check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Steve Allard

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Secluded, peaceful and private Ranch Home on the Tarryall River

19 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Lake George House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with beautiful views of the river, meadows and mountains

Puma Hills River Ranch is a 3rd generation working ranch producing hay, grass fed

beef. The ranch includes 2.4 miles of the Tarryall River that meanders along the beautiful Tarryall Valley. The ranch is peaceful and secluded, yet with many services and adventures just minutes away. The guest house is nestled in the Puma Hills bordered by Pike National Forest overlooking the Tarryall River. From the picture window is a beautiful view of the river, our hay meadows and the mountains beyond.

Our guests can enjoy private fly fishing on the Tarryall River, hiking and biking and scenic views from every direction. There is a horseshoe pit and a campfire ring for warming your toes by the fire and viewing the endless array of stars. The guest house is clean, fully equipped and easily accessible.

In the evenings, guests like to relax on the patio with a refreshing drink while watching the river flow. On occasion a herd of elk or mule deer and a small group of big horn sheep will graze in the meadows below. Eagles, blue heron and many other birds hunt, feed or raise their young in the riparian areas, and some evenings the coyotes will sing to each other.

Bring your horse and ride the beautiful trails, bring your family for an unforgettable vacation or spend your honeymoon under the stars! Come and experience YOUR OWN PRIVATE PARADISE!

Puma Hills River Ranch is located on paved County Rd. 77. Just 7 miles northwest of Lake George, 50 miles northwest of Colorado Springs and 85 miles west of Denver.

We also have space for yoga and meditation retreats.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Steve Allard (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Steve Allard

My grandparents bought this ranch in 1960. As a young boy, I worked on the ranch, fished the river and explored the mountains beyond. Through the years I have kept the ranch alive, continuing to enjoy and protect the land. Some years ago, I decided to open the ranch to travelers and share this unique and beautiful land with others. We hope you enjoy this peaceful place as much as we do!

Steve Allard purchased this house in 1960

Why Steve Allard chose South Central Colorado

The serenity and peacefulness of the ranch stays with you, and now we want to share this amazing place with family, friends and fellow travelers.

What makes this house unique

Puma Hills River Ranch offers a private vacation experience, relaxing and quiet with spacious views of the river, our hay meadows and Pike National Forest. Enjoy 2.4 miles of the Tarryall River all to yourself! Whether you like fishing, hiking, biking or simply relaxing we are the place!

Reviews

4.9
based on 19 traveler reviews

Secluded, peaceful and private Ranch Home on the Tarryall River
average rating of 4.894737 based on 19 reviews
5

A cozy ranch house in a beautiful mountain valley by an incredible river.

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place for our family to spend time. The hiking and relaxing were top notch. The fly fishing was great. Steve and Jennifer were the best hosts.

We will be back.

Bill and Pamela

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Five star attraction

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely a five star property. We had a blast fishing and hiking the Tarryall property, Eleven Mile Canyon and Cheesman Canyon. Very quiet and peaceful to all the senses and all of the comforts of home. Steve and Jennifer are such down to earth nice people and helped us out when the weather caused us to have one be delayed by a day by not charging us for the missed night in their home.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of a kind Gem of a place

  • 5 of 5

I agree with one of the other reviewers that there are few, if any, wonderful secluded and quiet places like this available anymore. We have have rented the ranch house a couple of times already, and will be staying again this August. There are usually 4 of us (all old fishing guys) and this is becoming (or has become) our favorite place for fishing and getting away. We have, over the years, always traveled farther for our fly fishing and stays, but have discovered that for a shorter drive, the Puma Hills River Ranch satisfies our fishing and de-stressing needs. How many other places can offer you over 2 miles of private water to fly fish on, stress free (i.e. no other fishermen to compete with) at such a reasonable price. In addition, for just a short drive, you have access to the Tarryall lake, Dream Stream, 11-mile canyon, Tomahawk SWA, Spinney and the 11-mile reservoir.

Steve and Jennifer couldn't be better hosts and are very helpful in assuring that you have everything you need to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The house has all of the amenities you could possibly need, to make for a comfortable stay. After a long day fishing or exploring, you can relax on the covered front porch area with a cold drink, watch the wildlife, enjoy the scenery and listen to the sounds from the river during a casual conversation. The inside of the house is very clean and modern. The Living room is quite comfortable for catching up at the end of a days activities. There is no internet and cell phone coverage will vary with the carrier, so it really makes for a very stress free and quite stay.

This place is truly a gem and definitely recommended !

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It truly exists....."Heaven on Earth"

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I love to fly fish in Colorado and the first time we pulled into the drive way of Puma Hills River Ranch we knew immediately that we had found the "Hidden Gem of Colorado". Steve and Jennifer are two of the nicest people you could ever meet and are extremely accommodating. They make you feel that their private ranch home is totally yours and everything is immaculate, clean and has everything you could possibly need! Last year we invited both of my brothers and my husband's son to join us and they all said, "You have found the perfect place and we need to make this our yearly trip!!" We made our reservation for 2016 before we left and can't wait to relax and fish in one of the most beautiful places on earth!!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoy this amazing place as much she do. We are grateful to live here and to share this with others. Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best of the Best!!!

  • 5 of 5

I almost hate to write a review. There are far to few secret places like this place left. Hidden away at the base of gorgeous mountains with the Tarryall River in the front yard. The best fire ring I have ever enjoyed....and that comes from 62 years of enjoying fire rings. Delightful and immaculate cabin with fully equipped everything. Close to countless delightful drives like Boreas Pass and Hwy. 77 up the Tarryall Valley. Watch for elk and Bighorn Sheep. The owners are great folks who make you feel like an invited guest. I found this place on the Internet and was just simply amazed!!!! So very much more than I was expecting. Three retirees spent 7 nights there and loved it more everyday. Man was it ever hard to leave. We caught rainbow, browns, and a quite nice Brook trout in the lovely river with oh my what a view while fishing....we actually went with the intent to mainly fish the plentiful public waters of the South Platte in the immediate vicinity but was completely won over by the Tarryall and this wonderful place...so very private and peaceful. So hey! If you want the trip of a lifetime as far as the Rocky Mountains are concerned stop what you are doing and book this place right now. It is just the best!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE this peaceful, beautiful treat.

  • 5 of 5

I am one of three who stayed here. Can't say enough about this wonderful house and property. Peaceful, beautiful, home away from home. Would not hesitate to come back or recommend to others.

(BTW: I have a couple pics I would like to share with you and you are welcome to use them if you like and want)

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Thunderbird Inn
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
Woodland Park
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Highway 24
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Lake George Cafe & Pizzaria
Car: necessary

Puma Hills River Ranch is located between the towns of Tarryall and Lake George in the beautiful Tarryall Valley, only 50 miles west of Colorado Springs. 2.+ miles of the Tarryall River meanders through this peaceful ranch. Bordered by Pike National Forest, the guest house is private and secluded yet within minutes of many attractions and services such as gas, food and liquor. Breathtaking views of South Park and the 14,000 feet high Mosquito Range are a few miles west. Drive north to Breckenridge for a day of skiing, or ride horseback in the Lost Creek Wilderness Area just 10 minutes away. 15 miles to the south is the Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument and another 30 minutes to historic Cripple Creek for gambling and live theater. If you like to fish, experience Gold Medal Water fly fishing at Eleven Mile Canyon or reel fish at Spinney Mountain Recreation Area and Eleven Mile State Park. For a beautiful drive you can travel north on our County Rd. 77 along the scenic byway to Tarryall Reservoir, another location for fishing. Visit the Royal Gorge Bridge near Canyon City for a thrilling adventure. Whitewater rafting is 1st class on the Arkansas River and great fun for families! If your in search of a summer camp, try the Lake George Boy Scout Camp nearby. The Puma Hills River Ranch offers a private vacation experience with spacious views and relaxing and quiet surroundings with many adventures nearby!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake George House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
May 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Low Season
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 23 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

Children 10 years and under are free. Maximum of 2 free children per stay
IF PAYING WITH A CREDIT CARD, THERE WILL BE AN ADDITIONAL FEE OF 2.9% payed directly to Puma Hills River Ranch.
Please agree to the terms for rental agreement and policy page.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake George House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • River ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , clean
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , clean
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , clean and comfortable
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , clean and comfortable
  • We also have a double hide-a-bed
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Puma Hills River Ranch offers a private vacation experience with spacious views and relaxing and quiet surroundings. Our guest house is modern and fully equipped with everything except your food and fishing gear. Outside is a picnic table as well as patio chairs and table. There are a couple inner tubes for river fun! There is a horseshoe pit near the house. Our campfire pit is above the river for viewing the endless array of stars and roasting marshmallows while telling tall tales. Most guests receive cell service at the river house.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties