Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming 'Waterfront Distric 'Home in the Heart of Hyannis Port.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,050 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, sleeps 6

Charming 'Waterfront District' home located in the heart of Hyannis. This newly renovated 1920's Colonial with original antique floors has all the modern conviences todays families expect for their Cape Cod Summer vacation. This home is in pristine condition with brand new kitchen , granite countertops and stainless appliances, first floor laundry, and brand new furnishings. The kitchen is fully equiped and we provide all bed linens and bath towels.This home is within walking distance of Main Street shopping and dining, Marina and Ferries. Five minute drive to area beaches (Kalamus, Veterans Park, Orrin Keyes, Craigville) with parking pass for one car for all the beaches in Barnstable. We provide the beach towels ,chairs and coolers so you can enjoy a relaxing day under the sun. Short walk to St Francis Xavier Church and Cape Code Baseball League's Hyannis field. Please refer to our other property HomeAway#278090 for additional reviews. Rental from Saturday to Saturday only.

This home comes equipped with central A/C, a beautiful outside patio with patio furniture.

All bedrooms on the second floor,the main bedroom has a queen bed, the second bedroom has a queen and a full bed.

The sleep sofa in the living room has a pull out queen bed.

The living room has a 60 inch flat screen tv mounted on the wall, the house has a wifi Internet .

Added to all that is an outside shower after those long days at the beach.

Don't forget beach pass for all 18 town of Barnstable beaches, beach cooler,chairs and beach towels.

Consider it a Summer Beach Home away from home

More Details

Owner
Joseph
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2017

Amenities

Hyannis House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Outside -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(51 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Charming 'Waterfront Distric 'Home in the Heart of Hyannis Port.
average rating of 4.901961 based on 51 reviews
5

Great Home, Great Location, Great Owner

  • 5 of 5

This was the 3rd time we've stayed at this property and I hope there are many more. This home has become a home away from home for us and the owner, Joseph, treats us like we are family. The house is clean, well maintained, beautifully decorated and has all the amenities that you need. When Joseph says all you need to bring is yourself, he's not kidding. Even beach chairs, a cooler and a beach pass that gives you free access to all the local beaches is included. We really enjoy the backyard which is cozy and private and have enjoyed many a BBQ there. The outdoor shower is amazing. As for location, this property is the absolute best. Close walking distance to the main street which has great restaurants and shops and a lively night life. If you need to get to a supermarket, Star Market is a short mile and a half drive. If you are a Cape Cod Baseball League fan the Hyannis Harbor Hawks field is a short walk away. The Hy-Line steamship that can take you to Martha's Vineyard is also a short walk away. If you love seafood, a couple of great restaurants are Spanky's Clam Shack and Baxter's Boathouse, also within walking distance. We highly recommend this property and the owner, Joseph, who is friendly, helpful and always a phone call or a text away with a prompt response to any questions or issues you might have. This is just a great spot to spend your Cape Cod vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Steve , you and your family are just amazing . After your third rental of my home it almost feels like you are the co-owner .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome week!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week in Cape Cod! The house was a nice central point for us to explore the beautiful beaches and towns on Cape Cod and a day trip to Martha's Vineyard. It was a very short walk in town in Hyannis and the waterfront. The house was perfect for our family of 5 and was fully stocked with all of the essentials- even beach towels and linens which is very nice when traveling. Joseph was very nice and attentive to any questions. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Montréal, Canada
5

A perfect stay, in a perfect location and in a perfect house

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at 18 Chase St. for 2 weeks (July 22nd-Aug.5th 2017) and really enjoyed our vacation.

The house being centrally located in on the Cape everything is easily accessible by car. It is also walking distance to all the main attractions in Hyannis, Main Street and all of the shops, restaurants and nightlife.

You can also walk to the port were all the ferries (operated by Hy-line Cruise) leave, so no need to drive and pay for parking .

The house has everything that you need...plus a nice terrasse and an outdoor shower as a bonus. It was very comfortable for our family of 5. It is very modern, clean and well maintained. But still has à Cape Cod feel to it. It is located in a lovely neibourghood.We felt just like at home when we arrived.

We loved our stay on the Cape and staying at 18 Chase St. made our stay memorable.

Thanks for everything !

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Brigitte !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver,co
5

Beautiful - great location - comfortable stay!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was remarkably clean and well furnished - great location - we walked most places - close to a wonderful beach - great back yard - adequate parking - can't think of anything we didn't LOVE ..

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Diane ,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home and Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Cozy, clean well maintained home. Everything you need to feel at home. Close to Main St. We had a few questions and Joseph, the owner, was quickly available and helpful.

We had a great week!!

Thank you Joseph!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Laurie and Dave !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Decent home in rough area with unreasonable owner

  • 2 of 5

The home is decent. It is small but clean and well-kept. It is close to town but the immediate area is a little rough. The neighboring homes are in very poor condition and there was broken glass, liquor bottles etc. on the sidewalks. We were told repeatedly to lock the doors and there is a permanent switch cover on the outside light which ensures that it is kept on at all times. This made us feel less than safe but we did enjoy a nice week using this house as a jumping off point for day trips around the Cape to nicer areas.

Unfortunately, our pleasant week was spoiled by Joseph's unreasonable reaction to a minor incident. A small amount of water (the equivalent of a cupful) spilled on the kitchen island and apparently caused some minor damage to the bottom corner of the cabinet. At the time we did not even realize that the cabinet was damaged and to be honest we aren't 100% sure that some of that damage wasn't there before but when Joseph confronted us we didn't want to argue the matter. Unfortunately, despite our willingness to find a solution, Joseph was entirely unreasonable. He refused to find a fair solution and immediately cashed our entire security deposit. I tried to appeal to his sense of reason and explain that was a significant amount of money and far exceeds the cost to repair such a minor incident but he would not have any further discussion of the matter. It is frustrating to be treated this way.

If you are on a budget, then this house will suit your needs but if you can spend a little more it would be well worth it to find a better arrangement.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that I have to respond to the first negative review after 7 years of renting this property. Not surprisingly, it is also the first time I have had to withhold a renters security deposit due to damages. It is disappointing that this renter is bitter and disgruntled due to loosing their deposits as 90% of my reviews are 5 star which more accurately reflect my home and the surrounding neighborhood. Hyannis is a very desirable Cape Cod rental destination with close proximity to Main St. and the Island ferries. There are certainly other areas of Cape Cod worth visiting and renting in Hyannis is a perfect jumping point for day excursions. No other renter has ever claimed to feel unsafe in our home. In fact this renter actually emailed me "We had a wonderful stay. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with our family". They even donated beach towels and a boogie board for future renters to enjoy. The switch cover over the light is a dawn till dusk light which is designed to keep dark areas illuminated so our renters can come and go from the parking lot to the home safely. I also do not think it is unreasonable to expect renters to lock my home when they are not there. Theft can happen anywhere. As to the damage, our home is inspected between renters and any minor issues are disclosed to the incoming renters so they know we know it was not caused by them. The damage to the furniture was not caused by 1 cup of spilt water. The renter admitted that they left wet clothes/towels drapped over the kitchen island which distorted the wooden cabinets making it unsightly and unrepairable. This renters willingness to find a solution was not feasible as she wanted us to repair the cabinet which we deemed unrealistic as I am a licensed contractor and carpenter. We offered her the option of her finding and purchasing a comparable replacement and we would then return the security deposit. The replacement would cost around three times as much as the security deposit amount . Needless to say she did not choose to replace the damaged furniture. She claims that loosing her security deposit is a significant financial loss, but I argue that having to replace our kitchen island is a greater loss. We expect normal wear and tear when renting our home and are very reasonable. We want our renters to have a positive experience. We take pride in our home and want to make it a comfortable, clean, and enjoyable for all our future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
1.4 Miles
Barnstable Municipal Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Main Street Downtown Hyannis.....Walking Distance
Nearest Ferry
0.8 Miles
Steamship Authority and Hy Line Cruises
Nearest Golf
0.8 Miles
Twin Brooks Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.8 Miles
Cape Cod Railway
Nearest Motorway
3.7 Miles
Rte 6
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Main St in Downtown Hyannis: Many Restaurants
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
Veterans Park Beach and KalamusPark Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Deposit $400

All renters booking through HomeAway/VROB will be sent a homeowner contract and the house details which they are supposed to review , sign and returned promptly to the homeowner . Rental deposit is non refundable .
Renters have the option of making payments directly to the property manager without incurring any additional charges of the recovery and transaction fees by sending a check issued in US funds directly to the property manager , or through Homeaway Payments for a fee of more than three percentage points of the transaction amount plus other charges (your choice ) . Please contact owner about shoulder season rates for weekends and single or multiple nights stays .
No pets or smoking is allowed in the house . The house does not come with a phone . To avoid injuries from falling it is suggested that guests do not walk down on the naturally finished Oak stair treads while wearing just sucks on their feet .

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund