Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Nantucket Island Escape: Stay Near a Quiet Beach This Summer

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,760 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 6, central air conditioning

Enjoy beautiful ocean sunrise and sunset views from this lovely 3 bedroom, 2-story family home complete with central air conditioning, 4 decks and an outdoor shower.

This serene location sits on a quiet road, just 5 houses from Tom Nevers Beach. Here you can get away from it all while you are still close enough (less than 7 miles) to Nantucket Town. In town you can enjoy the historic feel and charm of cobble-stoned Main Street with its numerous shops and restaurants.

The 3 bedrooms are located on the ground floor, leaving a completely open, spacious second floor with 14-foot ceilings and open kitchen, dining, and living areas. This unique living room offers French doors on the east and west corners of the room leading to outside decks where you can sit and enjoy the ocean views during sunrise and sunset. A half bath is located off the pantry on the second floor. All new GE Profile kitchen appliances and new GE washer and dryer.

The master bedroom has a queen bed, walk in closet, and access to a private deck via French doors. Adjoining master bathroom has an 8-foot marble shower with 3 shower heads. The second bedroom also has a queen bed and the third bedroom has 2 twin beds and access to its own private deck. Second full bathroom is next to bedrooms.

Weekly rentals are available. Check calendar below for current availability. All linens, bath and beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas, and gas barbecue grill are provided for your use during your stay. Wi-Fi high-speed broadband internet access and Xfinity Comcast cable HDTV with Google Chromecast available. Off street driveway parking.

More Details


Tom Nevers House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2760 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bathroom - toilet , shower , marble shower with 3 shower heads
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Near upstairs living rooms
    Outdoor shower -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Master bedroom - 1 queen , HD TV, walk in closet, french doors lead to deck
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , door leads to side deck
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Deck Furniture
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • Yard
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Central air conditioning, recently upgraded full HVAC, new GE Profile kitchen appliances, new GE washer and dryer, new tankless water heater with an endless supply of hot water, gas barbecue grill, outdoor shower, near beach. Perfect for families. Comcast HD Cable TV, Xfinity Digital Preferred, On Demand, and sports channels. High-speed broadband wireless internet access provided. Google Chromecast: The easiest way to enjoy online video and music on TV. Available in great room.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Nantucket Island Escape: Stay Near a Quiet Beach This Summer
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews

Wonderful Nantucket Rental

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful house and wonderful location on Nantucket! A walk to the beach and surrounded by conservation land. Fantastic showers and every beach house immenity you can think of. We would love to rent this property again!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review Michelle. We hope to have you and your family back on-island next summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1


  • 1 of 5

I'm afraid to say my experience of this property and it's owner sadly ruined my family's annual vacation.

My family and I booked this property almost 12 months prior to our visit and had been looking forward to our stay with great anticipation however from the very first moment we arrived it became blatantly obvious this wasn't the property we were expecting and the photos advertised on this page seemed to have been taken many years prior and were incredibly misleading.

Whilst the property is quiet and placed next to a beautiful beach, it's in desperate NEED of a complete OVERHAUL. I don't know where to start as the list is so exhaustive.. The key points we found rather disturbing include:

1) Water damage on the ceilings downstairs including cracks and black mould in the twin bedroom and guest bathroom which meant we could only use one of the guest rooms.

2) The extremely strong damp smell as you walk through the house which the owner has unsuccessfully tried to mask with multiple air fresheners.

3) The furniture was old and very shabbby. The sofa's upstairs had multiple rips on the covers, the outside furniture had residue from the ocean on them and were unsuable; the bedsheets were stained with either rust from the old bedframes or had not been washed from prior use and the curtains again had either dirt or mould on them.

4) The house was incredibly dirty. The owner claimed the property had been cleaned and inspected by himself prior to our arrival however in our view the house had not been touched in at least 6 months. There were spiders and piles of dust in every corner.

The owner.... My family and I spoke with the owner on our 3rd day as we simply couldn't stand being in the house any longer and had spent our entire break cleaning and keeping our toddler from touching many of the facilities. The owner after several calls and emails eventually agreed to let us leave the property at the end of 6 nights stay and agreed to refund us the second week's money when we returned the key. He refused to acknowledge any of our complaints and simply countered us by advising he'd put in a new washing machine, dryer and cooker.. Our view... He was simply masking the issues as he had tried to do with the air fresheners and simply refused to consider refunding any of the money we had paid for the first week despite being unable to use two of the key room during our stay. I would highly recommend you avoid this property at all costs!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that you were unhappy in our beautiful Nantucket home. Our guests from the past 7 years, including our reviewers, don't agree with you. We take pride in providing a clean and comfortable place to stay. We have recently upgraded all new kitchen appliances, rugs and carpeting, lighting, hot water heater, and some furniture. Yes, we are a work in progress. And no, there is no mold (as you claim) in the house. We wish you well in your travels and hope you find what you're looking for.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 8

Wonderful Week in Tom Nevers

  • 5 of 5

Having never been to Nantucket we viewed all the property descriptions with a certain degree of faith. Upon deciding that this property suited our needs we were most pleased by the owner's prompt responses and the comprehensive information he provided regarding the house and the island. The home surpassed the description and photos offered on the site and the customer service was superb. We highly recommend this property and look forward to again visiting the island.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Eileen! We're delighted that you chose to stay at our home for your first visit to the island. We hope you come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Beautiful Home in Tom Nevers!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home for 9 nights and truly enjoyed our stay. The owner was a pleasure to deal with from the start which makes the total experince that much nicer! The layout was great, the yard was beautiful, we really loved the second floor decks with ocean views!! The master shower was amazing , the second bathroom was also very nice. Tom Nevers beach is like a private one, so nice and quiet and the bike paths are so accessible from this location which was great! Great place to vacation in Nantucket away from the hustle and bustle!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. You are the perfect guests! We hope to see you back next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

This home has a certain "Je ne sais quoi".

  • 5 of 5

Nestled in a beach neighborhood with amazing views and yet a quick ride into town, the location offers the best of both worlds. The house is fresh and clean. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. I sensed they really want you to enjoy your stay and fall in love with the island (if you have not~ already). The home is prettier than the photos. The grounds are well kept and often sprinkled with adorable rabbits. There is something about this home and the location that makes for a true Nantucket vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Elizabeth! We're looking forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Fantastic Holiday Location on Nantucket

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this property (HomeAway No.: 964942) from August 8 to 18, 2014 with a party of six. In preparation of our stay the owner of the property was very forthcoming and always extremely pleasant to deal with and helpful.

The house is located in the quiet Tom Nevers area of Nantucket. The (unguarded) beautiful beach is 5 min. walking distance from the house. Despite being there during peak season it was quiet and felt almost private.

The House was very well maintained and clean. All technical amenities (dish washer, washing machine, dryer, kitchen, bathrooms, WiFi etc.) were in proper state and worked perfectly. We very much liked the "upside down" architecture with the spacious, very nicely decorated main living area and open kitchen on the second floor (above tree level) with two terraces and great views over the island (sea view in the distance) and always one terrace in the sun.

For shopping and most restaurants one needs to drive (10 min.) to the town of Nantucket. Popular guarded beaches, such as Cisco Beach or Surfside, are a 10 to 15 min. drive away. Picturesque Siasconset is in 5 min. drive distance.

We truely enjoyed our time at this house (and love Nantucket!) 100%. We would love to come again and definitely recommend the house to friends

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words! With the great views and quiet location, we always considered our area of Nantucket the best kept secret on the island.
Did you find this review helpful?
17 0


Peter Snyder
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 15, 2018

Why Peter Snyder chose Tom Nevers

We've been vacationing as a family in Nantucket for more than 25 years. It was our dream to have a home here - and this is our dream come true! Here you can enjoy peace and quiet, the distant sound of the waves crashing on the shore, and a canopy of stars at night like you've never seen before.


Nearest Airport
4.6 Miles
Nantucket Memorial Airport (ACK)
Nearest Barpub
5.5 Miles
Kitty Murtagh's
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Hy-Line / Steamship Authority
Nearest Golf
3.7 Miles
Nantucket Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
4.6 Miles
Crosswinds Restaurant & Bar
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Tom Nevers Beach
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $200

Accepting eChecks and credit cards through secure online payments.

Guests are required to sign a rental agreement.

50% deposit at booking to hold dates.
50% balance plus 10% refundable security deposit due 30 days prior to rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties