check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jody Windland

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Leisure home with beach front property and spectacular river views ,

83 Reviews
Sleeps25
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Coxsackie House Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, 18 Beds, Sleeps 25

The Hudson Hideaway is an inviting 6 Bedroom home with its own private beach in a quiet residential neighborhood. Sun yourself on our private dock or take a dip in the Hudson River to cool off. Relax at night on the back patio overlooking the river while a cozy fire blazes in the new outdoor brick fireplace and watch the millions of stars light up the night.. Cook outside on the large Weber Grill and Camp Chef Flat top grill or use the indoor kitchen with newly installed GE double oven and stove top. The game room offers darts, dual basketball challenge, air hockey, ping pong, pool table, poker table, foosball and even a karaoke stage! Outdoors we have volleyball, a children's play structure, kayaking, huge dock. Enjoy DIREC-TV on several 42 - 56' LCD televisions with surround sound for a movie night,. This is a great home for a family reunion, a corporate retreat,or a relaxing get-a-way with friends. (ABSOLUTEY NO after prom parties will be considered, even with adult supervision). We have many amenities to make this the vacation of a lifetime, however this is not the place to consider if you are looking to have wild weekend getaways as this will not be tolerated by the Town nor the homeowners.

This is a smoke free and pet free home.

There are two Wilderness Pungo 120 Kayaks at the home for your use.

Our home is located a short distance from many ski resorts, hiking trails and golf courses as well as many local farms and orchards where you can pick your own produce or take a hay ride. If its shopping malls you want, the Albany Crossgates Mall is just a 25 minute drive away. Want to visit the great WOODSTOCK area for the day, take a scenic 45 minute drive.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jody Windland (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jody Windland

I am 55 yrs old, married for over 25 years and have three beautiful daughters. I grew up in Brooklyn NY, went to John Dewey High School and Florida Institute of Technology for training in aviation and air commerce. I am CEO of United Software Developers and my wife works with SNAP running a program that finds volunteers to help and spend time with Senior Citizens.

People ask why do I rent the house out. With the kids grown, going to college, we just do not use the home as much anymore. I now love to have other families enjoy our home as much as we do. It also helps with the 2 current college tuitions......

Jody Windland purchased this house in 2002

Why Jody Windland chose Catskills

I have a lot of family that lives in the Tri-State area and with homes right on top of each other, I wanted a home where our very large extended family can spend many family gatherings together with room to spare. I was very fortunate to find this perfect house that is only 2 hours away from NYC. The many years of family get togethers and watching my nieces, nephews, cousins grow so close to each other is just priceless !!

What makes this house unique

I immediately fell in love with this home when I saw the 3.5 acres of flat open land was in the backyard with a private sandy beach on the Hudson River where you can swim in fresh water. It did not take long before the fire pits were built for the countless outdoor barn fires, smores and spooky stories. With so much open space there was no reason NOT to add the batting cage, volleyball, play ground, game room, karaoke stage, surround sound systems. To be able to hang out with my adult friends and family and all the kids NOT wanting to leave because they are bored has made everything we did so worth it.

I just love it when I hear the kids begging their parents to stay longer.

Reviews

5
based on 83 traveler reviews

Leisure home with beach front property and spectacular river views ,
average rating of 4.9638553 based on 83 reviews
5

Beautiful, well kept vacation home

  • 5 of 5

This property is fantastic, very well maintained. It has everything on site to keep everyone from ages 2-80 entertained. You really couldnt ask for a better vacation home. I doubt youll find one in upstate New York thats better. The owner was very accomodating, easy to work with, and went out of his way to make our experience better.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for a team offsite!

  • 5 of 5

The perfect place for a team offsite. The house is so full of activities that you never feel the need to leave. Jody recommended a chef that came to the house and cooked for us - I would definitely recommend taking him up on that offer. The only downside was that we only had two nights in the house so we didn't get to all the activities we wanted to do!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This house is amazing and so was dealing with Jody!

  • 5 of 5

I am sure there are many who will review this house and tell you about the long list of things to do and those things are all true! However, I would like to tell you about how professional, organized and helpful Jody was through out our stay.

We are a family of 18, age range from 3 - 70. We have stayed in homes like these many times and dealt with many owners. From the onset as I email questions to Jody about the house it was clear how organized he was. All questions were answered and he went out of his way to get us info about local places. Upon our arrival I was instructed to call him, he provide a complete walk through, explaining everything I needed to know about the house and its many, many games and activities. There was an issue with the ice maker which he was up front about and he apologized for. (it really was never an issue for use at all). About an hour after we checked in a caretaker showed up and said because the icemaker was not working Jody wanted you to have this, it was a commercial margarita machine! What an awesome touch to offer us something because a machine had broke. He had no control of the machine breaking and yet was making that up t o us.

We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights. on day 3 we had an issue with a kayak. When he tells you in the instructions to pull them all they way up, please listen. One was left to close and the tide took it away. I was dreading having to text him saying we had lost a kayak. I sent him the text and his immediate answer was "no worries, you have the insurance. We will figure it out just enjoy your time with your family" Wow!

I obtained a police report for the insurance and emailed it to Jody. He handled everything else! Including trying to get a replacement kayak to the house before we left!!

This house literally has everything for all age ranges. We were amazed at how many closet karaoke singer are in our family and have videos that will forever be treasure of us all singing. The batting cage, ping pong, volleyball, pool table, the list goes on and on. The back patio and fire pit were beautiful and had chairs for all of use. The kitchen has an abundance of pots and pans. As a group of 19 we are used to eating in different areas of these houses, here there are 2 tables that held use all! On inside and on the patio, under a roof.

This house is as awesome as the pictures, but the best part was Jody. He is professional, and genuinely cared that we had a great time!

Thank you Jody!

..

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Weekend or Week house

  • 5 of 5

Great house with tons of activities and space galore. Jody was great very accessible to talk with and answer all my question in a speedy fashion. Would stay here again for a week or longer next time.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun for All!

  • 5 of 5

So much to do at the house. Plenty of space to spread out or be together. Big dining table in and out for family meals. We loved the game room of course with the pool table, karaoke, ping pong and all the rest. Jody had great communication with us all week as well as before and after our stay. Definitely enjoyed our week and the kids were so sad to leave!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super fun, great experience

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our family reunion. There were enough activities to please every age group and enough space and bedrooms to provide privacy when needed. We never got a chance to explore the area attractions because we were having so much fun at the house. We saw a bald eagle by the river which was great. It rained one day but there is plenty of room inside for everyone to socialize in different areas.

Jody the owner was a pleasure to work with, always helpful and never pushy. We are already hoping to rent the same house again next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Our house is on a quiet street right on the Hudson River. Albany is a 25 minute drive with huge shopping malls,

dining, movie theatres and more. Like Skiing? We are a 35 minute drive to Hunter Mountain and other ski slopes

and this is the perfect house for large ski groups. Hudson is a 20 minute drive with all the quaint shops and great restaurants. Just minutes from the house is plenty of shopping, drive-in theatre, Pizza, Chinese, Ice-cream, seafood and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Coxsackie House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sept-Nov
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
Nov 2016
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
Dec 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
Xmas New Years
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Refundable damage deposit $500
Option I Cleaning $350

Certain Holiday rates apply based on number of days.
Labor day weekend, 4 night minimum stay $1100 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Coxsackie House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • River ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , LED TV
    Kid's Room - 2 double , 4 twin/ single , LED TV
    Downstairs Room - 6 twin/ single , LED TV
    Cozy Room - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Quaint Room - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , LED TV with Sleep Chair for small person
    Gym with 1 Queen Bed - 1 queen , Workout room, treadmill, LED TV, Couch
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties