check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Lakeside Cottage

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Lake View Cottage w/ Walk to Beach Access;

3 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Southwest Michigan House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 10

Enjoy spectacular views along the shores of Lake Michigan at this well appointed newer cottage in Glenn Shores. The bi-level floor plan allows plenty of privacy and room to spread out. Decorated in warm tones and simple furnishings, you will quickly feel at home.

The top main level of the house offers views of the lake from almost every angle. Here you will find a large, open gathering space for all your entertaining and relaxing needs. The kitchen provides plenty of room for multiple cooks as well as space to congregate around the island (2 bar stools). Gather around the dining table which easily accommodates 8 people and room to expand. Comfort abounds in the living room with ample seating for everyone. A great place for conversation around the fireplace or a more mellow evening enjoying a movie on the large flat screen TV mounted above (now equipped for will cable!).

With plenty of bedding options to choose from, Lakeside is sure to accommodate the needs of your group. In addition to a King Bed, the bedroom on the main level has views of the lake! The hall bath offers a walk-in shower. There is also a Queen Sofa Sleeper on this level in the living room. Moving downstairs to the walk-out lower level you will find two more well appointed bedrooms. The larger of the two offers a King Bed as well as a Full Futon. This room has the added benefit of a wood burning fireplace and additional flat screen TV making it a perfect place for a little escape and privacy. Another large bedroom offers a Queen Bed. These two rooms share a full bath with a walk-in shower.

A most attractive feature of Lakeside is all the outdoor amenities. The large deck accessible thru multiple sliders off the main level provides various choices for seating and dining. Stepping down follow the path to a platform perched on the bluff overlooking the beach and lake. Between the house and bluff there is plenty of yard for kids to run around without worry. Warm up your evening with a fire in the fire pit while gazing at the stars and listening to the waves wander in. A large screen porch on the backside of the house is the perfect place to store all your gear for the beach and anything else you want out of the elements.

Glen Shores is a friendly cottage neighborhood that is fun to explore by foot or bike. The association beach stairs are conveniently located just one house over for access to over 1000 of beach and miles to explore on foot in either direction. Alternative means for accessing the beach is provided by the nearby gated road access: no stairs! Located midway between Saugatuck and South Haven, additional shopping, dining and fun are at your fingertips. Combine with Edgewater Beach Cottage or Creekside for larger groups, both just a short walk away.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Lakeside Cottage (Property Manager)
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

We really enjoyed the house and it suited our needs!
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 3


based on 3 traveler reviews

Lake View Cottage w/ Walk to Beach Access;
average rating of 3.0 based on 6 reviews

Nice, comfortable home

  • 3 of 5

Very nice home, seems recently renovated & redecorated with open floor plan. Master bedroom is very spacious. Great views of Lake, nice deck for dinner at sunsets. Plenty of parking behind home. Location is great, quiet subdivision, between South Haven and Douglas /Saugatuck. Air Conditioning was nice bonus, but we left it off. A few issues renters should be aware of: 1) As Michael M said, the beach at the bottom of the stairs is gone this year. Not sure what it was like in past, as there are large blocks of concrete and rusted frame there. But Association beach is 1/3 mile away and you can drive/park there. Association Beach is rocky & gets deep quick, so not ideal for young kids. Also gets a little crowded as it's shrunken this year too. No screens on sliding doors? Not sure why, but for some reason removed, this restricts airflow or lets more bugs in when doors are open. Kitchen utensils lack a few things nice for summer (ice cream scoop & forks to roast marshmallows over fire pit), but easy enough to make do. Also, no beach equipment at home, so bring your own chairs and floatation devices. Agree with Michael about Toilet seat and sink which were still broken on our visit. All in all, we had a great trip. Lakeshore Lodging staff was very friendly and checked in on us during the trip. It would have been nice to know about lack of beach and beach equipment before trip. If the beach at the bottom of the stairs was there it would be 5 stars, but that was a big disappointment for us so we'll go with 3.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful property for family vacation, but . . .

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful, spacious, comfortable beds, great porch and deck, clean and Staff very responsive and helpful. However, at the price level, would not expect toilet seat to be broken, kitchen sink faucet to be broken, coffee pot to be on its last legs, and would expect kitchen cookware to be more complete. But, the Staff was quickly responsive to replace the coffee maker and supply additional cookware. Not Lakeshore's responsibility - but where was the beach? It was underwater due to high lake levels - the stairs down the bluff basically ended where the water met them!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We strive to have our home in perfect working order prior to a guest's stay. Our property services teams checks the home for maintenance issues before each reservation. We were able to resolve all the issues this guest experienced during their stay. Each year the beaches on Lake Michigan change depending on water levels. As a result of this year's high water levels the majority of the beach has been eroded. There is however a very nice beachfront deck with a swing and chairs perfect for laying out in the sun. There are also steps off the deck going down into the water for swimming.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful view, but sewage in the shower.

  • 2 of 5

The house is beautiful — in good condition with nice furnishings, and slept 8 comfortably. And the view is amazing — ideal for watching sunsets over the lake.

That said, there were some issues that did lead to us not having an ideal visit:

• Standard Check-in and Check-out times are very inconvenient — Check-in is at 4PM and check-out is at 10am. Early Check-in/Late Check-Out is available, but for an additional $50 each.

• When we arrived at the house we realized that there were no sheets or pillowcases provided for the futons or pull out couch as detailed. We called the rental office who let us know they'd "try to look in to it" and give us a call back. They never called back, however an hour later a gentleman did deliver clean sheets and pillowcases to us.

• The toilet on the upper floor does not flush well, you must hold the handle down for a long time to get anything to go down.

• All of the "clean" glasses in the cupboards were filthy, with caked/dried on lipstick and even finger prints from the last users. We had to re-wash all dishes before being able to use them.

• And the worst incident occurred on our last morning there. Sewage backed up in to the upper floor shower, WHILE one of the ladies was showering — Covering her feet in sewage and sewer water. It was disgusting. I phoned the emergency phone number for the rental agency and got a voicemail recording. I left a voicemail letting them know what happened, and it was a half hour before the rental office returned our call, letting us know they'd send someone out to check for water damage. A woman arrived about 30-45 minutes later, looked at both bathrooms for water damage, and left, not cleaning anything.

Obviously, things happen that are beyond the rental agencies control, however I feel that how they handle the situation is what counts. Unfortunately the rental agency was not apologetic for sewage backing up in the shower, and seemed more concerned with there being water damage rather than our experience. We enjoyed most of our visit here, but unfortunately the last few hours of it, despite the late check-out, outweigh the good experience. We would not rent with this company again based on how they handled the situation.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our check-in and check-out times are designed to allow for our in house housekeeping and maintenance teams to fully prepare the property in the event of back to back guests. What sets Lakeshore Lodging apart is our ability to address any issue that might crop up during your stay. Our Guest Services team took this guest's call when it was discovered that sheets for the pull-outs had not been left and sent a staff member out to the home to deliver fresh sheets. A team member then followed up with the guests to make sure they received the sheets. Our Maintenance team has addressed the issue with the upper floor toilet. Guests are asked to leave dirty dishes in the dishwasher or sink for us to clean- because no one wants to do dishes on vacation! A past guest must have put back the dishes mentioned and our housekeeping failed to check the cabinets. We are confident our staff would not but back dishes in such a state. In the event of a maintenance emergency like the one described by our guest, we have an Emergency Line that is monitored 24/7. This emergency call occurred during regular business hours and was returned within 30 minutes. Our in-house maintenance and housekeeping teams allow us to address emergencies much faster than having to call and send a plumber or other maintenance professional. The event occurred the morning of the guests check-out and our Guest Services Manager who responded to the call ask the guest if a plumber should be sent down. The guest elected to have us address the issue once they checked-out. A housekeeper was sent to the home and took dirty towels from the home but the guest said cleaning could be done once they left. The Guest Services Manager followed-up up with the guest after they had departed and talked with multiple guests and apologized for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0



Rates & Availability


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Southwest Michigan House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen sofa sleeper in the living room.
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...