Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Just Steps to the Sand

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • children welcome


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

You're not just on the beach, you own the beach.

Enjoy our inviting and spacious 1400 sq. ft. beachfront home on the sandy beach with breathtaking views over the Gulf of Mexico and Christmas Bay. The entire house has just been remodeled: kitchen, bathrooms, paint, decks, fireplace, beds, sofas, ceiling fans, even a new pretty white railing around the two decks.

We think you'll enjoy your time here while your blood pressure drops.

The master bedroom includes a king size bed, double futon that can pull out to be a double bed, reading lamps, an en-suite bathroom with a garden tub and separate shower, large walk-in closet, dresser, private porch, and tranquil views of the sun rising over the Gulf (there is no better way to wake up).

The guest bedroom has a new tall queen bed, reading lamp, lounge chair, and dresser. The bunkroom has a double bed on the bottom with a twin on top, another twin bed and a reading lamp. Feel free to take out our boogie boards in the closet.

The house is literally right on the beach with just a sand dune between the beach and our home. Our neighborhood uses a little wooden crossover bridge for getting to the beach in order to preserve the dunes. The beach itself is beautiful for finding treasures like shells that wash up from the sea. There is mostly fine sand with shells interspersed. In the summertime, the water around Galveston is warm. During certain weeks throughout the year, beachgoers will see a line of seaweed that has washed up on the beach. Seaweed is not always there and is not the norm, but it is natural and just a part of the beach ecosystem. It is partially responsible for building up the beach and dunes that we all enjoy.

Keywords: Beach House, Beach Front, fishing, inviting, Internet, wifi, cable, new remodel, texas beach, Air Conditioning, Linens, dunes, fishing, swimming, galveston, san luis pass, quiet neighborhood, Flounder, red fish, crabs, large porch, sunset, sunrise, views, relax, margaritas, TV, DVDs, unobstructed beach, shelling, family, reading, get-away, fireplace, mackerel,

More Details

Claire Street
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2017

About Claire Street

We are a sister and two brothers helping to care for our family's vacation home. The picture is several years old but we look even better now! We've created countless cherished memories at this house and are excited about having you come and experience our treasured spot.

Why Claire Street chose Texas Gulf Coast

We've made this our vacation getaway ever since Dear Old Dad built it on what he called the 'Best Beach Lot Ever' (he talks like that sometimes). But before you assume he is exaggerating (don't feel bad, we sometimes do too) take a look at our pictures. This honestly is a location unlike any other with a view down miles of unspoiled beach.

What makes this house unique

We all agree that sitting out on one of the beach-facing porches of our house is our favorite thing to do - people watching, watching the pelicans fly by, dolphins at play, seeing the colors change in the evening. The house is not overly cavernous, but has plenty of space to find privacy when you want it.


Freeport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 9
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

Just Steps to the Sand
average rating of 4.8490567 based on 53 reviews

Lovely house

  • 5 of 5

This house is beautiful. The perfect size for a family. Great location, right on the beach. Makes for a nice little get away from the city!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

BEST house on the beach!

  • 5 of 5

WOWZA! We had high expectations and this place fulfilled them all and more! This really is the BEST house on the beach: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION as they say in real estate.......and because this is the "last house on the beach", it is situated on an almost private beach with a panoramic view, lots of windows, and a fabulous deck that overlooks the ocean. Every night and nap we had a lullaby of ocean sounds to lull us to sleep. The house was very well maintained and sparkling clean. It is beautifully furnished in a beach motif, has a totally stocked kitchen (high end stainless steel appliances, including a dish washer, standard coffee maker, blender, toaster, etc), a TV in every bedroom and the living area (not that I watched.....I was all into the view but my guys were into all the football games since we were there for Thanksgiving), and with high speed internet there is nothing you lack in the way of modern conveniences. There were plenty of linens, including an abundance of colorful beach towels and a washer and dryer in case you need to recycle clothing. The main deck has plenty of comfortable furniture and the private deck off the master bedroom has chaise lounges for totally relaxation. Rope lighting on the deck gives the entire house a magical ambience at night. There are beach toys and beach chairs for playing and relaxing after strolling down the beach collecting shells or trying out boogie boards while riding the waves. The Street family was so easy to deal with and provided personalized customer service to make sure everything was just as expected. We are still pinching ourselves to make sure this trip was real. Worth every penny, this house provides a dream come true vacation. We will definitely be recommending this house to friends and family. In fact, after posting pictures on Facebook, people were asking where we were and if they could crash our party! Thank you Street family for the memories!

PS: We were approached by neighbor renters who wanted to tour our house because of the view and location.....they were green with envy and we felt especially blessed with our choice!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Fulsehar, TX

Nice location, but in need of some maintenance

  • 2 of 5

We were a bit disappointed with this house. The location was great, and the deck overlooking the ocean was fantastic. But the house itself was in a bit of disrepair. Scuffs and scratches on several walls, the floors were all warped and uneven, and the outside had rust stains from most of the nails. We also found it a bit odd that the living room and kitchen had no drapes. The view was beautiful, but the sun in the morning and evening were blinding - it's weird to have to wear sunglasses inside ... Cabinet drawers in the kitchen were hard to open and close, because everything was a little out of balance. And one of the electric outlets sparked when we plugged in a laptop cord, and the transformer got hot very quickly - so something was wrong with that outlet. The additional frustration was that the house was filled with gnats. We were swatting at them the whole week, and debated about just going home early. Overall, the house was a disappointment, especially for the higher rental price relative to some others in the area. We were expecting higher quality for the higher price.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Frank, I’m so sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at our home. I wish you had reached out during your stay. I’m always available to our guests. This is the first time we’ve received less than 5 stars on a review in over two years so I thought I should write back and give updates on a couple points. We have blinds on the windows for privacy but not additional drapes as our guest generally enjoy the sunshine and expansive views of the beach. As you point out, it is hard to keep things from rusting being just feet from the ocean but we had our annual maintenance overhaul last week (Nov 1st through 5th) to clean up the siding and rust you mentioned and make sure all the electrical was in working order. We had our quarterly pest control appointment the week before you stayed and I stayed there with my family just the week before that and didn’t see any bugs so I’m not sure why you would have had an issue with gnats but I know you were bringing your dog so it sounds like the little guy might have brought something in with him. Fortunately, our cleaning service and guests that stayed after you have assured me that the house is clean and bug-free. To anyone reading this review, please know that you are coming to a beach house and there might be a sticky drawer here or there as the humidity comes and goes but the experience of staying steps from basically a private beach can’t be beat; just take a look at the other 50+ reviews :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Perfect location right on the beach!

  • 5 of 5

This house is nice and the perfect location right on beach. You can set up on the beach for the day and leave your stuff with no issues, going back and forth to the house as needed. That was 5 stars for us - so convenient. We left our canopy up the entire weekend, only bringing our chairs and personal items up each night. Another perfect thought when they built the house was to put a water faucet and hose on the top front porch so you can rinse & dry off before going in the house to get the sand off of you. That was great. They also have a faucet and hose downstairs under the house which is great. The house was pretty equipped with what you need and had plenty of towels. It has a washer & dryer so you can do laundry if needed. Note - the washer is a little loud so try not to wash if someone is sleeping.

We had brought our own toiletries, toilet paper and garbage bags, but they did have some small bottles of 'hotel style' toiletries in each bathroom and they had plenty of toilet paper and garbage bags for kitchen. They even had liquid soap in bathrooms and kitchen in case you don't bring. They had washing powder as well which was nice.

The house has a great view and perfectly situated on beach, in a great little neighborhood. Ver quiet and you can hear the waves at night. Nice house.

We would definitely go back. Really enjoyed our Labor Day weekend stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Incredible home with incredible view & Responsive hosts.

  • 5 of 5

The house was right on the beach--couldn't be closer. The home was clean & exactly as pictured. I stayed in May with my brothers & sisters and had a very nice time at the remote location without any foot traffic at the beach house. Thank you for helping us book this amazing home. We hope to see you next year. We wish you continued success.


  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great House, perfect location, very attentive owners, great experience

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd stay at "House on the Beach Looking out to Sea." This time it was a multi-generational family experience, with ages 12 through 76 represented. There was truly something going on for everyone...beach combing, fishing, surfing, long walks, running on the beach...anything having to do with sun, sand and sea, was at your disposal...and I mean immediately at your disposal. The house was immaculate, reflecting the care of the Street family. Claire was a joy to deal with, as was husband Andrew. Our four grandchildren particularly enjoyed the state of the art television in every room. The views out on the deck in the early morning and at sundown were truly stunning. Coming from Wyoming, we particularly enjoy Texas gulf coast seafood, and had a memorable meal at the Red Snapper Inn at Surfside. This home was "As Advertised" and gets Five Stars in my book. I can recommend it without reservation

Roger L. Gose, M.D.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Rates & Availability

Freeport House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2017
May 12 2017 - Sep 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Break 2017/18
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

This house is not subject to the Galveston 9% Hotel Occupancy Tax

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Car: recommended

You're going to be located a few short feet behind the dunes looking down miles of undeveloped Gulf of Mexico beach. Great location if you'd like to be in a small neighborhood but have a secluded feel, you practically own the beach here.

There is a bait and tackle store within walking distance of the home for quick supplies or you will be able to take a short 10 minute drive down Bluewater Highway to get great seafood and shops.


Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties