check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Larry Rosenberg

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

High End Remodelled Oceanfront Breathtaking View Spectacular!

4 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo

Overview

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This fifth floor, luxurious oceanfront condo at the Kihei Surfside Resort is located on the sought after ocean side of the elevator. It has a spectacular ocean view from the kitchen, living room, dining area and lanai. It is a one bedroom, one bath unit (545 sq ft incl. lanai). It was completely remodeled and refurnished in 2006, and is high end in every way! Our guests gave this unit a very high rating in 2009 – 4.65 out of 5 on our Guest Satisfaction Survey Index for 2009, firmly pacing it in our 'Luxury' Category. 22 out of 22 guests reported they would recommend this unit to friends and family. It is a very popular unit that books up fast!

The entire unit has porcelain flooring. All the cabinetry, which is consistent throughout the unit, was custom made and imported from Canada. It is made from solid maple, and all counters and vanities are topped with beautiful, brown toned granite. All lighting in all rooms is controlled by dimmer switches.

The gourmet kitchen is spectacular! It is fully equipped with stainless steel Professional Series appliances, including side by side fridge/freezer with water and ice, flat top stove with five burners and warming drawer, quiet dishwasher (many of the 1 bed 1 bath units at the Surfside still do not have a dishwasher), multi function microwave oven, garbage disposer and a variety of small appliances including coffee maker, coffee grinder, four slice toaster, blender, crock pot, rice maker and hand mixer. There is also a large selection of higher end Italian cookware, baking pans, BBQ tools, spice rack and ample matching dishes, glasses and cutlery. The “corner sink design allows for maximum efficiency and working space. The island has a four foot eating ledge with two barstools.

The living room has a queen size sofa-bed with matching large comfy armchair with ottoman. There is also a large 37” flat screen LCD HD color TV, DVD player, a Teac sound system with IPOD Dock and sub-woofer, and a multi speed ceiling fan.

The dining area has a round rattan glass table with 4 matching tropical pattern armchairs.

The private lanai has a bistro table with two bistro chairs with padded seats – a perfect place to enjoy your morning coffee or a romantic oceanfront dinner! Turtles and dolphins can be seen year round, whales in season.

The entry hall is tiled, with a built in, granite topped buffet with cabinets and a desk area with free high speed internet and free long distance calling to the United States and Canada.

The bedroom has a good quality hotel King size bed, multi speed ceiling fan, Hawaiian style rattan furniture, plantation shutters, oversized closet, digital security safe and a wall mounted 32” flat screen LCD TV with DVD player.

The bathroom has a full size, walk in shower with a shower spa system, including hand held wand/massager and six body sprays. There is an over height vanity with granite countertop and elongated toilet.

The unit is fully equipped with utensils, fresh linens and towels, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, beach chairs, beach towels and a cooler. Umbrellas, boogie boards and snorkel gear are NOT supplied, but are often left behind in the units by other guests – no guarantees.

This unit is an excellent choice for guests who are looking for luxury, high end accommodation with a spectacular location and unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean and the West Maui mountains.

Kihei Surfside Resort is located at 2936 S. Kihei Road, South Kihei at the entrance of beautiful Wailea. This is the desert part of Maui, where the sun shines more than any other part of the island. The Kihei Surfside Resort consists of an absolute oceanfront concrete building of 6 floors and 84 deluxe units with an elevator. There is free parking on site. The resort is a twenty-five minute drive from the Kahului Airport (OGG). Rental cars are available at the airport or in Kihei town. There are also taxis available at the airport (about $50), a shuttle bus and public transportation.

Virtually all of the properties and resorts in Kihei are either located right on busy S. Kihei Rd., or if they are set back from the road - are across from the street from the ocean. One unique feature of the Kihei Surfside is that it is located at the quiet end of S. Kihei Road, AND is set back 300 feet from S. Kihei Road AND is located right on the ocean! Because it is hard to see from the road, many first time Surfside guests say that even though they have visited Kihei many times, they had never seen the resort!

Another unique feature of the property is that we have a 2 acre, immaculately kept oceanfront lawn area with dozens of loungers, with a heated swimming pool and deluxe barbeque facilities. In season, there are daily whale sightings from both the grounds and lanais. In fact, the Pacific Whale Foundation conducts their annual whale count from our property. The building is located at the north end of Keawakapu Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches on Maui (voted Maui’s most romantic), where you can walk for miles past some of the most expensive oceanfront homes on the island and the luxurious hotels of Wailea.

We own and or manage 13 of the best units at the Surfside, so even if it appears that your dates are not available, drop me an email and I will do my best to find you something! Aloha!

Hawaii Tax # W87353122-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Larry Rosenberg (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Larry Rosenberg

Larry and Sharon Rosenberg are businesspeople from Vancouver, Canada. We started coming to the Kihei Surfside on our honeymoon in 1983. We loved it so much we returned every year. We feel very fortunate to be owners at the Kihei Surfside. The Surfside is a special place - our favorite on earth - and we enjoy helping first timers discover this magical place! We plan to spend our winters at the Surfside once we retire.

Larry Rosenberg purchased this condo in 2006

Why Larry Rosenberg chose Maui

We are convinced this property offers the best value and location for oceanfront accommodation in the south Kihei/Wailea area. All of the units are direct oceanfront, and the property has the most amazing oceanfront lawn area spanning over 2 acres, that is unique to our property. The best part about the Surfside are the friendly happy people, and the great accommodating staff!

What makes this condo unique

The property is located right at the north end of world famous Keawakapu Beach. It is one of the finest white sand beaches anywhere. It stretches for miles past some of the most expensive homes and hotels in all of Maui. Great for walking or running. We enjoy walking the beach each morning, and spending time some time there soaking up some morning sun and swimming/snorkeling in the warm ocean. When we want some quieter time, we spend time on the oceanfront lawn. The grass is like a putting green - many people reach down to feel it to see if it is real - it looks like carpet! It is a great place to soak up some sun, read a great book, watch the whales, dolphins and turtles or catch a nap! There is a reef right at our property that has the most amazing snorkeling we have seen anywhere. Unlike most other oceanfront properties in Kihei, the Surfside is perched right on the sea shore, set back several hundred feet from S. Kihei Road, so you hear the ocean, not the road noise. The complex has two high end stainless steel barbeques and picnic tables right at the ocean. Almost every night, we use the barbeque and eat our dinner at the oceanfront lit by tiki torches.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a lot of fun on our vacation, We watched movies. We went to the beach every day. We went snorkelling for turtles. We went on a ride called da rush. You could boogie board or surf. It was a lot of fun. We also went paddleboarding. - Ethan

Thanks for an awesome trip! I had more fun than I thought. Maui is amazing! Hopefully we will be back! Thanks, Skylar
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 84

Reviews

4.8
based on 4 traveler reviews

High End Remodelled Oceanfront Breathtaking View Spectacular!
average rating of 4.75 based on 88 reviews
4

Kihei Surfside 506

  • 4 of 5

The location is next to the best beach. The appliances were excellent and kitchen was well equipped. I knew there was no air conditioning when I rented the unit but with extremely hot temperatures it was hot. The bed in the master bedroom was soft with a well worn sunken spot and uncomfortable. I ended up sleeping on the pull out sofa bed The upholstered chairs were also well worn and uncomfortable ( I prefer firm hotel mattresses. ) Everyone I dealt with was pleasant and professional This is the best location to walk to snorkeling or yoga

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Kihei

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful view, relaxing and very comfortable unit. Enjoyed every minute!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Maui

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the accommodations in Kihei, Maui. The location to the restaurants, beaches and other activities are top notch. The facility, cleanlyness and amenities are some of the best I have stayed in. I have been to Maui many times over the years and I can say that this trip is one of the best ever. The people at the facility are curtious, helpful, accommodating and friendly. Coffee on the Lani each morning is a wonderful way to wake up.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bend, OR
5

Thanks so much Larry and ...

  • 5 of 5

Thanks so much Larry and Sharon. The place is beautiful and even better than we expected. The upgrades made us feel that we were in a luxury hotel and the view from the condo was a pleasure to wake up to each day. It was equipped with everything we could need for our 6 day stay and we love having snorkel gear and beach chairs available. The staff at the condo was extrememly helpful and kind. The super thick luxury bath towels and high thread count bedding were wonderful. Although, the pull out bed was not very comfy. We watched whales each morning from the lanai and loved having the amazingly large "putting green" lawn to relax on when we didn't want the sandy beaches. We would love to rent this condo unit again in the future and recommend it to our friends. Thank you again!

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol - thanks for your kind words. I will deal with that sofa bed mattress right away. It is only 2 years old, but seems thin. Best - Rosie
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Kihei Surfside Resort is located at 2936 S. Kihei Road, South Kihei at the entrance of beautiful Wailea. This is the desert part of Maui, where the sun shines more than any other part of the island. The Kihei Surfside Resort consists of an absolute oceanfront concrete building of 6 floors and 84 deluxe units with an elevator. There is free parking on site. The resort is a twenty-five minute drive from the Kahului Airport (OGG). Rental cars are available at the airport or in Kihei town. There are also taxis available at the airport (about $50), a shuttle bus and public transportation.

Virtually all of the properties and resorts in Kihei are either located right on busy S. Kihei Rd., or if they are set back from the road - are across from the street from the ocean. One unique feature of the Kihei Surfside is that it is located at the quiet end of S. Kihei Road, AND is set back 300 feet from S. Kihei Road AND is located right on the ocean! Because it is hard to see from the road, many first time Surfside guests say that even though they have visited Kihei many times, they had never seen the resort!

Another unique feature of the property is that we have a 2 acre, immaculately kept oceanfront lawn area with dozens of loungers, with a heated swimming pool and deluxe barbeque facilities. In season, there are daily whale sightings from both the grounds and lanais. In fact, the Pacific Whale Foundation conducts their annual whale count from our property. The building is located at the north end of Keawakapu Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches on Maui (voted Maui’s most romantic), where you can walk for miles past some of the most expensive oceanfront homes on the island and the luxurious hotels of Wailea, including the Grand Wailea Hotel. It is customary for the residents of the Kihei Surfside to gather each evening for cocktails on the shore near the tiki torches for a traditional Hawaiian sundown ceremony. Feel free to join in – everyone is welcome - this is a great opportunity to meet your neighbors and fellow vacationers!

There are two very nice oceanfront restaurants within 100 yards of the resort; the Five Palms and Sarentos on the Beach. The Five Palms is known as the best happy hour on Maui, the bar menu and drinks are half price between 5 and 7:30PM, and after 9PM. Right across the parking lot from the Surfside is an upscale deli/grocery/wine store, Zach’s. Other larger grocery stores in Kihei, a short drive from the resort are Safeway, Foodland and Star Market. The island also has a Costco, Wal-Mart, K-Mart and Sears.

There is never any shortage of things to do on Maui. The Shops at Wailea, Wailea Golf Club, Wailea Tennis Club and Makena Golf Club are within a five minute drive. The Kihei boat ramp is located 100 yards north of the property. Several of the tour operators for snorkeling and diving launch here. See Maui Dive Shop, Makena Coast Dive Charters, and Blue Water Rafting. Maalaea Harbor is a 20 minute drive, and from there you would get the fishing charters and sunset dinner cruises, or visit the Maui Ocean Center. The old whaling town of Lahaina is a 45 minute drive; from there you can ride on the Atlantis Submarine, or go for a boat trip with the Pacific Whale Foundation. Helicopter tours are available from the airport. See Blue Hawaiian Helicopters or Air Maui. Feeling adventurous? Try riding a bike down Mount Haleakala - Haleakala Bike Company. For exercise enthusiasts, there are a couple of gyms nearby – Powerhouse Gym, Valley Isle Fitness, and Pilates Maui. There is also an oceanfront yoga studio Maui Yoga Path right across the parking lot.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Sept 1 - 30, 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
1 night minimum stay
$195
$1,295
$4,650
 
 
Oct 01 - 15, 2016
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 15 2016
1 night minimum stay
$205
$1,365
 
 
Oct 16 - 31, 2016
Oct 16 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
$215
$1,435
 
 
November 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
1 night minimum stay
$235
$1,575
 
 
Dec 01 - 18, 2016
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$215
$1,435
 
 
Dec 19 - 31, 2016
Dec 19 2016 - Dec 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
$305
$2,065
 
 
January 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$295
$1,995
 
 
Feb 01 - Mar 24, 2017
Feb 1 2017 - Mar 24 2017
1 night minimum stay
$315
$2,135
 
 
Mar 25 - Mar 31, 2017
Mar 25 2017 - Mar 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$295
$1,995
 
 
Apr 01 - Apr 15, 2017q
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$255
$1,715
 
 
Apr 16 - Apr 30, 2017
Apr 16 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$235
$1,575
 
 
May 01 - May 15, 2017
May 1 2017 - May 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$215
$1,435
$5,250
 
 
May 16 - Jun 15, 2017
May 16 2017 - Jun 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$195
$1,295
$4,650
 
 
Jun 16 - Jul 15, 2017
Jun 16 2017 - Jul 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$215
$1,435
$5,250
 
 
Jul 16 - Sep 15, 2017
Jul 16 2017 - Sep 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$195
$1,295
$4,650
 
 
Sep 16 - Sep 30, 2017
Sep 16 2017 - Sep 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$205
$1,365
$1,155
 
 
Oct 01 - Oct 15, 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$235
$1,575
 
 
November 2017
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$255
$1,715
 
 
Dec 01 - Dec 18, 2017
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 18 2017
1 night minimum stay
$245
$1,645
 
 
Dec 19 - Dec 31, 2017
Dec 19 2017 - Dec 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$325
$2,205
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.42%

THIS IS A HAWAII TRANSIENT ACCOMMODATION GOVERNED BY HAWAII LAW. HAWAII TRANSIENT ACCOMMODATIONS TAXES MUST BE PAID ON THE GROSS RENTS COLLECTED BY AN OPERATOR FROM ANY PERSON RENTING HAWAII TRANSIENT ACCOMMODATIONS. HAWAII LAW ALSO PROVIDES FURTHER REQUIREMENTS OF A TRANSIENT ACCOMMODATIONS OPERATOR.

Hawaii Tax # W87353122-01

$95 cleaning fee for stays less than 5 nights.
Rates are for up to 2 adults and 2 children 18 and under. Additional adults $10 per person per night.
Changes
There is no guarantee that changes can be accommodated - check first!
Permissible changes within 48 hours of booking are free;
Permissible changes after 48 hours of booking may result in a $25 fee.

We require a 10% deposit within 14 days of confirmation to hold the reservation; balance is due 60 days prior to arrival. We don't formally take credit cards; we prefer to keep our rates as low as possible. We can send you a PayPal invoice that you can pay securely with a credit card; they charge a 3% fee for this service which we then add to the invoice. All rates and taxes are subject to change.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers