check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Owner/Property Manager

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, russian, Fluent Hebrew, minor Ukrainian

Private, Quiet, Bright 1BR near Gaslamp, Zoo, Petco Park, & Convention Center

6 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Golden Hill Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-5)

Located in a private and secure gated complex in beautiful and quiet Golden Hill near South Park. Ranked #2 in the nation out of twenty best towns of the future by Sunset magazine.

- 1 Full bath

- Full-sized, fully equipped kitchen

- Large flat-panel LCD high-def. TV with FREE Netflix, Crackle, and Pandora

- FREE high-speed Wi-Fi

- FREE private garage

- FREE Initial supply of soap, shampoo, etc.

- FREE drinking water

- Dishwasher, disposer, large microwave/vented hood

- Hardwood type & tile floors

- Lots of built-in cabinetry

- 502 sq. ft.

- Abundance of natural light (see pictures)

- Pets accepted (Upon approval. Fees apply)

- All linens and towels included

- All dishes and kitchenware

- Iron & ironing board

- Hair dryer

- Portable baby playpen/crib

- FREE bottle of the best Charles Shaw wine money can buy.

Gated Community Features:

- Small complex - only 4 total units

- On-site coin laundry

- Video intercom controlled access

- Large enclosed, landscaped yard and patios with seating areas, BBQ, picnic tables, and fire pit.

Neighborhood Features:

- Very close to the convention center, Petco Ball Park, and the famous Gas lamp district, Balboa Park, and the word-famous San Diego Zoo.

- Walk to everything: locally-owned restaurants, groceries, convenience, bakeries, tavern, cafes, community garden and park.

- Immediate access to 94, 163 and 5 freeways.

Sleeping options:

- 1 Queen bed

- 1 Queen air mattress

- 1 Non-foldout couch

(all bedding provided)

Recommended for 2-3 people, but can take up to 5 if you want to save $ and don’t mind being cozy.

1) $20/person night after 3 people.

2) You will also need to provide a credit card to cover any potential loses and a damages not covered by the insurance.

3) There is no fee to book and pay online if paying by bank account. There is a 2.98% fee if paying by credit card.

4) Pet fee is per night/pet & subject to approval. NOTE: Automatically calculated pet rate is NOT correct. Fee is per night/pet.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Owner/Property Manager (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, russian, Fluent Hebrew, minor Ukrainian

About Owner/Property Manager

Hi. My name is Vitali, or Alik for short.

I am 49 years old and was born in Siberia, but also lived in Israel 7 years.

I've live in California of last 30+ years.

I renovated, furnished, and decorated this unit with my own hands and deigned the landscaping and the other units.

Owner/Property Manager purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Owner/Property Manager chose San Diego

Golden Hill is the heart of San Diego. Quiet and pleasant, it is nevertheless right in the center and close to everything.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.
Feb 2012
  • 1 of 12

Reviews

3.8
based on 6 traveler reviews

Private, Quiet, Bright 1BR near Gaslamp, Zoo, Petco Park, & Convention Center
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 18 reviews
1

Needs work - Great location

  • 1 of 5

We were looking forward to a long weekend in San Diego. Unfortunately, our stay here began with an incorrect lock box code provided in an email from the owner. After 30 minutes trying to get the lockbox opened, we contacted the owner. He seemed indignant about where did we get the incorrect code from. The location of the property is great. However, the property desperately needs repairs. There was no garage door opener. The door between the garage and the yard is so extremely warped that I couldn't close it to lock it. The apartment's front door has no latch. So, you must deadbolt lock the door to close it. Otherwise it stays fully opened. The windows do open, but they don't stay open. So bring a stick or shampoo bottle, or... to prop them open. Television stations were minimal. Netflix didn't work. Maybe the remote needed a new battery, or??? There was a smoke detector. Again, it looked like there was no battery or it was dead. The dishes are extremely minimal,... 3 mismatched plates and bowls and pots and pans. The apartment was clean but there was a strong gas smell all weekend (which the owner assured us has been checked by the Gas Company). It never went away as he assured us it would. Would we stay here again? Definitely not in the condition that it is in. Would we stay here again if repairs are made? Yes. The location was great.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have no idea why they say there is no garage remote, for example. It is still there now and has always been. There was indeed a screw-up withe lock code, whcih got handled in minutes while on the phone, but i was no indignant about anything. Was just trying to verify what they had and what happened so I can fix it. And did. It is possibly that some of the dishes had been moved to another unit by the previous guests (they can rent multiple units). We ask them not to, but many do it anyway. But these people never said a thing or we could have easily taken care of it. As far as "repairs needed", even after her saying this I still don't knwo what "repairs" she may be speaking of except the door handle which has been replaced completely since then.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great location- Fair Price- Comfortable Stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I were looking for a quiet getaway in San Diego. The place we rented was a nice-clean- decent place to stay. The location was perfect for walking around- great food was available with in very short walking distances from the condo. The freeway was close by. The beach at Coronado Island was 10 minutes away- we walked to the Gas Lamp area- Sea Side Village too. It was just a nice- decent- old school - retro place at a fair price! We plan on returning later this year.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks and hope to see you back. I just had a reservation from a family coming back their 4th time in last 2 years.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Very Nice 1BR

  • 4 of 5

Nice apartment, pretty much as described. Very clean and all appliances worked (did not use dishwasher). Very comfortable bed. Adequate closet/cabinet space, but would have been helpful to have some clothing hooks. Nice to have your own secure garage space. Friendly corner grocery met basic food needs, 7-11 and pretty good pizza place at other end of the block. Easy access to freeway and the rest of San Diego. If you're from out-of-state or unfamiliar with SD, get/use GPS to get around, we did and had a great time. Alik, the owner, responded to our initial call, letting him know we had arrived, and again when we checked out. He is friendly and efficient. Would recommend for a couple or small (3-4) family. One minor CON: firehouse is around the corner and if active, sirens will be heard-not bad, but be aware. Overall, a very nice place, we would definitely pick it again.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thanks. please come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3
4

good location to enjoy San Diego

  • 4 of 5

Clean and in a good location for getting to Balboa Park and downtown....

Good space to relax when there, but we were out and about much of the time. There was no bottle of wine as listed though...

In walking distance is the park, a great morning breakfast spot and Counterpoint restaurant right in Golden Hill Neighborhood...

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and the stay. Sorry the wine wasn't there. Not many people actually drink it not realizing it's free and the cleaning crew sometimes forgets to check and replace. Wish you'd told me. I would have gotten one to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 4
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week here, and we completely loved it. It was cozy, and made us feel right at home. We were close enough to many of the things we had wanted to see while in San Diego. I really enjoyed my stay here, and plan and visiting again!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. Good guests. Would definitely welcome again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
Regina, Saskatchewan
4

Small, but cozy and well appointed.

  • 4 of 5

All in all our stay was quite pleasant in Alik's cozy cottage. It is a quite small one bedroom with a small kitchen and eating area. It was about right for the two of us, but it would get crowded quick with more. Alik was very helpful in setting up the stay and keeping us informed. The location, while not ideal, was a less than $10 cab ride from the heart of San Diego night life. Most of the time we walked down (about a 40 minute leisurely walk), and cabbed back.

The neighborhood feels a little run down, but never at any time did we feel unsafe. Everything we wanted was close, the grocery store around the corner was a very handy for getting the minimal supplies we needed. The Mexican Bakery a couple of doors down from the grocery was amazing. The pizza place a couple of blocks up makes an outstanding Calzone.

There were some minor downsides. The cottage definitely has a musty smell which I assume is because it is closed up so much, there is no air conditioning, which might have been a problem if we had been around during the day, but San Diego cools off most nights so it wasn't a problem for sleeping. The unit could use a few care and feeding repairs. It is not run down, but clearly some little wear and tear issues should be tidied up. The lady in the next unit has a couple of large dogs which she sometimes lets loose in the shared yard. They seem friendly enough, but can be quite a shock if you are not expecting it.

Would I stay here again! Yes! The value for the location is outstanding. Just be aware of the limitations.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Golden Hill Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Sep 27 2016 - Oct 11 2016
1 night minimum stay
$89
From
$130
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Oct 12 2016 - Oct 14 2016
1 night minimum stay
$119
From
$148
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Oct 15 2016 - Oct 16 2016
1 night minimum stay
$120
From
$172
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Oct 17 2016 - Oct 23 2016
1 night minimum stay
$106
From
$141
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Oct 24 2016 - Oct 26 2016
1 night minimum stay
$95
From
$95
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Oct 27 2016 - Oct 30 2016
1 night minimum stay
$110
From
$132
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Oct 31 2016 - Oct 31 2016
1 night minimum stay
$96
From
$96
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 4 2016
1 night minimum stay
$150
From
$159
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 5 2016 - Nov 6 2016
1 night minimum stay
$111
From
$138
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 7 2016 - Nov 8 2016
1 night minimum stay
$96
From
$96
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 9 2016 - Nov 9 2016
1 night minimum stay
$121
From
$121
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 10 2016 - Nov 16 2016
1 night minimum stay
$199
From
$228
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 17 2016 - Nov 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$137
From
$130
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 21 2016
1 night minimum stay
$119
From
$136
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 22 2016
1 night minimum stay
$101
From
$101
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
1 night minimum stay
$144
From
$138
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 27 2016 - Nov 27 2016
1 night minimum stay
$111
From
$111
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 28 2016 - Nov 29 2016
1 night minimum stay
$91
From
$91
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Nov 30 2016 - Nov 30 2016
1 night minimum stay
$117
From
$117
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 2 2016
1 night minimum stay
$148
From
$216
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 3 2016 - Dec 5 2016
1 night minimum stay
$199
From
$233
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 6 2016 - Dec 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$119
From
$127
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 19 2016 - Dec 20 2016
1 night minimum stay
$104
From
$104
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 21 2016 - Dec 24 2016
1 night minimum stay
$120
From
$132
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 25 2016 - Dec 25 2016
1 night minimum stay
$140
From
$140
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 26 2016 - Dec 30 2016
1 night minimum stay
$165
From
$167
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Dec 31 2016 - Jan 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$145
From
$186
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 11 2017
1 night minimum stay
$113
From
$141
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jan 12 2017 - Jan 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$124
From
$144
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jan 16 2017 - Jan 18 2017
1 night minimum stay
$110
From
$110
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jan 19 2017 - Feb 5 2017
1 night minimum stay
$127
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Feb 6 2017 - Feb 7 2017
1 night minimum stay
$115
From
$115
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Feb 8 2017 - Feb 14 2017
1 night minimum stay
$131
From
$152
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Feb 15 2017 - Mar 5 2017
1 night minimum stay
$142
From
$160
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Mar 6 2017 - Mar 8 2017
1 night minimum stay
$127
From
$126
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Mar 9 2017 - Mar 13 2017
1 night minimum stay
$150
From
$165
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Mar 14 2017 - Mar 18 2017
1 night minimum stay
$175
From
$192
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Mar 19 2017 - May 19 2017
1 night minimum stay
$150
From
$170
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
May 20 2017 - May 23 2017
1 night minimum stay
$176
From
$180
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
May 24 2017 - May 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
$163
From
$193
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
May 29 2017 - Jun 7 2017
1 night minimum stay
$155
From
$180
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jun 8 2017 - Jun 9 2017
1 night minimum stay
$173
From
$192
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 12 2017
1 night minimum stay
$184
From
$201
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jun 13 2017 - Jun 18 2017
1 night minimum stay
$169
From
$192
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jun 19 2017 - Jul 18 2017
1 night minimum stay
$181
From
$202
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jul 19 2017 - Jul 21 2017
1 night minimum stay
$228
From
$229
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jul 22 2017 - Jul 23 2017
1 night minimum stay
$214
From
$337
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Jul 24 2017 - Aug 5 2017
1 night minimum stay
$185
From
$206
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$172
From
$188
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$148
From
$173
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $42 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.05%

1) $20/person night after 3 people.
2) You will also need to provide a credit card to cover any potential loses and a damages not covered by the insurance.
3) There is no fee to book and pay online if paying by bank account. There is a 2.5% fee if paying by credit card.
4) Pet fee is per night/pet & subject to approval. NOTE: Automatically calculated pet rate is NOT correct. Fee is per night/pet.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Golden Hill Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 502 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Initial supplies of toiletries included (hand and body soaps, shampoo, toilet paper)
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Living room - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , all bedding provided, the queen is an inflatable mattress
  • Additional guests found to be staying in unit without notice will be charged $50/guest/night.
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 14 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Free Netflix (movies), Hulu (TV & movies)), and Pandora (music) piped directly into your HD TV through the blu-ray player.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties