check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lisa Gunter

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

BOOK NOW FOR THE FALL~Heaven in Highlands~THE WRIGHT COTTAGE~Email me!

14 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Highlands House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

The Wright Cottage is a perfect getway for a couple, a family, or group of friends. We've have a gas log fireplace to warm you after a day of shopping or hiking. And, we now have an outdoor fire bowl for you to enjoy! We are the BEST VALUE in Highlands!

This four bedroom/two bathroom vacation home--The Wright Cottage--is located in a serene setting near downtown Highlands and a short drive to Cashiers. This home is a perfect setting to relax and recharge in the pristine mountains of western North Carolina. The cottage is newly remodeled with all the features and amenities available at a tremendous rental value.

With hardwood floors throughout, the master bedroom suite features a king size bed with the full bath across the hall. The other downstairs bedroom has a twin bed. Upstairs features twin beds in one bedroom and a double bed in the other. In between, a completely renovated full bathroom serves upstairs guests. And, we have air conditioning for those unusually hot days in Highlands.

The cottage kitchen is fully furnished and you can dine at the bar, dining room or outside at the patio table. If you decide to pick up some steaks from Dusty’s Market and cook out, a grill is available for your use! After dinner, you can relax on the screened porch and enjoy the evening experience while you listen to the nocturnal chorus of whip-o-wills, tree frogs, and the occasional hoot of the great horned owl.

Whether you decide to curl up with a good book or spend the afternoon shopping in town, you will grow to love Highlands. Maybe you want to spend the afternoon wading in the cool water emanating from a nearby waterfall or hike on one of the many trails in the surrounding National Forest. Your Highlands vacation will be complete when you end the day with an evening picnic at the top of Sunset Mountain.

Small inside pets are welcome with a pet deposit.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lisa Gunter (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you so much for opening your lovely home to us. We have enjoyed it and appreciate your hospitality. It was perfect for our girls week!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 61

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

BOOK NOW FOR THE FALL~Heaven in Highlands~THE WRIGHT COTTAGE~Email me!
average rating of 4.571429 based on 75 reviews
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5

I had a wonderful stay! The cottage was clean and inviting and the view from the property is outstanding! So quiet and minutes from everything I needed in Highlands. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, Convenient and Clean!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here during our family vacation in Highlands. The cottage was clean and charming. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook every night. We made smores by the fire pit and just enjoyed the crisp mountain air. It is conveniently located to downtown and all the day hikes we could fit in. My family and I will definitely be back next year. We are already planning it!..

Germaine D'Aunoy

New Orleans, LA

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spring Hill, FL
4

Homey cabin

  • 4 of 5

This was a very comfortable place to stay for the week that we worked in Highlands, NC.

All the things we needed were available & we used the grill daily.

Loved that the water was HOT & you didn't have to wait long for it to get that way.

Appeared to be what was described & seen in the pictures. Relatively clean for a "rental" property.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a long weekend here and could not have been happier! The cabin was warm and inviting. The proximity to Highlands is ideal, less than a 5 minute drive. Lisa was easy to work with and responded quickly as we prepared for the trip. Next time we visit Highlands, this home will be top on our list.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Please tell your friends and neighbors about The Wright Cottage and come back soon! Lisa G
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Girls Weekend and Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5

When I thought about where I wanted to go celebrate my 60th birthday with my girlfriends there was no doubt and I immediately said "lets go back to the Wright cottage!" I have been here 2 other times with couples but I must say our girls weekend was awesome! We hiked White Mountain, shopped downtown and just enjoyed! We even had a dance party in the main living room. Lots of laughs and great memories created once again. Thank you for keeping your home a great place to come back to year after year!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We hope you and your friends come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cold Spring, NY
5

A Wonderful Visit at Wright Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We spent three nights in Wright Cottage prior to Thanksgiving and could not have been happier. It's a rustic, country cottage, but clean, spacious, very comfortable and more than we expected. We also had our dogs with us, and it was perfect having the privacy of the surroundings with no other houses close by. Lisa provided everything we needed to get in, and the other instructions were quite clear and helpful. We'll definitely be back in the coming year.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Downtown Highlands, NC
Car: necessary

Highlands, NC.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Highlands House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Rental Rates
Jan 31 2016 - Jan 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,000
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,000
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Highlands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Downstairs bathroom offer a tub/shower combination. Upstairs bathroom offers a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Downstairs 2nd bedroom - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Close to hiking and waterfalls.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties