check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Catherine Nottingham

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

LARGE HOME perfect for Extended Family Vacations or Group Trips or Weddings

12 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Cape Charles House Rental Photos and Description

4 large bedrooms -sleeps 14 (July 4th week still open!)

'The Cathouse' -Victorian Farm House perfect for Wedding guest, large families and group trips .Perfect home for the budget savvy families. Bring your family and friends the home sleeps 8 to 14.

Back yard deck off kitchen with grill is perfect for all meals and entertaining. 2 large living room open to kitchen that opens to outdoors for alfresco dining. Great space for the money! Fully equipped kitchen and all bath towels and linens provided

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Catherine Nottingham (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Catherine Nottingham

I am a local!

I was born and raised right outside of town. I now have rentals around VCU that I rent to college student. I am especially partial to this 1880'S rustic farm house purchased for family gathering and boating activities. Enjoy some rentals to people that want to enjoy their families and our great little town.

Catherine Nottingham purchased this house in 2002

Why Catherine Nottingham chose Eastern Shore Virginia

Grandmother sent me the Eastern Shore news that had the property for sale at the courthouse steps and I was the only person there to bid!

What makes this house unique

A magical back yard with horseshoe pit and great relaxing areas.

Reviews

4.3
based on 12 traveler reviews

LARGE HOME perfect for Extended Family Vacations or Group Trips or Weddings
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
5

At home on the Eastern Shore.

  • 5 of 5

We look for intimate connections to the places we visit. When we visited Edinburgh, my wife found one of the oldest lodging houses in Scotland and within a day we had a handle on what we could expect in Edinburgh, Scotland & beyond.

The fact is that while most vacation homes we've rented are nice and comfy, most miss the opportunity to offer the local intimate connection to the area. You can typically replace one experience with another interchangeably, though the properties may be in completely different regions.

Not here. Cat, the proprietor is a local who knows the shore and it shows. First off, she is AMAZINg! She gave us detailed insider's information on where to visit all over the Eastern Shore. Ginger's was our favorite. Secondly, the home is awesome! It is well prepared for visitors like myself who prefer feeling comfortably at home with TONS of room (indoor & out) to the small modern hotel room. We cooked the whole time both inside in the fully outfitted kitchen & on the grill. We enjoyed eating on the private back porch ad well as at the table. I found myself napping often on one of the large comfiest sofas. Again w felt at home. Thirdly, the price. I'm still in shock at how inexpensive this awesome find is. We didn't expect a lot for the bargain being offered. The fact is that we've found a vacation spot that goes to the top of our list. I considered not telling you about this amazing find because we'd love to keep it as our own secret, but that just wouldn't be right.

If you're like us, you prefer the genuine item with it's quirky character over fluffy stays in homogenous hotels. This is the place for you and Cat is the proprietor for you. Happy travels.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Carter! I am so happy you enjoyed it. I know you and your team are looking forward to your next trip at the end of the month at "The Cathouse." Catherine
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
4

Good for a family with pets

  • 4 of 5

The Cat House is perfect for those that can enjoy the charm of a house built in 1894. If you're looking for a modern open concept home, this isn't for you. If you're looking for plenty of room for the entire family in a well equipped home close to everything, this is perfect.

I struggled with the noise of the window units, but otherwise the house was perfect for us! Thanks for helping to make our stay such a great one!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for Families

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed 5 nights at the Cat House with our family - a mix of adults and children (oldest - 61, youngest - 15 months) and a dog. We all live a distance from each other (we're overseas) and it's not easy to get together that often, so finding a house that fit our budget which was by a beach was a huge blessing to us. That's the main reason I've given the 5 stars. Some aspects I'd only give 4, but the price was excellent! There was plenty of room for us all - we maxed out the sleeping facilities. The house is as described. If you're looking for someplace 'flash', don't stay here, but if you're happy with 'home-y and comfortable' you'll enjoy the Cat House. The beach was great for the young children, calm and shallow. It's an easy 10-minute walk. The park/playground is really nice too, although we didn't get there as often as the kids would have liked. Don't pass up The Brown Dog for ice cream! And if you want a fun boat trip, check out The Sunset Cruise on the Miss Jennifer (just up the coast).

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy your family enjoyed the home as much as we do! Please come back and visit again. Catherine "cat"house
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice Visit - As advertised

  • 4 of 5

Cape Charles is a lovely little area. The house was as advertised. We had a large group with a mix of children and adults. The house suited us fine. We were ok with the walk to the beach, took about 10 minutes but nice houses along the way. There is a cute little shopping area a block a way. The people in the area were very friendly. Kitchen and baths had little things to help if you needed, extra soap, sugar, oil, etc. We rent often and you don't typically see things like that left in the house but it was nice to not have to go and buy dish detergent or coffee filters, etc.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Eagle Rock, Virginia
5

Amazing Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved every minute of our week long vacation at the Cat House! The house looked exactly as presented online and was neat, clean, and very comfortable. The home is within easy walking distance of the beach and the park (our grandchildren went every day during our stay). We found Cape Charles to be a sweet, charming little town - we loved Kelly's Pub (try the Irish Coffee and don't miss out on dessert, which is home made), and the Shanty (my husband says he had the best clams there that he's ever had anywhere). My entire family (from youngest grandchild to oldest grandparent) enjoyed the Wednesday night movie (only $5.00 per seat) at the historical movie theater downtown. I believe Cape Charles will become our forever beach trip location...

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Memorial Day weekend

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at the Cat House with 5 adults and 2 children over Memorial Day weekend at it was perfect for us! Very large with many rooms and plenty of sleeping space (we could have comfortably fit more people). The house was well equipped with towels and kitchen supplies. The house has some wear and tear from use and age, but it was the perfect beach house. Backyard and patio were great - it's fenced in, which worked out well as we had dogs with us. Only negative thing is that the posting says there is internet, but there was no internet in the house. This wasn't much of a problem since we were there on a beach vacation, but something to keep in mind. Catherine was also very flexible about check in and check out and was easy to communicate with. Would definitely stay here again! (And Cape Charles itself is wonderful)

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Norfolk
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Kelly's Irish Pub
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Onancock
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Bay Creek
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 13
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Cape Charles Coffee House
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Cape Charles Town Beach
Car: necessary

Cape Charles is 7 blocks by 7 blocks. Everything is within walking distance.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cape Charles House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 12 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$130
From
$220
Fri,Sat
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

There is an added fee for Memorial Day, July 4th and Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and NY Eve. Email for pricing

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cape Charles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - shower , Great new shower outside. new surround being built now!
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , large new shower stall in downstairs bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , upstairs between the 3 bedrooms
  • Hot outside shower through the laundry room on west side of the house.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 double , Downstairs bedroom - full bath down the hall w/ no stairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Central Air Downstairs! Window units up.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
SPECIAL PRICING for Holidays. Large Parties. Weekenders and Animals.....

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties