Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Historic Lake Michigan Home w/ Private Beach

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights


About the property

5 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 14

This historic home perches atop a coastal bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. Ideal for large groups, Blackstone on the Bluff has many gorgeous spaces in which to entertain and relax. This lakeside vacation rental is dog friendly and has its own private beach.

Previously known as "The Blackstone," this former boarding house was moved from across the street and restored by its current owners to maintain the charm and character of its past with all the modern conveniences of today.

The home’s spacious kitchen is a cook’s dream, with plenty of counter space for prep, beautiful stainless steel appliances, and a panoramic view of the lake. Enjoy each other’s company in the dining area, or pair your meal with a lake breeze in the spacious screened-in porch.

Sunbathe on the bluff in the comfortable outdoor seating, or descend the stairs to the large private beach (there are 100 steps with multiple landings). When night falls, make your way back up to the fire pit and enjoy a bonfire in the adirondack chairs. Stargazing on the bluff is unrivaled. When it’s time for bed, retreat to one of the 5 comfy bedrooms. Leave a window open to let the crashing waves lull you to sleep.

More Details


South Haven Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Additional Hot/Cold Outdoor Shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed, 2 Bunk beds
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • 6 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Central AC on the main level, window units for the upper level bedrooms as well as a whole house attic fan. Arrangements can be made for additional housekeeping during your stay.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Beautiful Historic Lake Michigan Home w/ Private Beach
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 18 reviews
Indianapolis, IN

Blackstone Review

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great vacation for the family

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that Blackstone on the Bluff provided a great spot for your family vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Incredible Michigan Vacation home w/ private beach

  • 5 of 5

We came up for a girls weekend and ended up having so much fun we barely left the property! From the minute you drive up the picturesque driveway your vacation begins! The home is well appointed with a large kitchen great for cooking and hanging out. The rest of the main floor offers great options for dining causal or formal and additional rooms perfect for game playing, reading or just relaxing. The bedrooms were all spacious very clean and comfortable as well as the bathrooms. The back yard offered endless fun and beautiful sunsets and the private beach was an added treat. We will be sure to come back again!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful Lake Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful location and home! A total getaway. The home is really roomy with a large spacious yard down to the lake. A treat and a great retreat, we will no doubt revisit!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing property!!

  • 5 of 5

Our visit was amazing from start to finish. The home is beautifully appointed , and provided almost everything we needed. The home has a gorgeous lawn that overlooks the lake, private beach access, and is close to almost everything. We will absolutely be staying here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Blackstone Adventure

  • 4 of 5

We felt blessed to be able to experience seven days in such a spectacular corner of the planet. The house is spacious and comfortable. The expansive, well-equipped kitchen accommodates many cooks and the view is priceless. The double set of stairs to the upper floor delighted the kids.

The steps to the beach are sturdy with a double railing and many landings. The yard is huge, nicely landscaped, good for games. There's a nice fire pit with plenty of chairs at the top of the bluff. Located between South Haven and Saugatuck, there is much to do in the area for all ages and interests.

We came in with seven adults and seven children. All had a wonderful week.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This home has received lots of attention this season and it is our hope that it will continue to provide wonderful experiences for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Setting but house needs work

  • 1 of 5

We got off on the wrong foot with this house. We entered a poorly cleaned house with bugs on the bedspreads, crumbs on the kitchen floor and a filthy back deck and it did not get much better after that. The garbage had been neglected to be picked up from the week before so we stored it in the kitchen after animals got into it when we stored it outside...might need more than one can? I am sure that did not help the ant or earwig problem that the house has. We had to have the stove repaired while we were there (on july 3). Oh yeah and they decided to fertilize the lawn on thursday am so our dog or friend's children could not play outside. So we ended up leaving early. There is also no internet and spotty cell phone. The internet hotspot they provide did not work. Lakeshore lodging failed to execute the simple stuff ( cleaning, trash, pouring chemicals on a lawn) while the owners need to call the Orkin man and buy some new screens. Judging by the trees growing out of the roof, maintenance capex does not seem to be a priority.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: No one understands the importance of the "simple stuff" on a guest's experience like we do. We have a full in-house team of housekeepers and ground/maintenance crew. This allows us to ensure the simple stuff is perfect for all our guests and should something fall through we have the ability to make it right. Which is why we were able to address some of these issues during the guests stay despite the holiday weekend because we're local and we'll do what it takes to make sure you're not left without a stove during a barbecue. When things are missed, even blatantly- we want to know so we can make it right. Not only to the current guests but all future guests. It is unfortunate that this particular guest did not experience this home in the same manner as so many other past guests that come back to this home year after year. About Cell Phone Service This home is located between the towns of Saugatuck and South Haven and sits right on Lake Michigan. This area is known for having spotty cellular coverage and is something we tell all our guests. There is a hot spot to provide an internet connection but this is also a cellular device subject to the same coverage limitations.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2

Property Manager

Blackstone on the Bluff
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Blackstone on the Bluff

Lakeshore Lodging has been managing the finest Vacation Homes in West Michigan since 1999. We know we have the perfect home for you and we can't wait to welcome you to the Lakeshore!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Loved the house and had a wonderful time with my college age kids (and grand daughter). We want to rent it again next year!
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 5


The absolute perfect location for anyone looking for a true beach-front getaway





  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties