Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

WiFi, Pool Table, BIG 5 BEDROOM HOUSE! TOP OF MOUNTAIN.

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedrooms. 3 full bathrooms.

This home, Blue Ridge Overlook, is professionally managed by Massanutten Vacation, a local vacation rental home company.

Reservations must be made on our website. We'll email the link to you when we receive your email inquiry. We do not have reservations enabled on HomeAway.

Breathtaking sunrises! Blue Ridge Overlook is a lovely vacation property located at the top of Massanutten. At 2050 feet above sea level, the home offers stunning 20 mile year-round views across the Massanutten resort and Shenandoah Valley, and to the Blue Ridge Mountains beyond.

POOL TABLE, FOOSBALL, WIFI, FIREPLACE, STUNNING VIEWS FROM ALL 3 FLOORS!

The home offers 5 bedrooms plus a loft, along with 3 full bathrooms. It comfortably sleeps up to 14 people, and is ideally configured for large families.

The house includes 2 decks, a screened porch, a game room featuring pool and foosball, and a living room featuring a state-of-the-art audio/video system (including a large-screen HDTV, iPod dock, and PS3.) The home has cable television service and wireless Internet access.

This home is next door to our Deerhaven house and across the street from our Shenandoah Sunrise home. Our Hollow home and Alpine Vista home are just a few doors up the street. A short walk, around the corner, are these Massanutten Vacation homes: Acorn Lodge, Peak Retreat, Rainier Lodge, and Stone Splendor! All are within walking distance to each other and most can be seen from one another.

SMOKING IS PERMITTED OUTDOORS, ONLY, ON THIS PROPERTY.

LINENS FOR ALL BEDS INCLUDED. GUESTS MUST BRING TOWELS.

LEGAL MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY: 14 PEOPLE

Step into the foyer as you enter the home. A bathroom with a tub/shower combo is off the foyer, to the right. To the left are 3 bedrooms. Bedroom 1 has 2 twin beds. Bedroom 2 has a queen bed. Bedroom 3 is a master suite and has a queen bed, a private deck, and a bathroom with a full (bathtub-length) shower .

Back to the foyer and toward the back of the house is the great room. The dining table is expandable with 2 table leaves stored under the table top. Off the big eat-in kitchen is a screened porch with a table and chairs, for dining. Off the side of the porch is a deck with a charcoal grill.

The living room portion of the great room has a gas log fireplace, (Fireplace use 01 October through 31 March, ONLY), large flat-screen TV, PlayStation 3 with a few games and a wall of windows with a spectacular view into Massanutten, out to the valley and to the Blue Ridge Mountains.

A stairway in the living room leads to a loft where there are 2 queen futons.

Down the hallway off the foyer is a stairway to the lower level. Step into a large game room with a pool table and foosball table. Off the game room are 2 bedrooms and a bathroom with a tub/shower combo.

One bedroom is a master with a door to the bathroom and a queen bed. The other bedroom has 2 twin beds and one twin bunk bed set, and a wall of windows so you can enjoy that amazing view as soon as you awake!

This Massanutten Vacation Home is approximately 3200 square feet, and is ready for your visit with the following items:

* Central air & heat

* Linens for all beds

* Toaster or toaster oven

* Coffee maker and filters

* Cookware, bakeware and dinnerware

* Washing machine & dryer

* Microwave oven

* Cable or satellite TVs

* Dishwasher

* Charcoal grill

Items you will need to bring:

* Bath towels, hand towels and washcloths

* Cell phone (no landline phone at this home) * Soaps & detergents

* Camera & film

* Trash bags

* Paper goods (bathroom tissue & paper towels)

* Baby items

* Toiletries

***10% MILITARY DISCOUNT on the rental fee given when you reserve this home. Holidays are excluded. Thank you for your service!

Stipulations:

1) The reservation must be in the name of the person whose name is on the military ID.

2) A copy of your unexpired U.S. military ID card, current orders, or Veteran's Administration ID must be submitted with your signed rental contract to get this discount.

Mark through all social security numbers on the military ID copy.

Write MILITARY next to the Payment Details on page 1 of your rental contract.

Your rental contract will not show the discounted amount. Military discount will be applied once your rental agreement & military ID are received in our office.

3) Military IDs received after payment has been made will not be honored for the discount.

4) This discount is given to active duty, reservists and retired military persons.

5) Military discount is not given to civilians, civilian affiliates, contractors, Senior Executive Service (SES), Federal affiliates or Military affiliates accompanying the Armed Forces.

All Reservations: Refundable security deposit and cleaning fee additional.

ALL DISCOUNTS & SPECIALS:

1) Not valid in combination with any other discounts.

2) Not valid on reservations made previous to special rates being posted.

Please call 5402899033for more info.

TOP OF THE MOUNTAIN!

WALK to the outdoor swimming pool, ski lodge, mini-golf, go-karts & more! Less than 5 minutes to 2 golf courses. Less than 10 minutes' drive to the WATER PARK!

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home!

Outdoor Swimming Pool, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Charlottesville, Harper's Ferry, Lexington, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, and Washington D.C. are all within a 1-3 hour drive.

More Details

Property Manager
Katrina, Laresa, and Kathy
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

Amenities

McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Ground floor master bed/bath.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , To the right of the entry door.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs between game room & queen bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Master w/full bathroom.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Full bathroom also leads to game room.
    Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single , Full bathroom also leads to game room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Smoking is not allowed inside the house.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
WiFi, Pool Table, BIG 5 BEDROOM HOUSE! TOP OF MOUNTAIN.
average rating of 4.611111 based on 18 reviews
2

Broken Furniture Everywhere! Very Disappointed! Lack of Any Response from Management!

  • 2 of 5

I am not a person who typically complains, but I want to share my experience for other families who are considering choosing this home in run down condition for a group family vacation. We had family fly in to Virginia from out of state to join us for Thanksgiving in Massanutten as we have stayed in the area before and love it. However this house was filled with broken furniture and is in very poor condition.

For a home geared to accommodate multiple families there is a major shortage of seating. There is literally a severely damaged loveseat and a couch that sags so much it hurts my parent's backs. I emailed the property management company pictures of the love seat with the arm half ripped off. Poor seating for five people and ONE TELEVISION is not his is acceptable for a home geared toward a group especially for the amount we paid per night!

We are here for Thanksgiving and attempted to cook our meal. Pots and pans are severely damaged also. I sent the property management company pictures of a pot with multiple cracks and rust chipping off the bottom. It has been like this for quite a while and simply washed and put back away. There was literally water oozing out of the cracks from the last time it was washed.

The paint is several worn and damaged in several areas including odd spots like the shower. Paint flecks were falling off into the shower. There was gum on in the carpets and the railing leading to the loft is very loose.

There are holes in the bedding and the wrong size comforters. The "Queen" beds are actually "full sized beds" and not a queens as advertised. The comforters were too small so if you pulled them up, your feet were exposed. There are no alarm clocks, televisions or even night stand in the bedrooms.

There are slices in the screens and the high ceiling fan has some much dust and filth on it that it is visible from the sagging couch. The fans rattles and the outside lights did not work. Both queen futons are broken and do not fold up into a couch position. Most of my family spent the long weekend sitting on the hard kitchen chairs the entire weekend.

I called and left a message for the property management company. I also emailed them twice and never received a response. The day before our trip I had to call them to request my check in instructions. They were not emailed as they claimed they would be. There was no one at the office when we arrived during business hours either. Neglected property.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry you were not happy with the house. We strive to offer wonderful vacation houses for all our guests. I did email your driving & check-in info on Nov 1st. We had no way to know that you did not receive it until you told us last week. Then, we promptly re-sent that info to you. In reference to our office being closed when you checked in, 1) our check-in info explains how to check in if we are closed upon your arrival. 2) The email I sent to every guest, giving a very early check-in, also explained that we'd be out during part of the day: hi Joanne, We are giving your family a 10:00 a.m. check-in tomorrow! If we aren't here when you arrive, (we're going to see a new house we're signing up), just check yourself in using the lockbox on our office front door. Happy Thanksgiving! Sincerely, Katrina And 3) the 2 signs on our office front window explained we were closing at 2 p.m. and would re-open Monday at 9 a.m. As for getting no response to your emails you sent on Thanksgiving Day, Kathy did email you back on that day. Even on a holiday, your emails were read and replied to. Perhaps some of our emails to you are going into your SPAM folder. The beds in the house are all queens and twins. Queen fitted sheets fit on the queen mattresses and twin fitted sheets fit on the twin mattresses. All the bedding for each bed is the correct size. All bedrooms have night stands, except the master which has wall-mounted lamps. If you had read the description, before booking the house, you would have known there is 1 TV. We advertise what is in the house because we are honest. If you needed a house with more than 1 TV you could have booked any number of our other homes. As for the rest of your complaints, I explained I will contact the home owner, which I've done. I've also contacted maintenance, which you could have done while you were in the house. Maintenance could have fixed much of the things you mentioned. Some of the things you mentioned have been checked and they are not as you said they were, which is puzzling. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Fabulous location, view and facilities

  • 5 of 5

We can't wait to go again! This is a truly fabulous house with breathtaking views and top notch facilities. The loft is a lot of fun either for sleeping or teens to hang out. The pool table and foosball are also a lot of fun and big hit. The kitchen is well stocked with appropriate dishes and is well maintained with everything working well. The views are spectacular and the screened in porch is the perfect spot for morning coffee. The Wi-Fi also worked well. We went to the water park one day which is one of the best in the country. Also hit the driving range, rode ski lift (in summer time) for a view of the mountain and hiked. So much more to do but we just ran out of time. The house is so nice that we wanted time there just to hang out, relax and enjoy the view from the fabulous family room.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the house and had a great vacation! We hope you will come back to stay, again. Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great lodge-style house

  • 5 of 5

The house was the perfect ski lodge -- clean, comfortable, up-to-date and lots of room for three families with lots of kids. It has a big long kitchen/dining table that fit all of us for a big family dinner, a large living room with a fireplace and entertainment center, and the kids loved the pool table. We would recommend this house whole heartedly.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review. We're so happy you enjoyed the house and had a great getaway. We hope you'll return to stay with us, again! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great house for a crowd.

  • 5 of 5

The house was great for our large group of 10 men there for a retreat. There is plenty of space and the kitchen was plenty big enough to cook meals for a crowd. Views of the Blue Ridge to the east are great. Plus you can see the ski slopes from the front of the house. Charcoal grill on the back deck was also a nice extra.

This is actually the third time we have used this home, so we really like it!

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in our Blue Ridge Overlook vacation home, and we will be pleased to have you return! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful sunrise.

  • 4 of 5

Great views. Nice accommodations and extras. Comfortable.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're pleased you enjoyed the house and your stay. We welcome you back, anytime! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

The location was beautiful, peaceful, and with all the amenities we could wish for. Spacious enough for a large family reunion, and so much to do in the area. I would love to go again.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled you enjoyed the house and the surrounding area! This is exactly our goal for our guests. We hope you do come back and stay with us! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Massanutten.
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Massanutten.
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Massanutten.

Area Information:

In Massanutten: All the recreational facilities in Massanutten are within a 10 minute drive from this home!

Tennis, Skiing, Snowboarding, Snow Tubing, Arboretum, Playgrounds, Go-Kart Track, Summer Tubing, Tennis, Golf, Miniature Golf, Fishing, Hiking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Water Park, Large Arcade Room, Skate Park, Dining.

Outside Massanutten: Day Spa, Antiquing, Museums, Shenandoah River, Swimming, Fishing, Hunting, Canoeing, Kayaking, Scenic Train Rides, Skyline Drive, Wineries, Natural Bridge, Art and Pottery Galleries, Dining, Historic Downtowns, Caverns, Shopping, Colleges & Universities, Churches, Mosque and Synagogue.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $300

Low Rates apply during non-holiday dates and non-Mid rate dates.
Mid Rates apply Summer, Peak Fall, and Ski Season.
Low & Mid: 2 night minimum.
Holiday Rates apply:
MLK Jr, Presidents', Easter, JMU Graduation, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, weekends AND Thanksgiving, and Christmas wk to New Year's wknd.
Holidays: 3 night minimum.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties