Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Kelly Jo Kucirek

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beachfront Century Home Boasts A Million Dollar View

19 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more


Ohio House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 6-12

Welcome to your home for the week/weekend! The Beacon B&B/Vacation Rental at Lakeview Beach offers a relaxing stay directly across from Lakeview Beach and South Lakeview Park, facing the lighthouse with the neighboring beacon light flashing through the windows as if to guide and welcome you home! This classic century home with formal, yet warm and inviting, living/dining area and newly remodeled large open kitchen create a comfortable classy atmosphere for our guests. Enjoy morning strolls at the beach with hot coffee or walks through the historic rose garden or quaint well-maintained neighborhood. Relax and soak in the sunshine on the beach. Indulge in a massage with on-site LMT. Take it up a notch with countless activities: tennis, basketball, bike-riding, volleyball. Allow the breathtaking sunset over Lake Erie and the colorful fountain to set the mood for your evening as you take in the splendor with music and wine on the large front porch boasting a million dollar view!

The Beacon B&B is a century brick home located ACROSS the street from the Lighthouse that is pictured with that view of the Lighthouse and Beacon (for which the B&B is named). The Beacon B&B is currently being used as a vacation rental. There will be some extra special services expected in a B&B like fresh flowers, chocolates, etc. in addition, some select breakfast items along with a few toiletries are provided upon your arrival for your enjoyment during your first morning. But the home is rented to single families/groups so you will enjoy it privately! The price will be increasing for this coming season, but reflects renting the entire home for the week. The adjacent property is now available for vacation rental with the initial rates of The Beacon.

The 'Beacon B&B' is a classic century home and includes a more formal living/dining area with the warmth of 'old world/Tuscany' decor along the newly remodeled large, open kitchen creating a comfortable, classy and inviting atmosphere for our guests. Find quiet resting places in the 'Widow's Peak' in muted green tones overlooking the beach, with delightful doll house or relax with a book in the library in rich red and gold tones with decor seemingly inspired by voyages to Asia and Africa (This library doubles as a fourth sleeping room on the second floor).

The sleeping areas begin with the 'Captain's Quarters', a private second floor suite including a King bed with rich deep plum and brown hues, attached private bath, large bay window with full views of the beach and parks. 'Mermaid's Delight', a charming second floor bedroom includes a Queen bed with calming blue hues, delicate floral linens with a touch of gold and pink along with views of the beach and gardens and shares a large bath with whirlpool tub. 'Tranquility by the Sea' also on the second floor with a Queen bed wrapped in luxurious Park Avenue bedding in rich brown and blue tones and large shared bath directly across hall with whirlpool tub. 'Eagle's Nest' a suite located on the third floor with spectacular views of the lake and beach include a King bed with calming olive and navy decor, sleeper sofa, vanity area and private bath.

These four overnight stay rooms/suites and full access to the living areas and kitchen along with our pleasant host provide accommodations that truly make you feel at home.

'The Beacon' was built in the early 1900's directly facing the lighthouse with the neighboring beacon light flashing through the windows as if to guide and welcome you home! The large brick home withstood the damaging winds of the 1924 tornado. It provided a loving home to several families and at one point in the mid-1900's offered guest rooms as a tourist home. It sits proudly across from Lakeview Beach with its magnificent view of Lake Erie sunsets, along with the historic lighthouse, fountain and rose garden, as well as the newly reconstructed beach bathhouse that sits on the original foundation remaining from the tornado. This home's original garage was located under the large front porch as seen by the sills of the poured walls along the re-established driveway toward the front of the house. Most of the original woodwork and floors remain and grace the halls of this home that reminisce of a bygone era.

Ms. Kucirek acquired the property in 2003 after failing in love with the open airiness of the surrounding parks and magnificent full beach view. She is now happy to share this home and realize her dream of opening a B&B at Lakeview Beach. We are excited as we continue to complete renovations for each coming season with special rates and plan our Grand Opening upon completion of these improvements! We are happy to announce a major improvement ihas since been complete: the water pressure! The 'Eagle's Nest' on the third floor remains under renovation and is not available. A sleeper sofa was added to the library to provide a fourth private sleeping room for guests. We are a proud sponsor of Follow the Fish Arts and Adventure Trails, Lorain County.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kelly Jo Kucirek (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english


based on 19 traveler reviews

Beachfront Century Home Boasts A Million Dollar View
average rating of 4.1578946 based on 19 reviews


  • 5 of 5

I can't fully describe how pleased we were with your vacation home. We will definitely use your home again. Kelly was so nice and accommodating. It was a beautiful house as pictured. Its a great location in proximity to the beach. I can't wait until next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great for Christmas family stay

  • 5 of 5

Kathy is a very good host. Had flowers on dining table. Breakfast items so no need to shop for 1st morning. Property very clean and spacious. Great for relaxing with family. We lost a key and her son came over and got us into home. Very accommodating. It was cold outside but warm in the home. Great walks along a cold Lake Erie.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

This home was exactly what we needed. Plenty of room yet cozy enough to enjoy our new grandchild.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property & amenities deceiving & misrepresented!!

  • 2 of 5

We arrived and it wasn't like the pictures at all, the home was rough looking, run down...the "million dollar view" was very very deceiving, the light houses are miles away. There is a busy street between the home and the Lake Erie access.

Her description stated we would have a washing machine, so we packed light, we had NO washing machine on the property. No shampoos, No soaps as promised on her description. We traveled with our 9 and 11 year old girls, we were looking forward to the bikes she had listed as being there, NO bikes at all.

Lawn furniture was covered in dirt and green algae.

Front door we could not open, the handle fell off.

Bedroom doorknob, assembly fell apart, my husband had to fix on his own.

The jacuzzi was a joke, the motor didn't work at all!!! Plus couldn't hold water in the tub! Had to locate a kitchen cup to place upside down to hold the water in while we bathed. Multiple places thru the house were missing sections of drywall and had Styrofoam stuffed in the holes.

Garbage disposal didn't work. I had to text her twice about the shampoos and soaps, we finally went out and bought some.

while we were there

I contacted Kelly numerous times and she did offer to let me use the washer next door on our last day there. She had her daughter in law bring us the shampoos and soaps on our 2nd day there.

She did have muffins and fruit for us, but we would of much rather of had the amenities we were expecting . She promised us some type of partial refund for all the trouble we had and the amenities she didn't have for us but was promised on her site. Its been over a month and WE HAVE YET TO SEE ANY TYPE OF REIMBURSEMENT!! I even sent her emails asking when we would receive money back...she aways had an excuse, I've waited 30 plus days to give this review in hopes of her making it all right. Im hoping I can save the next family from being disappointed on their family vacation like we were.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was surprised at your initial comments regarding the home. Why? Because here are the texts you sent during your first day even AFTER we discussed the laundry situation: "beautiful home! Love it here!" Then AFTER mentioning the missing shampoo, etc and I let you know I would have some dropped off as it was an oversight, and your next text: "awesome! Thank you again. Our girls are in heaven with this house. Lol can't stop talking about everything :-)" As promised, I mailed a small refund to show I appreciated you bringing to my attention some discrepancies on my website, which I have since edited. I realize you were hoping for a night refund since you had to shorten your trip at last minute. But like most properties, I have a 30 day refund policy. I did advise you that it would be 30 days before I could address your refund. Additionally after many of your "threats" to leave a poor review based on any refund or lack thereof, I let you know the refund I was sending was a matter of good faith on my part as I felt it was the right thing to do...and that I was not willing to " buy" a good review, so I told you to do what you needed to do concerning your review. I remain confident that I provide a beautiful, comfortable home in an amazing location for a very fair price. As improvements continue to be completed, the price will increase accordingly, but will remain competitive. I continue to appreciate any constructive criticism as my aim is to continue to make improvements to provide my guests with a memorable stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. The owner made us feel very welcome. She provided breakfast supplies so we didn't have to go to the store immediately.

The only downside for older people is the stairs to the bedrooms. There are no bedrooms downstairs. Otherwise the stay was extremely nice.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great location, excellent value!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful home across from the Lakeview beach. Comfortable accommodations and the owner is easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Cleveland Hopkins International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Jackalope Lakeside
Nearest Ferry
1.2 Miles
Jet Express
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Fox Creek Golf and Racquet Club
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Rose Cafe at Lakeview Beach
Nearest Ski
43 Miles
Boston Mills/Brandywine Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Lakeview Beach
Car: recommended

Enjoy a myriad of activities from our location at Lakeview Beach and South Lakeview Park, Lorain, OH, or venture out a short distance East or West along Lake Erie as we sit midway between Cleveland and Sandusky (home of Cedar Point Amusement Park) Make it a point to begin with morning strolls at the beach with hot coffee, or walks through the historic rose garden or quaint well-maintained neighborhood. Relax and soak in the sunshine on the beach. Indulge in a massage with on-site LMT. Take it up a notch with countless activities: tennis, basketball, bike-riding, volleyball (park or beach). Allow the breathtaking sunset over Lake Erie and the colorful fountain to set the mood for your evening as you take in the splendor with music and wine on the large front porch which boasts a million dollar view.

Spend your vacation at the beach or enjoy a variety of packages including Romantic Getaways, Girl's Night Out, Wine Tasting at Sunset, Wedding packages.

In addition we can assist in planning local activities i.e., sunset cruises/river tours; wineries; Cedar Point; Cleveland museums/concerts/sporting events; Jet Express to the islands; charter boat/fishing. We will provide you with current schedules for our festivals, cruises, local farmer's market, Black River Concert Series, and Music Under the Stars. Sports enthusiasts will enjoy our beach volleyball tournaments, triathlons, and kayakathon and we gladly open our doors to the participants! Boaters will appreciate our two local marinas: Spitzer Lakeside, Spitzer Riverside and Beaver Park. Shoppers will savor our nearby towns of Vermilion, Amherst, Avon and Oberlin.

Lorain is home to the International Festival and Port Fest at Black River Landing and its downtown is soon to be added as a 'Main Street' restoration project.

We welcome guests of events held across the street at the Rose Cafe, or a few minutes away at Black River Landing or Antlers Grand Ballroom. We can arrange convenient unique setting for corporate, private or club parties, weddings, reunions and retreats. We can plan your whole event including just about anything you desire from flowers to limousine service. We can make it happen!

We are conveniently located on Lake Erie, Lorain, OH, less than an hour and midway between Cleveland and Sandusky (Cedar Point/Put in Bay) on SR 6 with easy access to SR 2/I-90 and I-80. We are 2 hours from Detroit and Columbus.


Rates & Availability

Lorain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 20 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100
Tax Rate 6.0%

Standard rate is for single room occupancy only (2 guests maximum), otherwise seasonal rates apply. $750-995/week. $100.00 cleaning fee, 6% bed tax
Rates range from $750-995/week based on season and number of guests/rooms. Daily and weekend rates available ($89-175/night; $270-350/weekend)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Ohio House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1940 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Lake
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Piano
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Communication / Internet:
  • fax
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Events Allowed
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Massage
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote