Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pristine Lake Front Property with Many Outdoor Opportunities

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

Our Family Cottage has been tastefully updated as a four season weekend and vacation rental destination. The Lake is known locally as Summit Lake, is approximately 45 acres in size, has less than 25 cottages on it and is a private community. Approximately 45% of the shoreline is and will stay undeveloped via an easement held by the Delaware River Conservancy.

Upon arrival you will find off street parking for up to three cars. Motion detection security lighting illuminates the parking area, steps and deck. The deck wraps around the front of the cottage to provide a covered porch with comfortable seating and a great view of the Lake. Once inside, we provide a Visitors Guide that includes menus from most of the local restaurants and brochures for local activities.

The kitchen is fully equipped and includes a family size electric griddle and waffle iron for breakfast. Depending on the season, dining can be at the kitchen table or outside on the deck. The lower level includes a covered patio with table and a hammock nearby. In the unfinished basement we store 2 mountain bikes, men's and women's golf clubs and 2 sets of aluminum frame snowshoes for guest use. Adult and children's life vests are also available for using the canoe and row boat.

Summertime sunsets are special and can be followed by a lakeside campfire and marshmallow toasting at the outdoor fire pit. Whether its the fire pit in the Summertime or wood stove in the Winter, we provide a supply of firewood.

More Details

Owner
Jim
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank You for a wonderful stay and we hope to revisit in the Fall.
May 2012
  • 1 of 11

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Wilkes-Barre - Scranton International
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake Lorain
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt. 370
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Orson Inn
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Elk Mountain
Car: necessary

2.5 Hours From NYC, 2.75 Hours from Philadelphia,1 Hour From Scranton and Bighamton, 30 minutes from Honesdale, PA. We are approximately 20 minutes from Elk Mountain Ski Resort and 15 minutes from Fiddle Lake Farm.

Amenities

Lakewood Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Loft - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Golf Clubs
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 1 beach chairs
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Pristine Lake Front Property with Many Outdoor Opportunities
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 49 reviews
West Chester, PA
5

Charming cottage on a beautiful lake!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying at the cottage and it was as wonderful as we remembered. The lake is beautiful and the cottage has everything you need. We had fun with the kayaks and boats. The dogs loved swimming in the lake to retrieve tennis balls. The wood burning stove in the cottage added a cozy touch in the evenings. Love this place and can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ultimate Relaxation

  • 5 of 5

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. The kids and I had an amazing time swimming and daydreaming on the hammock. My husband stayed in the yard and relaxed with our newborn. We played a game every night and enjoyed meals together on the deck. I cant wait to come back next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not worth the money

  • 2 of 5

Cabin was filthy, Cobb webs everywhere, dirty couch and curtains, musty smell throughout. Owner makes "occupancy checks" and harassed other guests about how many people in house. Not worth the money😝�

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate that you chose to invite more guests to our cottage than you made your reservation for. Since we are trying to maintain a pristine setting in a quiet, private community, violating our house rule on unplanned/unauthorized guests and more vehicles than your reservation permitted is something we or our neighbors cannot tolerate, and why you were charged an additional guest fee. Our housekeeping service thoroughly cleans the cottage after each stay, and our impression of this review is that it adds no value to the guest review process. Breaking house rules then retaliating with a poor review for the consequences makes that obvious to us and hopefully others.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Great spot on the lake. Used the canoe and enjoyed the peacefulness.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Weekend Away

  • 4 of 5

This is a wonderful little cottage, right on the lake and the perfect place for a get-away weekend. We so enjoyed the weather and getting together with family who work at one of the camps nearby. Hope to do it again!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Springfield
5

We could not have asked for a more perfect family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for a more perfect family vacation! Our dog Scout was in paradise with all the swimming and tennis ball chasing a dog could dream of. Our boys 2 and 4 loved every minute of swimming, fishing, bug hunting, campfires, and kayaking. My Husband and I got to actually relax and just enjoy watching our boys be boys. The cottage was cozy and rustic and it was so unbelievably to nice to have everything we could possibly want all in one spot. All in all this was a wonderful vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $20

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties