check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mako

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

Precious, modern and convenient Machiya, you will never find elsewhere.

10 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Shimogyo-ku Townhome Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4

The inside of this Machiya has been renovated with modern materials such as Italian piastrella and wooden flooring. We have also tried to keep it in its original style as much as possible, preserving antique fixtures and furniture.

Here is designed for people to stay as a resident. There is a good supermarket in the neighborhood if you get tired of eating out and would rather prepare your favorite dish in the villa. There is a Japanese style public bath nearby where the locals meet. The longer you stay, the more you can experience..

Some clients repeat visiting here at different seasons.

No TV is your chance to become a bookworm, fall deep in meditation,

or you could simply gaze at the Tsubo-niwa, a small garden.

We offers you an ordinary daily life without the complications.

This Machiya is consisted of minimum walls and doors.

Even the staircase is made of glass which grants an open atmosphere

throughout.

Here lies the philosophy of this Machiya. It has been designed to

create a space where the occupants may be doing separate things

but still sharing the same air.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Mako (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, italian

Reviews

5
based on 10 traveler reviews

Precious, modern and convenient Machiya, you will never find elsewhere.
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was wonderful. Mako was so helpful in showing us around the apartment and giving us a run-down of Kyoto. The place was very comfortable with everything one could possibly need.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina United States
5

Stayed here Nov 2013

  • 5 of 5

We meant to review this last year and then I didn't get to it. We stayed November 2013. We loved this eco house. The location is perfect with great restaurants and a grocer, and importantly the subway, within walking distance. Zingaro was a perfect host and we have been recommending this to all our friends. A gem.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
san jose
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Gagakuan. Such a beautiful Machiya, we were thrilled to stay in a traditional style Japanese home and this one was the perfect combination of modern convenience and old world architecture. Everything about it was perfect. The home was comfortable and immaculate, and it seems the owners have thought of everything a visitor might need. We stayed with our two young adult children and had plenty of room. The kitchen was very modern and well equipped and bathrooms had a lovely shower, large tub and yes, modern Japanese toilets. The beds, a queen and two singles were wonderfully comfortable, and the large upstairs bedroom with bathroom was open and roomy.

Our host Saki was super informative and helpful. She met us at the house at our arrival providing us maps and directions to many of Kyoto's sights that we wanted to visit, along with recommendations for local restaurants and stores. Communication prior to our trip was excellent and during our stay she took great care in making sure we had everything we needed. There was even a bicycle provided and we rented a few more to bike around the city, it was so much fun. The house is very conveniently located not to far from Kyoto station and close enough for a quick taxi, bus or train ride to Kyoto's temples and parks.

Gagakuan was such a wonderful place to stay, and made our trip to Kyoto even more memorable. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Excellent property, great location

  • 5 of 5

The property is centrally located, easy to get to from Kyoto station with easy access to buses etc. It was superbly equipped, very comfortable and relaxing. Best of all the owner was very helpful prior to our travel and then was on hand to help with advice on where to visit, where to eat, and making things as easy as possible. Definitely one of the best places to stay if you are visiting Kyoto.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We'll be back soon!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have been to Kyoto many times before, starting in our student days and on a number of occasions since. We have also stayed in machiya before; I once lived for a year in one that was still pretty much in its original state (quite an adventure). But we had never stayed in this part of the city, so when my work took us to Kyoto for a month this spring and we found the listing for what looked like an attractive and convenient place to stay we jumped on it. It proved an excellent choice. The location is much handier than other parts of the city we’ve stayed in: all sorts of shopping, dining and cultural experiences are in walking distance, the subway stop is 3 minutes on foot, likewise for lots of city buses, and Kyoto Station (transportation hub for the area) is a 15 minute walk. While the house is near several major commercial streets, it is located off a small side street in a quiet residential neighborhood with the mix, typical of Kyoto neighborhoods, of traditional and modern buildings, predominantly low-rise. But the real star is the house itself. The owner, Mako, has done an extraordinary job of modernizing with integrity. The fittings, furnishings and rearranged layout all adhere to a unifying design scheme that respects the soul of the building while fostering the comfort of the guests. The upstairs sleeping quarters in the traditional machiya were always a problem—cut up into small spaces with little light and accessed by steps that are more like a ladder. Mako chose to remove all the partitions, baring the structural skeleton and creating an open and airy space, and then installed a dramatic (and easily navigable) glass staircase. A great place in which to wake up in the morning. We will second all the glowing things said by other guests about Saki’s helpfulness. And Mako went out of her way to ascertain our interests and helped us make lots of new discoveries.. We’re glad to have chosen Gagakuan for our stay, and hope to return in the future.

Mark

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Sweet stay with a wonderful host.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. One of the highlights was the incredibly attentive and helpful communications with Saki. She offered us help at every turn, even before arriving in Japan with trip and travel planning. Once there, she gave us excellent assistance with day plans and showed us a wonderful local restaurant, translating our order to the Japanese speaking chef. We went back a total of three times to experience the authentic, relaxing and incredibly delicious meals, just three minutes walking from our home. The kitchen was stocked with treats and staples, and Saki even surprised us with a beautiful and tasty dinner snack as we arrived too late to find food.

We stayed with our 10 month old baby, which was both perfect and imperfect. He was thrilled to climb into everything, and up the stairs, so some hasty baby-proofing was needed. On the other hand, he could make all the noise he wanted without disturbing any neighbors.

Overall, this was a very positive experience and a true enhancement of our trip to stay in a real Kyoto neighborhood, with such a magnificent host.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Just a 3 minutes walk to nearest train station (1 stop from Kyoto station) and you can walk for 15 minutes from Kyoto station. There are 24hours supermarket/convenience store, medical store and ATM close by.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Shimogyo-ku Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Beautiful Kyoto time
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 11 2016
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$270
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

*The rate is for 2 persons, the additional charge of 3,000 yen per night will apply for extra person
During July-September, Autumn rate, Winter sale, it is charged 5,000yen per night
*Cleaning fee 5,000yen will be need for more than 3people group

We kindly request you to make your payment in advance by Paypal. Please note that your reservation will remain tentative until the payment is confirmed. Once the reservation is fixed, we will send you a confirmation with further details.
Cancellation Policy
After booking till 14 days prior to your date of arrival 30%   
24 hours prior to your arrival 50%
On the date of your arrival/ No show

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Shimogyo-ku Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • We have a Rain shower and a towel warmer in a Bathroom1.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Radio
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Notes:
The house is a great concept. It makes you feel at home in the big city... comfortable, practical, modern but feel traditional Japan.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties