Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

You and your dogs will love the fenced backyard at this adorable vacation home!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

This 1960s home in Rockport is ideal for a family vacation!

It is just a couple blocks away from shopping and the beach! If relaxation and fun is what you're looking for, then this is the perfect getaway home for you. Whether it is a weekend away, a week with family and friends, or a winter away to stay warm - this will fit your needs! HEB Grocery Store 1/2 block away, Bank & Drugstore across the street, McDonald's 1 1/2 block. No need to spend gas money driving, as everything is an easy walk away. That carport in the back is great for keeping your vehicle and/or boat out of the sun, rain, or other weather conditions. Large pet door in the laundry room allows pets to come in out of the weather without being in the rest of the house while their owners are away.

Keywords: House

More Details

William F Tompkins
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About William F Tompkins

I am a retired 'old coot' of a grandfather. I love having a morning cup of coffee in the back yard, just as the sun is coming up. I like an easy, slow walk, and enjoy letting my black lab 'load up' in HIS pickup and going for a swim, either at Canyon Lake (near where I live) or at the beach at Mustang Island - 30 minutes from the Rockport house. And, the grand-kids love going with him!

William F Tompkins purchased this house in 2009

Why William F Tompkins chose Rockport

Rockport is only 3 hours from Castroville (Just west of San Antonio). I have been vacationing here since I was a youngster, travelling with my parents. Later I started bringing my kids, and then grandkids, too! Everybody has a dog or two, so that fenced backyard and large pet door entering the laundry room is very nice! We try to spend a week here just after school is out, and another just before school starts up - depending on our guests' desires.


Rockport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Shared
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • Living area sofa folds out to a double bed.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
You and your dogs will love the fenced backyard at this adorable vacation home!
average rating of 4.478261 based on 23 reviews

Terrible, disgusting, and infested!

  • 1 of 5

The conditions of our stay were completely unacceptable for living conditions much less for vacationing purposes. When we first arrived we couldn't see the residence due to the lights not working and over grown weeds and shrubs covered the front facade, only to be welcomed by a roach at the entrance of the home. As we continued to make our way through the house we were accompanied by a swarm of mosquitos and other bugs throughout the house. In total we found about 10 roaches, 3 that were dead (thank you). We decided we needed RAID for the home based on all our findings within the first 30 minutes of our arrival. Glancing in the closet of one of the rooms there was droppings of some kind of animal, when we were in the kitchen there were crumbs and other droppings in the grout and throughout the counter tops and floor, when looking for a knife I had to pull off hair of the utensils and there was also crumbs in the drawer, last but not least there was dust bunnies everywhere, along with dirt and crumbs. It was as if the home was not cleaned for months. As we tried to connect to the Internet, the code the owner gave did not work. We emailed in regards to this and the conditions of the home, as well as left messages and to our surprise, no response. Saturday morning, I didn't wake up to an alarm...I woke up to a roach on my arm. I have never encountered any type of establishment that wouldn't find this concerning or at least get a call back based on the feedback received.

Continuing on with our stay, my mother-in-law took a shower and the tube was clogged, so that was less than enjoyable. As we braved making a meal, we had to buy our own utensils and a toaster because of how unacceptable theirs were. In short, we ended up leaving early and not staying the full duration of our trip.

As an owner of a rental and a management company helping to rent out this home...this home is a direct reflection of you both. The lack of cleanliness, malfunction of lighting, bug infestation, and inadequate Internet connection (which we used additional data for) is beyond unacceptable. In addition, we have yet to get a response from the owner via phone or email four days after contacting him.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I expected this review. The guest wanted to cancel 3 days before his scheduled arrival, and receive a full refund. Since I refused to give him a refund, I am sure that he is expressing his vitriol.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Great vacation house

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great time last week staying at this home in Rockport. We stayed with our two daughters and their families (6 adults and 4 kids) and the house was prefect for our trip. We enjoyed being close to HEB and Walgreens for everything we needed, as well as, being close to the beach, water and restaurants - we loved eating at Paradise Key. The on-line description for the property was accurate and the house was clean and well-maintained. We greatly appreciated it being pet-friendly and for having a doggie door - our two dogs enjoyed their stay too. We will definitely be recommending this property to friends and families and will be booking another visit soon. Thanks so much, Rick and Darla Humes in Pflugerville, Texas

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The house was very clean and welcoming. Plenty of room for everyone.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the house very much. There was plenty of room for everyone. The beach area was only minutes away and the grocery store was right across the street. The only downside was that it was mosquito season. Mosqutos were every where. We had to make sure to spay ourselves before going outside. My family would defenitly stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very nice

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay it was in a good spot close to everything roomy for all of us and gave us our privacy washer/dryer was very nice only things we could have needed was for the front porch light to work and a dust mop or swifter for the floors other than that thanks it was great

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect for fishermen

  • 5 of 5

We had a college scholarship fund raising fishing tournament on Saturday. We were able to store to boat trailers and had plenty of room for my guests. House was very functional for our needs.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Good Location!

  • 3 of 5

We had a great time and the house was nice and spacious! I did want to let the owner know a couple of things. The grate on the bar b que qrill needs to be replaced. It is totally rusted and unusable. We bought a new grate, but took it home with us. Also, the floor in the master bedroom to the left of the front door, has water coming up from underneath. We think it might be coming from the air conditioner. We had to keep towels on the floor while we were there. The dishwasher probably needs replacing as there is rust on the racks and doesn't seem sanitary, We did all dishes by hand. Other than the concerns, we had a great time. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: recommended

Close to Shopping and the Coastline!!! 30 min.from Corpus!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 15.0%

Discounts available for military (active duty & retired) and first responders (police, fire, & EMT). Inquire with owner!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties