Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bow Tie Cottage: 3 BR / 2 BA three bedroom home in Union Pier, Sleeps 8

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

FRIDAY TO FRIDAY RENTALS (7 NIGHTS) ARE REQUIRED DURING THE SUMMER RENTAL SEASON. THERE IS A 2 NIGHT MINIMUM LABOR DAY UNTIL PRE-MEMORIAL DAY, EXCEPT FOR 3 NIGHT MINIMUMS, OVER HOLIDAYS. . This charming and well appointed cottage on the east side of Red Arrow Hwy is tailor made for 1 family or 2! Only 3/4 mile to Town Line Rd beach and half that distance to downtown Union Pier, it has a large back yard with a sunny deck and fabulous fire pit, 6 person hot tub and room for yard games galore. A large screened in 'party' house that can accommodate everyone for dinner and a fantastic outdoor shower for those post beach moments The interior is smartly decorated and brightly painted with everything needed to enjoy the perfect summer week or off-season getaway. Great eat-in kitchen "formal" dining room,comfortable living room and sleeping in beds for 4 Adults and 4 kids. (2 sets of bunk beds in one room). 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths and sleeping for 8. Xfinity hi-speed wireless internet, 140 channels with HD. Parking for 3 cars.

Property Manager
Greg Gardner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 12 hours
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018


Union Pier House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • - outdoor shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Bow Tie Cottage: 3 BR / 2 BA three bedroom home in Union Pier, Sleeps 8
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews


  • 4 of 5


  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

I wouldn't rent this house for a second time!

  • 2 of 5

This was not the best house I have rented. When we first arrived the entire house smelled terrible and we realized it was because there was left over meat left in the freezer and the refrigerator was broken and not working so the meat spoiled. I was upset about this and we didn't get a new fridge till the last night of our stay. The website also states that there is a room that has a bathroom attached to it and this is wrong. There are two bathrooms but they are their own rooms so I was not happy about this either. The living room is pretty small as well. Overall if you have a small group then maybe you will like this house but my group wasn't happy with it.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: “Maria, Thank you for your comments. It was unfortunate that the refrigerator broke down the day you arrived. When the housekeepers cleaned on Wednesday it was working fine. And yes, they should have removed the frozen meat regardless. However, you failed to mention this was over New Years eve weekend and we did manage to get you a new fridge installed within 2 days over a Holiday, no easy feat in a small town. More disturbing though, was the fact you never mentioned getting sick in the hot tub and breaking a glass table top in the living room, then cancelling your credit card and failing to fill out the 'accidental damage' form so we could recoup some of the $300 dollars’ worth of damages caused by your group of "adults". The feeling is mutual, we would not want you back for a second time either. Vacation rentals are a 2 way street – cooperation between guests and owners/managers requires ownership of responsibilities. When you take care of the properties we take care of you so we have nice properties to provide for the next guest. RSVP/Rentals, Inc Since 1988
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2

Pleasantly Surprised

  • 4 of 5

I was pleasantly surprised at this rental during our stay and glad that we choose it for the weekend. The house is small but has just enough space with the rooms to accommodate renters, especially with kids. The bunked bed room worked out well for the kids to have their own space and be far enough away from the other two bedrooms by the kitchen and living room.

The outdoor has ample space in the yard to roam and enjoy the weather. Unfortunate for us, the heavy rains for that weekend presented limited use. A small shed provided a series of toys which the kids enjoyed. The hot tub was a plus with the weather which kept us away from the Beach. The meshed sun room was fantastic for eating outdoors and protected from mosquitoes while having ample seating.

The gas grill worked well but when we arrive, the gas tank was empty. I sent a message to RSVP rentals but had not heard back so we purchased a new one and sent them the receipt. They were very understanding and apologized for not contacting us and later credited our account for the charge.

​My only negative with the place is the RSVP rule for washing towels before leaving. In a hotel setting, counting on the laundry service to handle such a hygienic task is preferred. Knowing that another renter was the responsible party for the cleaning of my towels, just simply sits funny with me. Most people do not have a clue on how to operate a washer/dryer, let alone handling the process successfully. I would suggest that the maid service which is paid for in the fees, handle the towel service.​

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review! We do apologize for the propane - I am supposed to check and either misjudged its "fullness" or completely forgot. FYI we keep spares at the office so had you called the emergency number I would have directed you there to swap out, and hope finding another tank was not too bothersome. As to the towels, we have always had renters do them as we send in teams of 4 housekeepers and are typically in and out of the house before we can do all the laundry. We find that most renters are quite capable of managing a washer/dryer and while it isn't the most fun you can spend on a trip it is a kind of "set it and forget it" experience and not overly taxing. In a perfect world we would provide towel service in addition to our current linen service to all our homes. The expense and storage are the 2 main obstacles to that at this time - but who knows - you may have helped 'push ' us to that point - so thank you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Nice and clean cottage

  • 5 of 5

This was a last minute booking but what a nice place to stay - clean, cute, nicely decorated house with bright colors and plenty of room for several adults and kids. House is well equipped with dishes, linens and anything you might need. Everyone enjoyed the outdoor space - sitting by the fire, hottub and a screened in "party" house was a poplular hang-out spot.

The owners were really nice to work with - very flexible and accomodating.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Aurora, IL

perfect long weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bow Tie Cottage. We had 4 adults and 2 children in tow and the home was perfect. Plenty of outdoor space, hot tub, fire pit, the home was spacious and just the right amount of room for our very active 3 and 4 year old. There is plenty to do near by as well. We will make this our go to next time we are in Michigan. RSVP Rentals was a pleasure to work with. Thank you for everything Audrey!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Charming and Immaculate!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was absolutely adorable! The beach is a short walk careful not venture onto private beach property. We appreciated the information on local amenities and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub! Would definitely visit again! Thanks for your concise instructions and follow-through Audrey!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties