check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Dan Dudley

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -

29 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Central Massachusetts Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

Very nice cottage with modern appliances, HD Lg. Screen TV, DVD player, Hi Fi Stereo with smart phone input & wireless high speed internet.

Short walk to Massachusetts State Forest and miles of walking & biking trails. Good fishing & swimming with dock & canoe.

Please contact me directly for an accurate quote on renting our cottage. HomeAway.com has incorrectly added a fee to your quote with their automatic quoting system that you will not be responsible for if you pay me directly by using a personal check.

There is about a fourty minute drive to Old Sturbridge Village & Brimfield Antiques Fair, less than one hour to Boston & one hour drive to casino, Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun.

The winter season brings skating, ice fishing & cross country skiing with downhill skiing close by at Wachuesttet Mountain less than one hour to the north.

We are very centrally located to multiple activities in our beautiful state, come to South Central Massachusetts and discover our close by escape from the hassle of overcrowded tourist towns.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Dan Dudley (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 29 traveler reviews

Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
average rating of 4.6551723 based on 29 reviews
5

Great family get away!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at the cottage for a week in July. We could not have been more pleased. Dan and Tina are wonderful; Tina was always around to help out or supply odds and ends when needed. We fished nightly, had a campfire, went out in the canoe several times and just relaxed. My girls were at a camp in Sturbridge for the week and this was a great place to come home to every night. We hope to be able to come back next summer!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! Tina is still talking about how much she enjoyed visiting with your girls; please do come back next year. We attempt to make all our guests feel comfortable and at home. Tina and I hope you will give us a chance to do the same for you. Sincerely, Dan & Tina
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Auburn
4

Lucky to live there!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful location! Host's were very attentive and warm. Would return.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Serene lake and convenient location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I needed a small break from our busy lives, but we didn't want to travel too far away. This rental and location turned out to be a good combination for us. It was about an hour away from where we lived and close enough to drive to places to eat, get groceries and even do some shopping at Walmart! Yet, it was in an area of the lake where we could feel like we're away from it all. The weather turned out well in our favor and it was hot enough to lounge (and fish) in and on the water all day!

We brought our kayaks and motor boat. We decided to use the kayaks on the other side of the lake across the street (the "busy" and noisier side). I got seasick on the busy side because of the rough waters from the other motor boats and jet skis. I definitely recommend staying on the quiet side of the lake! We were curious about the other side, but there really wasn't too much to see. Dan's side of the lake was so serene that I actually took a nap on a blow-up mattress! I "never" could do that on any lake before (maybe a swimming pool) and I've been on many lakes in my life!

The accommodations were modest and rustic, but good enough for our needs. We weren't planning to stay indoors most of the time, so we weren't looking for anything fancy. There was a good size flat screen television with DVD player which we used almost every evening. The ceiling fans kept the place cool during the days.

Dan was friendly and accommodating and we really appreciated how he went above and beyond his hospitality to us, especially in booking the place, and helping us get settled when we arrived. Even though the cottage is near his residence, we never felt intruded upon and never lacked privacy.

The only thing my husband and I would have preferred is if you could see the lakefront better from the cottage.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your positive review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We always do everything we can to make our guests happy that they decided to enjoy their time in our area by staying at the Douglas Cottage. Tina and I hope you will come to stay with us again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice little cottage

  • 4 of 5

The location was nice, the cottage cozy and neat. Good amenities. We did not make use of the boat or firepit, due to weather, but its a nice feature. The door lock was a little odd for the front door, because you had to lock it with the key from the inside if you wanted it locked at night. The bathroom ceiling was really low, could be difficult for a tall person to shower. I am short, so had problems. Bring toilet paper. The rental agreement mentions it, but we forgot, and had to go buy some.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tina and I are happy you enjoyed your stay at our cottage, however, you mentioned that the bathroom ceiling is low, somewhat true, it's about 6'3" or so, but, it should accommodate most guests with ease. We have never had any guest comment on this previously as being an issue for them. As far as the supply of paper goods, our contract clearly states that we supply a one time setup on all regular consumables of this type, and, that replenishment of them is the responsibility of the guests, (we did have two or three extra rolls under the bathroom sink) this is also something that has never been presented as an issue previously. As you outlined in your review, this clause is in our contract that all guests are requested to read and all guests must sign that they have done so. It is unfortunate that you could not have given us the opportunity to resolve your minor concerns while you were accually staying at the cottage as I asked you multiple times if everything was to your liking and if you needed anything, your response each time was that everything was fine and that you were happy with your accommodations. I could not have raised the bathroom ceiling for you, but, I am confident that we could have supplied you with an extra roll of toilet paper.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful setting, private lake, very peaceful.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our week long stay at the Douglas cottage. The lake is lovely, very private and has something for everyone. Fishing, swimming, kayaking. Just a block away is a beautiful forest, perfect for a short stroll or a longer hike. The cottage is fully furnished and the 4 of us were very comfortable.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your 5 star review, Tina and I are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at Douglas Cottage! As you stated, there are many activities for a family to enjoy together here, we hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you and others with a pleasant stay next to our peaceful Whitin Reservoir and Douglas State Forest again soon. With Warmest Regards, Dan & Tina
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quaint and homey

  • 5 of 5

The owner was very helpful and thoughtful. The cottage is quite nice and staying there was a pleasure. We cooked quite a lot and also enjoyed the woodburning stove in particular. We also used the clothes washer and dryer which was handy.

The lake and the woods near the cottage are great. We especially enjoyed our walk to see the beaver dam and waterfall.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience staying at Douglas Cottage. Tina and I do our very best to make all of our guests enjoy their stay in our area as much as possible. We hope to see you again some day soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Worcester, MA
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Douglas
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Providence RI
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Rt 395
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Lodge
Nearest Ski
37 Miles
Wachusett Mountain
Car: recommended

Very nice cottage with modern appliances, cable TV & wireless high speed internet . Short walk to Massachusetts State Forest and miles of walking & biking trails. Good fishing & swimming with dock & canoe.

The winter season brings skating, ice fishing & cross country skiing with downhill skiing close by at Wachuesttet Mountain less than one hour to the north. Thirty min. drive to Old Sturbridge Village & Brimfield Antiques Fair, less than one hour to Boston & one hour drive to casino, Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Douglas Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 4 2016 - Sep 17 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
$4,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,105
$4,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50

The rates shown are for four (4) guests including children older than six (6) years old. There is an additional charge for any overnight guests past this number of $15 per person per night with a total maximum of six (6) guests total regardless of age. This is a no smoking cottage, pets are allowed with prior written acknowledgment only, there is a pet charge of $50 per pet per week, Max 2 pets.

Reservations are not confirmed until deposit is received, however we will hold your dates at the quoted rate for a reasonable period of time waiting for your deposit to arrive. A short term vacation property rental contract will be sent to you for your review and to sign if you decide to rent the cottage.

Rates are subject change without notice till reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Central Massachusetts Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
  • Modern fiberglass shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Has king size sofa bed and additional day bed in sun room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
All the comforts of home...

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...