check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Gulf Front 5BR Beach Home

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 - 6 nights

Description

Gulf Shores House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 14

Long to be looking at the beach? Your wish is our command! Lookin' at the Beach was made for relaxing and reconnecting with the sea. The virtually wall to wall windows beckon you outside onto the covered 12-foot deep deck to experience the sights and sounds of the surf. The open living area has cable TV and wireless internet and flows into the kitchen. Also downstairs are two bedrooms. One has a queen bed and the other has two twin beds. They share a full bath. For your convenience, there is a full-sized washer and dryer.

A unique feature of this home is a spiral staircase leading directly to the master bedroom. This private oasis has a king bed, private bath with whirlpool tub and separate shower and opens onto a spacious balcony. The second of three bedrooms upstairs, accessed by a traditional staircase, has a queen bed, opens onto the balcony and comes equipped with a small kitchenette! The third bedroom, perfect for the kids, has two sets of bunk beds for a total of 4 twin beds. These two bedrooms share a full bath.

And if you have a really large group, we have another home, Sunflower, right next door that sleeps 16 more! Parking is no problem--there is room for up to 8 cars in the driveway and under the house. Lookin' at the Beach is close to everything Gulf Shores has to offer and we look forward to sharing it with you soon!

Lookin at the Beach is located at 1869 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
RelaxontheBeach
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2016
Call Manager

About RelaxontheBeach

My name is Kevin Wendelburg. I am a property owner, a real estate investor, and an Alabama real estate agent committed to 100% customer satisfaction. I will strive to under-promise and over-deliver with everything that I do. Hard work, personal responsibility, and an over achieving desire to provide the best product on the market are the cornerstones of my business, RelaxontheBeach.

I started RelaxontheBeach in 2004 because I knew that the vacation rental/property management business in Gulf Shores needed a complete overhaul. I purchased my first beach house in the early 2000's and immediately listed it with one of the larger property management firms in town. While I was thrilled that the house rented as well as it did, I was not happy with the draconian commission structure, poor cleaning standards, and slipshod maintenance.

I began to advertise and manage my property on my own and I doubled rental revenue in the first 24 months of owning the property.

Neighbors took note. I received phone calls. I received emails. How in the world, they wondered, was I able to generate so much traffic? Every weekend there was a car in my driveway. 'Simple' I said, 'treat every customer like family.'

The personal touch makes all the difference. Our potential guests are personally greeted by a knowledgeable representative. Our quality control director takes pride in the condition of all of our properties and ensures that our thorough cleanliness standards are met. We have a full maintenance department that does its best to address any maintenance concerns quickly.

We strive to provide guests with all the creature comforts of home. All RelaxontheBeach properties feature high speed Internet access and cable television. Many are pet friendly!

We want you to feel like you are getting a tremendous value for your vacation dollar. We want you to come back, and we want you to tell your friends. Give us a try. A great vacation awaits!

Why RelaxontheBeach chose Alabama Gulf Coast

I chose to buy a vacation rental house in Gulf Shores for a variety of reasons....the people are absolutely fantastic! Southern hospitality doesn't even begin to tell the entire story. From the waitresses with constant smiles on their faces, to the deep sea fishing boat captains with endless stories to tell, coastal Alabama can't be beat!

The beaches are the best in the world. Period. The finest white sand and the bluest turquoise waters await each and every guest. Need I say more?

World class golf is available in spades. Try your luck at Kiva Dunes, a perennial top 10 in the state of Alabama and ranked in Golf Digest's 'places to play' for an unforgettable links experience on the Gulf of Mexico. If you have a more traditional American layout in mind, the Peninsula Golf Club, with its 27 manicured holes and GPS loaded carts is terrific.

Anyone say 'fresh seafood?' You can't go wrong at any of our restaurants. Try 'Bahama Bobs' for the fresh catch of the day. The lunch specials are to die for. Its hard not to enjoy a meal when the majestic waters of the Gulf can be seen from your table!

Guestbook comments from the manager

The house was very clean, very comfortable, directly on the beach. It's a wonderful way to spend time with family and/or friends. The management company was VERY helpful and prompt if there were any issues. Try it, you might like it! We hoped to return there next year. The home exceeded our expectations. We could not have been happier with the house and the location!!! Relax on the Beach staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

John was exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Gulf Front 5BR Beach Home
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 22 reviews
2

the view was the best part

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The view was wonderful. The house not so much. The first day we got in we found dog and human hair on the master pillows and bedding. It took 5 phone calls and 1.5 hours of arguing to get them tell me someone would be out to clean "again". Not to mention the comforter in the master had a whole it it. Which was never replaced the whole time we were there. Now on to other matters we had maintain we issues from the get go. Like screws sticking out around windows and doors on the back porch(I'm sure for hurricane covers) but with a two year old running around this was a concern. There was a fly trap hanging in the kitchen with dead flies on it, a torn up rug sitting at the bottom and to the left of the stairs. The plumbing in the master bath rattled so loud everyone could hear it in the house and the floor shook while in shower because of it. The light in the upstairs hallway did not work. Water pressure in all bathrooms was minimum. What the do not tell you is that it is right next to a public access to the beach so we had to fight for a place to set or stuff up daily. There were big Cracker crumbs on the counter from the last guest or the cleaners. Cleaning came the first night and changed all bedding. Maintain a was suppose to show up the next day. When I text the office manager 2 days later that they had not shown up the only response I got was she would see were we were on the list. I am guessing we were pretty far down as the did not show up the whole week we were there.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you were unhappy. I do believe that our perspectives differ a wee bit. First, there was no arguing on our part. You called Guest Services and were told that cleaners would be over shortly to do whatever you wanted. They arrived within an hour of your call. They did find dog hair on a pillow sham, but changed all of the linens and gave you more towels so you would be comfortable. I am sorry about the "whole" in the comforter -- we recognize that the comforter should be replaced, but we need the owners to agree before we can replace things in their home. The cleaners removed the fly trap and placed it in the trash and brushed off the few crumbs that were found under the toaster on the counter. As for the screws, our maintenance person was notified, but as we are a small company with a small staff, sometimes there are more pressing issues he has to address first. We do appreciate your letting us know. I am not sure where the rug came from, and I do wish we had the ability to reduce the plumbing noise and improve water pressure, but I believe that is a function of the way the home is built. I wouldn't think the public access would be much of a problem this far down the beach. There is minimal traffic on this end of the island.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Needs some help

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The local is great - porch great! However, new, more comfortable furniture is desperately needed! The sofa & chairs are terribly uncomfortable we could hardly sit on the furniture it was so soft. The bathroom downstairs needs a redo i.e. The bathtub & sink - new shower head in master bathroom.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cordova, TN
5

Cordova Tn

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The property was right on the beach which was great. The only problem we had was with the stove there was 2 burners out but was fixed with in an hour of me calling about the problem. All in all it was a great time.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rome, GA
3

Week stay was "ok" !!!

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location was excellent. The house is nice but seriously needs to be updated and have repairs. Carpeting was dirty, we fought ants in kitchen and dining room the entire week, shower head came off, shower pipes made loud noises, screen to balcony torn and in bad shape, towel racks barely hanging on the wall, no grill (in fact I bought one and left for the next renters), no hose outside to wash feet (in fact I bought one and left for the next renters, clothes dryer would not cut off....house needs a make over. First night we are there the upstairs commode stops up as soon as we checked in...took plumber to 10:00 pm to fix. Owners need to install a "shower" at beach side stairs for renters to wash off sand. Would not recommend unless both issues are completely resolved....especially for the rate we paid.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Royse City, TX
1

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location and access to the beach was great but that was the only plus to this house. The maintenance on this house was extremely below par. Emailed first day and property management company arrived immediately and closed window to bedroom. (Ladder required to closed from the outside). Fixed lights under home (driveway) none were working. Emailed 2nd day - light in 2nd bedroom blew out and others in home needed replaced. Did not get a response or a call back. ROACHES - the house was loaded and needs exterminated. This was disgusting!!!!! Ceiling fans had dust hanging off them and probably had not been cleaned in 6+ months. Multiple lights burned out inside home. Master bath - loud pipe noise, poor water pressure, toilet handle hangs, towel hooks pulled from door, shower rod pulled from wall. 2nd Bath upstairs - shower door won't close. Must lift up and pull. Bedroom down stairs - POOR lighting - only small lamp. Closets - nothing folded and stored neatly - all items crammed and tossed on floor. NO mop in house. I purchased one and left for next guest. I purchased door mats and also left for next guest. Refrigerator makes loud noise. Dryer makes noise constantly. I sent all this information previously to you on the app link we used during our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Owner's Response: This house has been rented all season. This house is cleaned before each arrival. Each of our houses are on a quarterly exterminated plan. Light bulbs go out even after all are checked. This is an older beach house but it is on the white sandy beaches of Gulf Shores.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Needs updating, in a bad way

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Nothing says welcome to Gulf Shores like walking up the stairs of your rental property on the first day of your weeks stay and seeing dirty, frayed carpeting outside the front door. Ok, you say, its outside, not big deal. Walking into the house, you look down the hall and you see dustmites littering the hallway, obviously the house was not cleaned before you arrived. I believe the house sat empty the week before we arrived, so why would you need to clean it again, right? I go up the stairs to drop off bags and hear a loud "are you kidding me" yelled from downstairs. I hurry down and find my wife staring at the kitchen sink which has a stream of ants marching across it. I read prior reviews that talked about how dated the furniture was, and I figured it was just "high expectations" of the reviewer. Well, I was wrong. This house needs some serious updating and I would never stay here again nor would I recommend to anyone I know to stay here. Even after my mother-in-law cleaned it, it still felt that aged dirty feel to it. Wallpaper hanging off bathroom walls, the screen door of the master suite balcony having a huge rip in it, just not kept up well. I used the app to notify the management company of the ant issue and also to let them know several light bulbs were out and I never heard anything from them. Even as we sit here 2 months later, I still have not received any communication from them. Overall disappointment.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Relax on the Beach
Owner's Response: This is an older beach house and does need some updating. This house is sprayed every quarter and in between as needed. The house is cleaned after every guests departs.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Gulf Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2184 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 2 Bunk beds
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
MUST BE AT LEAST 25 YEARS OLD TO RENT THIS PROPERTY.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers