check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carolyn Fuller

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cambridge Urban Oasis Apartment betw M.I.T. & Harvard

36 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 90 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Area IV Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2+child)

Newly renovated upscale one bedroom private apartment on first floor in an owner occupied Central Square Cambridge 2 family house - vibrant urban neighborhood steps away from the T, cafes, shops, live theater and music, and Zagat-rated restaurants. Walk 10 minutes to MIT or 20 minutes to Harvard or take the T and be in Harvard Square in 2 minutes. Bring your significant other and enjoy cooking in a fully stocked kitchen or dining out.

Rated by walkscore as a Walker's & Biker's Paradise with Excellent Transit, it is a perfect location for the car-free traveller!

Designed by a LEED-certified architect with an eye for natural light and an award-winning lighting designer. PaperStone countertops, custom-built cabinets, wood floors throughout, a Liebherr fridge, and a gorgeous granite vanity are just some of the touches that welcome you home.

Fully equipped kitchen, queen-sized bed, washer/dryer & free high caliber Wifi. Cot available upon request.

Another Boston area designer landscaped a magical green garden in spring 2013, completing the creation of what visitors have called 'a little piece of heaven' in the middle of the city.

Parking options include metered parking, local garages, or, with a deposit, a 3-day temporary guest parking permit for on-street resident parking. Truly, a car is really unnecessary.

The owners, Bill and Carolyn, paid a lot of attention to detail as they created a modern oasis in the middle of bustling Central Square, Cambridge. The apartment is located on the first floor of their newly renovated home.

Just a block away from top-rated restaurants, including Craigie on Main, Salts, Chi Chi's and Central Kitchen. Also, a block away is the Central Square Theater, home to The Underground Railway Theater and The Nora Theatre Company. The Middle East is renowned for their live music entertainment.

4 grocery stores within a couple of blocks. And, of course, there are the two world-class universities - MIT and Harvard - both within walking distance or one short subway stop away.

Check out our reviews. 90% of our tenants have given us a review and many of them capture what we love most about the apartment, our tenants and Cambridge.

Keywords: apartment

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carolyn Fuller (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Carolyn Fuller

My name is Carolyn and my husband, Bill, and I will be here to greet you and give you the keys to the apartment when you arrive. Starting in 2010, we spent 3 years working with an architect, lighting designer, contractor and landscape designer to re-envision our home and to create an apartment on our first floor. Our home, our apartment and the garden have turned out to be delightful retreats in the middle of a bustling city environment. One of the many joys of this location is that we can walk to M.I.T. where we both work in the IT department.

Carolyn Fuller purchased this apartment in 1984

Why Carolyn Fuller chose Cambridge

Bill has lived in this home since he was a student at MIT. Several years later, I joined him and together we purchased it in 1984, the year our son was born. We love Central Square for it's rich weave of diversity and culture, restaurants and nightlife, education and the creative and whimsical local merchants!

What makes this apartment unique

Walkable, bikable or public transit to everything! Vibrant city activity all around and yet, in the garden you are within a little magic garden oasis.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Carolyn & Bill,

We had wonderful three weeks here. This is a nice and neat house with a lot of convenient stores around. We definitely would like to come back again in the future. Thank you for everything you have done for us.
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 9

Reviews

4.9
based on 36 traveler reviews

Cambridge Urban Oasis Apartment betw M.I.T. & Harvard
average rating of 4.888889 based on 45 reviews
5

Best VRBO stay so far

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the apartment for 11 days while our son was finishing up the Berklee Five-Week program and I could not have been more pleased. The apartment was cozy without feeling cramped, and it had everything we needed, including for cooking. The lack of a TV was not an issue, since we used the fast wifi for streaming services. The shower took a little bit of figuring out on the first day but as long as the water is on full blast it heats up right away. And the air conditioner was fantastic on some of Boston's most muggy and miserable days. The bed was super comfortable, and there was ample space for storing clothes.

As other people have noted, the owners of the property are friendly and hospitable; the apartment had fresh flowers and chocolate bars when we arrived, and being able to use the house's laundry facilities meant that we could stay as long as we did just using carry-on luggage. The apartment is incredibly centrally located, just a block off Mass Ave, so the Number 1 Bus and the T are within easy reach. We also loved H-Mart, the nearby Asian grocery store that is a two-minute walk away, and were in there at least once a day.

The one thing I would recommend to people contemplating a stay here is: bring some foam earplugs. The place can be a little bit loud on the weekend depending on what is going on in the surrounding area. There is a parking lot that abuts the property in the back and one night some teenagers were having a rap battle with amplified music! But once I put in earplugs I couldn't hear a thing.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was lovely having you stay with us and we hope you are able to come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything you need

  • 5 of 5

We had a comfortable stay in Cambridge in July. Our top 3 reasons to recommend:

1. The quiet air conditioning- what a relief in the heat wave !

2. Close to everywhere- walk to stores and MBTA. Enjoy the river, icecream, weekly farmers market.

3. The thoughtfully designed spaces in and around the apartment - it is great that such a compact place can hold so much stuff.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. I will pass your review on to our architect. She is a master of turning small urban homes into spacious dwellings. Hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An excellent stay in Boston

  • 5 of 5

My wife, infant son, and I stayed at this location for several days. The apartment was very nice --- it was clean, well-kept up, had all the kitchen items we needed, well-lit, air-conditioned, etc. The owners (who are extremely friendly) even had chocolate bars for us!

The location is also great, we were within walking distance of many restaurants, stores, and public transportation. It really was ideal in terms of placement in Cambridge.

The only very minor thing: the shower is a bit tricky to get into without getting a little water on the floor. But really, this isn't a big deal and I only mention it as a point of possible improvement.

So if you're heading to Boston, I highly recommend staying at this location. We would stay there again without reservation.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely apartment near Central Square in Cambridge MA

  • 4 of 5

We stayed 5 nights while visiting our daughter and son in law who love a few blocks away. There are few hotels in the area and they are very

expensive so this was the most reasonable option. The apartment is modern, clean and comfortable. Carolyn is a great hostess and we were

very comfortable and happy during our stay. We would recommend this property, particularly if you are looking to stay in this area.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

4.5 Star modern apartment in excellent location with many amenities

  • 4 of 5

Excellently located near Central T and Bus #1 stops, easy walking distance to Harvard Yard, Star and H-Mart groceries, restaurants and shops. Getting to and from the airport, the art museums, Haymarket, and other places is very easy. Three closets, many hangers, dresser, bed tables, small shower, iron and board, nicely equipped kitchen with dishwasher, lots of pots & pans, & shared washer/dryer, large fridge, 4-burner range with oven, microwave, disposal, knives with sharpener!, enough flatware and dishes that we had friends over for dinner, good lighting, excellent wifi. Supplies included soaps, dishwasher pellets, teas, coffee, flour, sugar, chocolates on the pillows, 4 large & 1 small towel. Except for Saturday night with Mass Ave bars and a parking lot brawl, very quiet and certainly very safe. 4.5 rating because it is missing a few things we like -- luggage racks, tops to fry pans, cloth napkins, more serving pieces & microwavable dishes. However, if only based on what we heard about dorm accommodations, we are very happy we stayed here. The space, amenities, and location are terrific. This is one of our best VRBO rentals out of many. Book early and you won't regret your stay!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Not only did it prompt us to spend the afternoon shopping for additional items for the apartment, but it also prompted us to reach out to other past guests to elicit their suggestions on what they most wanted while they stayed in the apartment. It has been hugely helpful. We hope you are able to visit again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
hailey, id
4

Nice location in central square

  • 4 of 5

A very nice apartment just steps from the red line. The apartment was very well equipped and the hosts were most helpful.

The location just off Mass. Ave is a little noisy when the bars shut down.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed meeting you both. Saturday night was an usually noisy night. Fortunately, that is not the norm. I hope we see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Harvard University
MIT Museum
Parish Cafe
"This is in Boston but is easy to get to via the subway and we even walk there on nice days. ..."
Flour Bakery & Cafe
"Fabulous bakery just a few blocks away."
Craigie on Main
"Very pricey but our absolute favorite restaurant and it is just around the corner. "
Central Square Theater
"Home of The Nora Theatre Company and Underground Railway Theater."
Brookline Lunch
Neptune Oyster
"Our favorite seafood restaurant. Very small, popular and does not take reservations so plan ..."
Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers
"These are the best hamburgers you will ever have!"
Middle East Cafe
Toscanini's Ice Cream
"The finest homemade ice cream to be had anywhere! And it is just around the corner on Main St!"
Cuchi Cuchi
"We have not actually eaten here but we've heard it is wonderful and I LOVE the mermaid!"
Cafe Luna
"The finest brunch menu in the Boston area right around the corner from the apartment!"
Nearest Airport
5.1 Miles
Logan International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Middle East
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Fresh Pond Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
Red Line Stop Central Square
Nearest Motorway
1.4 Miles
1-90
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Craigie on Main
Nearest Ski
50.5 Miles
Wachusett Mountain Ski Area
Nearest Beach
10.1 Miles
Tenean Beach Boston
Car: not necessary

Vibrant urban neighborhood steps away from transit system, cafes, shops, 5 star restaurants, live theater and music. A 10 min walk to MIT and a 20 min walk to Harvard or one subway stop to each.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Area IV Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter Break 2016
Dec 20 2016 - Jan 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
$870
$2,625
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,350
$3,000
 
 
Fall Semester 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
90 night minimum stay
$2,750
 
 
Spring Semester 2018
Jan 1 2018 - May 31 2018
90 night minimum stay
$2,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,050
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $70

There is a one time cleaning fee of $70 if staying less than 3 months. Otherwise, monthly cleaning service is provided free of charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Area IV Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 425 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Custom built vanity with waterfall faucet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed (1), A cot, suitable for a child, is available upon request.
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • roller blading
Notes:
Garden has been described by multiple guests as 'a little piece of heaven in the middle of Cambridge.'

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties