioned them about the condition of their rental are as follows: “You need to get over it now”. He also said that they get “that one family a year that complains and that we were that family and get that award for being the complainers this year”

3. We were told by the owners that after Hurricane Matthew there was some flooding in front of the rental. I specifically asked them how the conditions were. They told me “My house keeper is checking on the house today to let me know if there is any damage. I do not expect there to be anything serious”. They lied to us. There was such bad flooding that we spent 2.5 hours just trying to get up the driveway once we arrived. The local tow truck guy came out and told us to not even attempt driving through the waters.

4. The outside of the rental is TRASHED. It is disgusting. I wish I could include photos on here.

5. The grill they advertise is a JOKE. We brought food to grill and this grill was completely unusable. It was in complete shambles.

6. The instructions they provided us were inaccurate – the key was not where they told us it would be which required us to call the owners again

7. The cottage is extremely dirty and dusty. The dust on the fans is thick and dangling in large pieces off the fan. Once again wishing I could include photos on here.

8. The owners kept calling the house phone of the cottage and hanging up – for what reason I have no idea but it was weird and freaked us out. Made us very uncomfortable.

...to be continued....next review

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that your stay was not as expected. We did try to reach out to you but due to heightened emotions, we were unable to have a productive conversation. Our property is indeed ocean front and is exactly as described in the property description and the pictures. There is no misrepresentation whatsoever. Unfortunately, before your arrival, we had 3 major storm systems come through (including a hurricane) that brought 30” of rain. As a result, we had unexpected flooding (which I clearly notified you of prior to your visit) that affected the quality of some of our services. Although I believe there is MUCH exaggeration regarding the cleanliness of the house, had you told me upon arrival that the housekeeping was unacceptable, I would have had the issues addressed immediately. We talked several times during your stay and your concerns were only with the operation of the tv and the debris under the house brought in from the flooding (which we were unaware of). My family and I work very hard each year to maintain and improve this property in order to provide our guests with the best vacation experience possible. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our services in the future. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Great place for my family

  • 4 of 5

This house was the perfect size for my family and was very comfortable. We spent all day at the beach and were comfortable at the house at night. We also loved seeing the horses.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Lovely, rustic home, close to ocean.

  • 5 of 5

Myself, my husband and our two teenage girls spend a week at this rustic home on the outer banks. I would recommend it for those who want to be very close to the ocean and beautiful beach. We saw the horses multiple times everyday and two days saw dolphins just offshore which we had never seen before in previous visits to OBX. This is not a brand new house but has everything most people need for a great stay. It is clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with basics which was a unusual treat for us in our history of renting. The upstairs deck has a view of the water and is lovely for a drink at the end of the day. You can literally walk to the beach in 2 minutes.

The treated water system is like other homes we have been to (even the new ones), it sometimes has an odor but we used it for cleaning and used bottled water for drinking and coffee. The owner was very responsive to questions. If you love this area this is an affordable way for a smaller group to spend time in the 4x4 area of the Outer Banks. A truly unique and beautiful place in the world.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Carova Beach Park & Boat Ramp a short walk to the house. Crabbing for the kids, pic-nic area

Some activities listed are available a short distance from where the beach ends and pavement begins.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Corolla House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Oct/Nov 2016
Oct 16 2016 - Dec 15 2016
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
$4,000
 
 
April 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$4,000
 
 
May 2017
May 1 2017 - May 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
$6,000
 
 
June 2017
May 28 2017 - Jun 10 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
4 night minimum stay
$335
$2,200
$6,000
 
 
June 2017
Jun 11 2017 - Jul 1 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
$6,500
 
 
July 2017
Jul 2 2017 - Aug 19 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
$10,000
 
 
Au/Sept 2017
Aug 20 2017 - Sep 16 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
$10,000
 
 
Fall
Sep 17 2017 - Nov 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$350
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Pet Fee $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Private & Secluded. YOU GET MANY EXTRAS THAT MOST BEACH HOUSES DO NOT PROVIDE: Linens & Towels, (not beach towels), Paper Products, Aluminum Foil, Plastic Wrap, Cleaning Supplies. No cleaning Fees, booking fees, no added fees.
BEST DEAL ON THE BEACH!!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Level Shared with Main Living Area
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , Ground Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upper Level Shared
  • 2 Full Baths. Both bathrooms have shower/tubs.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Living Level
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Upper Level, 2 twins, bunk bed w/full on bottom, twin on top
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level with Private Balcony, TV with satellite
  • Main Level: Master Queen with full sized bath, Upper Level: 1 Queen, 2 Twin Beds, 1 Bunk Bed (with double on bottom, twin on top), shared bath Total bed count: 2 queens, 1 double, 3 twins
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private Single Family Home is located on the Oceanfront and is 8 miles up the beach from the nearest road. A 4-wheel drive is necessary to reach the home. Recommended for: Families, Families with children, Couples, Beach Lovers, Surfers, Fishermen, Pet Owners, Girl's Getaway, Adventure Seekers, age 55+, History Buffs, Nature Lovers, Those seeking peace and relaxation!

Partner Offers