check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Matthew Simon and Kristin Tornow

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Pau Pau Bay Beach Estate

22 Reviews
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

South Palmetto Point House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (Sleeps 11)

The calmest of beaches in Eleuthera are on the Caribbean side of the island. With a southwest exposure, you will experience some of the most incredible sunsets in the world. This unique location offers you over 1,500 feet of beach front to enjoy. It is nestled between two small rocky point peninsulas, creating a very calm and private atmosphere, alluring you to make this your lifetime vacation home, as it has for many others.

This completely furnished home was completely renovated in 2010/2011 and no expense has been spared.

Amenities include AC in all rooms, wifi, satellite TV, DVD player, CD player, video library, music library, washer/dryer, and three sea kayaks (two single and one tandem).

Pau Pau Bay was named many years ago, upon the discovery of the land's abundance in vegetation. Among the many fruits, there are pau pau (papayas), coconuts, and pineapples. Directly in front of the beach are the Pineapple Cays, four islands that offer a great anchorage and protection on windy days. Pau Pau Bay is home for an astonishingly diverse collection of sea creatures living in just 3 to 9 feet of water...

The town of Governors Harbour, less than 10 minutes away, has a charming collection of 19th century homes and churches overlooking its historic harbor. Buy fresh fish and lobster every afternoon from fisherman at the town dock, or visit the recently restored Haynes Library, which dates from 1897, for the weekly coffee hour for foreign residents and tourists. Governors Harbour has grocery stores, restaurants, liquor stores, two banks with ATMs, a bakery, gift shops, a dive shop, and a medical clinic. Friday Night Fish Fry in Governors Harbour, a street/beach party that brings together all the tourists and locals with food, drink, and dancing in the street, is not to be missed.

Eleuthera is famous for its 100 miles of spectacular, deserted beaches. The island, home to just 8000 residents, is completely safe any time of the day or night. Enjoy the rare experience of picking up hitch-hikers and leaving your keys in the car wherever you go. The snorkeling, diving, and fishing on the island are world class. Boating, surfing, and other water sports are also popular. You can rent power boats, sailboats, sea kayaks, bikes. You can have a charter captain take you out for excursions of various types. There is excellent sightseeing as well. Eleuthera has vast caves, cliffs, a bottomless ocean hole, many unique beaches, historic churches and 19th century homes, and small villages to explore. We hope you will enjoy Pau Pau Beach Estate, and experience all our island has to offer.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Matthew Simon and Kristin Tornow (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 22 traveler reviews

Pau Pau Bay Beach Estate
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 22 reviews
4

Wonderful in April!

  • 4 of 5

Pau Pau Bay was the perfect escape my husband and I needed from our busy lives. And the warmth was welcomed from Maine! The house was perfect with some of the best snorkeling just a shot paddle or swim away to the cay. We're had everything we needed at the house and Kingsly was a wealth of information. He also had a worker that made sure we already had plenty of firewood for bonfires.

Mate and Jenny's had some delicious pizza. We also really enjoyed 1648 for lunch. Tippy's also had great food. The Friday fish fry is definitely an experience.

Lighthouse beach is as amazing as everyone says it is and is worth the drive. We also spent a lot of time driving the island and finding less known beaches, a four wheel drive is highly recommended!

Overall this was an amazing house on a great island. We will hopefully be back soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most wonderful vacation, calling Pau Pau our home base. The guys got into kayaking and spear fishing so we were on cloud nine enjoying grouper, hog fish, crab and lobster for dinner. The ladies and my 2-yr old son soaked up the sand, the warm water and tide pools. Kingsley was wonderful, checking in frequently and giving us the lay of the land. The house was spacious, comfortable and well cared for. Perfect for the 7 of us. It was nice to be on the calm Caribbean side of the island. It had great access to other places on the island, including a farmer's market right up the road and some amazing pink sand beaches. Looking for a secluded getaway? This is IT! Thank you for such an amazing contribution to our vacation.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pau Pau exceeded our expectations!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and my two teenage boys stayed at Pau Pau Beach Estate in January. Kingsley, the caretaker, greeted us at the house to make sure we got settled. What a kind sole. The house was visibly updated and furnished with beautiful furniture and bedrooms. Everything was really clean and we had everything we needed in the kitchen. You do need to bring your own shampoo and bath soap (FYI). The house sits on a very private beach. Half the fun is the mile drive through the "jungle" to get to it. We loved having the 1500++ foot beach to ourselves. The beach was cleaned regularly by a very friendly guy. The house came with three kayaks which we used a lot. (NOTE One had a hole in it so you will want to check if it still out of commission) There are two firepits which we couldn't use because the wood was too wet but it would have been really fun. Important! Bring bug spray. There are itchy little bugs that come out all over the island at dusk. Pau Pau also has a generator that kicked in twice due to a storm on two different occasions. This is something you need to make sure your home has before renting it.

Here are some fun things you should be sure to check out.

The Fish Fry at Governors Harbor is a MUST DO. The fish is a whole fish in case that scares you. They also serve chicken and pork. A DJ plays music and there is plenty of limbo and dancing in the streets.

We ate at Tippy's. It is the perfect beach restaurant. I highly recommend it.

We spent a day at Harbor Beach. It is work the drive. It has a more traditional beach resort feel. The body surfing was great. The ferry ride takes about 10 minutes. If all you are doing is going to the beach, you don't need to rent a golf cart. The beach is right over the hill from the ferry.

Surfers Beach was great. We rented boards from Tom. I recommend you get his or his wife Liz's phone number. We called each morning to see how the surf conditions were before we drove the 35 minutes to the beach. My boys said it was some of the best waves they ever have surfed on.

Club Med beach was also great for body surfing.

We bought the best homemade bread at a little vegetable stand between Surfers Beach and Pau Pau. Get some! The location of Pau Pau Beach Estate was in the middle of everything, there was never an overwhelming drive.

Matt Simon and his rental team were really easy to work with. He showed me several homes to choose from before we landed on Pau Pau Beach Estate.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great family get-away

  • 5 of 5

This is a very comfortable house- it had everything we needed for our extended family and then some! Central A/C, backup generator, blender! The 3 kayaks were in good order and were perfect for paddling on the calm Caribbean side waters. We were able to paddle along the coast and out to the nearby cays to fish and snorkel. We caught our fish for dinner every night! Then we cooked with the patio grill or smoked the fish on the outdoor fire pit on the beach. The water is warm and calm enough on this beach for the 6 year old in our party to safely enjoy snorkeling too. Indoor and outdoor speakers were appreciated. We usually like to explore other beaches during our stay- but we never felt like leaving this place! Great views from inside too!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Simply Beautiful and Serene

  • 5 of 5

We found Pau Pau Bay Estate to be simply Beautiful and serene! This was our first time in Eleuthera. We booked Pau Pau to celebrate a late Christmas in a location away from the cold snowy winters of the Mid-west and the east coast. Our first sighting and impression of the Estate was more than we expected. The estate is secluded on a private beach of crystal clear water. The house was immaculate and spacious! There was more than enough room for the 8 of us. We will definitely return to stay here again. The next time, however, we will order our groceries and have them delivered. We can always run out for additional items if needed. The Harbor Town grocery store was a bit pricey. The grocery store that offers to deliver, is also the best priced and offers a larger selection. They also have fresh meats. When flying in to stay here fly into Governors Airport if possible - it is the closest. We all had the best time here, and really recommend it to everyone! The Caretakers are extremely nice and helpful as well! Thank you Pau Pau Bay for one of the most beautiful, relaxing and memorable vacations, - The Gurdaks and The Walshes

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Paradise!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a party of 10 (8 adults and 2 teens) and this house was perfect for us. Working with both Matt Simon and the owners of the house provided excellent customer service! They answered all my questions and any issue at the house was promptly attended to by Kingsly the caretaker. The house has everything you need....beach towels, kayaks, spacious rooms, fully stocked kitchen, great indoor/outdoor stereo system, wifi that works anywhere in the house and on the beach. This house is tucked away and has complete privacy...the view in unmatched. We will definitely come back to this rental. We used Brenda & Patrick Demeritte as cooks for the week....awesome couple that can help you with anything you need on vacation at a reasonable price. Missing this little slice of paradise already!

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Governors Harbor
Nearest Beach
5 Metres
Pau Pau Beach
Car: recommended

20 minutes south of Governors Harbour Airport.

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Palmetto Point House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Aug 14 2016 - Dec 17 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 4 2017 - Feb 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Feb 11 2017 - Apr 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
Apr 23 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Jun 10 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Aug 20 2017 - Dec 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$5,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150

Rates are for the first 9 guests. Please add $50/night for each guest additional guest after the first 9.

We set the rates this way so we can offer a lower rate for smaller groups who use less utilities and create less wear and tear.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Palmetto Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master - toilet , shower
    Full 2 - toilet , shower
    Full 3 - toilet , shower
    Half 1 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Bunk beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers