check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Sally Sutherland

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Walk to Barton Springs Pool Zilker Park, and Local Eateries!

21 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Austin House Rental Photos and Description

Great 2 bedroom 1.5 bath with sleeper sofa. Can accommodate up to 6 guests.

Available for ACL Festival! Contact me for details!

Stroll to Zilker Park, Lady Bird Lake Hike and Bike Trail, Barton Creek Greenbelt, Barton Springs Pool & Local Eats!

Fantastic 2 bedroom 1.5 bath home located in Zilker neighborhood for your Austin vacation pleasure!

Short stroll to Zilker Park, Lady Bird Lake, Hike and Bike Trail, Barton Creek Greenbelt, Barton Springs Pool, local restaurants, shops and Austin local nightlife. 5 minute cab ride to downtown and South Congress. 2 bus stops within 8-10 minute walk.

2 free reserved driveway parking spots plus street parking.

2 patios and 1 balconies for hanging out, grilling and relaxing. Enjoy the firepit on cool nights. You will definitely see several birds and squirrels playing in the trees.

Master bedroom has a private balcony, outfitted with comfortable queen bed, coffee maker and a tree lined views.

Second bedroom outfitted with two twin beds and dark curtains for a enjoyable nights sleep.

Restful sleeper sofa in the living area to accommodate the 5th and 6th guests.

City of Austin Short Term Rental Rules and Regulations - Special Notes:

1) Property Owner Contact Information:

Sally Sutherland 512-653-9044

Scott Sutherland -512-925-0783

(2) occupancy limits applicable under Section 25-2-511 (Dwelling Unit Occupancy Limit) – not more than 6 unrelated adults per property per stay.

(3) Notice - restrictions on noise applicable under Chapter 9-2 (Noise and Amplified Sound), including limitations on the use of amplified sound

Per City of Austin Noise Ordinance – No loud noises between the hours of 10 pm and 10 am. Loud noise is anything that would constitute a disturbance of any kind from neighbors or Austin Police or Code Compliance.

(4) Parking 2 dedicated paved driveway parking spaces at this property

(5) Trash collection schedule

Trash cans to be placed on curbs 5 ft apart on Monday evenings and can returned to designated area on Tuesday evenings.

(6) information on relevant burn bans - Until further notice The City of Austin is under a strict burn ban. Fires of any kind are not permitted at this property

(7) information on relevant water restrictions – Until further notice the City of Austin is under a strict water restriction.

(8) information on applicable requirements ADA – None

(9) Short Term Rental License and Information Packet

Copy of City of Austin Short Term Rental information packet is posted on refrigerator and inside the guest welcome book

OL-2012-103436

Please contact Sally Sutherland @ 512-653-9044 with any questions.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sally Sutherland (Property Manager)
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Sally Sutherland

Sally is a true Austinite! Scott, her husband moved to Austin in 2007 from Dallas. They love the Austin trails, lakes, food & all the entertainment Austin has to offer year-round. Sally and Scott specialize in Austin Real Estate and personally manage their vacation rental properties

Sally Sutherland purchased this house in 2010

Why Sally Sutherland chose Austin

This property was designed by known architect Alan Taniguchi. His grandfather, Isamu Taniguchi designed the Japanese Garden at the Zilker Botanical Gardens.

Taniguchi specifically designed the property to bring the outdoors inside. The patio space and balconies will prove just that.

Guestbook comments from the manager

My friends and I come to Austin once a year, and have rented several places of various kinds, this was an nice affordable option. The house is located in a nice quiet neighborhood just up the hill from everything we wanted to see and do in Austin! Excellent find!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

4.7
based on 21 traveler reviews

Walk to Barton Springs Pool Zilker Park, and Local Eateries!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 28 reviews
5

Best location in the city

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for a month and everything was exactly as stated. It is an easy walk to Zilker Park and Lady Bird Lake.

Sally was so friendly and always available for any questions I had and anyone that choose this property will def not be disappointed.

If I ever come back to Austin this is certainly where I will stay.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved having you, your husband and your lovely dog stay at our property! Thank you so much for staying and please look us up next time you are in Austin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX
5

Great location and beautiful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

This place was great with easy access to Zilker walking trail within mins. Great for morning walks. Obviously location is fantastic for trying out all the food Austin has to offer. We loved relaxing in the small backyard. The sound of running water in the background was soothing.

The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. I also liked the mini covered patios on each floor. This place was perfect for the weekend stay and would recommend/come back again.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX
5

Great location and beautiful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

This place was great with easy access to Zilker walking trail within mins. Great for morning walks. Obviously location is fantastic for trying out all the food Austin has to offer. We loved relaxing in the small backyard. The sound of running water in the background was soothing.

The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. I also liked the mini covered patios on each floor. This place was perfect for the weekend stay and would recommend/come back again.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sweet ACL Pad!

  • 5 of 5

This house was absolutely perfect for ACL. Easy walking distance to the park and a very great set up. We will ABSOLUTELY stay here again next year!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

NIGHTMARE :(

  • 1 of 5

The property smelled overwhelmingly musty from the moment we walked thru the door. It only got worse from there... The AC wasn't working properly and the property manager, Sally, had "previously scheduled" maintenance on the unit and didn't tell us before booking. Workers were there for 4 hours while we were trying to relax before my mom's cancer treatment. Not ideal, but we tried to be flexible. By the next morning we were all feeling sick (vertigo, sneezing, dizziness), it was awful. While the maintenance workers had the HVAC open we saw what the horrible musty smell was... there was black MOLD and awful levels of dirt build-up blowing into the vents and the air we were breathing! Sally sadly didn't seem to care. She was rude, unprofessional and uncooperative. We ended up having to leave the property 2 days early because we couldn't stand feeling sick any longer. We checked out and went to a hotel. Sally said she wouldn't (and still hasnt!) refunded our money for the days we didn't stay there. Seriously?!

The patios were also filthy and didn't look like what was pictured. We saw dead cockroaches, ripped, dirty cushions and dirt/mold growing on the patio walls. It was also really dark in the living room and the sofas were quite dingy. Felt like we had no clean place to sit and relax... inside or outside.

The property had a few pros if you could somehow overlook the boatload of cons: the master bedroom was cute and the location near the springs was nice.

This trip made me so sad... it was suppose to be a fun trip for my mom before she started chemotherapy, but ended up being a total nightmare for our family. :(

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, we believe that his review is largely false and was written for the primary purpose of getting a discount/refund. Regarding the specific claims: 1. On the day of check-in we determined that the upstairs AC was not cooling effectively so we asked our AC company to stop by and check it out to ensure the comfort of our guest. This was out of our control. We could have left it alone and waited for them to call us regarding the issue, but we tried to be pro-active. 2. There was no musty smell or mold in the ac units. This is totally false. Our properties smell terrific and we do an excellent job of cleaning them. If you read our other reviews you’ll see that this is the case. 3. When notified of their concerns, Sally offered to move them to another property or reimburse the remainder of their stay toward alternate accommodations. They chose to stay at this property. They complained again a few days later and insisted on a refund. They chose to head home due to other issues related to the availability of their mother’s doctors. 4. Regarding the refund, the nightly rate for 5 nights is higher than the discounted rate they were provided for the week, so technically there was no refund owed. That being said, we did offer to refund them anyway if they would provide a copy of the hotel receipt showing that they had stayed additional nights in Austin. They did not respond to our request. 5. Regarding the cushions. Yes. A squirrel evidently chewed through some of the cushions but we provided new chairs for the patio for their stay. I can’t say whether there was a dead cockroach on the outdoor patio but it’s not unusual to see bugs outside. It was probably dead because we do an excellent job of exterminating the property. So the only bugs you’ll typically see are the dead ones. 6. The sofas are not dingy and it is not dark in the unit. It was raining for much of the week which reduces the amount of light from the windows.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

aistin wedding.

  • 4 of 5

Great property,very close to downtown Austin and plenty of things to do locally,great restaurants etc.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the property and in Austin! Come see us the next time you visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.8 Miles
Black Sheep Lounge
Nearest Golf
3.3 Miles
Lions Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Train
2.4 Miles
Metro Rail
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Mopac/Loop 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
Shady Grove Chuys, Billys BBQ, Green Mesquite,
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Volente Beach
Car: recommended

Located in the Famous Zilker Park Neighborhood!

Walking distance to many Austin attractions, Barton Springs Pool, Umlauf Sculpture Gardens, Zilker Park, Barton Creek Hike and Bike Trail, Lady Bird Lake Hike and Bike Trail, Barton Springs Resturant Row and much more.....

Photos

Rates & Availability

Austin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Special
Jul 31 2016 - Aug 8 2016
3 night minimum stay
$79
From
$179
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer Rate
Aug 16 2016 - Aug 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$125
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$990
$2,790
 
 
F1 Race
Oct 20 2016 - Oct 24 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$325
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,995
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$245
$1,100
$3,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20
Cleaning $95

Please send inquiry for SXSW, ACL, F1, Xgames and FFF. (Pricing may vary based on the # of nights you would like to book)
15% hotel tax for bookings less than 30 days.
Monthly and Long Term Renters Welcome
Pets must be approved prior to booking, no exceptions.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Austin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Printer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Toilet/Shower/Tub/2 Vanities
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Toilet and Vanity
  • Bathroom 1 - Full - Shower/Tub Combo. 2 vanities. 1st vanity in main bathroom, 2nd vanity in master bedroom. Bathroom 2 - Half - Toilet/Vanity Both Bedroom 1 and 2 have seperate access point to the bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Double Sleeper Sofa located in living room
  • Bedroom 1 - Queen Bed Bedroom 2- Two (2) twin beds Bed 3 - Double Sleeper Sofa (Located in Living Room) Large Sofa can accomodate 1 guest (Located in Living Room)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player ...
  • DVR
  • Games ...
  • MP3 Dock
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Tennis ...
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Singles
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Pets considered. Breed and size restrictions apply. Ask owner. 2 dedicated parking spaces.

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...