check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Beautiful Historic Lake Michigan Home w/ Private Beach; 50% OFF 3rd NIGHT

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
1 - 7 nights


South Haven House Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 14

Step back in time and enjoy of piece of Lake Michigan history! Previously known as “The Blackstone”, this former boarding house was moved from across the street and restored by its current owners to maintain the charm and character of its past with all the modern conveniences of today. Come and create your own bit of family history at “Blackstone On The Bluff”.

The bright interior is tastefully decorated to honor the times of past and the simple and fresh beach lifestyle, you’re encouraged to kick off your shoes and relax! The living room offers plenty of conversational seating and the warmth of a wood-burning fireplace. The library is a nice private retreat to settle in with a book or movie at the end of the day.

The main gathering place is sure to be the large modern kitchen with a row of counter to ceiling windows overlooking Lake Michigan. The large center island with four barstools encourages extra helping hands. Enjoy meals in the large dining room with seating for 10 and room to squeeze in a couple more.

There is one bedroom on the main floor with a queen bed. An additional full sofa sleeper is available in the library with doors to close it off for privacy. Choose between two sets of stairs to get to the second level. Kids will be sure to favor the back stairs that drop them right in the bunk room with two sets of twin bunks. The formal front staircase leads you to a large master bedroom with a king bed and views of the Lake Michigan. The final two spacious bedrooms offer a queen bed or two twin beds. Open the windows to let the waves and gentle breeze lull you to sleep. This home offers central AC on the main level, a whole house attic fan and window AC units for the upper bedrooms. Two remodeled bathrooms are available on this floor as well, one with a walk-in shower and the second with a tub/shower combination.

Transitioning from inside to out, a favorite spot for all is sure to be the large screen porch. Many meals and casual conversations are sure to be shared throughout your stay. From here one can enjoy the activity in the large yard and views of the lake. The beach is just steps away (100 steps with several landings) leading down to 100 feet of private beach. Even the dog is allowed on the beach! (yes, this home is dog friendly but be sure to take a leash!). Wash off in the outdoor shower after a great day at the beach. Just in case you did not get enough beach time in during the day, complete your evening with some star gazing and a fire up on the bluff overlooking the water, you provide the marshmallows! For those who don’t care to traverse quite that far, enjoy the lounge chairs along the house with expansive views all along the lakeshore. Located just 10 minutes north South Haven and 15 south of Saugatuck, you are conveniently located to endless opportunities for dining, shopping and galleries!

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Blackstone on the Bluff
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2016
Call Manager

About Blackstone on the Bluff

Lakeshore Lodging has been managing the finest Vacation Homes in West Michigan since 1999. We know we have the perfect home for you and we can't wait to welcome you to the Lakeshore!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Loved the house and had a wonderful time with my college age kids (and grand daughter). We want to rent it again next year!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 5


based on 11 traveler reviews

Beautiful Historic Lake Michigan Home w/ Private Beach; 50% OFF 3rd NIGHT
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 16 reviews

Incredible Michigan Vacation home w/ private beach

  • 5 of 5

We came up for a girls weekend and ended up having so much fun we barely left the property! From the minute you drive up the picturesque driveway your vacation begins! The home is well appointed with a large kitchen great for cooking and hanging out. The rest of the main floor offers great options for dining causal or formal and additional rooms perfect for game playing, reading or just relaxing. The bedrooms were all spacious very clean and comfortable as well as the bathrooms. The back yard offered endless fun and beautiful sunsets and the private beach was an added treat. We will be sure to come back again!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Lake Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful location and home! A total getaway. The home is really roomy with a large spacious yard down to the lake. A treat and a great retreat, we will no doubt revisit!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing property!!

  • 5 of 5

Our visit was amazing from start to finish. The home is beautifully appointed , and provided almost everything we needed. The home has a gorgeous lawn that overlooks the lake, private beach access, and is close to almost everything. We will absolutely be staying here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Blackstone Adventure

  • 4 of 5

We felt blessed to be able to experience seven days in such a spectacular corner of the planet. The house is spacious and comfortable. The expansive, well-equipped kitchen accommodates many cooks and the view is priceless. The double set of stairs to the upper floor delighted the kids.

The steps to the beach are sturdy with a double railing and many landings. The yard is huge, nicely landscaped, good for games. There's a nice fire pit with plenty of chairs at the top of the bluff. Located between South Haven and Saugatuck, there is much to do in the area for all ages and interests.

We came in with seven adults and seven children. All had a wonderful week.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This home has received lots of attention this season and it is our hope that it will continue to provide wonderful experiences for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Setting but house needs work

  • 1 of 5

We got off on the wrong foot with this house. We entered a poorly cleaned house with bugs on the bedspreads, crumbs on the kitchen floor and a filthy back deck and it did not get much better after that. The garbage had been neglected to be picked up from the week before so we stored it in the kitchen after animals got into it when we stored it outside...might need more than one can? I am sure that did not help the ant or earwig problem that the house has. We had to have the stove repaired while we were there (on july 3). Oh yeah and they decided to fertilize the lawn on thursday am so our dog or friend's children could not play outside. So we ended up leaving early. There is also no internet and spotty cell phone. The internet hotspot they provide did not work. Lakeshore lodging failed to execute the simple stuff ( cleaning, trash, pouring chemicals on a lawn) while the owners need to call the Orkin man and buy some new screens. Judging by the trees growing out of the roof, maintenance capex does not seem to be a priority.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: No one understands the importance of the "simple stuff" on a guest's experience like we do. We have a full in-house team of housekeepers and ground/maintenance crew. This allows us to ensure the simple stuff is perfect for all our guests and should something fall through we have the ability to make it right. Which is why we were able to address some of these issues during the guests stay despite the holiday weekend because we're local and we'll do what it takes to make sure you're not left without a stove during a barbecue. When things are missed, even blatantly- we want to know so we can make it right. Not only to the current guests but all future guests. It is unfortunate that this particular guest did not experience this home in the same manner as so many other past guests that come back to this home year after year. About Cell Phone Service This home is located between the towns of Saugatuck and South Haven and sits right on Lake Michigan. This area is known for having spotty cellular coverage and is something we tell all our guests. There is a hot spot to provide an internet connection but this is also a cellular device subject to the same coverage limitations.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2

Relaxing MI trip with kids

  • 5 of 5

We came up for a weekend with our kids and loved the house! Furnishings and decor was cute, comfortable and clean. The house itself is very spacious- sun filled rooms, clean bathrooms, and a great kitchen with amazing views!! The screened in porch was a favorite. Very large- we played board games out there at the table and we also lounged on the chairs there to read/relax. The porch and kitchen look out onto the huge backyard and bluff. Kids played volleyball and ran around with the dog.

The beach kept changing everyday. By the end, it was beautiful. Just another peaceful place to enjoy on this property.

The house is set far back off any road. Very quiet. Long driveway that is picturesque.

Perfect get away. Will definitely come back. Lots of beds for guests, too

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


The absolute perfect location for anyone looking for a true beach-front getaway


Rates & Availability


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


South Haven House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • - outdoor shower
  • Additional Hot/Cold Outdoor Shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 beach chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
Central AC on the main level, window units for the upper level bedrooms as well as a whole house attic fan. Arrangements can be made for additional housekeeping during your stay.

Partner Offers