check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Family-Friendly Retreat Close to Town w/ Heated Pool, Hot Tub on Nearly 3 Acre

39 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Woodstock House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedroom house has plenty of space for relaxing indoors and out

Experience Woodstock, NY and the Catskill Mountains while staying at our lovely four-bedroom home. Located on nearly three-acres, Our Woodstock House offers both privacy and convenience. The Woodstock Green is just 2.5 miles away, yet from our home you'll hear the sound of the Sawkill River and the stream that bisects our land. Our Woodstock House can be a great spot for exploring the area -- nearby options include river tubing, hiking, skiing, shopping and wonderful dining, but you can also have a great time just relaxing at our home. You can swim in the pool (in season), soak in the hot tub, cook meals with friends, watch movies, listen to music, explore the outdoors or just enjoy the fresh air, all without leaving the property. Our home is designed to accommodate families -- we've got a stash of toys and games for kids, and you won't have to worry about lugging all the accessories that they require: we have a high chair, gate, pack 'n play and more available.

We bought our home in Woodstock, NY after attending Levon Helm's Midnight Ramble several years in a row and falling in love with the area. Our Woodstock House is not just a vacation rental -- it's our family's retreat and we have set it up to be comfortable for our family and yours. The well-stocked kitchen is a joy to cook in, and the space is perfect for sharing with others. The kitchen table seats 8 adults easily, and we have a folding table and chairs for 6 more if you're hosting a crowd. There are two separate sitting areas, with comfortable couches for relaxing with friends. All beds are comfortable and in good condition and we provide all required linens and towels.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Heather Cross
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2016
Call Owner

About Heather Cross

I'm a Brooklyn mom, writer, yogini and travel agent. Woodstock is a peaceful escape from the concrete jungle we live in.

Heather Cross purchased this house in 2011

Why Heather Cross chose Catskills

Our Brooklyn family wanted a place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and we just love Woodstock -- the people, the town, the vibe and the music. And the clean mountain air. When we were visiting potential properties my daughter called this one 'Paradise' and I'm inclined to agree.

What makes this house unique

We love this house because there is plenty of space for entertaining and enjoying one another, but also privacy with four separate bedrooms. It's close to town, but feels very private.


based on 39 traveler reviews

Family-Friendly Retreat Close to Town w/ Heated Pool, Hot Tub on Nearly 3 Acre
average rating of 4.794872 based on 39 reviews

House had all we needed!

  • 5 of 5

My family truly enjoyed all this home had to offer. We ranged in age from 5-82 and no one was disappointed. The pool and tiki bar provided hours of swimming fun - the hot tub was also a big hit. There was plenty to do on our rainy day too - the kids loved the wee, games, puzzles and various toys, and there was enough space to just hang out and relax if that was the choice. The kitchen had everything we needed to feed our large group and was spacious, open, and clean. The location was also pretty perfect - far enough away from town and major roads for peace and quiet, yet close enough to Woodstock to make trips in for eating and shopping quick and easy. So much to do and see - loved Opus 40 and dinner at Cucina was outstanding.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for all the positive comments. We work hard to make the house a great place to getaway and I'm so glad your family enjoyed it so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York

Fabulous rental, everything young kids could want!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great getaway. Our kids loved the big yard, playing by the river and all of the great toys in the house. The house is comfortable and has everything you could want. We hope to visit again in the summer and use the pool.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to have had you at our house and looking forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Expensive for what it was

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at the house over Labor Day and were disappointed in the state of the house, the pool and the general upkeep of the property. It was the end of the season and maybe things had fallen into disrepair after a long summer, but we paid a lot of money to deal with stained sheets, ripped towels, ants in the kitchen and other bugs coming in through ways we could not identify. The front door was hard to lock, other doors were falling off their hinges and we couldn't control the thermostats for most of the week. We definitely overpaid for our stay and did not think the listing was accurate to what we experienced.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you were unhappy during your stay. We work hard to make sure that our house is comfortable and as expected for all guests. We ask renters to report any issues to us within 24 hours of arrival so that we can address them as quickly as possible. We did hear from you mid-week during your stay and worked to resolve the issues as quickly as we could to the best of our ability. We sent the housekeeper over the morning after we received your evening email and she replaced the towel that had a hole in it and the set of sheets that weren't up to standards. This was our first season with central air and we had some kinks to work out with the controls. For the future, we will be allowing renters better control over the system. As far as ants/bugs go, we do have a regular pest control service that comes to the house, but being that it's a country house, it's hard to keep all the bugs away. We market our house as a family-friendly place to stay and that can result in some wear and tear throughout the season, so we appreciate renters letting us know anything that needs attention so we can address it promptly. The front door had swollen a bit int he humidity -- I apologize that it was hard to close. It seems that a previous renter had broken a closet door near the entryway, which has now been repaired. There were no other door problems at the house that I was able to find.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely family home, clean, wonderful for kids

  • 4 of 5

Heather was a great hostess and really went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. Positives were the toys for the kids, the hot tub, the location, the quick response to complaints that the pool needed to be cleaned, great seating by the pool. Things to improve: it is very very dark in the sunroom at night, the refrigerator needs to be updated, it hums constantly and has no ice maker. The septic tank backed up if we ran multiple loads of laundry and that created a smell.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had a nice time and thank you for the feedback. Thanks to the feedback from you and other guests we are constantly making improvements at the house. We are planning to install additional lighting in the sun room next weekend. This is the first I've heard about the fridge and I'll definitely investigate. It's not an old fridge (we replaced it 2-3 years ago). Same with the septic issue -- we had a brand new system installed last fall, so that shouldn't be happening -- but thanks for the heads up, I'll look into that as well. 9/29/16 update: I just wanted to let you know that the fridge has been fixed (there was ice buildup on the fan which was causing the noise). We also realized that the dimmers on the sun room lights might be the reason it seems dark out there -- I will add a note to our home instruction book alerting guests that many lights are on dimmers.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best house we ever rented

  • 5 of 5

This house is full of wonderful surprises. The entertainment equipment is extensive and up-to-date. There are binders of DVDs in one of the downstairs bedrooms. The air conditioning works, both the central a/c downstairs and the window units upstairs. The upstairs bathroom is worth the visit alone. We had 6 people and there was plenty of hot water. The pool and hot tub, we had so much fun in the pool and even managed to get the grand kids to relax in the hot tub. The back living room has comfy chairs and sofas for lounging and watching tv with a wrap around view of the woods and pool. You are surrounded by woods with just the slightest glimpse of neighboring house. Any questions we had about the house were answered within an hour by the owner. I highly recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you were so happy at Our Woodstock House. It was a pleasure having you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing with kids and friends!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time here, and we loved it even more than the first! There's so much to do with kids (our are ages 3 and 5) both on the property and in the surrounding area. This year we tried the Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary, which kids liked except for long food lines (turns out, vegan food is verrrrry slow cooking), plus there's the "swimming hole" in town (part of the creek that gets deep enough to swim in), hiking to Overlook Mountain (this we did without kids), AND there's an app now called Geocaching where you can go on treasure hunts of sorts to find caches of goodies (2 within walking distance of this house). And the house itself is very well-maintained! Stocked up on nearly everything you would need and more, very clean, modern. We already can't wait until next summer!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Bear Cafe
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Woodstock Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Gypsy Wolf Cantina
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Bellaeyre, Hunter Mountain
Car: recommended

Our house is under 2 miles from 'downtown' Woodstock, and about a half mile from the fantastic Bearsville Theater/Bear Cafe. There is a public tobogganing hill less than a mile away, or for skiers, Belleayre and Hunter Mountain are within approximately 25 miles.


Rates & Availability

Woodstock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fall Foliage Season
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 19 2016 - Mar 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
Mar 13 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
Early Pool Season
May 25 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Peak Season
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 15 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $175
Refundable damage deposit $500

All rentals require a security deposit and cleaning fee.
Holiday weekends require a three-night stay and some holidays incur a surcharge.
Full week rentals in summer change over on Sundays in 2015.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Woodstock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • River
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Upstairs Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Downstairs Bedroom #1 - 1 queen
    Downstairs Bedroom #2 - 1 queen
  • We have a pack 'n play and a full-sized air mattress also available at the property.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties