check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner/Manager

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews

21 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 7 - 31 nights

Overview

Green Valley Desert Hills Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Escape cold winters and enjoy the beauty of the Santa Rita mountains, the warm Arizona sunshine and enjoyable activities year round. Leave your worries behind in the comfort of this beautiful home-away-from-home retreat!

This bright and neat home will make you feel welcome as soon as you walk in. At 1450 sf, it is a spacious open floor plan with the kitchen open to the comfortable dining/living room. There is a new 32 inch flat screen HD TV in the living room and a 28 inch HD TV in the Arizona room. Expanded cable channels for all TVs. The furnishings are newer and very nice with tasteful SW decor. Master King and Guest room queen beds and there is an inflatable heavier style mattress/pump in the closet. Master has a small TV and large walk in closet.

The Arizona room (like a garden or sunroom) is located at the back of the home and opens to a lovely patio with native cactus and plants. This is like a second small living room area, equipped with the second HD TV, love seat and small desk as shown in the pictures. There is a card table in a closet that makes this a great location to set up to do jigsaw puzzles or crafts. Home has high speed, wireless internet that works from the living room and using a laptop, to the back patio, wireless.

We have many additional pictures of the interior & mountain views, see LINK below for 'MORE PHOTOS'.

The large brick patio overlooks the arroyo (if you are new to the area, it's a dry creek/river bed filled with trees and desert plants that attract native birds and wildlife.) The arroyo means you have no neighbors directly behind you as you sit on the patio, private! And great place to view stars at night with very little lights from the ground to interfere. Madera Canyon, a renowned spot for birdwatching, is right down the road, and you will see many birds in the arroyo, too (or at the patio birdfeeder). Wonderful mountain views with spectacular sunrise and sunsets from the patio. Take it all in and relax!

Green Valley Recreation system (GVR) allows you full use of any of the 12 Social Centers w/wonderful swimming pools, jacuzzi, exercise equipment, tennis courts, many classes & activities offered on a regular basis. This conveniently located home is within walking distance to one of the Rec Centers.

There are so many things to do in and around this area...convenient for trips to historic Tombstone, three nearby Indian casinos, Tubac artist colony, observatories, Arizona Desert Museum, Bisbee, Madera Canyon, and all the cultural offerings of Tucson. It's just a 25-minute drive to the border of Mexico & wonderful shopping. The Elks Lodge is close with a very active membership.

This area is a golfer's paradise, with eight golf courses within minutes of this home, such as Canoa Ranch Golf Club, Canoa Hills, San Ignacio, Desert Hills Country Club. There is easy access to 20 other courses in the area like Arizona National and Ventana Canyon.

Age-restricted neighborhood, one guest must be 55 or over. Rates assume you have your own cell phone, does not include a phone in the unit but we can have phone service installed for an additional fee, please inquire.

***Note see below for two links, one to 'More Photos' property website and a link to Green Valley information, Chamber of Commerce (tabs on that site include golf course information).

***SUMMER SPECIAL JUNE TO AUGUST ONLY: SUMMER SPECIAL OFFER for all 3 months from June to August, for just $2,700 ($900 per month.) That's less than $30 per night for this approx 1400 sf retreat with two bedrooms, two baths! Must rent multiple summer months for this rate; otherwise summer is $1100/month.

Keywords: Townhome, townhouse, vacation rental, green valley, home, house, golf, hiking, birdwatching, desert, Arizona, rental, retirement, snowbird, retirement

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Owner/Manager (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Owner/Manager

We bought this townhome when we lived in Oregon, have lived in Albuquerque since and now are in the Bay Area in Calif. Many years until retirement so we rent during high season to snowbirds and they are all showing us how 'retirement is done!' :-) Love sharing our home and love Green Valley!

Owner/Manager purchased this townhome in 2006

Why Owner/Manager chose Green Valley

We came to Green Valley to stay at a friend's place, who had been telling us for years how great it was. It wasn't high on our list of places to visit...Nancy had a picture in her mind of tumbleweeds and desert and certainly no oasis. But when we finally did visit, we fell in love with the area (and were amazed by how green 'Green Valley' actually was), she said 'what took us so long to come here?!!' The largest pecan orchard in the world spans along the valley area and adds color, as well as the trees at the base of the Santa Ritas. And who knew the cactus and native plants bloom with such pretty flowers in the spring. If you golf, as we do, it can't be beat, the variety and challenge of the courses nearby is excellent. There are many, many things to do in the area for all types of interests, and GVR is a great resource for taking classes and taking advantage of their exercise facilities.

We are baby boomers and Green Valley has proven to be the perfect retreat to find sun and to relax. Now we know why so many people are catching on to how affordable and wonderful this place is!

What makes this townhome unique

You will love the very large back patio that overlooks the arroyo, and has wonderful views of the sun rising over the mountains and when the sun sets, the Santa Rita Mountains turn a spectacular pink color. One of our favorite things to do is invite friends over for a BBQ using the gas BBQ on the patio, and just visit and tell stories as the sun sets. And the golf and hiking and birdwatching in this area is world renowned!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had our first visit to Green Valley and this town home was the perfect location for using as our home base. It is very comfortable and had all the amenities so that we felt right at home as soon as we entered. Nancy and Dave were so great to work with. And the patio, arroyo views and sunrises were spectacular! Highly recommend is as a rental home for value, views, comfort, and great accommodating owners. When we come back, this is where we will stay every time!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 21 traveler reviews

Relaxing Retreat +Patio W/Arroyo Mt View Hiking Wifi Upgrades! See Guest Reviews
average rating of 4.904762 based on 22 reviews
Denver, CO
5

Everything We Needed and Outstanding Views

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful townhome and we felt at home as soon as we walked in. Previously we stayed in a place that was outdated, but this place was upgraded and very comfortable, nice SW decor and ammenities. Dave and Nancy were great to work with and supplied us with a great packet of useful information, and were easy to keep in contact with if we had questions. The Wifi was a great plus and the arroyo and mountain views were superb. Loved watching the morning sunrise over the Santa Rita Mountains. We used the back patio bird feeder and had birds of all kinds visiting all day long. Green Valley was a welcome relief from the cold winters and this place is not in a high traffic area, very peaceful and convenient neighborhood. Highly recommend and we will definitely return. Thanks for being so accommodating and welcoming!

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are looking forward to your next stay! We are so happy you had a great time and enjoyed the place. Keep in touch and thanks again--Nancy and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
29 0
5

Wonderful Green Valley Townhouse!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our 2 1/2 month stay at this wonderful townhouse located in the Desert Hills area of Green Valley. This is a well cared for and maintained property which reflects the pride the owners take in it.

The comfortable home has a warm Southwest décor with lovely paintings, wall hangings and other pieces throughout. The well equipped kitchen has everything you could possibly want and more. The master bedroom is very spacious with a king bed, a large walk-in closet and a comfortable chair.

The Arizona room is delightful, bright and happy room looking out onto the patio and beyond into the arroyo. Its a great place to have morning coffee, read a book or just relax and enjoy the view.

The owners, Dave and Nancy have done everything to make this townhouse a home away from home. The WiFi is excellent and we were pleasantly surprised that there is even a color printer for the use of their guests. There was a card table as well games and puzzles for our use. Nancy and Dave have provided lots of information about the area and things to do while in Green Valley. They are attentive owners who always responded promptly to our questions and inquiries.

We would love to return to this lovely townhouse and hope to do so in the next few years. We are sure you will enjoy your stay here!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Janice and Hartwig, we were so happy we had the chance to work with you as our guests and have you visit GV for the first time this year. It was exciting to hear how you explored and enjoyed everything the area had to offer, and there is nothing we would like MORE than to see you return anytime. Best to you both and enjoy your summer back at home. Nancy and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Your Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

We could not have been happier with this rental. It was our first VRBO experience and Nancy set the bar too high for others to match. The furniture was amazingly comfortable; the unit was incredibly well-appointed (it even had a salad spinner!); and it was very well-maintained and clean. The location was also beautiful with the arroyo in the back yard and on a quiet cul-de-sac. The Arizona room was wonderful in the late afternoon. Nancy was the best communicator. She contacted us periodically to see if there was anything she could do for us. Her booklet was chuck full of useful information about sightseeing and restaurants. The best part was participation in the Green Valley Recreation facilities which were only a few minutes walk from the house. If you play tennis (at any level), this is the place for you! Golf is available nearby but a bit pricey. We travelled the half hour to Tucson to play the more affordable municipal courses which were well-maintained and challenging. Movie theaters were just down the road; it was convenient to grocery stores and shopping malls. The neighbors were also very quiet and friendly. We were invited over for dinner and drinks by complete strangers. It seems this is a tight-knit community. We are going back again next year but for three months this time. I would highly recommend this unit or any other that Nancy has.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you are both returning again, and know that with an even longer stay you will have so much fun in this home away from home. You are a pleasure to work with and we look forward to having you back in 2015. Thanks for such great communication and for being such great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

comfortable and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This warm and comfortable home provided us with everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked, the living room chairs and sofa were perfect. The master bedroom provided a comfortable king size bed as was the guest bedroom with its queen size bed. . We loved the Arizona Room and Patio where views of the mountains and sunsets were incredibly beautiful. You could see that this home was decorated with comfort in mind. The owners were so incredibly cooperative and addressed our every need. The proximity of the Social Center was within walking distance ( another plus). I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carole and Andy, you guys were so great to work with. We would love having you back anytime! I hope you missed the brunt of the cold weather and that Spring is around the corner for you. Thanks again, take good care, Nancy and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

We lucked out in finding this townhouse!!

  • 5 of 5

Our second stay in this townhouse was even more comfortable than our first visit three months ago. The property is very convenient to all Green Valley has to offer and, honestly, it is so well stocked and maintained. Everything from paper clips to spices to comfortable furnishings to flatware to dryer sheets - just everything make for a wonderful stay. We were on vacation; who wants to worry about laundry!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure having you two stay with us and come back as repeat guests! Your communication has been outstanding and we are so glad you enjoyed Green Valley so much. Take good care and thanks again! N & D
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Perfect accommodations for our needs.

  • 5 of 5

This rental was very clean, with everything in working order and plenty of linens, towels, kitchenware, etc. WiFi was a plus to use our laptop and the furniture in main living area was very comfortable. (One couch and 2 recliners)

The patio was very private overlooking beautiful mountains and landscaping. Very relaxing to sit outside to have an afternoon drink and absorb the wonderful heat and view.

Even though we were not using the rental to travel and explore the area (and there is a LOT to see near Green Valley) we rented for the purpose of having a comfortable place to stay while our newly bought home in Green Valley was being remodeled. After renting for several years we have decided to escape the harsh winters and humid summers of Wisconsin. The owners are very open to phone calls and/or emails so there is wonderful open communication if any questions or concerns. This is a perfect place to stay while in the area.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks to you both for being so great to work with! We were happy to be your home away from home for a little while, and glad you enjoyed having this house to work from during your big move. Feel free to send any future references our way. Take good care and enjoy your new place!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Fantastic Star Gazing from back patio at night, with a wide open sky above the arroyo, many old missions available to tour in the area including San Xavier Mission the 'white dove of the desert' and Tumacacori Mission. We provide a ten page 'sites and attractions' information packet that shows thirty and more sites and their proximity to this townhome. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you choose to be! You will not be disappointed with the ammenities or customer service we provide, see our feedback and reviews from previous guests, you will love this area and location! We look forward to seeing you and having you stay with us.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Green Valley Desert Hills Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer/Fall (June - Sept)
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$500
$1,100
 
 
Pre-High Season
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$500
$1,800
 
 
High Season 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
30 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
Pre-High Season
Oct 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
High Season
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
31 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
Post-High Season
Apr 1 2018 - May 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee If needed Refund $100
Cleaning Fee Nonrefund $75
Security Dep Refundable $500

During high season (Jan through March), only monthly rental are available; weekly rentals outside high season are $500 per week, covering the rental fee and cost to turn on expanded cable, WiFi, garbage, etc.

Deposit and signed agreement holds the property and takes it off the market, one installment (if rented for high season the next year) is due halfway into the year and last rental payment is due 30 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Green Valley Desert Hills Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , master bath with shower and grab bar
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , shower and tub combo
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , walk in closet, master bath shower only with grab bars
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Larger than many townhomes in the area, plenty of separate space and the views of the sunrise and sunset are spectacular!
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • 7 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Senior Adults Only Community ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
No telephone is provided, assume you use your own cell phone. Exception is that we can provide a land line telephone for those from Canada if cell phone usage is too expensive, please inquire! Elks Lodge is convenient with a very active membership, restaurant. Short walk to Social Center, very friendly to bicyclists and walkers w/dedicated lanes for golf carts, too. Note: this is a low traffic area, without many cars coming through unless they live in the area, which helps to make it a peaceful, friendly neighborhood where people know each other. Senior Adults Only Community : One Guest Must be 55 or over. Smoking Not Allowed : No smoking, security deposit will be used if evidence of smoking in the house.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties