Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Hyde Park Guest House in Historic Central Austin Neighborhood

Bedrooms 1
Space 400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Guest House, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

This cozy guest apartment is located on the same lot as the owner's home in the residential neighborhood of historic Hyde Park. Everything you need is included during your stay such as linens, a kitchen, a flat screen tv, and a queen size bed. Hyde Park has easy access to downtown, which is just South of the home. It's within easy walking distance (one to three blocks) of multiple city and UT bus stops, Hyde Park restaurants, a bakery/coffee shop, Fresh Plus neighborhood grocery store, tennis courts, a park, and many other local Austin businesses. It's a great place to walk, ride bikes, or simply enjoy the quiet and relaxing atmosphere while being close to downtown.

We are family friendly and can accommodate children 5 years old or older. Total of 2 people includes any children. This studio apartment is a first floor apartment. There is a step up into the bathroom and toilet that anyone with mobility issues might need to be aware of before renting.

City of Austin Short Term Rental License: OL 2014 007845

*Austin requires a license number to be shown in all online listings for legally operating rentals. Beware of ads that do not have a license number displayed.

More Details

Property Manager
Pete Gilcrease
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 9, 2017

About Pete Gilcrease

My wife and I live in Austin in Hyde Park and love the area. If you have any questions about things to do here or restaurants to eat at, we'd love to help!

Pete Gilcrease purchased this house in 2010

Why Pete Gilcrease chose Austin

Hyde Park is a quiet neighborhood near downtown Austin. It's great having access to everything downtown and central Austin has to offer and then come home to a quiet neighborhood.


Hyde Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • There's a step up to the toilet, so the toilet isn't accessible by wheelchair or for people with accessibility issues.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Cozy Hyde Park Guest House in Historic Central Austin Neighborhood
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews

Austin Stay

  • 5 of 5

My mum stayed for almost two months and was extremely pleased with the attentiveness of Pete. The property was precisely what she was looking for as it is ideally located.

Highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Decent solid experience

  • 5 of 5

The place is decent, cozy and solid.

The location is closed to everywhere you need to go

The neighborhood is safe

Definitely recommend

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, comfortable and close to everything

  • 5 of 5

Pete was a great host. Very helpful and informative. We loved the place. Its especially nice if your doing work at the campus. The beighborhood was realky nice and super safe for strolls at dusk. Just a couple blocks away are some super cool eateries abd wine shops as well as a trebdy grocery. Loved it! Thanks Pete

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic spot and price

  • 5 of 5

Pete was very quick to reply to any and all questions. The unit is in a nice Hyde park nieghborhood and convenient to anywhere around Austin. Very clean and comfortable space as well. My wife and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Great location with walkable amenities. Clean and functional space. Quiet.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very clean and fresh

  • 3 of 5

Pros: no shoes allowed in apartment so rug was very clean; no fragrances or chemical smells so room was very fresh; bed was comfortable; mini fridge was cold; shower stall and curtain were squeaky clean; parking space is located right outside door; and owner was quick to reply.

Cons: VRBO ad is misleading. The ad shows picture of upstairs unit with deck but the rental unit is really downstairs and around the back, on the alley with no deck and no porch; no washer/dryer in room; small freezer in mini fridge was iced over and in need of defrosting so it was unusable.

This ad is deceptive; I was expecting the upstairs apartment with deck as pictured in the ad so I was very disappointed that my room was a different room located on the back side of the building and opening on the alley. There was no deck and no washer/dryer in the room. Owner gave me the option to move upstairs to the apartment pictured in the ad-- BUT I would have had to pay additional cost of about $40 plus tax PER DAY plus VBRO fee. I would recommend this property with the warning that it is not the upstairs apartment with a deck shown in the ad.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the apartment and how clean it was since keeping things extremely clean is something that I care very much about in all my rentals. However, I'm disappointed that you found the ad to be misleading, and this is the first time anyone has ever mentioned it being inaccurate in any way after over 3 years of renting it out. Regarding the pictures being inaccurate, I'm sorry you felt this way. The exterior picture of the upstairs deck is not intended to be misleading or confusing to guests. It's meant to show the laundry room door that is below the deck area since many guests ask where the laundry facilities are for the unit. The description below the photo you're referring to clearly specifies that the deck is not associated with the unit you rented, and that it is showing the laundry area. Additionally, the description of the studio states it is a first floor apartment. I am very sorry that the freezer was iced over; unfortunately mini fridges tend to do that and need to be defrosted once a year or so. If you would have told me once you arrived that it was iced over, I would have immediately come and taken care of it, but I wasn't made known of the issue until after you checked out. Otherwise, I always take care of issues promptly and as you mentioned, I'm personally available 24/7 for any needs or issues my guests may have.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
6.9 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Hyde Park Bar and Grill
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Hancock Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles


Rates & Availability

Hyde Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
April 23 to April 27
Apr 23 2017 - Apr 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 14 to May 16
May 14 2017 - May 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
UT Graduation
May 17 2017 - May 21 2017
5 night minimum stay
May 22 to May 31
May 22 2017 - May 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
Oct 5 2017 - Oct 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
Oct 12 2017 - Oct 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
Formula 1
Oct 19 2017 - Oct 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%

Rate of $1,800/month
15% hotel tax not applicable for guests staying more than 30 days.
A refundable security deposit of $200 is required with payment to confirm your reservation.
HomeAway Charges a 2.5% Processing Fee For Credit Card Payments, Personal Checks Also Accepted (No Fee)
$60 Cleaning Fee

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties