Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck

Bedrooms 2
Space 120 m²
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool
  • children welcome


About the property

Self catering, 2 double bedrooms, pool, sundeck, BBQ and amazing panoramic views

A stunning 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom self catering villa on Jarvis Street with a plunge pool, 2 sun-decks, alfresco dining area, sea views and an unrestricted view of Table Mountain.

Air-condtioning available in both bedrooms.

It's in the ideal place for you to experience Cape Town, Green Point & De Waterkant Village. This house is in a chic, fashionable and historic part of the city where some of the properties date back centuries and have been sensitively restored so that none of the magic is lost.

At night the area is a magnet for Cape Town's trendy set. People spill onto the pavement at Cubana's (attracting the young & hip), Manhattan's, Amsterdam bar & the Cape Quarter for great food. For the night owls there are bars and clubs within walking distance.

During the day there's lots to do: Cape Quarter, Table Mountain, Robben Island & the winelands of Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, shopping at the V&A waterfront or spend a day at the beach!

Green Point stadium is a 7 minute walk & Newlands cricket ground and Kirstenbosh gardens a 15 minute drive.

How to get there? Cape Town has a great international airport and most of the world's big airlines fly there. For direct flights from the UK, British Airways, South African Airways and Virgin Atlantic have up to two flights a day. Most of the national European carriers also fly direct e.g. KLM and Lufthansa and there are flights from the US with South African Airways. Low cost routes via the Middle East may also be an option.

If you can't get a direct flight then you could fly to Johannesburg and connect with a no frills carrier like or to Cape Town.

The Viila is 20 minutes in a taxi from the airport. Or you can quite easily pick up a rental car at the airport and drive into town. The roads are great and it's a 'drive on the left' like the UK.

OTHER QUESTIONS that you may have:

Can Airport Transfers be arranged?

Yes. Please give me your flight details and we can make arrangements for transfers from the airport and paid for locally directly to the taxi company.

How do I get Keys?

My agent will meet you at the house on your date / time of arrival and will also meet you on your departure. Please give us your cell phone number and tell us your arrival time or if you are likely to be delayed.

Is parking available?

There is parking directly outside the house. The road is patrolled and is considered a safe area. Just don’t leave things visible in your car for opportunists.

How often is the house cleaned / refreshed?

We will service the house every 5 days if requested with a fresh supply of bedding and towels if you desire. There are cleaning products and a washing machine available should you need to use them. If you would like the help of a cleaner more frequently please speak to my agent on arrival to discuss your requirements.

Is there a welcome pack on arrival?

A vase of fresh flowers, a bowl of fruit and a chilled bottle of wine will be our welcoming gift. We will also supply a few basic provisions to get you started.

Would you like a pre-arrival food shop?

If you give us a list of items a week before you arrive we will shop (subject to availability) on your behalf and have your shopping waiting for you when you arrive at the villa. The receipted cost for this is payable when you arrive with an added service cost of 200 Rands.

Is the pool open all year?

Unfortunately we keep the pool closed during the months of May to October which is the windy and wet season.

Is there a minimum rental during December?

Yes - between rentals falling December 20th and January 3rd we will only consider a 2 week minimum rental.

Are pets allowed?

We are sorry but only dogs for the blind will be welcome.

Can I have an early check-in or late check out?

Yes, we can consider all requests. If the house is vacant the day before or vacant the day after you leave then we are very likely to be able to say 'YES'!

Is internet access available?

Cape Town's internet infrastructure is poor. There is VERY limited in-house wifi access available on the ground floor of the villa but it has limited bandwidth and is subject to a GB usage cap and is subject to it being available and working. It's offered complimentary if it works and does not form part of the booking contract. There is also a local wireless provider called 'internet hotspot' that you are able to connect to for a small fee per week. My agent can give you details on how to connect. Details are also available within the house guide. Most coffee shops and restaurants also offer this service if you purchase something from them.

Is there air-conditioning?

There are 2 working units in the bedrooms only.

Is there a TV?

The tv only works with the DVD player. There is no satellite or national TV connected at present to the villa.

Is there a safety deposit box?

Yes. We will give you a code on your arrival. We will not however accept any liability whatsoever for any losses should any items go missing or in the event that you forget the code and can't get immediate access.

Can I smoke in the house?

I'm sorry we like to keep the house fresh. However, if you choose to smoke then smoking on the patio is allowed.

Can we hire a local guide to show us Cape Town and the night life? Yes my agent on arrival can make arrangements and discuss cost depending on what you require.

Additional notes from the owners:

NOTE: The rates shown are for renting the entire villa i.e. to sleep 4 people in the 2 bedrooms as a maximum.


More than 30 days: full refund less £300 administration cost

Between 15 and 30 days: 75% refund or £300 whichever is the greater.

Between 0 & 15 days: No refunds unfortunately except the security deposit of £300. (So take out travel insurance).

Check - In is normally 3PM and Check - Out is 11AM. If you require more flexibility please ask and we will try to accommodate you where we can. Half day rates available on request.

The owners take no responsibility for any financial or personal loss or injury as a result of staying. We strongly advise you to take out personal travel insurance.

Since we are are renting our holiday home and we are not a business / hotel we do ask for all rentals to be paid 50% at the time of booking and the balance 30 days prior to the rental. We have a fair cancellation policy should the unfortunate happen.

We are however happy to accommodate any special requests.

We accept bookings for a minimum period of 4 nights.

There is also the requirement of a security rental deposit of UK£300 that is refunded within 10 days of departure. In the rare event that the house has any damage or is not left in a clean condition we reserve the right to deduct reasonable costs.

We are pleased to say that to date none of our guests have had any amount retained.

Credit cards are accepted and if you wish to pay via the PayPal system you will incur a 3% handling fee. It is easy to set up and can be activated within 3/4 days.

More Details

Paul or Amyn
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2017

About Paul or Amyn

We live in the UK but travel frequently to Cape Town where we have a number of properties and have a fair amount of local knowledge.

If you do require further information and you would like to speak to me in person please email me at and I will gladly call you.

Paul or Amyn purchased this villa in 2010

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is the review that is translated from German to English:

Very nice house in an attractive location** ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ we in this House are very comfortable. Everything matched the description. It was clean and well maintained. Both in the kitchen as well as everything else was as what we needed. The bed was very comfortable and there was enough space in the cabinet and in a chest of drawers for everything that we had with us. The washing machine and dishwasher are very modern and well functioning.

We were on the spot by Greg very nice personally mentored, in advance by email well informed. Very beautiful is the view from the roof terrace to the Table Mountain. De Waterkant is a safe neighborhood, very centrally located. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The Spar supermarket is 3 minutes away on foot and there is everything that you need. He has also open on Sunday Open.

In 2 minutes walk is the restaurant Kos, in which you can eat very well - there are also typical South African dishes such as bobotie and fine curries, but also steak salad, citizens and much more - all very tasty. Next to the restaurant there is a piano bar and a few meters further on there's more restaurants and bars. If you are not in the evening in the neighborhood is on the road, it is recommended to drive home with the taxi which is not expensive.

We can highly recommend this holiday domicile.
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 4


De Waterkant Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa (terraced)
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 120 m²
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Hotel quality towels are provided.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , A luxury queen sized bed extra long
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 extra long single beds can be put together if requested
  • The Master Bedroom in the main house has a Queen sized double bed with a 2 metre length suitable for taller people....and lots of wardrobe space! The 2nd Bedroom in the main house has twin beds and are extra long (2 metres) once again suitable for taller people! Both bedrooms have air-condioning if required.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
The patio is great for alfresco dining (BBQ available) and sun bathing. We also have a great roof deck with comfortable furniture to admire Table Mountain or for a pre-dinner cocktail. A welcome pack which includes toiletries, and a few basics are provided. This is a self catering villa so anything extra needs to be purchased at the local supermarket (2 minutes walk away) that opens for 12 hours a day / 7 days per week. Smoking is allowed but we would prefer that smokers smoke outside on the patio. The villa will be cleaned and linen refreshed once every 4/5 days if you request this through my agent. Please ask my agent on arrival for options. Internet access is available either in nearby cafes or by using the wireless system (internet hotspot) within the area to be paid by your credit card directly. There is on street parking outside the villa. It is considered a safe area but be streetwise and don't leave anything visible in your car.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

A stunning & luxurious 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom Villa with Pool and Sun deck
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 17 reviews

Great place with lots of space in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this place for almost 2 weeks. Everything was as expected and shown in the pictures which was great. Greg was already there to meet us and let us into the apartment. He gave us a quick tour and answered all questions. Even throughout the stay we were always able to get in touch with him whenever we had a question. The place itself is huge, offers lots of room even if you are looking to have some privacy. The pool is great to cool down and easy to access. We especially liked the outside area in front of the apartment where we had multiple braais and hanged out in the afternoon and evening. Additionally, this place as an amazing roof top terrace which offers a spectacular view on table mountain and other parts of the city. Lust but not least the location was very good. You can walk to Waterfront in 10 minutes or take a cab for a 2 min ride. Long street is also close in case you want to go out at night. Furthermore, you can reach the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches easily which made our stay perfect. We would definitely stay again at this villa and recommend it to anybody who's looking for a great place in Cape Town.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you a great 2015!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

location, location, location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the villa, it had everything we needed from the fully stocked kitchen ( even with some food ) to the washer and dishwasher.

The location was superb, close to all the major attraction like V&A water front , beaches, city center, and everything else which was either a walking distance or a short cab drive. There is cab stand nearby just 2 minutes walk.

The supermarket is also 2 minutes away together with several restaurants that are really good.

Amyn was so helpful in our communications through emails and Greg who met us at the villa was extremely helpful in everything, he even allowed us to leave our big suitcases in the villa after we left on a 2 day excursion , and when we came back to pick them up he helped us carrying them to the taxi.

The only drawback was that the airconditioner in the living room and the TV did not work.

I would definitely recommend this villa to anyone and will probably come back again to it on our next visit.

Thanks Amyn and Greg, your were GREAT.

Azza Shaalan.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Azza for this review and your feedback. We will hopefully have addressed the 2 things you mentioned before your next trip. Wishing you and your family a very successful and Happy 2015.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York, NY

Amazing place, great location and rental!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here and it was the perfect location and rental. The pool and roof deck are SUCH a great addition to staying in the area that we did. It was lovely to sit up there during sundown and have a few drinks before heading out to dinner, etc. We also spent a day just laying around the house at the pool and soaking up the sun and views of table mountain. The place had all the amenities you could want for a stay including laundry, wifi, lots of towels, dishwasher, etc. They also have a very helpful care taker of the house who made sure we had everything we needed and checked in on us throughout the week to make sure we were good! Very clean rooms/bathrooms in nice condition and great space both inside and outside to relax and hang out after a busy day exploring Cape Town. Paul and Amyn the owners are also very nice and helpful and they are full of recommendations (many of which we took them up on) that made our stay in the city absolutely PERFECT! 100% recommend this and will stay here again when we return.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Kaitlin. It's our pleasure to have rented our holiday home to you and your party.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

stay in Cap on 39 Jarvis street

  • 5 of 5

all excelent

the only pitty was that we could not see news as DSTV was not working

I recomend fix (or get the Remote control on the saloon, as it may get very hot in summer

all the best and hope to get back


  • Submitted: May 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you found our villa excellent. We will install a new TV unit and DSTV shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With best wishes Paul and Amyn.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful sanctuary right in the heart of town

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I stayed here for two weeks over New Year’s, and it was the perfect place to spend our vacation – exactly what we’d seen online and read from the reviews and every bit the sanctuary we’d hoped for. The house itself was lovely and spacious with all the comforts of home, from “big” (fully-appointed kitchen, clothes washer, dining space, living room) to “small” (books/magazines, safes in the bedrooms, coffee maker, WiFi). It was so easy to relax there that we felt very much at home from day 1. The rooftop has an incomparable, unobstructed view of Table Mountain, and we found ourselves enjoying sundowners there almost daily to take it in. There was even a complimentary chilled bottle of wine already awaiting us for that first night so we didn’t have to pick any up before settling in. From the rooftop, the panoramic views alone were enough to make the vacation unforgettable! The house also has a large patio for entertaining (if you’re traveling with friends) and a gorgeous pool that kept us cool while we soaked up the Cape Town sun. We couldn’t have asked for a better location – being right in the Waterkant district, the property is just down the street from the Cape Quarter shopping center (supermarket, dining and café options, a gym, etc.), a 5-min walk to the Bo Kaap district, an easy walk or very short cab ride to the V&A Waterfront, and full of nightlife – bars, clubs, and restaurants all within just blocks. We felt very safe, and getting in and out of the neighborhood to other locations was easy, as it is centrally located and conveniently situated off of Somerset Road, a main thoroughfare that puts you in the direction of almost any destination inside or outside the city.

As much as all of these things contributed to a fantastic vacation, what really made it special were the personal touches that the owners made. They were so friendly in setting up the arrangements, and it was obvious to us that they took pride in the home and in preparing us for our first time in Cape Town. Their agent gave us superb recommendations on places to eat and go even helped us schedule a driver for a day trip to the Cape Peninsula, which we never expected. We highly recommend this property for anyone looking to have the complete, full experience in Cape Town—whether a couple or even a whole family—because it is as much a sanctuary for relaxation and pleasure as it is for convenient exploration of a magnificent city.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location, service and comfort

  • 5 of 5

The description and pictures are accurate. We were met at the train station as promised and transported to the apartment where we were met by Greg, the local manager. He was most helpful on arrival and came at the time promised on the last day, making sure we were met and transported to the airport.

This apartment was very spacious for two people as there were two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We enjoyed our time both at the complex pool as well as our evening sojourn on our front patio.

The kitchen was well appointed and it was nice to walk up and down the hills leading to the apartment to the grocery store, the laundry, local restaraunts, the waterfront and to access most of Capetown and surrounding areas. Greg's information was most helpful. We found the botanical gardens to be facinating - home to plant species found in very few places on earth. We also found it easy to get to the Cape of Good Hope for a day's excursion - the tourist office is in easy walking distance at the wharf. The trip up to table mountain left us with incredible pictures on the cable car up / down the mountain, as we looked down to the City and then as we walked around in the clouds of the tablecloth when they moved over the top.

Booking was easy with the owner utilizing paypal and responding promptly to questions. We would definitely recommend this apartment.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Rates & Availability

De Waterkant Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $375

More than 30 days: full refund less £250 administration cost. Between 15 and 30 days: 75% refund or £250 whichever is the greater. Between 0 & 15 days: No refunds unfortunately except the security deposit of £300.
The owners take no responsibility for any financial or personal loss or injury as a result of staying. We strongly advise you to take out personal travel insurance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Cape Town International
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Kilometres
Piano Bar, Cubana's, Amsterdam, Cru, Alexander's
Nearest Ferry
2 Kilometres
Cape Town
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Cape Town
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
N1 and N2
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Kilometres
Il Leone, Andiamo's, Cafe Dijon, Beluga
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Sea Point
Car: not necessary

There is so much to do when visiting Cape Town you'll have to return. For this visit here are some ideas:

Robben Island where Nelson Mandela was in prison, Table Mountain, Cape Point (most southerly point of the African continent), Hermanus for whale watching and Penguins on Boulders beach. For cocktails go and watch the sun set on Camps Bay (the African Riviera) and also experience great seafood. For the Winelands (eat alfresco at Simonsig surrounded by stunning scenery).

Visit a Township to get the story on Cape Town or shop at the V&A Waterfront or Canal Walk. Other activities include Helicopter rides, Shark Diving, Golfing, and Surfing.

In the Evening why not dine at some of the world's best restaurants; we recommend

Cuvee at Simonsig wine estate

Tokara's - in the Winelands,

Bukhara's - a stunning Indian restaurant

Il Leone for fine Italian food

Cafe Dijon for Cape French food

Beluga’s for sushi and steaks

And we are within walking distance of bars and clubs and the Cape Town Gay and Lesbian district

Other Activities: Good night life, eating and drinking and the Gay scene of Cape Town


Partner Offers