check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Paddington Matz

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

C.1905 Freshly Restored and Renovated 'Green' Lakefront Home

5 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Aurora House Rental Photos and Description

House, 7 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 5 Baths

*FYI I do not use the online calender...so sorry I am old school and like to use a fountian pen in my day book...so just email me the dates you are interested in and I will get back to you within 24 hours..Best, paddington

Fully restored and renovated green home, sits right on the shore of lake Cayuga, with water views abound. Comfortable, sunny with large outdoor fully furnished decks and wraparound porch. Outdoor shower, canoe, kayak, and in the summer a 15 ft. water trampoline. Situated in the quaint village of Aurora, home of Wells College, close to Ithaca, NY, Cornell and Ithaca College, Syracuse University, Hobert William Smith. In the heart of the finger lake wine region. Antiquing, historical sites and tours, skiing, golf, boating, and swimming are only a few of the many outdoor activities. Salon/Spa is down the street, as well as a wine store, library, the Fargo family restaurant and four star Aurora Inn and restaurant.

All 7 bedrooms drenched with sunlight, the house has a total of 88 windows plus a number of stain glass beauties. Quiet, with wonderful breezes off the lake, nestled between a c1819 Masonic lodge and the United Ministry Church built in the 1800

Any further questions about LyonHouse of the area, please feel free to call Paddington @ 212.227.2252

*FYI I do not use the online calender...so sorry I am old school and like to use a fountian pen in my day book...so just email me the dates you are interested in and I will get back to you within 24 hours..Best, paddington

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
Paddington Matz (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 5 traveler reviews

C.1905 Freshly Restored and Renovated 'Green' Lakefront Home
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
5

Stunningly perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Absolute perfection...Arrived to a welcome by an amazing home perfect lake vista...amazing amenities, and everything one could want in a gourmet kitchen. Ventured into town which is picturesque and inviting! All the charm you would expect from the pictures and more! Will go back again and again...The house is beyond spacious, and decorated in a fabulously artistic way...everywhere you look, something else to capture your eye. Charming, artistic, interesting, unique, fun, spacious, perfection of a house....Welcoming and beyond. My family and I were thrilled! Highly recommend! A great place for a retreat or get away! Five stars!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Cornell University's Christian Union stayed the night recently for our Fall Retreat and it was absolutely perfect! Every room in this house has so much personality! From the quirky wallpapers, comfy couches, chalkboard refrigerator, and beautiful view, everything single thing about this house was enjoyable. When you first enter, it is hard not to run around and discover all the house has to offer, and that's exactly what each and every one of us did. The decor within the house is absolutely adorable, my personal favorite being the bathroom with tile that looks like grass as well as the beautiful kitchen. Perfect for the large dinner we prepared for everyone, we were all able to gather and cook in one place without any trouble at all. Whether your group is large or small, you are bound to have a blast in this house. With a group of about 20, everyone was able to sleep in a room comfortably, find a quiet place, or join together to for fellowship and fun! We were even able to put the music room to great use as we joined in praise and worship there. Fortunately, the weather was absolutely beautiful when we stayed, so the deck overlooking the lake was the perfect spot to relax and take in the beauty that is this house. I would recommend this spot to anyone and everyone. There is just so much character, room, and fun in this house that it's simply impossible not to have a fantastic time!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Lee, Massachusetts, Berkshires, USA
5

Perfect for Our Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

WOW. There was something here for everyone in our large family! Our "senior" parents so enjoyed having the privacy and accessibility of the first floor bedroom and bath. The kids loved choosing their own rooms each with its own charming, fun style. Do look at the house photos which show how inviting, casual and clean this super vacation house is. My husband and I appreciated our own private spaces. Our dog loved being included too. (As requested, we kept him leashed when out of doors).

Charming porches surround the property overlooking the glorious Lake and adorable Aurora Main Street. Activities indoors were easy with a beautiful piano, puzzles, games and books everywhere. The family room and kitchen kept us all together when we wanted to be but the house is huge when anyone wanted privacy to sleep-in or get away from the action.

Exploring the Finger Lakes, Ithaca, the Vineyards, the antique shops and flea markets gave every one of us something fun to do. What a beautiful part of the country this is!!

The owner, Paddington, made us feel right at home. We were grateful for all her great suggestions.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

A gem in the Finger Lakes

  • 5 of 5

This has to be one of the most beautiful places on this planet!!! Watching the sunset over the lake from the back porch sipping our fav hot drinks and libations is something we will not soon forget. Nor will we forget swinging on the front porch taking in the happenings of downtown Aurora. A dip in the lake not 50 steps from the house while the kids bounced on the water trampoline was just the ticket to wake us up to take on the day or before hitting the town. Aurora is a wonderful little town, and Ithaca is an amazing scenic drive along the lake just 20 minutes away when we wanted a more urban scene. Close enough to go out to dinner, yet far enough away to be out of the city life. The best of both worlds!!! The house itself is a modern marvel with its "green-ness" existing inside the soul of a beautiful Victorian home. We found ourselves lost in the serenity of this amazing home with all its offerings and surroundings. We will be back!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

A perfect hideaway

  • 5 of 5

If hospitality has a name it must be called Lyon House and Paddington! The 19th century home and the landlady are indivisible hosts for an unforgettable stay on the shores of Lake Cayuga! Whatever room out of the nine you go to you breathe the uniqueness of the house created by Paddington - style, interior design, charm - everything has been set up to make you feel at home from the very first moment you enter the house! Everything comes to you as natural!

When you enter the house by the main entrance you see a wide open entrance hall, wonderful stairs and the lake on the other end of the house. Light is flooding the place from plenty of windows - no matter on which floor or in which room you walk or stay there is light. Each room is different - furniture, bathroom, wall-paper, atmosphere. And it is again the light that enhances each detail.

Sitting down on the porch on the lakeside of the house creates peace while you watch the water of the lakes and while you listen to the leaves of the trees moved by the wind.

We - having come over from Europe - stayed there twice - in January and June. So we experienced different seasons. There was one common thing - the light. Though the light is different in January and June it seems to play with the house and the house seems to play with light. It always feels warm. As the house makes you feel the particular warmth of an old house that has been taken care of so tremendously allowing us to get lost in that very special tiny little spot somewhere in upstate New York.

The love and the passion the landlady put into that house is all over the place. Paddington takes care of everything and she cares about you. She is always available but she is almost invisible. She acts in the background to be there if you need her. But her guests privacy is her prime priority. We learned at lot about the interesting history of Aurora; we got plenty of recommendations to visit the Finger Lakes vineries and, and, and...

So, if we want come back? No! We want to stay without leaving.

Manfred

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Syracuse Hancock International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Fargo Bar and Grill
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wells College Golf Course
Nearest Train
50 Miles
Syracuse NY
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Route 81 and 90
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Aurora Inn/Fargo Bar and Grill
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Greek Peak
Nearest Beach
5 Metres
Cayuga Lakeshore

Lyon House is the largest rental home availablewith direct lake front acsess to Cayuga Lake.

Lyon House was brought down to the studs and fully renovated in a 'Green' way...it is heated via a geothermal lake plate system with radiant heat through out, all the custom wall paper was printed with soy inks, , the paint used in the house was all no VOC, recycled blue jean insulation, grey water system, all of the water in the house passes throuh an 8 filter water filtration system including the shower water.

The first floor has a large entry foyer with expansive art and music rooms to the north and south, 2 guest bedrooms one bathroom ...the family room kitchen and dining rooms all look out over the lake and lead to an extremely large furnished deck with huge slade and fold doors so that the back of the house can be open to the out of doors.

On the second floor of LyonHouse are 6 bedrooms ( 4 are extremely large) and 3 bathrooms plus a sewing and a laundry room.

The 3rd floor of Lyon House is a cork floored Yoga Studio and exersize room with a treadmill, Nordic Track, Mats, blocks, balls, videos, 50 inch Television, basic cable, full bathroom and large sectional sofa for watching surround sound films and television...the first floor stereo system plays into the art, music, family, dining, kitchen and decks

We have an antique wooden canoe and Kayak and a 15 foot water trampoline.

Bed count 3 Kings, 3 Queens, 2 doubles and 2 twins

Any further questions, please feel free to call Paddington @ 212.227.2252

Photos

Rates & Availability

Aurora House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

One night stay(2,000.00)refundable damage deposit in the form of cash, money order or cashiers bank check is due at check in and assuming Lyon House is return as it was delivered, deposit is returned in full on check out

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Aurora House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 9000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Lake
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Macintosh Computer
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs - toilet , shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Upstairs Green Room - toilet , shower
    Upstairs Orange Room - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , bidet
    Attic Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Green Downstairs Room - 1 king
    Church Side Room - 1 queen
    Green Door Upstairs Room - 1 double
    Orange Door Upstairs Room - 1 double
    Pink Door Upstairs Room - 1 double
    Purple Door Upstairs Room - 1 queen
    Yellow Door Upstairs Room - 1 king
    Sleeping Porch - 1 king
    Attic Bedroom Space - 6 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Child's Swing
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Raft
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Skis
  • Wood Deck
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Steam Shower
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties