check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Colin Brennan

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach

50 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Park Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

A one-off comfortable period cottage right on the Irish Sea coast line

An unashamedly romantic secluded period farmhouse, “Park” has sea views from every room (from every bed if you want to be exact) and is set in a magical unspoiled coastal vista with an unrepeatable “get away from it all” atmosphere.”

A private holiday home and bolt-hole for the same family for more than fifty years, there is a calmness and a healing property that makes it perfect for honeymooners (not necessarily their first) and also idyllic for young children who might find they can explore the abundant natural beauty of the farmland and coastline with a nowadays unusual freedom.

The informal seaside style gardens feature ancient stone walls and extensive grassed areas and suggest the urgent need for a little more relaxation before indulging in anything as vigorous as a walk on the beach let alone a swim. There is a sheltered cove on the property and also rock pools and an amazing rock archway.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Colin Brennan (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed here for three wonderful days and only left once for supplies.

Once you come here, there is no reason to eave, wondeerful weather, beach picnics, siting in the beautiful gardens drinkinmg wine, warm cozy fires at night - The Perfecty Holiday - Ronan and Sonya
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 50 traveler reviews

Spectacular cliff top 17th century seaside farmhouse with own beach
average rating of 4.88 based on 53 reviews
5

Beautiful seaside retreat

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Park for a week in September. The grounds are beautiful and the house is well appointed. As the weather improved a few days into our stay, we enjoyed evening wine and reading overlooking the sea. We enjoyed some excursions closer to Park, including a few hours at the Avoca Handweavers location in County Wicklow and the Ireland Falconry demonstration. We drove to Bray to take the train into Dublin one day and enjoyed Glendalough, Kilkenny, and Rock of Cashel, as well. Although it was just two of us, I can see how a larger group would enjoy the property and location, especially during the summer. A memorable vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely homely cottage, where you can truly switch off from everything.

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous week here. The gardens were fantastic and our 2 young children loved playing and exploring in them. It is then a short stroll to a lovely beach which we were the only inhabitants of for the whole week. The cottage is cosy with nice old furniture and features which we really loved. On chilly nights we were able to light the fire. Colin the owner has been very helpful with comprehensive information provided before and excellent communication with us throughout the whole experience. We would definitely recommend it as a great family holiday.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Serenity

  • 5 of 5

Park was an undescribable place of refuge for us in our introduction to Ireland. As said by others, the pictures do not do justice to the lushness of the grounds. The beach is wonderfully private and our forays into the Irish Sea, nothing short of replenishing (ok, and 'refreshing'). The house itself is wonderful and allows you to step back in time, without sacrificing modern facilities. Meeting Donal (groundskeeper and all around handyman) and hearing the history of the house (and its famous use in film) was a treat. Colin , the owner, was great to deal with and very helpful (and concerned) when we had an illness arise. While we have other adventures to attend to, we will find ourselves back to this wonderful property.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A little bit of Ireland for your own!

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time in many vacations that my wife and I have taken over the years that we were truly not ready for it to end! The house was everything we imagined and more. Our group of 7 fit comfortably in the 4 bed rooms and the sitting areas were warm and furnished just right. The kitchen served us well for breakfast and the leg of lamb dinner my daughter cooked one evening! The grounds were spectacular! In front of the house sits Four Green Fields each a bit different. Sitting in the ruins near the cliff was both romantic and calming. The beach and views of the Irish Sea are yours for the taking. Rainbows are common and we saw the local seal on several occasions. The house served as our base for the many local areas to hike, eat and shop.(Glendalough!!)We returned refreshed and grateful for the opportunity to have shareded this wonderful house! We called Donal with a question about the heat and he showed up 20 minutes later to show us how to set it. Colin & Fleur were a call away and communication was effortless! Cheers!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Alexandria, VA
5

Exquisite property!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot wait to return to this house so I hesitate to give it a fabulous review for fear it will never be available again! We had a wonderful time in this centuries old home that is located on a very private spot at the end of road, literally. One has to pass through three gates to reach this spot and pay quite precise attention to the written instructions provided by the owner (don't miss the communal water pump on the left...) Do not arrive for the first time in the dark!

This home is located on the Irish Sea and the rocky beach is quite private, we never saw another soul. The grounds are beautifully kept and Donal comes and mows the lawns on Tuesday. There are lovely gardens that frame the old stone barn at the edge of the property over looking the sea. The house itself is well preserved given the age and has fully updated bathrooms and a wonderful kitchen that provided every amenity possible.

We generally had a full Irish breakfast of rashers and eggs with brown bread and then spent the day touring locally or in Dublin. We usually had dinner on the way home but did cook a few times and appreciated the dishwasher. There is a small dining area in the kitchen but if it is a lovely morning one can also eat outside at the table in front of the house on the "patio." There is one bedroom downstairs and three upstairs and can sleep 8 altogether so it is ideal for a family.

Our favorite part of the day was sitting in the living room with a glass of wine and a book enjoying a peat fire in the fireplace, super relaxing.

The owner, Colin, is quite solicitous and helpful and this home has everything one might need for a peaceful vacation. If you prefer wild nightlife this is not the place for you...I have never slept better!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed yourselves. We rate fireside wine quaffing pretty highly too, apart from those who like to go running on the beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5

This will be a rave review but I want to begin with a qualifier; the house is very well equipped but it is also rustic. Upstairs walls are wood boards that let light through. Floor boards have gaps looking to rooms below. It is an old house and feels comfortably country old.

If this is your cup of tea (as it is ours) you will love your stay here. The location is to die for, with a cliff and a beach basically just for you. It is also smack in the middle of some of Irelands nicest country. Some places, many of which you wont find in guidebooks but are delightful, are; Gorey and Wexford on the coast and the little towns Clonegal and Tinahely inland.

Colin was perfect with just the right amount of involvment and concern.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Kilometres
Dublin Airport
Nearest Ferry
100 Kilometres
Rosslare/ Dun Laoghaire
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Arklow
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Adjoining garden
Car: necessary

'Park,' the name of the property, is situated on the coast about four miles south of the town of Arklow which is the nearest center for shopping and a good choice of pubs and restaurants. Although secluded, with a town so close it could not be described as remote. It is about one mile off the road system at the end of a lane way with two farm gates which need to be opened and closed.

It is close to the Wicklow Mountains and the delightful village of Avoca where the TV sitcom Ballykissangel was filmed. Day trips to Dublin, Wexford and the charming City of Kilkenny are manageable. Russborough, the stately home, and the gardens of Powerscourt, Kilruddery and Mount Usher are all easily reached. The highly scenic valley of Glendalough with its monastic ruins is easy and rewarding to visit. Newgrange, the 5,000 year old stone-age passage grave, is a bit further afield but should not be missed.

For those who don't like an empty beach, the popular Clogga & Kilgorman strands are close by.

Other Activities: Garden visiting

Golf: The magnificently set Woodenbridge Golf Club, a leading parkland course of some significance described by the legendary Joe Carr as “Ireland’s Augusta” and “The most scenic golf course in Ireland, a hidden gem,' it is within five miles. Arklow Golf Club, a tricky but satisfying classic links course is even nearer.

There are many other course within east reach including Coolatin and Courtown.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Park Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid-season
Oct 22 2016 - Oct 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,406
 
 
Low Season
Apr 29 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,462
 
 
Mid-Season
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
 
 
High Season
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,361
 
 
Mid-season
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,799
 
 
Low Season
Sep 23 2017 - Oct 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,462
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

The house is not rented in winter month from November to April and it is only rented by the week on a Saturday-to Saturday basis. A non-returnable deposit of 25 per cent per week booked is required to confirm a booking with the balance being due two months before the commencement of the tenancy. In the event of cancellation, the refund of any payments is at the discretion of the owners.
The rents quoted are all-in. There are no taxes, cleaning charges or fees of any kind.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Park Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • The bathroom and shower room both have toilets and handbasin. There is no upstairs bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • The main bedroom with a double bed is upstairs where there are also two further bedrooms which lead off each other with two single beds in each A further bedroom with two single beds and a door to the outside is on the ground floor
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Some of the house is 17th century and it has been restored and furnished in keeping with its age. The bathrooms are however completely modern. A cast iron bath, power shower and electric towel rail were added in a 2011 upgrade to the plumbing. The kitchen is also up to date with high specification appliances and specially designed cabinets of locally grown and crafted elm. In September 2010, the farmhouse became the only property of its kind to be added to the List of Protected Structures by Wicklow County Council. Much of the furniture is antique but the interior is generally simple and easy to keep as is traditional in seaside houses.

Partner Offers