check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Chesapeake Bay Beach House - Beach Front and Endless Bay Views

61 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Reedville House Rental Photos and Description

Main House, 3 Bedrooms + Conv beds, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 14); Guest House (Sleeps 6)

Nestled under towering pines and surrounded by an acre of evergreens, we peer out east across the endless and beautiful Chesapeake Bay. The 180 degree view is breathtaking from our private beach, grand porch, or any room in the house. The sunrise is spectacular and nature's beautiful colors change throughout the day.

Whether you're ready for action or much needed relaxation we've got it all. Kids and adults will love the sand and surf just 80 feet from our door. The shallow and protected water makes all kinds of water activities possible - in a safe environment. Land lovers can be equally active by biking or hiking the country roads that wind around the many creeks, inlets, and other tributaries. And everyone can enjoy our many outdoor and indoor games.

You R&R-types are in luck too. Choose to snooze on the porch or the bayside hammock - the views are both outstanding if you can stay awake. Read a good book. We have many and welcome exchanges. View distant merchant ships, Tangier Island, the Bay's only private lighthouse, and a vast array of waterfowl using our binoculars and telescope. Explore historic Reedville, once considered one of the wealthiest towns in America. The 19th-century mansions will astound you. A fisherman's museum, antique shops, and fine restaurants are also popular attractions.

Save some energy for the evening. Cookouts are a must, particularly on the expansive porch and outdoor dining area. Enjoy your dessert bayside while sitting around the firepit. The s'mores, songs, stories, and stars seem all the better by the water's edge.

Our home is a classic southern-living design aptly named 'The Carolina House' due to its predominant use among Carolina country elite. It boasts a grand front and back porch perfect for entertaining and relaxing. The floorplan is open and airy with an emphasis on bay views. The kitchen and eat-in area are the hub of indoor activity with a spectacular 180-degree Bay view. All three bedrooms have their own full bath.

Our additional detached guest house is now available. It has a bedroom, bunkroom, game room, full bath, kitchenette, and sleeps 6. It is strictly for use by whomever is renting the main house and will not be rented separately to another party.

Note: We own 2 other properties on the Bay (VRBO #509974 and #644192) We've rented for 3 years and had many satisfied guests and positive reviews.

Keywords: Beach House, Beach Front, Beachfront, Private Beach, Vacation Home, Chesapeake Bay, Northern Neck

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Bill (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Bill

We are Northern Virginia natives who love the outdoors - particularly the beach and mountains. We enjoy short excursions to B&Bs and wineries. We are high-energy, sports-oriented but crave down-time too.

Our hobbies include building sandcastles, building sandcastles, and building sandcastles!

Bill purchased this house in 2011

Why Bill chose Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck

Our friends bought a waterfront home just south of us 6-years ago. We loved visiting them and eventually found our dream home in the fall of 2011. This is our idea of paradise. It feels like we're at the ocean and deep in the Carolina woods at the same time. It is an easy and beautiful commute through rural farmland and rustic old towns. There are so many things to see and do in a wholesome, family-friendly environment.

What makes this house unique

We enjoy our private beach more than anything. Whether beachcombing, romping in the water, or just relaxing you can't beat the setting. Our view of the Bay is equally spectacular whether you're down on the beach, nestled in a recliner on the porch, or making a meal in the kitchen. Playtime is endless and the days seem too short. Nightime is fun too. And everything revolves around the entire family having a good time - together.

Reviews

4.9
based on 61 traveler reviews

Chesapeake Bay Beach House - Beach Front and Endless Bay Views
average rating of 4.885246 based on 61 reviews
5

Great place for a family getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here recently with extended family, including kids and grandparents. At different times there were as many as 9 of us there, and it never felt crowded. The house is clean, and well situated to provide great views from every room, which have plentiful windows facing the bay.

The yard has large trees which are great for shade, but don't obstruct the view. The bay is about 25 miles wide there, so looking due east all you can see is the horizon. Although one day with just the right lighting, we were able to see the water tower on Tangier Island with the provided binoculars. There is also a fair amount of boat traffic to watch which keeps it interesting, from local crab boats hugging the shore, to major cruise liners heading to and from Baltimore.

A fire pit with adirondack chairs is on the corner of the property next to the stairs leading to the beach. It was used almost every night while we were there for s'mores. There were 4 kayaks from kid's size to multi-person, which got a great workout. Bocce balls, horseshoes, frisbees, a kite, beach toys etc. were all there. We brought a lot of that, and never had to unpack any of it because of what was supplied.

The beach was nice, and there was always a stretch of sand, even at the highest tide. During our week, it ranged from bathtub calm to 2 foot rollers breaking on the beach. The kids were able to wade, play in the sand, put out crab pots, kayak, and generally have a great time! Definitely wear beach shoes as some of the riprap rocks have been tossed onto the surf and can be painful if you don't see them underwater. On one day only we saw a few jellyfish (far fewer than up the nearby creeks), but there were not many and they were easy to spot, so they didn't keep us out of the water.

Jett's Hardware (5 minutes away) is great for providing crab pots, frozen bunker (bait for crab pots), and bait for fishing. Cockrell's Seafood/Deli (also 5 minutes) is a great source for fresh seafood. Hours are limited so plan ahead. Tommy's Restaurant was good and friendly. There is a nice Food Lion 20 minutes away.

Cell phone service is limited. In Reedville itself, Verizon has zero bars. At the house, you can usually make a call or send/receive texts with patience. We were told Verizon is putting up a new tower in 6 months which will be a huge help. Internet/wifi worked fine.

Must do: Fisherman's Museum in Reedville. Chitterchats Ice Cream. Tangier Island Cruise. Relax!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
5

2nd Time Around

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to this marvelous property. And it was every bit as good as our first visit.

Wanting to soak in the sun, sand, and surf - but without the crowds and commercialization, we stumbled upon this gem. The house and charming guest house were perfect for our group. The scenery is absolutely awesome. We played on the beach, swam, kayaked, hiked and biked. The porch was perfect for early morning coffee while watching a spectacular sunrise or having an evening cocktail while grilling out. The fire pit was a big hit again for everyone.

We'll be booking our third trip soon!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Couldn't be better.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect starting from reservation till the moment we left. The main house and guest house, both were well kept, stocked and prepared for the relaxed, memorable stay. I was very happy to hear many compliments from family members especially with my 90 yrs old mother, watching her smiling was priceless. Thank you, Bill, You obviously know how to please your guests.

Chris

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise!!!

  • 5 of 5

We are a 3-generation family that decided at the last minute to have a end-of-summer fling. And are we glad we did!

The view is incredible! All you can see is open water (along with dolphins, a variety of waterfowl, and occasional really cool merchant ships). The sky was constantly changing color and consistency, particularly in the mornings and evenings. And the star show at night time is nothing short of spectacular!

All of us enjoyed the beach and water very much. We set up beach chairs and umbrellas and basically lived there most of the time. The kids played all day and we had a sandcastle competition every afternoon - the kids always won of course! The owners were very gracious to let us use their kayaks. And we appreciated they included life vests for every age. The fire pit was a hit at night. It overlooks the shoreline and was a perfect setting for winding down our busy days.

The house was immaculate, the kitchen was well stocked, the furniture and beds were very comfortable - what else could you want?! Oh, the porch was great too!

Thank you, Bill, for accommodating us so quickly. Next time we won't wait till the last minute to rent from you - hopefully next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, spacious, perfect for large family

  • 4 of 5

This house is perfectly situated on the water with views from every window basically. The large carpeted living room is great for kids and adults with ample seating, and a great TV to catch the game or watch a classic movie. They have cable so everyone can find something to watch. The dining room also sits right in front of a wall of windows, perfect for eating all meals at. Our large family (8 adults, 8 kids under the age of 8) made it work with rotating shifts for meals and often eating outside. The kitchen has pretty much everything, but is a tight fit so expect 1-2 people fitting at a time. The cookware is great, and they have all the appliances you need. All 3 bedrooms have a bathroom and a large closet that fits a pack-n-play (an advantage for us). We also rented the guest cottage which was perfect for the older kids. The guest cottage is more updated than the main house.

The outside area is great, play set, hammock, relaxing chairs, fire pit and large yard. The water access is great with stairs, but to be honest there really isn't a beach to play on especially during high tide. We did use the kayaks so it kind of didn't matter, though I wish there more because we found a beach to kayak to but had to take turns going. It wasn't a huge bummer because the weather was a little chilly (the Tropical storm had passed through) but if it was the middle of summer, it would have been hard to really do water play.

Pros:

- Bedrooms are spacious, with large closets

- Carpeted living room perfect for babies and playing

- Views are outstanding

- Remote so very quiet and peaceful

Cons

- Sand flies, basically from the moment you walk out the back door to the beach you are getting eaten alive. I knew this going in, so I had lots of bug spray but nothing could fend off the sand flies

- Beach, or lack there of, not a big deal for us but if it was middle of summer it would have been a bummer

- Small kitchen, not a deal breaker, but it was hard to make large meals

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful spot for little kids

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time this past week at the property! Our kids range in age from 10 months to 6 years old, and there was something for everyone. The older kids enjoyed kayaking and the playground, and the little kids enjoyed the calm water, small beach, and running around the yard. As a parent it was nice to not have to worry about the kids running too far.

The only negative was the bugs- biting flies, moths, and mosquitoes that liked to ride on your clothing into the house. Luckily bug spray kept them mostly at bay.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

All water sports are available and enhanced by the shallow/calm/protected waters. Fishing is outstanding on our private beach, by taking a nearby chartered boat, or by bringing your own boat to dock/launch within minutes of our house. Lawn activities include badminton, horseshoes, and croquet.

And we consider R&R an activity too! Snooze in the bayside hammock or porch. Read a good book - we have many and encourage exchanges. Peer through our binoculars or telescope to see an abundance of waterfowl, distant merchant ships, Tangier and Smith Island - with a neat lighthouse - and take a cruise to the Islands too. And don't forget to visit Reedville - it's minutes away and has fascinating 19th century mansions, antiques, fine restaurants, an old-time ice-cream parlor, fisherman's museum, and lots more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Reedville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
LATE SUMMER
Aug 20 2016 - Oct 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,900
 
 
FALL 2016
Oct 15 2016 - Nov 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,300
 
 
OFF SEASON
Nov 16 2016 - Mar 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,900
 
 
SPRING
Mar 17 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,600
 
 
EARLY SUMMER
May 26 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,900
 
 
SUMMER
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,400
 
 
LATE SUMMER
Aug 26 2017 - Oct 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
$2,900
 
 
FALL - 2017
Oct 14 2017 - Nov 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$400
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 5.3%

ABOVE RATES ARE FOR MAIN HOUSE ONLY. Rates for both main house and guest house are:

Night Week

Fall - 2016..........$450 $2900

Off Season …..... $350 $2300

Spring ............. $500 $3200

Early Summer ...$550 $3600

Summer............$N/A $4800

Late Summer.....$550 $3600

Fall - 2017 ........$500 $3200

Holiday Rates for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year are $450/night and $2900/week for the main house and $550/night and $3600/week for both the main house and guest house

No Cleaning Fee

Linens Provided

Fully refundable $300 Damage Deposit is due with final payment and returned within 20 days after departure

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Reedville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Guesthouse Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 full baths
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Guesthouse Bunkroom - 2 Bunks, sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3), Cribs (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Inflatable Boat
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Raft
  • Tennis
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Waterfront seating with firepit, adirondack chairs, beachchairs, 3 kayaks, rafts, tubes, 4 bikes, deluxe kids playset/swings, hammock, porch and patio furniture, local catering is excellent and features BBQ and seafood.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties