Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family-Friendly Retreat Close to Town w/ Heated Pool, Hot Tub on Nearly 3 Acre

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom house has plenty of space for relaxing indoors and out

Experience Woodstock, NY and the Catskill Mountains while staying at our lovely four-bedroom home. Located on nearly three-acres, Our Woodstock House offers both privacy and convenience. The Woodstock Green is just 2.5 miles away, yet from our home you'll hear the sound of the Sawkill River and the stream that bisects our land. Our Woodstock House can be a great spot for exploring the area -- nearby options include river tubing, hiking, skiing, shopping and wonderful dining, but you can also have a great time just relaxing at our home. You can swim in the pool (in season), soak in the hot tub, cook meals with friends, watch movies, listen to music, explore the outdoors or just enjoy the fresh air, all without leaving the property. Our home is designed to accommodate families -- we've got a stash of toys and games for kids, and you won't have to worry about lugging all the accessories that they require: we have a high chair, gate, pack 'n play and more available.

We bought our home in Woodstock, NY after attending Levon Helm's Midnight Ramble several years in a row and falling in love with the area. Our Woodstock House is not just a vacation rental -- it's our family's retreat and we have set it up to be comfortable for our family and yours. The well-stocked kitchen is a joy to cook in, and the space is perfect for sharing with others. The kitchen table seats 8 adults easily, and we have a folding table and chairs for 6 more if you're hosting a crowd. There are two separate sitting areas, with comfortable couches for relaxing with friends. All beds are comfortable and in good condition and we provide all required linens and towels.

More Details

Owner
Heather Cross
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About Heather Cross

I'm a Brooklyn mom, writer, yogini and travel agent. Woodstock is a peaceful escape from the concrete jungle we live in.

Heather Cross purchased this house in 2011

Why Heather Cross chose Catskills

Our Brooklyn family wanted a place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and we just love Woodstock -- the people, the town, the vibe and the music. And the clean mountain air. When we were visiting potential properties my daughter called this one 'Paradise' and I'm inclined to agree.

What makes this house unique

We love this house because there is plenty of space for entertaining and enjoying one another, but also privacy with four separate bedrooms. It's close to town, but feels very private.

Amenities

Woodstock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • River
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Upstairs Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Downstairs Bedroom #1 - 1 queen
    Downstairs Bedroom #2 - 1 queen
  • We have a pack 'n play and a full-sized air mattress also available at the property.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Family-Friendly Retreat Close to Town w/ Heated Pool, Hot Tub on Nearly 3 Acre
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 42 reviews
5

House had all we needed!

  • 5 of 5

My family truly enjoyed all this home had to offer. We ranged in age from 5-82 and no one was disappointed. The pool and tiki bar provided hours of swimming fun - the hot tub was also a big hit. There was plenty to do on our rainy day too - the kids loved the wee, games, puzzles and various toys, and there was enough space to just hang out and relax if that was the choice. The kitchen had everything we needed to feed our large group and was spacious, open, and clean. The location was also pretty perfect - far enough away from town and major roads for peace and quiet, yet close enough to Woodstock to make trips in for eating and shopping quick and easy. So much to do and see - loved Opus 40 and dinner at Cucina was outstanding.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for all the positive comments. We work hard to make the house a great place to getaway and I'm so glad your family enjoyed it so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Magical, wonderful place in perfect spot

  • 5 of 5

This is one my favorite places on earth and my review is long overdue. We have been coming to this house for about 6 years running now. The location is perfect - only 2 miles from the town of Woodstock, but far enough away from the fray. Also - once you are on the property, it is difficult to leave because everything is right there! The pool, hot tub and gentle stream behind the house. The house is spacious and comfortable at the same time. This year, they have made many little improvements. The property is well maintained and Heather is really responsive should you have a question about anything. Jump at the chance to stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house - can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at Heather's Woodstock house, even though the rain prevented us from using the hot tub and pool. We did get to use the fire pit outside on our one dry night. The beds were comfortable, we loved hanging out in the indoor porch, and town was a 5 min drive away. Our favorite details were the little tv installed over the giant jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom, and the well stocked board game closet. High point of our weekend was seeing a family of bears walk through the garden one night - totally magical! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We (family of four; two young daughters) stayed here in August 2014 (don't let the review date fool you, it won't let me go that far back) and I just want to get my two cents in. My daughters are 9 and 6 now and they still talk about going back to our "Woodstock House." The pool is the centerpiece around which every day of our week stay was planned. The slide, the pool toys, the diving rock, the fact that it is heated, are all big pluses. They loved that pool. When we could lure them out they loved the swing set in the huge yard, they loved the toys and books in the house, they loved the sun room, they loved the coziness of the second bedroom, they loved bathing in the big jacuzzi tub. We loved it too, needless to say. The kitchen is fully-equipped and we did notice some ants but hey, it's the country, what do you expect? Honestly, we've gotten more ants here in Brooklyn. Less than 10 minutes to the awesome town of Woodstock and there was a partially-dried out river in the back that we spent many days walking up and down, collecting river rocks. I highly recommend this. Make it your own "Woodstock House."

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York
5

Fabulous rental, everything young kids could want!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great getaway. Our kids loved the big yard, playing by the river and all of the great toys in the house. The house is comfortable and has everything you could want. We hope to visit again in the summer and use the pool.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to have had you at our house and looking forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Expensive for what it was

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at the house over Labor Day and were disappointed in the state of the house, the pool and the general upkeep of the property. It was the end of the season and maybe things had fallen into disrepair after a long summer, but we paid a lot of money to deal with stained sheets, ripped towels, ants in the kitchen and other bugs coming in through ways we could not identify. The front door was hard to lock, other doors were falling off their hinges and we couldn't control the thermostats for most of the week. We definitely overpaid for our stay and did not think the listing was accurate to what we experienced.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you were unhappy during your stay. We work hard to make sure that our house is comfortable and as expected for all guests. We ask renters to report any issues to us within 24 hours of arrival so that we can address them as quickly as possible. We did hear from you mid-week during your stay and worked to resolve the issues as quickly as we could to the best of our ability. We sent the housekeeper over the morning after we received your evening email and she replaced the towel that had a hole in it and the set of sheets that weren't up to standards. This was our first season with central air and we had some kinks to work out with the controls. For the future, we will be allowing renters better control over the system. As far as ants/bugs go, we do have a regular pest control service that comes to the house, but being that it's a country house, it's hard to keep all the bugs away. We market our house as a family-friendly place to stay and that can result in some wear and tear throughout the season, so we appreciate renters letting us know anything that needs attention so we can address it promptly. The front door had swollen a bit int he humidity -- I apologize that it was hard to close. It seems that a previous renter had broken a closet door near the entryway, which has now been repaired. There were no other door problems at the house that I was able to find.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
Bear Cafe
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Woodstock Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-87
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Gypsy Wolf Cantina
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Bellaeyre, Hunter Mountain
Car: recommended

Our house is under 2 miles from 'downtown' Woodstock, and about a half mile from the fantastic Bearsville Theater/Bear Cafe. There is a public tobogganing hill less than a mile away, or for skiers, Belleayre and Hunter Mountain are within approximately 25 miles.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Woodstock House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Nightly Rate
May 30 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$565
$2,712
 
 
Peak Season
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
From
$600
Fri,Sat
$3,450
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,450
 
 
Late Pool Season
Sep 8 2017 - Oct 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,200
 
 
Fall Foliage
Oct 3 2017 - Nov 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$500
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $175

All rentals require a security deposit and cleaning fee.
Holiday weekends require a three-night stay and some holidays incur a surcharge.
Full week rentals in summer change over on Saturdays in 2017.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties