check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

hayley

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Quiet Comtemporary House One Block from Ocean.

62 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pacific Grove House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Located 75 steps from the ocean, this updated property is located in one of the few original neighborhoods of Pacific Grove. The coastal bike trail is just 2 min away. Walk to Downtown and to the beach. 0.5 miles to the aquarium and Cannery Row. Ocean views from kitchen and living room.

Bikes are provided for your personal use. Helmsets provided. (bikes are adult sized)

Keywords: house

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
hayley (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

"Thank you Hayley and Fabrice for a wonderful and very memorable trip to the California coast. Our entire family enjoyed your home in its entirety! The bikes were just fabulous - we biked everwhere and never used our car. Your home's character is just perfect and thank you for keeping it so clean and updated. We will definitley return and hope you will have us back"
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.7
based on 62 traveler reviews

Quiet Comtemporary House One Block from Ocean.
average rating of 4.693548 based on 64 reviews
5

Unique Home. We loved it!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 were very comfortable for our multiple night stay in the Mermaid Vacation Home. The home is located on a unique street that has a row of homes in front and then the coastline. It was a very short walk to get to the beaches or benches to sight see the ocean, boats, wild life etc. The home was very clean and well stocked. We so appreciated the washer and dryer and enjoyed being able to watch TV in separate rooms. The loft is not accessible, we didn't need it anyways so that was fine for us. The downstairs bedroom is a bit colder than the rest of the home, but there is a space heater that did just fine. Bikes were great touch. There are minor little things that could be improved, maybe an update on the bathroom upstairs, new blinds perhaps... but overall - for the price and the location - I really think you cannot beat this place. So reasonable for the area and I feel if we had any issues with the house (we didn't) that the owner Hayley would have addressed them. She was very responsive during the booking process and easy to work with. If you like vacation homes, this is one of the better ones i have stayed in. I would stay again and hope you enjoy the house!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you for your email, I posted your review to our page. It was so nice to have you at the home and I hope your journey continues safely!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Great location but needs updates

  • 2 of 5

We really enjoyed the location with close proximity to many sites, including the views of the ocean. But, the house definitely needs some updates and repairs. I had hoped that these had taken place before our arrival after reading the previous reviews, but they had not. We never could get the washer to work despite numerous tries and following the crazy directions in the house manual. The door in the master leading to garage still hasn't been sealed or insulated, so there is a breeze of air blowing through. The electrical outlets are really in need of repair. Every time I dried my hair, the lights in our bathroom flickered as I went from warm to cool. This was some cause for concern with safety. Several of the blinds need to be replaced, especially in the upstairs bathroom.

We had 2 families, so the space was great for 6 of us. I did think it was odd that there are only servings for 6 people, so we couldn't invite our other family members over to eat. With water being at a premium in Ca, it would make sense to have paper plates available so we wouldn't have to use dishwasher as often. I've also never stayed at a VRBO that the house book stated we had to empty trash, clean up and do laundry before leaving. That was a surprise. We had a maintenance issue, but Hayley did repair immediately. It would be nice to have a welcome basket with fruit, snacks, etc upon arrival as I've experienced in the past.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. Since your stay, we have included many more place settings, however as we came to find out, there were many more people staying in the home then you requested. This home sleeps 6 people... I am Okay with an additional Person or two of pre arranged with me. But 10 was really too many for the home. I am More than happy to walk Guests through washing machine instructions of my directions in the book are not clear to some- sorry I didn't know you were having issues. :-( as far as electrical- we will look into that - we take that very seriously and will look into that, as this is the first time I'm Hearing about this. That's so appreciated - we want everything functioning safely of course. The draft on the door has a draft blocker now- it's a little pillow that sits in front of the door. I'll look into a more permanent solution of that wasn't adequate.Sorry we don't do fruit baskets- too many people have allergies! But we do do Wine With three night stay or more. I wish your experiences was better! Thanks again for the heads up on the issues you had.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful house close to beach

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful house, refreshing modern place to relax in, listening to sea gulls and with sea views. Great location and in a lovely area. Aquarium passes and bikes fab. Wish we were staying longer than 2 nights, there's so much to do here and even doing nothing here would be great.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cool house in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of room for our family of 5! Well stocked.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice location, comfortable room

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 3 nights with my family, total 4 people).

At first , I couldn't find a location since there was a road construction and had to take a detour.

But after found out the place, it is located such a nice place , right in front of ocean .

I enjoyed walking around Lovers point ( 3 mins walk).

Rooms were nice , well cleaned , felt more wide because of high ceiling .

There was a loft but it isn't for using.

Aquarium passes are available for two people . We didn't use bikes .

It was great we didn't need to worry about key since electrical key code.

We would love to stay again.

About 30 mins walk to Cannery Row.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice Location, needs upgrades

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Great proximity to the water and restaurants. Bikes and aquarium passes were definitely a bonus. Nice view of the water from the kitchen and we liked the open floor plan and large kitchen table for our group to hang out together. There is no AC but it was very refreshing having the windows open for a cool breeze. The owner is very accommodating and easy to work with.

Cons: The house needs some TLC. While the space is nice and open, the interior needs upgrading. Wood cabinets are chipping, new paint is needed, showers are dated (shower heads very low and not great for the tall guys), w/d just need to be replaced all together. Furniture is all IKEA style which made for an uncomfortable bed and couch. The downstairs bedroom has a door to the garage which is not sealed properly and the room was freezing. None of the remote controls worked. The loft area is not accessible (despite the picture shown). Parking is challenging as the street is more of an alley and our car did not fit in the garage.

Loved the location but would not stay here again unless upgrades were made.

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response and review. I'm sorry for any of the homes wear and tear that should have been addressed before your stay. The spring and summer are extremely busy times for us and the home can get worn in a bit. That being said, I will definitely make it a priority to address all of the above cosmetic issues. Regarding the washer and dryer, they indeed are a little dated but are fully functional. The parking is private and can fit three small vehicles or two larger SUV type cars. I received another review using the word alley as a description of the street. I just want to make sure that everybody who is reading this understands that this is not an alley! Perhaps people who are not familiar with coastal towns feel like the street is a bit narrow, and I suppose I can agree with that. It's a very eclectic street and is one of the original neighborhoods in pacific grove. My personality appreciates new and different places like this and I think the street is charming. But I can definitley understand how it's not for everybody. Furniture and decor are a mix of wet elm and IKEA. However the downstairs bedroom is a Tempur-pedic mattress. We like the style of ikea and west elm and in a rental home if anything it's broken we can easily replace it quickly. Thank you again for your review and I will take into consideration everything that you suggested needed work.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Library, botanical garden, churches, marina, winery tours, beachcombing, bird watching, walking, eco tourism, paddle boating, whale watching, scenic drives, roller blading, deepsea fishing, equestrian events, golf privileges optional, sound/bay fishing, pier fishing. ATM/bank, laundromat, massage therapist, medical services, groceries, hospital.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pacific Grove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Feb 13 2016 - Nov 14 2016
2 night minimum stay
$299
$1,794
 
 
low season
Nov 15 2016 - Feb 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $99
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 10.0%

Stay 7 nights and the 7th night is FREE!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pacific Grove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , ground level, private for room #1
    Bathroom 2 - shower , upper level, shared with two bedrooms. Entrance from hallway
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , tempurpedic mattress, this bedroom is entry ground level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , upper level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , upper level
  • Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
All bedroom have closet and HDTV flat screen TV's 4 cruiser bikes available. LOFT IS NOT FOR GUEST USE

Partner Offers