check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cindy Thornsvard

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Circa 1953 beach cottage...this is 'old school' beach at it's best!

58 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Nags Head Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, sleeps 4 (Linens are NOT provided)

The Tale of A Mermaid is located on Beach Road in Nags Head across from the Nags Head Fishing Pier with great beach access. Completely renovated and remodeled in 2012. Amenities include: HVAC, cable TV, WiFi, fully equipped kitchen, front porch, screened porch, back deck, outdoor shower w/ hot & cold water, washer & dryer, charcoal grill, picnic table & outside seating.

Please note: Linens are NOT provided. You will need to bring or rent your sheets, pillowcases & towels.

***You will need to provide your paper products: paper towels & toilet tissue***

Address: 3404 S. Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head, NC 27959

Tale Of A Mermaid is centrally located. Steps from the ocean, walking distance to fishing pier, restaurants & bars, seafood market, souvenier shop, flower shop and more. A short walk to Jockey's Ridge State Park...watching the sunset from atop this amazing sand dune is a must!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cindy Thornsvard (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 58 traveler reviews

Circa 1953 beach cottage...this is 'old school' beach at it's best!
average rating of 4.87931 based on 58 reviews
Fredericksburg, Virginia
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Located across from the beach and Nags Head Pier, this cottage is exactly as described and even better in person. It is clean, well appointed and beautifully decorated a comfy place for a little rest and relaxation. My personal favorite was the screened in porch with a good book. We would recommend this property to anyone and plan on returning next season for our 3rd stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Right out of a novel!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage met our expectations in every way! Perfect little beach getaway for our small family of 3. The home was clean and orderly and the decor is the prettiest I've seen in any beach rental. The cottage look and feel is just like one that's right out of a novel. The screened porch is the perfect spot for morning coffee and for drinks and relaxing in the evening. Overall it was a great stay and we couldn't have been more pleased. We'll be back for a 3rd year in 2017!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Tale of A Mermaid! I take pride in offering a clean & comfortable cottage just steps away from the ocean. Thank you for your kind review. I look forward to having you as my guests in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

cute cottage

  • 3 of 5

nice set up. very clean and kitchen well supplied. only wish would be for better beds.... very soft and not suitable for 2 seniors to be in either one.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being my guests & I appreciate your review. Bedding is a personal preference and I am sorry you were not comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This cottage is nicely decorated and very relaxing. Right across street from beach..Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a girl's weekend to celebrate birthdays. The house looks just like the pictures online. The cottage was so clean and relaxing. The kitchen was fully stocked. We went the 2nd week in April while it was too cold to get in the beach, we didn't miss it. There were times that we didn't want to leave the cottage cause we were so comfortable. Cindy was so easy to work with and accommodating. She even gave me suggestions on things to do in the area. I already plan on going back to this cottage.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The cottage is so comfy and absolutely adorable.

  • 5 of 5

Although we had rain much of the time we were in Nags Head, the screened in porch and compfy furniture made you forget there was any bad weather outside. Perfect for a book, cup of coffee or a glass of wine. The furniture and the beds make you feel right at home. The kitchen is fullly functional and has all you need. Best of all is the outside shower. Oh, my Lord, there is nothing better than bathing outside. I even did it in the rain! The owners are live a few blocks away and are extrememly welcoming and kind. Our first time to the area and Cindy provided maps and suggestions. If you stay here you will not be disappointed. Simply magical. Debbie Hunter

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Clean, modern, and cozy.

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was quaint and convenient to the beach, restaurants, and grocery store. Everything we needed to make our stay comfortable was provided. The decor was tastefully thought out and made for a relaxing environment. Cindy was very attentive to any questions we had from booking, to "checking" in and during our stay. We would highly recommend this cottage to friends and family and would consider renting this property again!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
85 Miles
Norfolk International Airport
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Lucky 12 Tavern
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nags Head Links
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nags Head Pier House Restaurant
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Nags Head
Car: necessary

Conveniently located just 200 yards from the beach and restaurants. Shopping, churches and amusements readily accessible.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Nags Head Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid Season
Sep 3 2016 - Oct 7 2016
3 night minimum stay
$165
$945
 
 
Off Season
Oct 8 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
$795
 
 
Mid Season
Apr 1 2017 - May 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$995
 
 
Value Season
May 6 2017 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,150
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 3 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
Value Season
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,150
 
 
Mid-Season
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 6 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$995
 
 
Off Season
Oct 7 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$145
$795
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.75%

* 50% deposit needed to reserve requested dates. Remaining balance due 30 days prior to arrival.

*CSA Travel Protection Policy is required at the rate of $49. This Property Damage Protection is to safeguard my Vacation Rental from damage and/or loss.

*Rates do not include occupancy tax required in the State of North Carolina of 12.75%.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Nags Head Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Towels are NOT provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Linens are NOT provided!
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Linens are NOT provided!
  • Sheets and pillowcases are NOT provided. Pack 'n play for infants/toddlers
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Check-in: 4pm Check-out: 10am This is a NO smoking cottage!!! Sorry, no pets.

Partner Offers