Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

1/2 mile to beach -family friendly- outside shower

Bedrooms 1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

1 BR lower apt. in a 2-family home, 1/2 mile to Good Harbor Beach

This is a lovely one bedroom apt. that sleeps 4 comfortably. The bedroom has a queen size bed while the living room has sleeping for 2 more. It has a full kitchen, a nice back deck w/ bbq grill and picnic table for outside dining. The yard has a volleyball/bad mitten net and outside shower to rinse off after the beach. We have a few beach chairs for use at the beach and some beach toys as well. It is an easy walk to the beach but if you have a lot of gear, someone could drop off the family and then walk down to meet up at the beach. We do also have an older baby jogger available to use. It is in good working condition, just a little older model.

Carol Allen
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2017

About Carol Allen

We both grew up in NY state and visited this area after my sister and her husband moved here, we loved the beautiful scenery of the area and decided to move here to be near family.

Carol Allen purchased this apartment in 1999

Why Carol Allen chose Merrimack Valley & Essex County

We chose this property because of the location. It is only 1/2 mile to Good Harbor Beach, we can go out the door and have a beautiful walk/jog, bike ride, fish,swim, etc. without having to get in the car.


Gloucester Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower , outside shower is best for rinsing off/not fully enclosed
  • The bath has ceramic tile flooring and a washer/dryer in bath.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • seperate bedroom located off living room
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
This rental is great for couple or two, or a small family that wants to get away and enjoy what the area has to offer without breaking the budget. It is clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The rate is much better than a hotel room with more than double the space. We have a couple beach chairs for use at the beach. It is a family neighborhood so please be considerate after 10 pm. I have a 15 yr old niece that is sometimes available to babysit and has taken a babysitting course,but will need some notice to ensure availability.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

1/2 mile to beach -family friendly- outside shower
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews

Amazing place

  • 4 of 5

This is my third time in Carol ' s property to show how much I love her house so cozy and quiet surrounded by nature, is a great pleasure coming back every year. Carol is a very friendly owner and I Like so much her nice and sweet dog Charlie...Big hug!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Just not quite.......

  • 2 of 5

The accommodations were pleasant enough, just not quite what we expected. We had visited the place before we committed, but just didn't realize the extent of the shortcomings.

Only the bedroom is air-conditioned, which really limits your use of the other rooms on a warm evening or afternoon. The window A/C in the bedroom just barely works. It sits right next to your head in the bed, so you may need to wear a hat. The worst part is the bed itself - horrible! The mattress is years past it's better days, and has a serious, and very uncomfortable, pit in the middle. I don't understand why no one else has commented on this. There is no cable, and the TV is hooked up to a mismatched antennae. The TV is really useless without it. The

The kitchen is really good, and the grill and patio are nice features. All in all, it's just not quite the place it could be.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you didn't get what you expected even though you were one of the few people to actually see the apt. prior to bookking and the ad clearly states there is no cable. I also recall our discussion while you were here looking into renting and telling you there were limited channels. I believe it was quite clear. Many people seem to be happy to connect to W-fi and watch movies on their laptops if they want, but in general I believe most seem happy to be a bit less connected and able to spend family time together and usually have full days out and about and don't even miss the tv. As for the bed it is about 5 years old. I did recently discover that there was a screw missing in the center bar of the bed frame so the support was messed up, and we fixed that. Unfortunately it wasn't mentioned while you were here so we didn't realize it at the time. It was a quick fix. As for A/C , it has been an unusually hot, humid summer so more A/C units would have been nice. After this hot, hot, summer experience we do hope to ad another unit for the living area but need to replace one of the existing awning window's with a casement window so it will take a window unit. In the past we have had the A/C unit in the other window in the bedroom but I thought it would be better in the window facing the street so on the nights it isn't needed the window to the side by the yard could be open and allow for more privacy when open. Also, the a/c in the bedroom seems to be working fine and if it barley worked I wouldn't think one would need a hat. I see some other tenants turned the vents so that it wasn't blowing directly on them. I will try to keep this in mind for next season though. Again, I am sorry if you don't feel like you got what you expected and that this summer was so hot and humid. I'd be happy to have you back sometime in the Fall or Spring to enjoy a long weekend when it's not so hot, free of charge, since you only live 30 minutes from here. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great property

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd time staying at this property and it was perfect for our needs. We have 2 small children and our son loved playing on the back deck. Good Harbor Beach is close enough to drop everyone off and walk down so you don't have to worry about parking. The other area beaches we visited were great too. There are restaurants, grocery stores, and fresh seafood markets close to the apartment. The kitchen has everything you need to cook meals in the apartment. We made dinner all but one night while we were visiting. If you're looking to stay in Gloucester with a small family, this is a perfect apartment to rent.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Convenient and quiet residential property

  • 5 of 5

The property was just as advertised. It was well-suited for our family's needs and was conveniently located to Gloucester's many attractions. Good Harbor Beach and Bass Rocks were within walking distance. The property's host was kind and welcoming - and our daughter enjoyed interacting with the family and their dogs. Great place to stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great spot, especially for those with babies!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our rental for our family vacation in Gloucester. The first thing I noticed when we arrived was how clean everything was! We had our 1 year old son with us and the one floor set up was very ideal. The location was in a great spot and close to many of the areas we visited on a daily basis. We did end up driving to most places (like the beach) since that was easier with our son, but walking and/or biking is definitely doable. We made most of our meals at the rental and really enjoyed the kitchen and outdoor grill. Would def come back and stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

My husband grew up visiting Good Harbor Beach every summer so we knew we wanted to be close to the beach. We loved the location and the apartment. It was clean and cheery when we arrived, with great natural light and comfortable furnishings. The washer and dryer were so convenient and nice to have. We only cooked breakfast but the kitchen was equipped for more cooking. The deck was lovely to relax on and the outdoor shower kept beach sand out of the apartment. The neighborhood was quiet and friendly. We were able to drive to the T station, easily park there, and take the commuter train into Boston. We found great food in Gloucester and loved the escape from bustling Boston at the end of the day. Carol and Jayme gave us privacy but also helped out when needed. We would stay again if we ever have the chance to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Boston, Logan Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Train
1.5 Miles
Train Station, Gloucester
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 128
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Good Harbor
Car: recommended

The location is terrific, walk/jog the back shore, dine out at a variety of eating establishments, visit Rocky Neck Art Colony for local art as well as entertainment, and as mentioned previously, Good Harbor Beach is 1/2 mile away. There are several restaurants in Rocky Neck which offer live music and outside dining just over a mile from the house. There is a local farmers market and band concert one night a week, usually Thursdays at Stage Fort Park about 2 miles from house. Whale watch tours, sailboat charters, etc. located within a mile. There are also several other beaches in Gloucester, within a short drive.(Wingersheek, Niles Beach, Long Beach, etc) Our neighboring town of Rockport, MA is only 5 miles away with many shops, galleries and restaurants as well. Explore the entire North Shore and it's many quaint towns and villages such as, Marblehead, Salem, Manchester, Beverly, all an hour or less away with train stops in all of them.

For lobster lover's you can also buy fresh lobster right off the boat, down the hill from the house at Captain Joe's Lobster.


Rates & Availability

Gloucester Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Oct 2 2016 - May 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
May 4 2017 - May 13 2017
7 night minimum stay
May 14 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Early Summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 23 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $250

Damage deposit will be refunded within 2 weeks of departure.Although this has never been an issue, if there is excessive cleaning to be done at the end of your stay, we will deduct a cleaning fee from the damage deposit.
After speaking with you, if we allow a pet, there will be a Pet fee assessed and it is a Non-refundable fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email