check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

owner/manager

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

The Abbey (John B. McCreary), a Victorian Beach House Rental

6 Reviews
Sleeps24
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms9
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Village Green House Rental Photos and Description

House, 9 bedrooms, 9.5 bathrooms, sleeps 20-26

This historic gem is the most photographed home in Cape May. Built in 1869 by a wealthy Pennsylvania coal baron, John McCreary, its architecture is a mix of Victorian elegance meeting Gothic Revival. Architect Stephen Button designed this beautiful Gothic villa to feature a 60' tower. He also designed her with stenciled and ruby glass arched windows. This home features 4 large public rooms, 9 bedrooms and 9 1/2 baths (mixture of double beds, queen and single beds), all richly decorated with antiques, chandeliers, mahogany trim, beautiful wallpaper and Persian rugs. Shaded verandas and porches offer relaxing spaces for reading, watching the horse-drawn carriages go by or enjoying the summer breezes. Our location in the heart of Cape May's historic district puts you within walking distance of great shopping, restaurants, art galleries and, of course, our wonderful beaches and cool Atlantic Ocean.

There is on-site parking for 10 cars and a large side yard for bbqs, games, and family gatherings and more. A large modern kitchen renovated in 2012 features granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, custom cabinetry and new flooring. All bathrooms have undergone renovation as well.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
owner/manager (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

I wanted to thank all of you for all that you did to support a marvelous family vacation for my mother-in-law and the families of her five adult children. We sat down to amazing dinners in the dining room every evening, and every day we enjoyed the incredible house, the beach, the birds, biking, shopping, sitting on the porch, and playing badminton in the yard.
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 6 traveler reviews

The Abbey (John B. McCreary), a Victorian Beach House Rental
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
5

Celebration Week at The Abbey

  • 5 of 5

Wow - What a wonderful celebration week we enjoyed at the Abbey! My family traveled from PA, GA and Texas to enjoy a family reunion at the Jersey Shore! We were celebrating my mom's 80th birthday and my parents 60th Wedding Anniversary. The Abbey was the perfect spot for a vacation! A short walk to both the water and the town-what could be better!? The updated kitchen areas were spectacular as we made many meals and enjoyed them at the long dining table. One night we ate outside at the 3 round picnic tables-another great spot! The Abbey is full of history and beauty. I have to say that the flowers all around the house were spectacular! Every morning we had our coffee on one of the porches so we could enjoy the flowers! Cocktails were enjoyed there as well!

Thank you to the owner, Barbara, who graciously answered all of my questions that I emailed before our trip!

The memories from The Abbey will live on in my heart!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are very welcome - it was a pleasure hosting your family at The Abbey, and it is always most gratifying to hear that the house and grounds served you so well, and that you take long-lasting memories with you. Thank you for caring so well for the property. I hope you will come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Jersey
5

Staying at THE ABBEY, a surreal experience

  • 5 of 5

Most of us are very familiar with Cape May. We have had our Female Family Reunion in Cape May for years, enjoying each place we have stayed. When we realized The Abbey was now a full house rental, we were ecstatic, who would ever think that would be possible in the most well-known historical B+B (now house rental)?!

This year, there were 24 of us in this 9 Bedroom 9 Bath home. It was perfect for us! Usually we shop a lot and busy ourselves with all the attractions in Cape May, but not this time. The accommodations were so special, that we all just hung out at the house. One of those nights, we had a catered barbecue (Kara Restaurant Group), it was wonderful.

The Abbey has been completely renovated/restored. The furniture , all beautiful antiques, the special touches are through out the entire home. The kitchen + butler's pantry, both modern & fabulous! There is nothing to not love!! The price is reasonable + great location! You won't be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure working with your group, and I look forward to working with you again. Thank you for your care of the property during your stay and for leaving it in such beautiful condition. I am so glad you made such good memories and that the house served you so well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gladwyne, PA
5

Victorian Gem in heart of Cape May

  • 5 of 5

We recently rented this nine bedroom, nine bath house for four days so that friends and family from near and far could see our daughter in a play at East Lynn Theater. The house is the most photographed in Cape May - a real Victorian gem that was completely renovated about a year ago. We have rented houses for about 30 years and have never rented one the was so well equipped. The house is beautifully decorated with period furnishings and the fully up to date kitchen is well designed for entertaining! We used every bedroom - and also had a successful party for the cast and crew of the play. Everyone found that the house, in addition to being beautiful inside and out, was also quite comfortable and practical for a large group. The owner is very accommodating, and there is a linen service that delivers just what you need to the house before you arrive. I could not recommend this property more highly.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a delight working with you and hosting your group at The Abbey. I am so pleased the house accommodated you so well - I am most appreciative, too, of your respectful care of the property. I hope you will consider returning!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Annual family outing a success

  • 5 of 5

Our rather large family has been vacationing in Cape May for years. The Abbey was absolutely perfect for us - the large double kitchen area was a life saver, the large front porch and yard were perfect for lounging, and of course having all of the individual rooms with private baths was outstanding. Being able to park all of our cars easily was a definite plus, and the location near the beach and center of town was ideal. Highly recommend the property - we will definitely be renting again.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Receiving testimonials like this makes all that we put into lovingly restoring this property and modifying it to host large families all the while keeping the historic charm worth it all! Thank you for caring so well for the property, and we are so very glad you will be returning!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
5

Perfect Historic Cape May Home!

  • 5 of 5

The Abbey is the perfect rental for large families!

This amazing historic home has 9 bedrooms and 91/2 bathrooms.

Our entire family was very comfortable with air conditioning in every bedroom and throughout the entire home. We vacationed during a very hot week and everyone was cool and comfortable.

The two modern kitchens were a treasure! They became the focal point, as most kitchens do, of our nightly dinners and celebrations! The owners equipped the kitchens with all the comforts of home.

The enormous front porch and spacious lawns provided our family with room to quietly read books or enjoy lawn games together.

The Abbey is perfectly located on a quiet street; walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. We seldom needed to take our cars out of the 10 car parking lot the entire week.

We have looked and stayed at many homes in Cape May, but never have we found one that truly met our family's needs. We hope The Abbey will be our yearly get away for many years to come!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always gratifying to hear that our Abbey guests were able to enjoy a wonderful family vacation and make great memories - we look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Olney, Maryland
5

Amazing trip!

  • 5 of 5

The Abbey is a breathtakingly beautiful house that is well kept and managed. It is a perfect blend of an authentic historical experience and modern convenience. We were very pleased with everything it had to offer.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always grateful when our guests are comfortable and able to spend time together making memories - we hope you will return!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Village Green House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Jan 1-April 1
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
$4,800
 
 
April 1-May 13
Apr 2 2017 - May 13 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
$6,000
 
 
May 13-Jun 10
May 14 2017 - Jun 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
$7,500
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$4,200
Flat fee
 
 
Jun 10-17
Jun 11 2017 - Jun 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
$8,900
 
 
Jun 17-24
Jun 18 2017 - Jun 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$9,800
 
 
June 24-July 15
Jun 25 2017 - Jul 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$11,500
 
 
July 15-Aug 12
Jul 16 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$12,500
 
 
Aug 12-19
Aug 13 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$11,500
 
 
Aug 19-26
Aug 20 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$9,500
 
 
Aug 26-Sept 2
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$8,400
 
 
Sept 2-30
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
$6,800
 
 
Sept 30-Oct 21
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
$5,900
 
 
Oct 21-Dec 31
Oct 22 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
$4,800
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$4,500
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$4,500
Flat fee
 
 
New Years
Dec 29 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$4,500
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Lease Processing $25

From $1200/night or $4800-$12,000/wk
2016
Jan 1-Apr 2: $4800/week; $5800/holiday week; $1200/night except New Years: $1500/night
Apr 2-May 14: $6000/week; $1200/night
May 14-June 11: $7500/week; $1200 (Memorial Day weekend $1300/night)
June 11-18: $8900/week
June 18-25: $9800/week
June 25-July 16: $11,500/week
July 16-Aug 6: $12,500/week
Aug 6-Aug 20: $11,500/week
Aug 20-Aug 27: $9,500/week
Aug 27-Sept 3: $8400/week; $1400night for Labor Day weekend
Sept 3-Oct 1: $6800/week; $7800/holiday week $1200/night
Oct 1-Oct 22: $5900/week, $6900/week; $1200/night
Oct 22-Dec 31: $4800/week; $5800/holiday week; $1200/night except Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years: $1500/night

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Village Green House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 9 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 8 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 9 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 10 - toilet
    Half Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 8 - 2 double
    Bedroom 9 - 1 double
  • Every bedroom has its own private bath. There is a queen sleep sofa in the front parlor and a queen sleep sofa in the library. A full bath on the first floor will be accessible for these sleeping areas.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 12 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties