Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gulf Front 5BR Home w/ large Deck

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 2,184 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 14

Long to be looking at the beach? Your wish is our command! Lookin' at the Beach was made for relaxing and reconnecting with the sea. The virtually wall to wall windows beckon you outside onto the covered 12-foot deep deck to experience the sights and sounds of the surf. The open living area has cable TV and wireless internet and flows into the kitchen. Also downstairs are two bedrooms. One has a queen bed and the other has two twin beds. They share a full bath. For your convenience, there is a full-sized washer and dryer.

A unique feature of this home is a spiral staircase leading directly to the master bedroom. This private oasis has a king bed, private bath with whirlpool tub and separate shower and opens onto a spacious balcony. The second of three bedrooms upstairs, accessed by a traditional staircase, has a queen bed, opens onto the balcony and comes equipped with a small kitchenette! The third bedroom, perfect for the kids, has two sets of bunk beds for a total of 4 twin beds. These two bedrooms share a full bath.

And if you have a really large group, we have another home, Sunflower, right next door that sleeps 16 more! Parking is no problem--there is room for up to 8 cars in the driveway and under the house. Lookin' at the Beach is close to everything Gulf Shores has to offer and we look forward to sharing it with you soon!

**Available to families and age 25+ groups to occupy.**

Lookin at the Beach is located at 1869 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542.

More Details

Property Manager
RelaxontheBeach
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2017

About RelaxontheBeach

My name is Kevin Wendelburg. I am a property owner, a real estate investor, and an Alabama real estate agent committed to 100% customer satisfaction. I will strive to under-promise and over-deliver with everything that I do. Hard work, personal responsibility, and an over achieving desire to provide the best product on the market are the cornerstones of my business, RelaxontheBeach.

I started RelaxontheBeach in 2004 because I knew that the vacation rental/property management business in Gulf Shores needed a complete overhaul. I purchased my first beach house in the early 2000's and immediately listed it with one of the larger property management firms in town. While I was thrilled that the house rented as well as it did, I was not happy with the draconian commission structure, poor cleaning standards, and slipshod maintenance.

I began to advertise and manage my property on my own and I doubled rental revenue in the first 24 months of owning the property.

Neighbors took note. I received phone calls. I received emails. How in the world, they wondered, was I able to generate so much traffic? Every weekend there was a car in my driveway. 'Simple' I said, 'treat every customer like family.'

The personal touch makes all the difference. Our potential guests are personally greeted by a knowledgeable representative. Our quality control director takes pride in the condition of all of our properties and ensures that our thorough cleanliness standards are met. We have a full maintenance department that does its best to address any maintenance concerns quickly.

We strive to provide guests with all the creature comforts of home. All RelaxontheBeach properties feature high speed Internet access and cable television. Many are pet friendly!

We want you to feel like you are getting a tremendous value for your vacation dollar. We want you to come back, and we want you to tell your friends. Give us a try. A great vacation awaits!

Why RelaxontheBeach chose Alabama Gulf Coast

I chose to buy a vacation rental house in Gulf Shores for a variety of reasons....the people are absolutely fantastic! Southern hospitality doesn't even begin to tell the entire story. From the waitresses with constant smiles on their faces, to the deep sea fishing boat captains with endless stories to tell, coastal Alabama can't be beat!

The beaches are the best in the world. Period. The finest white sand and the bluest turquoise waters await each and every guest. Need I say more?

World class golf is available in spades. Try your luck at Kiva Dunes, a perennial top 10 in the state of Alabama and ranked in Golf Digest's 'places to play' for an unforgettable links experience on the Gulf of Mexico. If you have a more traditional American layout in mind, the Peninsula Golf Club, with its 27 manicured holes and GPS loaded carts is terrific.

Anyone say 'fresh seafood?' You can't go wrong at any of our restaurants. Try 'Bahama Bobs' for the fresh catch of the day. The lunch specials are to die for. Its hard not to enjoy a meal when the majestic waters of the Gulf can be seen from your table!

Guestbook comments from the manager

The house was very clean, very comfortable, directly on the beach. It's a wonderful way to spend time with family and/or friends. The management company was VERY helpful and prompt if there were any issues. Try it, you might like it! We hoped to return there next year. The home exceeded our expectations. We could not have been happier with the house and the location!!! Relax on the Beach staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

John was exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 2 Bunk beds
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
MUST BE AT LEAST 25 YEARS OLD TO RENT THIS PROPERTY.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Gulf Front 5BR Home w/ large Deck
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 25 reviews
Georgetown, IN
5

Will never stay in a hotel again!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great time! House was not to far from all the attractions but far enough where are beach was not over crowded! Will definitely book again!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Having your own space really does make a difference at the beach, doesn't it?! Please come back and do some more 'lookin at the beach' soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

If you overlook the little things, it's perfect

  • 3 of 5

We absolutely loved the location! Close to everything. But the rental overall wasn't very clean. As soon as we walked in the door we noticed the counters were dirty. When we made breakfast the first morning, 75% of the silverware was dirty as well. In the bedrooms with full/king beds there was some thing on the comforters. The shower in the "master" makes a noise when it comes on, two lights bulbs were out in the bathroom as well. In the 2nd bedroom bathroom the hot water in the shower barely worked. Another thing is all the upstairs rooms are connected, which doesn't leave a lot of room for privacy. Some of the slates on the deck are loose and could be problem if you have adventurous little ones. The t.v. in the living room would only show black & white and the only room with a cable box. Other rooms have t.v./DVD & 1-3 channels. The Wi-Fi was slow and at times spotty. There was plenty of parking and the view couldn't be beat. All in all for the price we paid, the location was perfect. Just wish there wasn't so many little issues!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Pleasant Stay

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The home served its purpose of having the kids on Spring Break. Unfortunately, the floors of the home were not slept and the carpet was not vacuumed upon our arrival. I call and spoke w/ a Thomas the evening of our arrival and he suggested I call back in the morning. I called back in the morning, had to leave a voice message b/c no one answered and no one ever came out during our entire stay. The outside lights to the upstairs porches did not work and the vent over the stove did not work. One or two stove burners were slow to turn on. The upstairs master bath makes a loud noise when the shower is turned on; reminded me of cast iron pipes in an old home, but probably the low flow water pressure shower head. The kitchen knives were dull. And the glass doors, windows to the ocean view, could use a major cleaning.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

the view was the best part

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The view was wonderful. The house not so much. The first day we got in we found dog and human hair on the master pillows and bedding. It took 5 phone calls and 1.5 hours of arguing to get them tell me someone would be out to clean "again". Not to mention the comforter in the master had a whole it it. Which was never replaced the whole time we were there. Now on to other matters we had maintain we issues from the get go. Like screws sticking out around windows and doors on the back porch(I'm sure for hurricane covers) but with a two year old running around this was a concern. There was a fly trap hanging in the kitchen with dead flies on it, a torn up rug sitting at the bottom and to the left of the stairs. The plumbing in the master bath rattled so loud everyone could hear it in the house and the floor shook while in shower because of it. The light in the upstairs hallway did not work. Water pressure in all bathrooms was minimum. What the do not tell you is that it is right next to a public access to the beach so we had to fight for a place to set or stuff up daily. There were big Cracker crumbs on the counter from the last guest or the cleaners. Cleaning came the first night and changed all bedding. Maintain a was suppose to show up the next day. When I text the office manager 2 days later that they had not shown up the only response I got was she would see were we were on the list. I am guessing we were pretty far down as the did not show up the whole week we were there.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you were unhappy. I do believe that our perspectives differ a wee bit. First, there was no arguing on our part. You called Guest Services and were told that cleaners would be over shortly to do whatever you wanted. They arrived within an hour of your call. They did find dog hair on a pillow sham, but changed all of the linens and gave you more towels so you would be comfortable. I am sorry about the "whole" in the comforter -- we recognize that the comforter should be replaced, but we need the owners to agree before we can replace things in their home. The cleaners removed the fly trap and placed it in the trash and brushed off the few crumbs that were found under the toaster on the counter. As for the screws, our maintenance person was notified, but as we are a small company with a small staff, sometimes there are more pressing issues he has to address first. We do appreciate your letting us know. I am not sure where the rug came from, and I do wish we had the ability to reduce the plumbing noise and improve water pressure, but I believe that is a function of the way the home is built. I wouldn't think the public access would be much of a problem this far down the beach. There is minimal traffic on this end of the island.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
3

Needs some help

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The local is great - porch great! However, new, more comfortable furniture is desperately needed! The sofa & chairs are terribly uncomfortable we could hardly sit on the furniture it was so soft. The bathroom downstairs needs a redo i.e. The bathtub & sink - new shower head in master bathroom.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Cordova, TN
5

Cordova Tn

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property was right on the beach which was great. The only problem we had was with the stove there was 2 burners out but was fixed with in an hour of me calling about the problem. All in all it was a great time.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties