check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kay Musech

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Charming Bead-board Cottage in Historic Excelsior on Lake Minnetonka

21 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Excelsior Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 loft with trundle, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4+

Enjoy this quaint cottage with your family or loved one. This lake view home is right across the street from Excelsior Beach on Lake Minnetonka and The Commons Park. This fully furnished house has just been completely renovated and had all new appliances installed. It also has a DVD player, cable TV, CD players with usb ports for iphones or mp3 players, and wi-fi. Now all it needs is food and happy renters ! Bring your pets and enjoy the beautiful park and lake across the street or take to one of the numerous trails around the area. After all, Minneapolis boasts of having the most bike paths and trails of any metro area.

Just on the outskirts of the Twin Cities, this nice little get-away cottage is just steps from the beautiful Lake Minnetonka and a short drive from innumerable activities and sites in the Minneapolis- St. Paul area. Enjoy the quietude of this beautiful city on the lake with its delightful shops and restaurants or take a quick drive into the city and enjoy all it has to offer !

This house is perfect for small vacationing families or couples looking for weekend get-aways. The master bedroom has a T.V. and queen size bed and the loft area, although completely open, has a pull out trundle twin beds.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kay Musech (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Kay Musech

Excelsior is charming and has the feel of a small city rather than a suburb. Some of our favorite pass times are sailing, boating, biking, walking, antiquing and playing with our 2 dogs in the huge park across the street.

Why Kay Musech chose Lake Minnetonka

We love the quiet small town feel but Excelsior also becomes busy and fun for family and friends during the summer. The 4th of July is a big event here and this home is right in the heart of it. A

Guestbook comments from the manager

(An email review)



Hello,

I just wanted to thank you for the use of your cottage in Excelsior Friday night. I loved the interior design, retro furniture and what you did with the all the remodeling. My son came out and we went to dinner at the Irish restaurant downtown - the food was excellent. It was so nice to be able to walk everywhere. Saturday morning I got up about 6:30 and could not believe all the people jogging, walking and biking at that time of day! It was a nice inspiration to get out and exercise! There also was a triathlon Saturday morning - we could see the swimmers from the front window. It was a really nice get away after a very busy week at work (and not too far to drive). Also thank you for the bottle of wine - that was so thoughtful!



Take care,

Jody
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.7
based on 21 traveler reviews

Charming Bead-board Cottage in Historic Excelsior on Lake Minnetonka
average rating of 4.714286 based on 22 reviews
5

Great, great, great. ...DID I SAY IT WAS GREAT!

  • 5 of 5

Close to everything! Plan to come again!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good location, no outdoor space

  • 2 of 5

The location of the house is fantastic. The inside of the house is airy and remodeled well. The narrow, shared driveway is difficult to navigate, especially for a larger vehicle. There is no outdoor space to sit outside and the yard and roof need attention. There is public beach access across the street, but the beach was closed due to high levels of Ecoli. The neighbor told us about the Ecoli, as the owner did not mention it when I asked for beach recommendations a few days before our arrival. The owner charged us the $50 pet fee twice because she forgot we paid it in our payment.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfection.

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic property- Perfect location across from the park and sandy beach. Easy quick walk into town for restaurants, shops, and Kowalski's market. Wonderfully appointed home. Immaculately clean. Definitely recommended.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bertucci
3

Too bad there were BATS!

  • 3 of 5

This is the 4th time we have rented Excelsior MN. We had reserved it 2 years in advance to get it for 10 days over the 4th of July week. We LOVE this house, but this time we had an issue with bats. Found a dead bat near the back door, had bat poo falling out of the bathroom vent, found a dead bat in the washing machine, and the last straw was a bat flapping around my head while I was in bed. So, we had to vacate the house. The owners were responsive to the issue and we received a refund for the remainder of our reservation. They have notified me that the house is now BAT FREE! So, we will be reserving it again.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall, it's a charming little cottage in an amazing location.

  • 4 of 5

The main floor is open and airy. Lots of windows give great light and the possibility for cross-breezes. When the heat and humidity are high, the single air-conditioner didn't cool the house as much as we would have liked (especially for sleeping), but the owners said they'd take care of it. The house is very thoughtfully stocked. Some of the furniture and carpet are worn or slightly damaged, but it is pet friendly, and we understand that not all pets are as well behaved as ours 😆򑠮 But we love, love, love that it is pet-friendly, so we're ok with the bit of wear and tear. Bottom line: it is truly charming, and in a spectacular location! We will be back again and again.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Steamboat Springs Colorado
5

Delightful restored cottage near Lake Minnetonka

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed the delightfully restored cottage built in 1900 with mid century modern furnishings, well stocked modern kitchen, and a few steps from Lake Minnetonka. From the living area you can see the lake.

Even for my husband and I who sleep in a king bed, the queen was firm and comfortable.

A perfect place for a couple to spend time in

Excelsior with all its ammenities.

Kay was responsive to all our inquiries.

We hope to come back

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Accross the street from Excelsior Commons park and beach where there is also a baseball field, playground, basketball court and play area perfect for dogs. The house is just 3 blocks from downtown excelsior which has great restaurants, ice cream, shopping and antiques. Minnesota Zoo - 28.79 mi. away, Mall of America - 20.73 mi. , Cross Country skiing on the frozen lakes and trails, Excel Boat Club and Rental- .78 mi.,

Nearest Airport: Minneapolis- St. Paul International - 23.17 mi.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Excelsior Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Season
May 1 - Oct 30
2 night minimum stay
$180
$1,134
$4,200
 
 
Winter Season
Nov 1 - Apr 30
2 night minimum stay
$150
$910
$3,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$180
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $600
Tax Rate 7.28%

5/1 - 10/30 SUMMER nightly rate is $180.00 per night. Rate is $ $162.00 for 7 nights or more and $140.00 for 28 nights or more.

11/2 - 4/30 WINTER nightly rate is $150.00 per night. Rate is $ $130.00 for 7 nights or more and $110.00 for 28 nights or more.

$160.00 cleaning fee. Rentals longer than 2 weeks there is a mandatory $80.00 cleaning fee every 2 weeks. Pet Fee $50.00

There is a $50.00 pet fee.

Rates are subject to change.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Excelsior Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The first bathroom has a European style tub and shower head. The second bathroom on the main floor has an american style shower and tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 2 queen
    Living Room - 1 twin/ single , Large chair with twin pull-out single bed in the living room
    Open Loft Area - 2 twin/ single , Double decker trundle bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties