check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Bill Roderique

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Modern Family Friendly with Extras on Quiet Cove

21 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Smith Mountain Lake House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3.5 Baths. Extra beds, Sleeps 6 adults and up to 6 children.

Located in Bedford County in the Village East Subdivision, on a quiet cove on Smith Mountain Lake. Built in 2002, the house has modern conveniences, includes 2 master suites, has a Hot Tub, 16x19 screened porch, large cement patio, game room downstairs, dock with covered boat lift, a jet ski dock, and a swim dock.

Wooden stairs lead down from patio to the dock. Swim/float from the dock in the cove or at the community pool (short walk from house). Hot tub seats 6 and has built in MP3 player, powered speakers, with sub-woofer.

Enjoy ping-pong or fuzeball in the gameroom. A separate TV is located in the gameroom for the kids. Upstairs you can relax to your favorite shows or movies in the great room with a 59' plasma TV and surround sound. A playstation 3 compliments the entertainment.

Free use of community pool, tennis courts, and boat launch, included.

Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Bill Roderique (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Bill Roderique

I work in Lynchburg, VA; about 1 hr from the lake. I moved to Lynchburg in 1989 and I've lived in this area ever since. I now live at this lake property 9 months of the year, and rent it during the Summer months. During the Summer months, I stay with family in town, or else I go on vacation, myself.

Bill Roderique purchased this house in 2010

Why Bill Roderique chose Smith Mountain Lake

Smith Mountain Lake is awesome. I've been coming to this lake every Summer for boating and recreation, since I first moved to this area. I wanted to buy a house on this lake the very first time I visited it.

What makes this house unique

The modern open floor plan, and the spacious feeling provided by it, made me want this house. Another plus was the community pool, tennis courts and boat launch. And, of course, it's waterfront property.

The cove and covered boat slip are another plus. One side of the boat slip is a 'floater' with a swimming ladder and the cove is perfect for swimming. It is a quiet small cove with no boat traffic. This cove empties out into a much larger cove that is perfect for jet ski, skiing, or tubing. The large cove empties out into the main channel of Smith Mountain Lake and you can see Hale's Ford Bridge from that spot. Hales Ford Bridge has restaurants, mini-golf, rock climbing, bungee jumping, and a whole host of shops. It is only minutes to reach by boat or by car. You can rent a boat from one of several shops located at the bridge.

Reviews

4.7
based on 21 traveler reviews

Modern Family Friendly with Extras on Quiet Cove
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews
5

Great home and great screened in back room.

  • 5 of 5

This has been the second time we have stayed here. We had a great time each stay. The house is beautiful and very spacious. It is located off a beautiful secluded cove where we swam, paddle boarded as well as used the canoe. There is a nice community pool as well which we enjoyed. Great dock for your boar or a rental. Beautiful lake to visit.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tarpon Springs, FL.
4

GREAT HOUSE

  • 4 of 5

Our family was not disappointed with this getaway house. The scenery where it is located is magnificent. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood right on the lake. The screened in porch was our favorite place to relax and eat our meals.

The kitchen was large and the appliances were new. The televisions in the house are better than what I have at home. The one in the great room is huge and the kids enjoyed playing the games on the play station that he has hooked up. There is also a tv mounted on the wall on the porch and another large tv on the bottom floor which made it nice for everyone to enjoy what they wanted to watch. Even though it is located in a rural area, the food market is just minutes away. If you enjoy wine tasting, there are two small winery's located on the road that goes to the home. The State Park is about a 15 minute drive from the house and there are quite a few boat rental companies nearby. There prices are very reasonable. The boat dock located on the property made it easy for us to rent a pontoon boat for two days as we were able to dock it right there. Bill has quite a few life vests there for his guests and they are so much nicer than the ones that came with the boat. You can swim off his dock. And the water was not as cold as I thought it would be.

The owner is amazing. We have rented homes for our family vacation for eight years now and I would have to say that Bill is the most responsive owner we have dealt with. He has put together a welcome book that has everything you need to know in it. When we had problems with the wi fi I left him a voice mail and he got back to me within an hour. He was there with a new box the next day and spent several hours getting it all set up for us.

Even though the weather was not as not cooperative as we would have liked we had a fantastic family vacation because of all the amenities that are at the house that we were able to use when the weather made it impossible to enjoy the outdoors.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful! Loved the subdivision , having the pool to go to and seeing the deer everday. .

  • 4 of 5

We loved it! The only downfall was the hill to the lake. Or should I say the climb up. Lol! We definitely got a workout everyday. We loved all the room the house had. The hot tub was a hit! Loved seeing the deer everday. It is truly a beautiful place! The screened porch was a big hit also, we spent a lot of time there. Thank you for sharing your house with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greensboro
5

Spacious Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Very spacious house, basement and large screened porch especially nice areas over which to spread. Meals on the screened porch enjoyable--card-table chairs on the shelves in the garage for extra seating. Bar-height dining table was fine, but only four bar-height chairs in a house that sleeps 6-8 was a bit inconvenient at mealtimes. Also, no coffee or end-tables for beverages or eating in living area since there weren't enough chairs. Ample toilet tissue for week.

The stairs provided a workout, but are in super condition, as is the new dock. Dock largely shaded for most of day, making relaxing down on the quiet cove possible just about any time. There is a picnic table with umbrella , and the other side is where we tied the fishing boat and fished. I was lucky enough to catch two sizable catfish, one of which we ate! The larger cove that feeds off the main lake was a nice place to swim and take out inner tubes (there is a community boat-launch and dock from which you can access the water), as well as fish. The main lake is very large, and we weren't comfortable venturing far from our cove for fear we wouldn't find our way back. Very friendly neighbors.

Beds were all comfortable, the bathrooms perfectly adequate. Having to bring along own linens is always a bit of an extra hassle, but workable. My nephew played some basketball, and we rode bikes a few times--BUT, it is very hilly, and for every downhill into a culde-sac, you have to ride back up, so be prepared! It was nice to ride down to the boat launch for a change of scenery.

Those that used the hot-tub enjoyed it, but READ THE GUEST MANUAL before you get in, and don't let young folks touch the buttons! There are only two buttons that you are supposed to press, and things have to be re-set if you touch the 'Power' button. Also, we had a lot of trouble with the circuit tripping and not consistently turning back on. Host readily available via email.

My only constructive comments are: 1) The water pressure is horrible, if more than one person was using water or an appliance was running, or a toilet flushed, which was a bit inconvenient.; 2) The kitchen could really use routine, thorough cleaning (crumbs wedged between counter and fridge, greasy stovetop/controls, toaster full of crumbs/chunks of old bread, and few glasses/very scattered, minimalistic kitchen cabinets); 3) Dryer vent may need cleaning--took two cycles to dry every load.

We did enjoy our stay very much. . .Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house, location, poorly equiped and dirty kitchen appliances. Very bad water pressure

  • 3 of 5

House is in a great location, nicely furnished. Fun paddle boards, canoe, Ping-Pong, fuse ball, etc. tons of closets. On the negative side, terrible water pressure. Called housekeeper to complain about lack of cups (6), glasses (3), food storage containers, and she was out of state with the owner. Not helpful. Also the extra bed was not available. The kitchen cabinets were cluttered with old food, spices, etc. A toilet clogged up after someone urinated, so tried to find a plunger. Couldn't find, so emailed again. The coffee maker was the dirtiest I had ever seen, and the Kitchen Aid mixer was filthy as well. No serving dishes, etc. The owners brother-in-law came by the evening of the second night with a blow up mattress, and some cups, glasses and larger plates for serving and plunger. the biggest issue was the terrible water pressure. Unless you want to frequently flush the water filtration system, I wouldn't recommend the house. Later the 2nd or 3rd day the owner came by and did the flushing and wanted to instruct me on how to do it, but you know I didn't pay money to be the plumber or maintenance guy. He also told me there was a plunger crammed into a 6" space next to the dryer (yeah, that's where I would keep my plunger in a 4 Bath house). Why he didn't tell me that via email days prior is beyond me. By the end of the week, it definitely dropped significantly to the point of 1 person could shower at a time and not right after flushing a toilet.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm truly sorry that you did not experience as wonderful a vacation at my home, as every other person that has reviewed their stay. There were some Season startup issues, such as the coffee decanter that I've addressed with the maid. I am very responsive to my guests, however, I was out of town at a Church function, which delayed my response slightly. You checked in Saturday and made me aware of the issues that night. By Sunday evening, I had resolved all issues except the water pressure. I provided you with a simple fix to the water pressure, however, you, chose not to implement it. So, then on Monday, I came by and flushed the filters, which you agreed resolved the pressure issue. You, however, bear responsibility for the low water pressure that you experienced during your stay. I asked you whether any toilets were running continuously, and you stated "no"(without checking). After your stay, I found the guest half bath toilet running. This running toilet caused the filter to clog and the pressure to drop. There is plenty of water pressure, as long as the filter is not clogged. I am very disappointed that given how responsive I was to your issues, you would choose to write this poor review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just what the doctor ordered!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to kick back and relax. The back deck was a big hit and great gathering place. All of the days began and ended on the back deck.

The owner is very responsive and goes the extra mile to ensure the stay is very pleasant. The only disappointing part is having to leave and go back to the daily grind.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Smith Mountain Lake Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Mangoes
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Mariner's Landing
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Lynchburg
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
East Lake Restaurant
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
SML State Park
Car: necessary

Only minutes, by boat or car to Hale's Ford Bridge for shopping, dining, family fun center.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Moneta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Jun 18 2016 - Aug 19 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,399
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 20 2016 - Sep 9 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,164
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $125 + Tax
Cleaning $175 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates and availability are subject to change, until reservation has been confirmed.
If you cancel and I am able to re-rent the property, I will refund up to the amount collected by the subsequent rental.
$500 deposit + $49 damage insurance required to reserve property. Remainder due 30 days prior to check-in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Smith Mountain Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Baby Gate
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Master Bath 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Guest - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master 1 - 1 queen
    Master 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Additional bedding: Futon and couch in game room. Couch in Great Room. Laundry/Extra room on lower level can convert to extra bedroom area. Although there are 4 bedrooms and many extra beds, I can only rent to 6 adults maximum, based on Septic System size and Bedford Co. ordinance.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
  • Raft
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...