Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Suitest Playce' Guest House in the Village

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5-8)

As you begin your unforgettable Hershey holiday you smell the delightful frangrance of chocolate.

The Guest House is nestled in the quaint, little historical village of Union Deposit, (A stop on the underground railroad) just 'over the river and through the woods' 3 minutes to the fun and excitement of Hershey. The canal is walking distance from The Guest House, so bring your fishing gear.

SPECIAL INFORMATION REGARDING THE LIVING AND SLEEPING AREAS AVAILABLE IN THIS LOVELY HOME, JUST 2 MINUTES FROM HERSHEY. We look forward to providing the ultimate holiday accommodations. Many additional photographs are available.

BRING YOUR FURRY FRIENDS, We love Doggies! ALLOW THEM TO ENJOY THE HUGE, FENCED IN BACK PLAY YARD, and we will be your puppy Nanny while you are out and about. pix of the fenced in back yard available upon request!

You retreat back in time in this lovely, quaint,historical, country setting; once part of the underground railroad. This is a wonderful area for walking in the quiet solitude & lush green surroundings. You are just minutes from the excitement and screams of Hershey's 5 roller coasters, and so many other fun activities. Hershey Park, known as one the nation's premiere parks.

Wonderful holiday activities take place all through the Hershey Park Year. Halloween in Hershey is not to be missed; nor the beautifully decorated Hershey at Christmas pageants the Holiday season. Chocolate World, take a tour and discover how chocolate is made; Hershey Giant Stadium, which features 'A-list' entertainment throughout the year; and not to be missed, The Outlets at Hershey, so 'shop till you drop'! If your the betting type, you will certainly enjoy our new Casino, located just mintes away at the Grantville Racetrack.

Your 'family fun' accommodations are 'spittin distance' to the excitement of Hershey Park! Really, only 3 minutes. So take time out from the park activities to retreat back to The Guest House for a quiet, relaxing lunch or dinner; after which you will want to return to the Park to wind down your day of fun. THAT'S HOW CLOSE WE ARE!

At the end of the day, relax in your family gathering room. Chill out and enjoy our large cable TV or DVD player. If there is a chill in the air, enjoy the warmth of the beautiful brick fireplace while playing board games with the family. Or you may choose to sit around the fire outside, at the firepit. Bring the marshmallows and enjoy smores.......

Just out the back door, The Guest House features a large fenced in yard for the children or pets. Yes, bring your pets, we are a pet-friendly establishment. We love our pets, and yours too. And not to worry about your furry friends, your pets will be looked after with all the love and affection you would lavish upon them.

The Guest House experience provides a wonderful family atmosphere with cozy Northwoods decor, and comfortable, CLEAN, FRESH, accomodations. Bedroom #One offers a California King; Bedroom #Two features a lovely queen-sized sleigh bed; all beds feature a Northern Nights feather-bed mattress, down comforters, and down pillows. All linen is Egyptian cotton, 400+ thread-count, and is sanitized and freshened after each use. Fold out beds, twin & double aero beds are offered for additional sleeping arrangements.

Should you require a crib, please let us know, we do offer a pack and play, and junior beds. We offer a fully equipped laundry facility and detergents for your convenience. A newly-appointed private bathroom, with charming antique clawfoot tub or shower for your private bathroom needs. Egyptian cotton towels and washcloths are just part of The Guest House experience.

You prepare your favorite family meals in the fully equipped kitchen. If your family prefers burgers and steaks, we'll fire up the barbque located just outside. Comfy furniture, a cable TV, and lots of lighted candles for intimate al-fresco dining. For our convenience, located just up the road is a major chain grocery store offering everything in the way of your food and sundry items. You may purchase discount Hershey Park Tickets at this Giant Grocery store also.

Some local humor and color are available at the charming farm produce market; Just up the road is 'Pumpkin World' USA, which features some interesting local favorites, such as 'wet bottom' shoo fly pie, and chow chow, along with the freshest and best produce in the area. You will not only enjoy them, but also take them home as remembrances of your time spent here.

If you feel lucky, or simply enjoy the Sport of Kings, and the excitement of the casinos,we are conveniently located just minutes from our newly opened casino and race track in Grantville, PA

Once you visit our lovely area, we hope you will join us every year. We thank you for taking the time to find out more about our Guest House in Hershey, Pennsylvania.

Keywords: Private Apartment

More Details

Owner
Ms. Ruth Carreno ruthacarreno@comcast.net
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 27, 2017

About Ms. Ruth Carreno ruthacarreno@comcast.net

Hello and I sure do hope you will join me in this lovely little village; as I call it 'spittin distance' to the fun and excitement of Hershey. Me?? a retired, die-hard customer service specialist. Restaurants, business dining, catering, you name it. I was side-lined a couple of years back by (2) major back surgeries, so I opened the apartment to folks wantin' to have a great time in our neck of the woods. Not only will you enjoy all that this area has to offer on a vacation, but, 'lucky you and the kidlet, will meet and play (and play, and play) with the rescue puppies. By the way, you like horses, we got a bunch of 'em. Just waitin for the kidlets to feed 'em carrots and apples, so bring the camera and you will remember forever the days your kidlets learned about horses; FreighTrain Willie, Lucky, Buddy and all the rest of 'em.

I sure hope you will join me for the 'best-rest' time of your life in the second Sweetest Place in Hershey. See you soon, and thanks for stopping.

Ms. Ruth Carreno ruthacarreno@comcast.net purchased this apartment in 1998

Why Ms. Ruth Carreno ruthacarreno@comcast.net chose Pennsylvania Dutch Country

Didn't plan on doin this so soon, however, when I had two ,major back surgeries, couldn't work, I thought about it for a long while. And, when I had some folks come and stay at the apartment at the beginning, met them, found out how nice they were, and how much fun we had sitting out front at the fire pit and glider, I jumped in. It's been a great adventure.

What makes this apartment unique

The absolute quiet surroundings, minus the doggie welcoming howl, of course.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Ruth, I will give stubby a kiss for you. He is a very special dog. You were very nice and friendly to all of us. Our stay down there was wonderful. We hope to see you again soon. And if we are ever in that area, we would love to come back. Thanks so much for letting us stay. You are a wonderful person..
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Hershey Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) Double aero bed, plus queen sized murphy beds, Twin or Single Beds (1) Twin sized Murphy beds, Child Beds (1) Murphy beds which can be set up in both bedroom, so the children are close to parents, Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Murphy Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hot air ballooning
  • swimming
Notes:
Internet Accessible, Full Bath (Tub and Shower), Aero Beds, (twin & double available complete w/bedding)Microwave, Cooking Utensils, 400 thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linens, Down Comforters, Feather Beds, Washer/Dryer, Electronic Treadmill & Weights, Wadding Pool for Children, Backyard Swing, Covered Garage, Covered Patio Deck Area with cable TV, Firepit w/gliderw grouping in front yard, No Drugs, Vet within Walking Distance, Smoke and Radon Detectors FENCED IN BACK YARD FOR THE FURRY FRIENDS..... PLAY AND PACK, CRIB, PLAY PEN, AND LOTS OF TOYS FURNISHED FOR THE KIDLETS......

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(68 traveler reviews)

'Suitest Playce' Guest House in the Village
average rating of 4.6617646 based on 70 reviews
Pittsburgh
5

We had a FABULOUS time, and Ruth is a Doll!!!

  • 5 of 5

My two children and I were coming into Hershey for just one night and Ruth graciously allowed us to rent her apartment. She greeted us in the driveway with a big hug ( it was like we were family) and took us in to show us the lovely apartment. She has it decorated so quaint. We met her sweet doggy and she was sad that our puppy couldn't make it, do the fact that we didn't have room for him with all of our stuff!!! We asked her for a recommendation for dinner and it was FANTASTIC. When we got home the apartment was all cozy and we had a great sleep in our comfy down pillow and down comforter bed. It was like we were royalty. We just had a great time and can't wait to come back for a girls spa weekend. Thank you Ruth you are truly a gem!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
1

Traveler Beware

  • 1 of 5

We booked with Ruth for 25 - 27 Nov 2016 on 9 Oct 2016 and paid in full via PayPal on 9 Oct. We showed up in Hershey on our check in day and Ruth was not there, no response to multiple calls/emails throughout the day of the 25th until a call back at about 5PM...at this point we were already looking into alternate accommodations. Apparently Ruth did not have our reservation despite a confirmation email sent to my VRBO account and my personal email (I can and I will provide these documents if asked for). Ruth offered a random bedroom in her house to us for "$30 or $40" which we politely refused (Note that per our conversation on the 25th this was how she had resolved this SAME ISSUE previously). She then offered to refund our trip and also pay for one night in Hershey at the Day's Inn- we accepted this resolution. Fast forward 5 days and another 5 emails and additional phone calls with no response and no refund, much less the payment for our one night stay at Day's Inn. We ultimately had to threaten legal action as well as action taken via VRBO and PayPal for her fraudulent usage of the sites before Ruth even responded to the multiple emails/phone calls. Ruth never honored her original commitment to both refund our booking in full and pay for a night's stay due to her blatant booking error. We spent a lot of time attempting to recoup our payment, including seeking advice from our attorney, eventually she refunded us for our initial booking only, not the one night's stay at the Day's Inn as she had agreed to due to her inability to make and keep a booking. From the reviews, if Ruth has no "issues" with VRBO and all goes as planned the place is probably legit...however, if there are any issues whatsoever, good luck trying to get her to resolve them. Bottom line, I recommend using extreme caution if and when you book this property.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guests; I have been in the guest business for a number of years, have been succehowever, occasionally we come across a guest that is just not happy; They did not call me continually, and not have me respond; NEVER, NEVER! This Josh Hill (Josh is her husband)Refund Sent party has been refunded $300 via Pay Transaction #Transaction ID0SV14050X9786433W Nov 29 2016 Larissa has not had success trying to post very negative remarks concerning my actions; I have been fair, I never, recommended where these folks should stay, and they indicate I did, and they were not happy with my suggestion; I offered them my guest house, which they paid for, they REFUSED TO STAY HERE; and after that they wanted all their money plus the cost of the accommodations at a local type Motel 6 place; She sent me the receipt which I immediately repaid for the one night here, and the one night at the inadequate motel of her choice; the second night she refused my hospitality of which she had paid for, and preferred to stay at the motel, even though she said the motel was inadequate. This was Her choice; I covered their one night, plus the cost of the one night that they did not spend here; I have the evidence that I paid them via Pay Pal; As for the phone calls, which she accuses me of not responding to; she is incorrect about this, I have never spoken to this person, NEVER! I never received a telephone call from her; The e mail where she forwarded the receipt, was immediately paid via Pay Pal. $300. I have been more than financially fair with these folks, and feel they should stop harassing me for even more money; I am a very fair gal, as one can tell by the number of 5 star recommendations and comments from those wonderful guests who have shared my home; Also as a token of good will, I offered her and her husband another week-end of her choosing at my expense, perhaps in the spring and/or the summer; It is lovely here at that time; She declined; She only WANTS MONEY! I am advising this family, Larissa (don't know her last name as she has given me 2 OR 3) to stop harassing me for more money, or I shall take further actions; thanks to all who have shared my home; Ruth Carreno
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Hop skip and a jump to Hershey

  • 5 of 5

Hi Ruth. Just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful time this weekend. Everything was great. Kids had a blast. There was so much to do at Hershey. Kids were a little bummed we never got around to playing frisbee with the dogs. Next time! 😀

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Pet Friendly......People Friendly, too!

  • 5 of 5

I have been staying in Hershey since 2003 (since 2012 with my Labrador Retriever).

There are so many places that say they are "pet friendly" when actually all they do is tolerate animals. Ruth's "Suitest Playce" was refreshingly different! What a different a fenced backyard makes to a pet owner.

It was my experience (noted in other reviews as well) that Ruth makes you feel welcome (people and animals) by greeting everyone upon arrival to ensure all is well and that everyone is comfortable. She has two adorable dogs and really takes great care and concern that her dogs and yours meet and are able to share the yard together. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Ruth is a blessing

  • 5 of 5

my husband and i stayed 2 nights for a mini getaway the place is so nice it felt like home.i could not have asked for a better place to stay.Ruth and her dogs were warm and inviting she is such a sweetheart! i felt like we came as strangers and left as friends.i all ready have been talking to my husband about going back for another mini vacation i will not stay any other place because Ruth is truly a blessing to stay with.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Cozy guest house right near HersheyPark!

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommend this guest house, Ruth is so sweet and very accommodating. Perfect for a family to stay so close to HersheyPark. Would stay there again!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Middletown, PA
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Middletown, PA

I will furnish a complete listing of local family fun activiies w/inquiry, Swimming Pool, Balloon Rides, Private Airport, Sports Center, Dutch Country, Antique Auto Museum, Banks, 3 churches are walking distance from home, Zoo America

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hershey Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
$800
$2,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $10

* Located within the rental agreement is our cancellation policy which clearly identifies for the renter the terms of cancellation. Also displays total sum, deposit sum, balance sum. The dates etc, are requested to be filled in by renter, so there is no confusion by either parties.

Renter will pay a rental deposit at time of booking; Also rental agreement is issued to renter for completion at time of booking; Payment of rental deposit confirms dates for renter; Balance of rental to be paid in full within 30 days of check in; rental transactions are
Renter will be given a rental agreement at time of booking to confirm dates, and advise of accomodation policies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties